Club Chinois

sunshin3_dawn

hi lyn and southparkgal..

went down for my rehearsal today with my niece and nephew..

met up with one of the coordinator, Chris..so so glad that he is helping us out this Sat..he's really nice..loads of intiative, even asked us if we needed him to get rose petals for our flower gal and page boy to throw..

Super patient with the kids as well..taught them when to come in during the march in and how to pace themselves..

Keeping my fingers crossed to get a phone call from Eric tmr to confirm all details..

tinkybell

I am looking at confirming with CC for my wedding banquet in 2008.

Can any1 share their wedding pics with me??

Now that i have also heard of so many feedback on the coordinator.. i m reali wori....

Any feedback on the food?? Taste?? Serve Warm??
Service?? Sufficient attention??
OVerall theme n deco??

princess_angel

Hello gals,

Just want to say I had a good experience at CC last Sunday. The food was good, the pacing was good. Just that becos we took the maximum capacity of 32, it was rather cramped up. Other than that, I heard more good comments.

Chris was helpful and was glad that he was always there trying to make us relax.

Overall, had an good experience there!

gooderin

Same here. Can anyone share with me the pic taken in CC ballroom? My AD is in July.. wanna know the ambient and photo effect

Millions Thanks..

sunshin3_dawn

Hi gals..

just had my dinner yest at CC...Only a word to describe: GREAT!!

All thanks to Chris who is simply wonderful and helpful and a great man with great coordination skills..even gave me a shawl when I said that it was very cold..brought up the temp as well..

Food pacing was great too..portion was as huge as food tasting..and the guests commented that the food tasted great as well..kitchen was overseen by Sam Leong as well..

We really enjoyed ourselves last night!!!

skywu

Hi Sunshin3

glad to hear tat u enjoyed urself yesterday!

In fact i actually went down to c the ballroom yesterday evening ard 6+... (but didn't manage t c u... heee) Tat time they were hving briefing n one guy (dun noe if its the chris u r referring) juz approach us n explained to us the layout of the banquet... so found their service really not bad wor

But one thing to ask u, is the ballroom too bright? coz maybe when i went in, they switch on all the lights n i found it too bright.. like dun hv those wedding dinner 'feel'... haaa..

do u hv any photos to share so i could take a better look at the actual ballroom when the wedding start, as i m really consdering to take up club chinos.

thanx :>

ms_bubly

hi sunshine3

happy for you that you had great time at CC.
im new here... went down on sat to see the wedding set-up in antica ballroom. It was, i guess, the "white colour" theme... also considering CC for my wedding in oct 08. hahaha, is it too early to plan???
may i know how much was your package?? and what are the things we can ask for from them?? like the colour theme, can we ask for a different set of colour combination or do we have to stick with what they have?? Who was the actual co-ordinator that night btw???

skywu

hi ms bubly

i will be going down to meet eric today to ask him more abt the packages. Will update u :>

u r not early to plan, coz i more kiasu then u coz my AD is at Dec 08. But i only gt 1 date, so i need to bk fast otherwise the date will hv been grab by others

sunshin3_dawn

hi Sky and ms bubly...

the ballroom aint too bright during the dinner itself..they did tone down the lighting..

I guess you saw the ballroom brightly lit up cos it was near time for the last rehearsal for my flower gal and page boy's march in..Hee.

My main coordinator was Eric for the night..I specifically did not want Eric or Arthur..hee.

As for the colour theme, I chose red roses for flower stand as I was wearing a red EG and white lilies for table deco...

Do have fun planning for your wedding!

gooderin

Hi Sunshin,

Congrads on yr wedding and glad to hear that you had a good time in CC..

But I don't quite understand, you mean u can choose your coodinator? I had signed up with Eric, so does it mean that he wil be my coordinator for banquet? I saw from some other brides that Arthur is not bad as well, or you heard otherwise that's why u didn't choose him?

When I went down and have my food tasting, there was a couple holding their banquet and both my FH and I was trying to 'peep thru' the door and observe how's the atmosphere. there was a young chinese guy (i didn't get his name, i guess he's the co-ordinator) had invited us in and tell us briefly the settings and answer our enquiries. really nice guy, not sure if he's Chris or Authur... but i think he must be a good one

By the way, do you have pic to share? You can send to my email : [email protected]

Many thanks..

skywu

juz went to meet Eric yesterday. Found tat he a bit ya ya leh from the way he talk... heee.. Wanted him to show us the wedding invitation card n the wedding favour, but then he said tat it will chage next yr, so he didn't bring down to show me. But i tink at least he muz show me wat they hv for nw mah... haiz...

But if dun talk abt Eric service, personally i feel the package quite attractive. He did aso show me the ballroom when the lights are tone down, so now no worries abt the ballroom being too bright... haaa

By the way, juz to update ur, Eric told me tat there r alreadi couples who book for Sep 08 liao.

Sunshin3, can aso share wif me the pics u hv taken. [email protected]

sunshin3_dawn

Hi erin and sky...have yet to receive my pics from my photographer..
And yes, I chose my coordinator..initially it was Eric but I didn't like the way he works thus after some discussion, i chose Chris...

will let u gals know once my pics are ready...

southparkgal

Hi sunshin3

But i thought Eric doesn't work on weekend. So how can he be main coordinator on weekend dinner leh? How did you tell him you prefer Chris?

skywu

Sunshin3

Can I call Chris directly to book the package wif him, so this way he will turn out to be my coordinator?

ms_bubly

hey sky...

so you've confirmed to booking club chinois is it?? then, you AD, i mean date did you go "calculate" as whether it's a good date?? coz my partner seem to be uneasy if we jus go along without the calculation..... is there anyone who knows when the "tong shu" will be out?? and who to look for to do the calculations.... actually im not really that superstitous... jus my him

skywu

hi ms bubly

i hv not decide whether to bk wif club chinos, still wan to look at other hotels first b4 booking.... but most probably will bk by end mth coz i only gt 1 date, then scared later ppl more kiasu than me n bk early... haaa

i did went to 1 shifu in geylang to ask him to caculate the dates. actually there are some shifu able to count the dates w/o hving the tong shu.

u can aso refer to the thread under wedding banquet category under "2007 tong shu", they did recommend some shifu.. n tats where i found my shifu aso... heee

rislee

Hi everybody,

Can find out if anybody here has had ur wedding at Antica ballroom oredi and had chosen other colour themes? Cos very sad lor.. i went there three times in all but everytime only saw the ivory theme. Have nv seen what the other themes look like.

Hehe..if there's any kind soul who's able to share their pictures of all the different colour themes, can share with me?

Can please email me at [email protected]

Thank you sooooooo Much!!!

rislee

I've always thot dat there's only 1 coordinator. U mean there's another 2??!!

Cos i'm not very sure abt Eric, so wondering if i can get other coordinators. he's very nonchalant and got dat "dao" or "yaya" attitude. & yes! cos of my work.. it's very hard for me to make time during weekdays.. but he told me he dun work at all on weekends and also.. weekday..depends on his mood..he doesn't seem to like it if he has to stay till much later aft 5pm to meet.

southparkgal

Hi Rislee

Sorry kant help you as i do not have much infor too.

My understanding is that Eric is the banquet sales mgr, not really coordinator.

The actual coordinator for the banquet cannot be him cos he dont work on weekend.

rislee

Hi Southparkgal,

Thanks! SHall haf to find out from him den. Btw, nobody else has tried any other colour themes other than ivory? i so wish to know lor..

Can any kind soul pls reply? Thanks thanks thanks!!!

momo23

Hi all, did met up with eric b4..
yes he did give me that kind of attitude, jus like what rislee said, That already pissed us off..
he gave us an ultmatium too, that i had to decide if i want to book by that day, certain time! if not it w go to another couple.
That pissed us off even more..
as far as i knoe, he seems to be the only one meetin up w many couples, he may be tired, having to go thru the same thing w every couple.
glad to hear there are other coordinators around now

skywu

ya, anyone hv Chris contact, as i would like to speak to Chris if i can get a waiver of the wine corkage maybe he is more flexible than eric. as Eric doesn't seem to allow this wor.

thanx!

skywu

But juz to check wif ur, can we ask them to waive off the corkage charges for wine ? coz its a bit expensive lah.

Btw, from wat i gt to noe from Chris.. he is the banquet assistane manager, n he's in the operation side, so he doesn't handle all those sales stuff, its done by Eric. So maybe later on, if we hv anything tat need to ask them to coordinate for our wedding, we can ask Chris to help.

gooderin

gals,

in Feb, there's a promotion from DBS that if u pay everything by DBS Woman Card, you can get wine cockage waiver.

I am not sure if this offer is still effective, need to check with DBS).

skywu

thanz Erin, but too bad, i dun hv DBS Woman Card :<

But yesterday i did called Eric up to ask if he can waive off the wine corkage charge. He said tat if I take up romance package then shd be no problem (btw, i aso intend to take up romance package initially).

Will meet up wif him this fri again to discuss further. If everything okie then i will pay the deposit liao. Need to ask him if can change the dessert to Yam Paste. Any1 tried to change too and is successful w/o adding $$ ?

gooderin

Hi Sky,

o great that u have got the cockage waiver

i had not asked to change dessert to yam paste.. very satisfied with the almond soup with sesame 'tang yuan' as dessert

veronjosh

we are also CC couple for Jan 08. we met up with eric and he seems pretty ok n frenly leh. gave alot of advice how we can do our solemnisation b4 the lunch and also other details. even went back to office to take sample of the wedding card n inserts, and the wedding favours to show us when we requested. maybe cos we met him during office hours at his conveniene ba ;p

we wanted to exchange some of our dishes to but eric advise that dun need decide now. decide abt food tasting time, maybe 3mth b4 AD. cos he said their menu might change also. but he said no prob with changing amongst similar value item, no top up required.

kjustina81

Eric is really a 1-man show for the sales portion of Club Chinios so can't really expect much from hime. I think he also looks very sianz with his job liao ... cos i read in forums as far back at 2004's ++, he is still the coordinator lei ... can u imagine the no. of couple asking the same thing everytime !! hahaha

Aniwei I recently signed with CC too ... did basic research &amp; found that it met my needs so sign with them lor...

The 2008 menu &amp; price list is out at their tung lok wedsite for yr info.

skywu

i juz signed up wif CC yesterday for my AD held in 27 Dec 08... gt the wine corkage waive, food tasting to 10 ppl and the dessert change to Yam paste... very satisfied :>

i asked Eric to show me the bridal suite yesterday. Notice tat the room was rather old, but i tink its okie lah coz we only need to stay for 1 nite... n it doesn't really matters so much coz the most impt thing is the dinner n not the room.

I only realise tat there is no 10% service charge yesterday... haaa.. so for nxt yr, they will only charge the 7% GST.. so the price is actually lower tat wat i expected... heee

Justina

When is ur AD? Did u get any gd offer?

kjustina81

Hi Sky,

Mine would be held on 7 June 2008. Had the same kind of stuff as u like wine corkage waive (for romance &amp; above package) food tasting for 10 pple but haven't discuss menu yet as he said cn do so at a later date...

read frm forum that to upgrade room type have to pay certain amt ...feel like asking eric how much cos room also impt as photos of u getting ready in yr room will be taken too ..

I took the antica ballroom ... sky u lei ?? but i the most also will only put in 30 tables .. don't want to spend too much on wedding dinner still got hse to settle.

skywu

i aso took the antica ballroom. But i tink i will only put max 27 tables, coz then the tables will not be block by the pillars n it wouldn't be so cramp. but still gt a long way lah, so maybe by tat time i may need more tables... but i hope not to execeed 27.

so u alreadi gt a new flat? where is it?

sunshin3_dawn

Hi gals..

AD was on 7th last mth..but we went back for dinner on Sat with our families..

Met Chris again and indeed he really provided great service again..
went to the extent of getting hot chocolate for us cos my sis was having tummy ache.....he's really a nice coordinator to have..even remembered that my hubby is left handed..so he had the initiative to change the cultery setting for hubby..THUMBS UP!!!

kjustina81

hi sky, yeah got BTO flat at seng kang ... built finish liao their est date complete is 3rd qtr 2008 so still long way .. hope to get it before my Jun 08 wedding.

Hi Sunshin3, Can I get the full name of yr coordinator so i can note down that he is good .. so far i heard arther is good.

Oh can i ask how u find the bridal suite ?? big enough ... did u upgrade to a bigger room &amp; how much ?

bridetobemar08

i m new here. Have anyone held their wedding at their restuarant instead of the ballroom? There are alots of blind spot there but no choice cos no ballrm available for weekend according Eric.

cho

i'm also intending to hav my wedding at OPH in 2009..
can anyone share their packages or experience?
seems like alot of good comments..

was windering if i hav my wedding at antica ballroom.. alt food is provided by club chinois, will e name of e rest be printed in e invitation card?

summer_gal

Hi cho,
is up to whether u want to print the word "club chinos" in your invitation card, if u want it in antica ballroom,

for my case I omited it, just in case the guests turn up at the restaurant instead.

eric will give u a sample invitation card, from there u can choose to omit whatever information u dun need.

cho

thanks Lynn..
how was ur experience at OPH?

had emailed Eric yst to view the ballrooms but he mentioned he's nt available on weekends.. wonder if tat's coz he doesnt work weekends?

he told me to go see it myself as there's a wedding tis weekend..

summer_gal

Hi cho,

overall i will give abt 8.5/10 for OPH.

firstly the food portion was big, and my guests are happy that the food is served hot.

there wasn't much delay, as such the whole dinner ended quite nicely about 10+pm.

Yup I went during the weekday nite to view the ballroom deco (when there was a wedding going on), i arrive about 6+pm before the wedding started. You can just take a peek, is alright, the staff won;t stop you.

Yup as i read in this forum that eric dun work during weekend, as such I usually met him during weekday evening.

some weekdays, he will work date (i.e: after 7pm) you can try to arrange to meet him on these days.

when is your wedding?

autrumn

hi cho

is the wedding dis weekend on sat or sun? tinkin of takin a look 2

btw, can anyone advise when i shld start hounding eric on food-tasting (is it 3 mths b4 AD?) &amp; confirming wedding invites? From e comments posted, i'm tinkin of getting chris to be my coordinator (instead of Eric) too..

My AD is in Oct &amp; kindof kancheong now...Thanks!