Clomid tablet

xinxin

Hv any of u heard of clomid tablet? Any side effect? Does it help?

Cos recently jus went thru a infertility checkup and found out that i need these tablets... :<

yuene

sunnyday, you can check out this website:

http://www.rxlist.com/cgi/generic/clomiph_ids.htm (go to page 3 for side effects). Hope this helps.

Just to note that most women don't experience all that many side effects--I have almost none for my BC. It's just that there is a possibility, that's all. If you want, you can always talk to your gynae more about your family health history and s/he can advise you even more on this. Cheers.

dead_heart

clomid tablet is to help in ovulation. usually there's no side effect but different ppl might react differently. any queries, always talk to your gynae.

xinxin

Hi sylphide &amp; heart,

Actually i am feeling rather negative towards tis clomid tablet.. cos i know the short &amp; long term side effect of taking it.. doubtful whether to take or not..

Feeling very vexed over myself y i am not normal like other ladies.. is there any other way that can help mi ? Tot of going to TCM.. any views abt it?

Argh...

phkl

Hi Sunnyday,

I'm also prescribed with this tablet; like you, I am reluctant to take the medication. I find it hard to accept my condition and after pondering for some time, I decided to try out TCM.

Currently, I am taking Chinese medicine for almost a month. I was told that it is going to be a long process to see the desired results.

bedokkid

Hi Sunnyday,

I was on clomid due to PCOS. What i noe is that the side effect is cyst. While taking clomid, there is a risk of having cyst. I had checked with my gynae on this, and he assured that with the high technology, we r safe. If u have doubts, best to ask ur gynae on that. I tried TCM at JE for 3 months but decided to stop as i am not progressing and TCM takes a longer time to conceive.

phkl

Hi Sunnyday,

I am using the one at SGH. The treatment differs from person to person. The physician will take your pulse reading, ask you several questions, observe the colour of your tongue; that's what she did on me. It is not like western medicine whereby, the gyne will ask questions and finally prescribe Clomid.

Like what Bedokkid had said TCM takes a longer time to get your desired results.

I dislike taking the Chinese medicine as the taste is different each time. I don't take the powder form as I opt for the brewed ones.

I don't think that by taking Clomid, there is a risk of having cyst. Having multiple cysts on the ovaries is one of the symptoms in PCOS (by the way, I was diagnosed of having PCOS because I have this symptom).

I was given Metformin and Clomid.

bedokkid

PHKL,

I am taking metformin too. The side effect of the medi is terrible. I notice that i had slim down a bit due to lost of appetite and nauseous.

Sunnyday,

Metformin is a diabetic medi. It help patient who has PSCO to ovulate. U can also go to google to check. Hope this helps.

phkl

Hi Sunnyday,

Metformin is an anti-diabetic medication. Some women become responsive after treatment with a combination of clomid &amp; metformin, subsequently ovulate and become pregnant.

I think not everyone is suitable for metformin as the side effect varies. I have friends who feel nauseous after taking it. I didn't take the tablets because I am reluctant to do so, that's why I turned to TCM.

But the main reason why I chose TCM is because I have another condition, ie is fibroids. I didn't want to go for surgery. I intend to continue the TCM treatment for 6 months or so, to see whether there is any effect before continuing further.

bubs

hi sunny, how did u find out that u need to take clomid? coz i'm tinking of taking it too.. but skeptical abt the side effects..

xinxin

Hi Bubs,

Went over to KKH and did a fertility checkup n found out that i am not ovulating at all. So the doc advise mi to take clomid and monitor my condition..

Yeah, i am rather negative on the side effects too.. but after doing much research n many kind souls here share their experience, make mi feel that i am not alone and unless it is taken on prolonged period that increase the risk of any side effects. otherwise, many whom hv taken n successfully conceive are still kicking alive today!

Best is u consult a gynae to go thru u 1st then he/she will b aiding u with more professionalism...

ambereen

Hi SunnyDay,

When did u decide to do a fertility checkup?
I've been trying the basal body temping method but some months look like its annovulatory.

A little worried about it, i'm think of going for a check up also. Did you just directly make an appt with kkh?

xinxin

Hi Amby,

I hv been considering the fertility checkup after a yr of marriage cos though both of us hv diff working shift schedule,we hv rather frequent unprotected sex but to no good news until now. But becos my hubby rather unsupportive towards it so i put it on hold for few mths while working more "OT" loh... :p

Btw, how long hv u been married? Perhaps, u wanna to try for at least a yr plus b4 having tis checkup.. sometimes, it really need some luck n effort here..

Then, i try to sit him down to tok abt family planning n happen that my cousins hv 1 mth old baby celebration, so brought him along n he was really excited abt it.. so discuss with him that perhaps, he is ready now so managed to convince him that, even if we are really infertile, at least hv a checkup to prove 1st b4 giving up hope so easily n may hv to think other alternatives of having kids loh... he agreed!

Sorry abt the long story hor.. actually there isnt anyting wrong of doing the checkup, is just another extra stage that couples like mi hv to go thru in order to conceive.. tats all! Most imptly is to discuss with ur hubby, try to convince him and of cos support n encouragement is really much needed here..

I went to polyclinic to get a referral letter which will be much cheaper than going directly to KKH for appt cos got subsidy mah..

ambereen

Hi SunnyDay,

Thanks for your reply.
I've been trying for just a few months now. Around 5 months. My husband is also a shift worker and sometimes missing the crucial fertile days can be a little frustrating.

Probably i'll try for another 2 months before going for a checkup. You can say i'm a little impatient. haha. At least, if i know, there is nothing wrong then one less thing to worry about.

It doesn't help that all my friends are conceiving SO easily. Sigh.

My husband is pretty open minded about doing fertility checks. I think hes more happy if he can take any pills to enhance his fertility. haha. Now currently hes taking zinc, selenium and vitamins.

I'll hope for the best for the next couple of months, if no gd news, then i'll get some checks done.. Hope you conceive soon. *Baby Dusts*

xinxin

Hi Amby,

Hehehe.. "hint" to ur hubby that it is time to do "OT" @ home on ur fertile days loh... guess he can take time off or leave for it rite..? :p

Yes, u r rite.. jus to ensure both of u r alrite rather than wasting time n "resources" to try again n again all over again to know at the end that there could b some problem with either of u or both, and not forgetting that age is catching up n fertility is dipping as we aged hor...

Let's gam ba tei neh! My menses still not here yet... wondering.. hmm... *wink*

ambereen

haha my hubby dun wanna do OT on my fertile days! his typical answer will be "So if i take leave and we baby dance today, confirm u preg isit?"

Yeah, i think my visit to the gynae will be coming very soon because this cycle seems anovulatory.

Anyway all the best to you. I hope this is it for u!
Do share the good news with me

xinxin

Hahaha.. ur hubby is really humorous leh..

Like i mentioned, dun stress urself too much.. sometimes, ovulation n pregnancy are caused by many factors... guess the highest in Spore is STRESS! so dun tink too much of it.. tats wat my ex-colleague told mi n his 2nd baby coming along again unexpectedly with him stretching his finances very tightly.. :<

Yeah, let's keep our fingers crossed.! Gam ba tei!

me2baby

hi sunnyday,
TCM may take quite a while but then there are no side effects. i was on clomid too and went through all sorts of procedures and medicine to get pregnant.
in the end, it was 9 months of TCM treatment that i became pregnant. now, i am having my 2nd child. i hope u'll give TCM a shot. if u need more details on my TCM physician, u can pm me. best of luck!!

cutie_gal

Hi Me2baby,

Can u PM the details of your TCM to me as well. How long do u have to try before coming to the conclusion that there's prob with our fertility.
Thank you!!

me2baby

Hi cutie_gal,

I have PM u the details.

Hmm.. actually i had tried for a baby since the day I got married. After 3-4 yrs, I finally come to terms that I have a problem... ha ha ha.. it's tough to admit that actually. My advise is, if u have tried for 1 year and still no news. It's best to make an appt with a gynae and have a scan. At least find out what's not working and from there ur gynae can advise u further. Or if u prefer to go ahead with TCM, at least u'll have results of the scan to share with the physician so that she knows what herbs u may need to take.

Hope this is helpful to U. Jia You!!

bubs

I heard that if you are above 30yrs of age and are TTC actively for 6mths and no news, should consult gynae already.

bluemoosesgb

can i know if Dr Zou is good? some tcm doc don't explan or tell you anything unless you ask and usually we don't even know what to ask.

btw, anyone conceived under Dr Zou's care?

and how is the treatment like? eg. are they any medicine? what type of medicine? must cook type or instant type? and any acupuncture? if there are acupuncture, which are the areas being acupuncture? and also how many times you need to see her? or is it a (eg.) 1months / 3months / 6months regular visit to Dr Zou? and also how many times per week / per month must we see her?

valesoloteee

Me and my husband tried to have another baby for about 4 years. I took clomid for 5 days and I ovulated and found out 3 weeks latter I'm having a baby and recently at 8 weeks along I found out I'm having twins.