Christian Brides

ebell

JS:
Happy for u, reading ur testimony just brought tears to my eyes as I m reminded of how great and faithful our God is.
I loss my venue some weeks back 2 another couple and had problems with inlaws to be but some how I have been reminded again and again that God is good and He will honour us as we honour Him. Thus as my bf and I search for a new venue, we r praying that He will show a miracle, so that we can and will rave about HIs goodness during our wedding, after all it is never about what we dream but what God has dreamed for us

Blessed marriage sister

Bel

angelala

Mehmeh, thanx for the map! Cheers to you that you have been so helpful in this forum. Praise Lord !

Yes, i agree that HM is the most significant moment in the wedding. Its something that not just reminds you of God's love so that we may love each other. Perserve and Pray yah..will pray for you too.

Thanx JS for sharing your testimony. It really speaks to me as i am really feeling quite stress and anxious now..My PS is this friday, quite worried about how it will turn out, the weather and just everything else.

hi Angelala,

U're most welcome. I thot it was timely tt when i was prep for the cards, the map of PLMC which is simple & clear came in the bulletin! Praise God for his goodness..

Enjoy urself thoroughly at ur PS.. Like i've said before, even rainy weather can be a gd PS session. Different mood! U can have shots where u & ur FH play in the rain.. Or look really cute where u 2 are sheltered under an umbrella, or ur FH dancing in the rain.. Just some ideas to help comfort if there really is rain!

hihi JS,

Praise God for the beautiful wedding & how He is indeed the author & perfector of our faith.

<font color="0000ff">"The Lord is near.</font> Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God." Phil 4:5-6

We always pray &amp; submit our requests to God, but we really need also to keep in mind, that God is indeed near and around us!

Press on Sisters!

count

Dear SL and Mehmeh,
Thanks for sharing and providing so much input and encouragement. Last week I was feeling so down abt having to hold a dinner banquet and all. Finally managed to sort it out with God and FH after prayer and a 2 hr night walk from Raffles Place to Orchard. Now feeling at peace in the knowledge tt I have the luxury of holding a HM, with the dinner as an extra.

Ericia, don't be anxious. Pray and trust k? *Hug*

JS, great to hear tt ur wedding went beautifully!Very happy for u now tt u can embark on a new life together and settle into married life!

Ebell, we'll pray for Him to grant you wisdom in ur search for another venue, and for Him to open doors in this respect. Btw, what type of venues are u looking at? Church or outdoors? Perhaps we could give suggestions? =)

Angelala, enjoy ur PS! Am sure u'll look great and the weather will be ok. Take heart cos He provided the wonderful weather for JS too!

ebell

Count:
Thanks. I looking for an outdoor area for solemization cum blessing then an indoor for dinner. Thinking of the Legends, hope it works out.
So where is urs goin to be held?

Bel

count

Hi Ebell,
Mine will be held at PLMC, if we get the venue. Now praying hard tt we can get the date we want! The Legends sounds nice. If u're looking for other venues, and ur dinner is quite small, u may consider places such as Shangri-La. I think they offer outdoor solemnisation packages at their Waterfall Pavilion and dinner at smaller rooms with floor-to-ceiling glass windows. They have several rooms. Or Four Seasons' Windows East and West which are v pretty and have a gd view of the city. I think they can arrange for a poolside solemnisation... Hee

Hi Ebell,

Hmm, i think so far Orchid Country Club, The Pines, The Legends, Hyatt &amp; Grand Copthorne Waterfront should be able to offer what u want.

If u really want a cozy dinner where it's a buffet, and u like nature, i wld suggest Burkhill Hall in Botanic Gdns. Lovely ambience with the soft lighting &amp; colonial structure, not to forget, hearing the insects &amp; smelling the flowers!

Hihi Count,

U're most welcome! Dun worry abt the date for PLMC k? Continue to pray abt it.. PLMC can hold 2 weddings a day, so u can do the service in the morn if u want stuff to be unconventional..

childlike

thanks sisters, for ur support and encouragement!

ebell, outdoor weddings i would recommend goodwood parkhotel. they have a poolside thingy. legends was kinda ex if i rem correctly. Raffles country club is the best venue for outdoor. u go there and u will know why, the scenary is great but the place inaccessible.

i was considering the outdoor solemnisation initially b4 settling for church....so thats why i do some research. sigh.....

ggjj

hi mehmeh,
how big is ur worship team in ur wedding..

i dont know whether i want to get a chinese emcee too.. still thinking.. can u send the ad schedule to [email protected].. thanks

hi angelala,
dont worry abt the weather.. i had shared before here.. the weather on my ps is so unpredictable.. rain stop pouring stop.. that kind.. but we prayed.. we even got my bf parents to pray before we set off.. and God answered our prayers.. when i select our pics.. we can see diff sky colours.. from bright blue to cloudy grey.... the rains actually created opp for other kind of ps shots..

hi ebell,
u can consider beaufort (rename sentosa resort and spa).. u can hv the wedding in grand salon and ceremony at the ginger terrace overlooking the china sea..

alternative, u can consider conrad ballroom.. ceremony at the salon by the pool.. or raffles hotel.. ceremony at the lawn.. these are the places i once considered..

i really touched by the testimonies and sharing here.. i am considered quite young in my christian walk.. cos i backslided before.. but this thread really builds up my faith.. thanks

hi ggjj,

Hmm, i had a WS leader, 2 vocalists, 1 keyboardist, drummer, bassist &amp; guitarist. tt's pretty much the norm i suppose??

Will send u, ericia &amp; count the AD schedule soon..
Ericia &amp; Count: Sorry for the delay, forgot to email to myself when i was at home on Sunday *Paiseh*

c1980

hi count,
which date are you looking for? as far as i know... its still quite unfilled coz of the upcoming change in pastor. no worries. and as mehmeh said, can have 2 sessions in a day.

mehmeh : i had pretty much the same as you for worship grp. i had a MC who was also worship leader and another vocalist, 1 keyboard, guitarist, bassist, drummer and organist. it seems to be quite the norm.

xocross

hi hi!

me too!

i had a MC who's my worship leader... his wife translated and led worship with him together in mandarin.

i had the same too... with keyboardist, guitarists, bassists, percussionist and they all backed up as vocalists. hee.

Hi meh meh

Love ur wedding gown...! ur EG also v dazzling ley.. hehe

btw, did u wear a "CAN CAN" underneath ur WG? is tat "pong" thing call a can can...? :p

hi c1980,

yeah, i think tt combi is pretty much the norm.. Too many wld be too diff to manage practice schedules too

hihi n/c

I love my WG too.. My EG also v dazzling? Simple &amp; elegant lah.. My designer says tt for everything i selected, gown design, accessories, hairstyle always go for tt timeless &amp; not dramatic look

Oh yeah, i def had a crinoline = can-can = pong tulle skirt below the gown. Coz my WG's a ballgown, so necessary to give tt full circular effect

Only mermaid &amp; sheathe silhouettes dun take the crinoline..

c1980

hi SL,

i had mandarin too! then i later found some typo. piangz. carelessness on my part. oh well.

we had mandarin because a lot of my husband's relatives were mandarin speaking and wanted them to be able to listen to the worship (or at least read the words) and short "sermon". especially so cause they were non-christians.

count

Hi c1980,
We're looking at 11/11/2006. Heard tt it is a hot date so hope tt i can get the date. Feeling so much better this week despite work. Was quite down last week cos i felt coerced into holding a wedding dinner, size of dinner and wedding date. Much more at peace now. At least FH's parents, being non-Christian, were very receptive abt us holding a church weddding. This meant a lot to us =)

Have settled PS, AD PG, dinner, BS and MUA. Have only to cfm church venue and the rest of the details can wait until next year... Hee

piepie02

Anyone not serving alcohol (beers and wine) during the banquet? Do we need to put up a signage to inform the guests? Thanks!

ggjj

hi mehmeh, sl and count,
ur teams are huge.. i going to hv abt 100 ppl for church ceremony.. and it is offsite.. so most prob getting a worship leader, 1 guitarist, 1 organist, and the rest all vocalist..

hi pei,
i also not serving alcohol.. not even having champagne toasting.. not going to put signage..
but i attended my friend wedding and she just got the mc announced something.. so i think i will do that..

hi Pie,

Hmm, i did serve alcohol... Prayed tt God will bless our event &amp; no one will get drunk &amp; get rowdy. Indeed God answered our prayers!

i also have attended a dinner &amp; the MCs announced tt the couple being with the Holy Spirit, the actual wordings came with a pun, can't recall offhand

Hi ggjj,

Where's the venue for ur HM then? Prob u are right abt having more vocalists when there isn't proper accoustics

childlike

hey mehmeh thanks. rem to send me ur pics too.

for me, i think i gonna have prob getting musicians cos i not close to the group of musicians in my church. hardly talk to any of them....sigh. dunno how to approach them, paiseh. any advice?

hi ericia,

i didn't send u the invitation to view my pix ah? Must have slipped my mind! *sorry*
Send u soon k??

I think u might want to approach ur CGL &amp; discuss the situation? Or any newly wedded couples who were in the same situation as u are, fr ur church?

ggjj

hi mehmeh,
i presume HM is holy matrimonial right.. cos i use it as honeymoon in another thread..

my HM will be in SJI school chapel.. mmm.. my photo layouts are ready.. but it is still the first draft.. we are changing some of it.. will share later..

ericia,
me also not close to my church musicians.. i think i will do away with a big band cos not familiar.. a bit funny leh.. i want something more intimate..

hihi ggii,

Yupz, i use HM here as referring to Holy Matrimony.. Oh SJI School chapel, cozy place

Sure, be eagerly waiting for ur pix..

xocross

hi ericia and ggjj

you dont need church musicians as your worship team. =) mine were all made up of friends. talented and good friends... hee. they were truly a blessing...

i'm not on the church music ministry too but i have helped out as vocalist before... in fact, in a friend's upcoming wedding in oct i'm helping as vocalist again! =)

so if you have friends who are gifted in leading worship, playing instruments, singing... you can consider them. =)

c1980

hi count,
you can start asking from next tues then.
no bookings allowed till a year before. it might be a hot date because of a double number date. hmm. i get pretty confused.

glad that your in-laws were ok with the church wedding. the dinner... well, for me it was really done for our parents.

hi ericia and ggjj,
i agree with SL. you don't need the church musicians. its just that for me, i know them personally so i asked them to help. need not be. can be your friends from cell group or else where

childlike

Yes i also confused like ggj over the HM initially. too many abbrievations in singaporebrides. haha. had a hard time figuring them out but not getting used to it.
sigh i dunno any frens who are talented in the area of music lei. sigh.. think will have to thickskin ask those in my church but just that feel paiseh cos i dun know them a bit awkward.

hi SL,

Wow, so fast another wedding huh? Got 3 lined up fr Nov - Jan.. So excited, thinking of tailoring more clothes for those dinners &amp; the upcoming CNY.. think my seamstress doesn't want to see me anymore, giving her too much work! *oops*

Hi Ericia,

U're most welcome.. Gotta give credit to the boss cum designer, Yvonne. She made all my dream gowns &amp; gowns which my guests have been raving so often, inspite the wedding being a mth ago..

I'm so sorry, the forgetful me forgot which BS u've engaged?? I must do the housekeeping again..

piepie02

Thanks ggjj and mehmeh.
We're not having the champagne toasting as well. Good idea to have the emcee to annouce that. Thanks!!!

hi ericia,

Hmm, i still have my pew deco &amp; ring pillow. I wld rather do rental, coz I've got emotional attachment to them, i DIY-ed all..
How many pews are u having? Some of my pew deco were brought home by my guests. Provided u like mine &amp; suits ur theme &amp; I can meet ur required quantity, i think we can work out sthg?

Check out my multiply for pix of them..

<font color="0000ff">Christian brides details as on 22 Aug 2005</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Cookie's Gal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 Jun 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church volunteers</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lavish Dine</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bridal Concept</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Inspire Production/Inspire Production</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sembawang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jasvy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">MehMeh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">03 &amp; 04 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bloom Flower Gallery</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Elsie's Kitchen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Orchard</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BigDayStudio/BigdayStudio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">KL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church:Axxa
Banquet:Kentrich</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hillview</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Tambourina</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Leng Kwang Baptist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Green Point</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marina Mandrain</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">F*line Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Rh*ma Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TDragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 &amp; 11 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grace Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sister</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">CDCS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Emmanuel B Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Robin Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Timah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SkyeSkye</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 &amp; 20 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">All Saints</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Harvest?</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">San Mike</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Vietnam/Bali</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Carelinwen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3 &amp; 5 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Theresa's</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hyatt</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rent-A-Decor</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mandarin Oriental KL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Derrick Ong/Captured Moments</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ggjj</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SJI Chapel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Secret Garden</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sophia Wedding Collection</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve/Novex Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Carribean Cruise &amp; Florida Tour</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wedding Butler</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Teng</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 &amp; 18 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Ayer Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Safra Mount Faber</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Universal Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">New Zealand</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Purmei</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Angelala</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Julia Wedding News</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yew Kwang/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Nya</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Good Shepherd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Amara</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J &amp; M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mauritius/Aussie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Toa Payoh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">YY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 25 Mar 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wesley Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Graceful Image</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">T Dragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">n/c</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC's in-house</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thomson Wedding Design</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Israel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Gardens</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">m&amp;m</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Renewal Christian Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Teochew City Seafood Restaurant</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Gabriel Mendes/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Circuit Road</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ericia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">White Link</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">timminbuzz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">24 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Ascension</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-la</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @ Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Lilic</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SAM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky's Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">East Coast</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ivy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Boon Lay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font></td></tr></table>

Has been awhile since this table is updated, ebell, piepie &amp; any other Sisters who have joined us recently, would u like to join this family?

ebell

Meh :
I oni have
AD: 12 March 2006
Venue: TBC
BS : Divine Couture
Photo/video: Moo Media
Honeymoon : Bali / NZ
Love Nest: Old Airport Road

ebell

Erica and all,

When I saw all ur dates and realised that mine is one of the ealiest and yet I have no venue makes me q sad
. The truth is I realised that God is teaching me to submit 100% to Him. I tend to have many backup plans in life. This, I know is a sign of lack of faith and God wans to teach me to submit what is impt to me to Him. Something I am struggling but intend to do so...

Erica: Submit to God, ask Him what he wants for u. Then wait for a miracle...

Awaiting a miracle from God,
Ebell

piepie02

hi mehmeh,

here's my info:
AD: 1 Nov 05
Church: TCC
Banquet: Marriott Hotel
BS: Universal Bridal
Photo: Vincent
Lovenest: AMK
Printer: PrintWorz

Thanks a million!

Hey ebell, re-look at the venues that you are interested. Go take a second look if need to, and shortlist them. Give yourself about maximum 2 weeks' time. Once you have done that, pray about it. I'm sure God will lead you to the ideal venue. I have to say that time is a little tight for you. Once you feel that one of the venues that u've selected meets most of your citeria, then make a decision and move on. There will be a lot more planning work to do after that. Yes, sounds like a lot of work.. but its a process that will bring u and yr FH closer, as well as u two and God! Dun worry to much k? Lift them up to the Lord and He'll take care of it.
For us, God has showed His faithfulness over and over again throughout this period, so the theme of our wedding will be 'God is faithful!' We're holding the HM in the hotel, just before the lunch.

count

Dear Mehmeh,

Thanks for ur mail! Sure found the info useful! Here are my updated details -
BS: Silhouette
PS/AD: The Pond/Photolanguage

Ebell dearie,
Pray, trust and commit! I believe God is using the planning process to teach us, and make us into better Christians, for me at least! My AD is so far away (I got engaged last Aug and will only get married in Nov 06) and I realised tt he is teaching us to wait on him; the fact that we were worried abt a place to stay in after marriage cos our house will come late (now we have the option of a nice house to stay with my in-laws); my anger over having to hold a wedding dinner, which He gave me peace to deal with. I'm thankful for all these obstacles and blessings cos He has showed us that He is faithful to those who trust in Him. Do look around for suitable venues, and pray tt He will open doors for u. I believe ur miracle will come! =)

bethan

I have some problems with my officiant. The wedding is less than two months away and my pastor seems to have second thoughts abt officiating the wedding for us. It makes me think twice abt having a church wedding, as well as the whole idea abt Christianity. Talks abt grace, benevolence, forgiveness and all that jazz don't come clearly in the picture. It also makes me look at pastors in a different light. Just bcos you have the officiating power doesn't make you a more superior being, but why do they behave in a manner like we owe them a favor?

Of course, I've to admit my wedding is not an easy one, but having agreed to officiate and then changed his mind reflects somewhat dubious on his character. I'm not sure if I'm right to feel this way. I just feel that it's not right to make us go thro another counselling session with a professional psychologist as an exchange for a church wedding. It's supposed to be a blessing, not a trade. And it makes us feel the success of our wedding is subjected to their approval.

I'll be meeting one of the pastors today to talk things out. I'll see how it goes. I told my fiance that if the pastors are so afraid to taint their hands or record, then let them remain holy. A friend once told me, if the church doesn't need you, you don't need the church.

lilic

hi life

i think the point why your officiant is reacting like that is not because of reason that you say.. i am unsure of your case, but would just like to bring out a real-life example to share with you..

a very good friend of mine is getting married later this month.. altho her fiance and her are attending the same church (she was there for 6 years and the guy was there for slightly more than a year), the pastor is not officiating the wedding.. initially he agreed as well but last month, he backed out.. left with no choice, she choose to go ahead with a simple civil solemnisation..

while i am very sad that she did not push for the church wedding coz when we were in school, having a church wedding was a dream which we both cherish.. bear in mind that we two are the "first generation" christians in our families... so i confronted her.. coz i was angry and sad that she gave it up just like that.. i dinno abt the discussion she had with the pastor then.

then god revealed to me the pastor's decision through a mutual fren who is attending the same church as my fren.. the pastor prayed and he did not feel good for them to go ahead with the wedding now.. he did not feel led to officiate the wedding.. for some reasons which i will not elaborate here.. but the reasons were valid!

the pastor wanted to arrange for another counselling sessions with my fren and her fiance. but she was angish and upset and she turned the sessions down and opt to go for the civil solemnisation.. but from the pastor's heart, all he wanted to do was to protect/guide his sheep.. is he wrong? the only wrong he did was probably to agree to officiating the wedding without prayers and waiting upon the Lord.. but still his intentions were good.

i can feel for and with the pastor, i was sad with my fren's attitude towards the whole thing.. esp when her unbeliever mum ask me, "how come XXX not having church wedding? i was looking forward to attend it.."

please, dun let the unpleasant thoughts run through your mind right now.. it's probably God trying to speak through your pastor or officiant. the success of your marriage is not subject to their approval.. BUT it is built on the God's foundation.. let Him say wat He has to say, if he has any to say..

maintain a teachable attitude and open heart.. i dunno wat is your situation nor why your pastor is doing so.. but there may be a reason which they know and you dun. listen to them. sometimes, we are too preoccupied with the wedding preparations but we failed to note wat God has intended for us..

and pardon me, my two cents worth on the statement by your fren.. the church is built by our almighty God... it never needed us to build it.. but we NEED Jesus to die for us so that we can build our life!

will keep you in prayers.. *trust in the Lord for He is good*

vvbbb

I have a qn to ask ... can a christian &amp; catholic be married in church? If not, how abt outside venue and inviting a pastor?

I've been active in my church for 15yrs and would love to hv the wedding in my church. But my pastor don't allow mix-marriages. So the other option is to do it in my FH's catholic church. But i keep thinking if there's way to hv church blessing in Christian way (I am not comfortable with some of the elements in Catholic church).

Is it possible to hv church wedding outside church compound? Can we invite another church's pastor to bless the wedding? But it still feel a bit weird to hv an 'unkown'pastor to bless the wedding though...

xocross

hi life

i do agree with lilic... in a way... perhaps sometimes our wedding preparations so overwhelemd us little changes can upset us and cause us to explode...

hee. i tell you... when it was my wedding last month... just a change in napkin colour can make me mad...

on a more personal note... please dont chastise and give up on the whole christian community and what Jesus has done for you so far just because one person seemingly let you down. =) just like if my brother is a murderer, it doesnt mean i am and will be one.

"and the pastor has officiating powers doesnt make him a more superior being"... totally agree... and since you agree he is not a superior being, he is therefore not infallible... and therefore... why are you surprised that he failed you? being a pastor does not make him any less a human being ma...

ok.. that's a logical me speaking... =P

anyway... back to the heart of the matter...what is the reason why the pastor backed out of it so last minute?

is it possible to get another pastor to officiate now?

i think if you have filed for your marriage already you must update ROM on the changes. dont forget to check! =)

smile ok? let's not overfocus on things we cant change but work towards alternative ones. =) maybe it will be a blessing in disguise? maybe the new officiating pastor will be less boring and more engaging... everything happens for a reason... Man will let you down but Jesus wont let you down! =) wedding's in 2 months! wow!

be a happy bride! =)

xocross

hi viv

it depends on the pastor you are inviting i suppose?

actually you dont need a pastor to bless the wedding.. so to speak. =) maybe you can gather yoru close christians friends (sisters and brothers) and have a bridal shower. at the same time pray and commit your marriage to God? =)

lilic

hi viv

i think a church is not a building on its own.. its a congregation of God's people.. i am having my church wedding in the SAM auditorium.. outside the physical church compound.. =)

depending on the regulations by your denomination/church, you can try asking another pastor for help.. but in any case, i think you should speak to your pastor first.. i am sure the glitch will be worked out..

vvbbb

thanks SL and bsproffy,

My friend also had his at SAM, but his father is a pastor so it's easier. For me, i dunno any pastor other than my own, so dunno where to start. Mine's presbyterian.

NOt sure if getting married under an unknown pastor is any better to marrying in catholic church. Maybe i'll stick to catholic church to please my FH's family but i hv to sign pre-nup that i'll raise my kids in catholic faith...

flower1

Hi mehmeh,
are u in charge of the table? Could I join in? I've been following and reading this thread. indeed great to see the sharing and encouragement btw the sisters

My details are as follow:
AD: 18 and 19 Feb 2006
Church: Tentatively Holy Grace Presyb
Banquet: Marriott Hotel (lunch)
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings
Photo: The Pond / Plush Photography
Lovenest: Dun have as yet... still praying for God to provide
Printer: not at the moment

Thanks alot

xocross

hi viv!

sign prenup to raise your kids in catholic faith!?

wow... that's pretty daunting. hee.

and what happens if you dont? or what happens if your kids prefer christianity?

wow... i wondered if my friend had to do that? she converted from christianity to catholism sometime into her marriage tho. =) only diff is she was quite open to the latter.

btw... HELLO FLOWER! =) hope you enjoy your stay fellowshiping! =) i did! that's why after wedding still hanging around. hee... difficult to let go of this friendship established!

vvbbb

SL,

if don't sign, then can't marry in Catholic church.
and if my bf doesn't convert to Christianity, then we can't marry in Christian church.

dilemma.... I hv no one to consult cos all my friends are all christian and they marry christians in our church. So feel a bit left out. It'll be funny to ask the Church committee members and the elders to attend Catholic service on my wedding hehehe....

carelinwen

Hi viv,

My Fh is catholic and I'm a not-baptised Christian, for that reason I was not able to get married in the protestant church that we attend together. I just want to let you know that depending on parish priests, not all of them require you to sign a pre-nup to raise your children as Catholics. Some of them use the term "raise them in the Christian faith", and leave it to the couple to decide the definition.

I initially was apprehesive about getting married in a Catholic ceremony because of this too. But the priest whom spoke to us was very understanding and asked me do I have any reservations about raising children in the christian faith, I replied No, and he said that was enough for him to accept our request to officiate us already. A wedding service can be held and there will be no mention of Mary. To an outsider, it will be no great difference from a christian wedding.

It depends on what you believe in and what you want to fight for. If you can accept that it is the same God that you pray to and invite to witness in your HM regardless of church type, then you may want to consider a catholic church. If you really cannot accept then you can look for a pastor willing to officate you outside of a church building (again not all pastors/protestant churches agree to this).

When I was searching for a protestant venue for my wedding, I found out that Trueway Baptist Church in Queenstown allows non-members to book and use their venue. You may even approach their pastor to officiate you. But think they also require at least one party to be a baptised christian. But the rental is high ~$1000.

Let me know if you need any help regarding this. Hope that everything will work out for you eventually.

Hi life,

Sorry to hear what you have to go thru. Just to share that the pastor of the church I attend (with my FH) did not allow us to get married there because I am not baptised yet and we are not officially members of the church, only regular visitors. This was in order not to send out wrong signals to the congregation as my FH is a catholic. The other pastor whom took us thru the marriage counselling course in church was willing to help us officiate my wedding on his own capacity (without involving the church at a last resort-no cert from church or signing church register) and he also cannot do ROM. He told us to find a protestant church venue that will allow me to use so that it is easier for him as he did not want to be seem going against his main pastor by marrying us at any other buildings.

In the end, I did not want to have all the diff logistics to handle and to trouble that pastor, so I settled for a plan B. Maybe you can ask your pastor his reasons, or ask him to help you reccomend other pastors whom may be able to help you instead.

vvbbb

carelinwen,

what a relief! I told my FH that i saw the booklet that was shared in the forum, hv Mary all over. But he told me he didn't remember being any in the wedding he attended. So let's hope that you and my FH is alright. That is one element that i couldn't accept.

Ya, i'm not really picky abt rasing the kids up in christian/catholic faith. I'm alright if my kids are catholics or christians

OK, let's hope for the best for my church wedding then.

Thank you all for your sharing and advice and help.