Christian Brides

rie

Hi SW!

Like you, I was hunting for a church as well. One of my option was Living Hope Methodist Church - http://www.lhmc.org.sg/

However, it's in Tampines. But, I believe there's wooden pews. Not too sure about stained glass though. However, I'm sure you can enquire about their rates.

And, hello all! I'm glad I found this thread!

lambies

Hi everyone! How have you been?

Welcome rie!

celinepuah

Hey people,

Sorry have been really bz with work work work... the Internal auditors are coming.. so yea... bz bz...

also, was also bz with 'parents meet parents session' my htb parents finally get to meet my parents...

His whole family went over to KL last weekend and stayed over at my place.. ^O^"

Btw, coz we are all Christian .. do you all still follow the chinese traditions? ie.. Ping Jing, dowry...etc... ?
Absolute no clue on these....sigh...
Anyway, his parents ain't Christian...and my htb is their 1st son.. so no experience at all..
didn't even mention anything except that we are getting married..blabla.. @_@"

Rie, thanks for the info!! will continue on my search for the church soon~~!

rie

Hi sw & junee - thanks!

Actually, I don't have all these as well. Cause my parents are christians and my FH's mum accepted the Lord like 2 years back. So, the families are not particular. I think my parents just said, a token angbao can already.

but my future MIL bought me si dian jin.. harha!

catholic

I have sign up a package with Rasel for my church wedding in December.

We have decided to do away with our Church wedding cos my IL are not a Catholic or Christian.

I have check with my caterer and they are willing to accept any wedding booking with any prices so long as I can find someone to take over.

Have paid a deposit of $1000. Willing to transfer at $500.00

For sincere buyer buyer only.

I don't check this forum often. Please email me directly [email protected]

winterpolaris

Hi SW, i think for some reasons the chinese parents especially the traditional one still do follow like the guo da li, ping jing, meet the match maker set the bride price etc, but skipping the rites like example "an chuan" or "paying respect to the ancestors on AD"

After all the parents must have siblings who are non christians and apparently relatives always got something to gossip about. hahaha

by the way which caterer are you gals engaging?

celinepuah

Hey winterpolaris,
Thank u for the info!! Yea..chinese really got so many traditions... infact my FIL already started thinking of how to decorate the house.. ^O^"

Have not engage any caterer... coz haven't found a church yet. went home last weekend.... will continue my search this weekend ^-^

rie

hi winterpolaris,

You can try looking at Rasel or Lavish. This seems to be quite the recommended few. For myself, I will be going with Lavish as I tasted their food at my friend's wedding and it wasn't too bad.

Their decor was quite pretty too.

catholic

So sorry, we are going ahead with our church wedding so not transfering the package.

winterpolaris
You can try calling Rasel, they really compromise to my request even when I mention about wanting to transfer out. My sales person number 92771255 (Elsie)

winterpolaris

hello!

Hey Jess, is ok thanks!

Rie, lavish is quite expensive actually i've got a budget cos i am catering for 350 people in church for lunch... So sigh :S

geravin

hi,, anyone knows of a pastor who is willing to solemnise on sunday evening. Would like to have a christian wedding but NCC doesn't do it on Sundays. Also, I thought it would be a meaningful experience to get the pastor to work through the journey with you before solemnising on the actual day. Am so vexed about it cos many churches will only do it for members... SIGH!!

sparkless

geravin - personally, i dun think it will be easy to find a pastor that will solemnize on a sun. Because the pastor has to preach on sun services. Timing wise, is tight. physically and mentally, may be taxing.

venue wise - unless is external site from church, how to decorate the sanctury in time for evening wedding?

my pastor journeys with us from last year oct, when we begin to start the wedding preps until now. we are meeting our pastor again this month.

I guess the practice differs from every church.

winterpolaris - i'm using neo garden's subsidiary - Orange Clove. I am also doing a lunch reception for abt 200-250 pax. Pick their premium package since we are doing away the banquet.

winterpolaris

no leh.. if is on sundays ...very rare lar this case.. the couple will do the wedding right after the service... inclusive of decoration. the timing was like this

12pm - the church congregation "evacuate"
12pm - Florist decorate
2pm - Wedding service begin...

but ya tulips is rite... practice differs from church to church... example i gotta fought hard to get my mom to choose a saturday for our wedding when she wanted weekday -_-"""

geravin

mine will not be a church wedding. the solemnisation will be done at a hotel, before the dinner. I thought most churches have services in morning so evenings should be ok. Moreover, most churches are closed on Mondays so pastors should be able to rest...

winterpolaris

oic... i tot shd be ok cos my client had her soleminsation in the hotel + worship too. And it was a sunday evening.

Yeah u are right most pastors rest day are on Mondays.

celinepuah

Hie people…
Am so sad… emailed Wesley Methodist church, Trinity Christian Church, Princep Street Pesberytarin Church and got turned down by all…

It seems so hard to find a church that can accept non-members… sigh…
so discourage...

sparkless

Hi SW,

Don't get discouraged. You can try the following churches...

1. Grace Assembly
2. Faith Methodist (if one of you is a Methodist)
3. Trinity Theological Colleage (they have a very nice chapel)
4. Aldersgate

winterpolaris

oh my client and her husband is from 2 different churches. Thus might have use her husband's church pastor instead. Tiink they were agreeable to do worship and solemnise in the hotel on sunday. I can't remember which church but is from Methodist.

i go find out and let u know.

croinkster

hello, we intend to have our wedding church service next year december 2010. have just called Trinity Theological College chapel less than an hour ago, was disheartened to hear from the staff that they have stopped renting their chapel for wedding... =(

any inputs of nice church available for rental?

our church currently still has not had its own building, thus gotta go through the trouble of finding one.. =(

thanks alot in advance.

rie

hello shirleen..

i had the same problem as you, hence, my fiance and i rented a church. depending on the size of your guests, you might like to try Lutheran Church of Our Redeemer or Living Hope Methodist Church.

These were the few churches that we checked out.

sparkless

After one year of preparation, my wedding has come and gone.

Just a few points to share from my experience

1. make sure all your helpers know exactly what are their roles and what they are responsible for

2. have 2 main coordinators. 1 for coordinating everything outside the sanctuary. Another for coordinating everything inside the sanctuary.

3. List out all important contacts and pass it down to your coordinators.

4. During wedding rehearsal, introduce everyone and their role, so they know who to look for.

5. Remember to have helpers to standby to clear out stuff after wedding.

6. Lastly, pray and commit everything unto His hands.

Smile and enjoy yourself! It will be a beautiful wedding

celinepuah

Hi people...

how's the preparation??

am kinda discourage.... wedding is dec 2010.. but till now still not able to secure a church for my church wedding....

it seems so hard to hold a Christian wedding ... =( sigh....

coriela

I am also a Christian BTB. I am currently attending BRMC. However, as I am not a member there, we had decided to have our church wedding at the hotel premise instead as my in-laws are not Methodist and neither are my parents. The pastor had kindly agree to do it. So I feel very Blessed now. lol.

Have your thought of having it out of church premises too?

shirlykoh

Hi Laetitia,

Just want to share my experience here

We had our Holy Matrimony in the hotel's function room before our lunch in Oct last year. Do know that you will not be short changed for His presence even though it's not in the church premise. The word says He is in our midst when 2 or 3 are gathered in His name.

The Lord's presence was so strong throughout the whole Holy Matrimony. I started to wept uncontrollably when we started to sing praise & worship. Was so concious that my mascara will smudge that I kept nudging my hubby to check whether my makeup turns ugly! LOL.

When pastor started to bless us, both of us also wept...felt that His love for us was so strong! Frankly speaking, I can't really remember what pastor was saying to me throughout coz I was too overwhelmed by my emotions :p So if you're not hiring a professional photographer, it's best that you have your frens to take short clips here & there with their camera for your remembrance.

We only hired photographer but were so blessed that our frens helped us took video clips, even without our requests. 1 of them filmed the whole process of saying our vows, I get to hear what my pastor said to me then :p

Happy preparation!Know that everything will happen for your good!

saleslrj

We specialize in wholesale handbags and Luggage. Free Shipping over $300. View our latest selection of animal print bags,designer handbags,replica handbags,fashion bags, Ed Hardy Style bags, leather bags, coach purse,chaenl handbags. Great Wholesale Pricing! Order online at www.wholesaledesignershop.com. Products upd. Contact us for more inforamtion if you need: [email protected]

lambies

Hi twinkle I did

My church ceremony started at 1030 am. Gatecrashing at 730am.

I had dinner too on the same day. It's tiring but it's manageable!!

rururoo

hi junee,

do you have a program schedule? care to let me take reference? i'm also having a gatecrash + church ceremony + banquet all in 1 day! and i have no idea how it's going to work out!

many thanks

pinkcoral

Hi rururoo.. here's my draft schedule.
Hope it helps.

6-8am - make up & breakfast
8.15am - gatecrash
9.15am - leave for church
10am - be in church
10.30am - guests be seated
11am - solemnisation begins
11.45am - solemnisation finishes
11.45am-12.15pm - photo-taking
11.45-1pm - buffet & tea ceremony
1-2pm - go to his place + new house
2.30pm - go to hotel

4-6pm - make up in hotel
6-7pm - photoshoot
8pm - dinner starts

kohbros

Hi Babes! NCC doesn't do holy matrimony on Sunday becos all pastors work from Tues till Sun, Monday is their only off day

BTW Shirley, Awesome sharing of your wedding
God is in the midst
Enjoy planning ladies

pinkcoral

I just had my wedding on 01 Jan and it was awesome! The whole day was over so fast for me! It was such a whirlwind!

Amelia, NCC also do not do solemnisations on Public Holidays. It was a personal favor from our pastor when he agreed to help us out for our wedding.