Christian Brides

hislove

Hi mei,
I agree with wedding_gal.
To u the date "chosen" does not mean anything to u..
For all things that make for peace, u can go ahead wif ur FMIL.
However, I believe that you should gently let her know ur religious belief and that u would not want to strain any relationships but that ur wedding date means alot to u & ur FH, n would wnat it to be a date that means something to the 2 of u.

wedding_girl

mei,
actually, when's your wedding? is it a special date to you and your FH? like anniversary, or first date? maybe that can help your case?
i totally understand how you feel. i was really annoyed about the whole thing, especially since MIL had in the first place agreed to not choose a date. but my FH said since it doesn't mean anything to us, and it'd make her happy, i decided to go along with it.

pinkcupcake

hi wedding gal and jess,
ha ha. i totally agree. no la, i never intended to put my foot down and tell i don't want her to pick a date. agree it's not worth straining our relationship over a small issue like this. (have to live with her later somemore!)was just hoping that with prayer, she will just see that it's easier having it all on the same day and I don't have to say anything at all.

it's a small problem. just sharing a prayer request so don't worry. I'm not very vexed by this!

wedding girl, did i see you on the silhoutte thread or Tri-angles? cannot remember!
you taking hilarion?

wedding_girl

mei,
yes, still pray about it, and see how things go... good that you're not too vexed by it. i remember i was quite annoyed.
and yes, i saw you in the tri-angles thread. taking hilarion. but sometimes i have second thoughts leh. you also taking hilarion right? your BS is silhouette? you've chosen your gown already?

pinkcupcake

Hi wedding girl,
Actually told Hilarion verbally that i would book him. Because he has overseas shoots and all, i only actually sign the contract this evening. Second thoughts? about? I had second thoughts initially. PM me and we talk more?
my email: [email protected]

But i think what made me sign in the end was his years of experience, the many good reviews and i think style-wise, I must be clear what i want and show him many pictures with the style i like. (me cutting out nice shots from magazines now.)

and ya, my BS is silhouette. I also shopped at D'sire, Divine and Julia Wedding News but fell in love with a gown I saw at Silhouette. So ya, i have even chose my gown already! Actually never expected to sign up so soon. Just wanted to look-see like what you girls advise me to. Who knows, see something i love - so sign up loh.
no more fun things to do! How about you?

crayongal

hey Jess/mei..
where will u gals be holding yr church HM? i am still sourcing for a church venue.. n did call holy grace as well previously...
i tink most churches only allow bookings/confirmation abt 3-6mths b4 the AD. hmm... quite late hors.. how.. ?

newae, saw your discussion on the caterer too. i am interested in using Rasel.. anybody has a contact there whom i can call or email ? hee.. me also have got a budget of $10 per pax...for e church recept. (lunch/tea menu shld be fine ya..)
was also checking out four seasons.. the website has their menu and it looks not too bad too..
anyone has any comments.. ?

hislove

Hi Stef,
U can call elsie at 67777183 for Rasel.

my wedding will be held at St Andrew's Cathedral.
However, booking onli opened to members

Maybe u can try PraiseHaven (Salvation Army) or Trinty Theological College?
Both are at Upper Bt Timah Rd
I tink they do allow a yr in advance kind of booking.. can try calling..
sorry i don't have their no.. u can google?

crayongal

heh.. thanks jess.
i will try calling elsie from Rasel... they'll sorta be able to plan a menu to suit our budget ya.. mine is btwn $10-$12 per pax. =)

thnx.. i was tinkg of trying praisehaven .. but realised it is abit far off.. we're (FH & me) both at east side.. so most prob try to find somewhere around the area... thanks!! =)

pinkcupcake

HI Stef, I'm thinking of having a solemnisation by a pastor at the hotel where i'm holding my banquet. probably just short sermon then solemnisation and sign the cert. After that, these friends can take photo with me, enjoy the cocktail and wait for the banquet to start.

hislove

hi stef,
i heard.. but not sure.. u can call the church to find out if they're open for rental.
Trinity@paya lebar.
It's Trinity Christian Church.
They have a new building there..

wesniff

hi mei, i'm also thinking of something along that line.. I'm still scouting around for a hotel that will allow me to use the garden/pool or function room foc if i book their banquet hall for dinner.. i'm looking at a banquet of 16 - 20tables only so i'm checking with marina mandarin, oriental, gcw n shangri la..

pinkcupcake

hi wesniff,
mine will be at GCW, but not FOC. have to pay $588 for an outdoor pavilion.
praying that the weather will be fine on my AD, or else, i would have paid $588 for a room (they do have a backup room in case of wet weather) that i could have gotten for free!

crayongal

hey Jess..
thanks! ya.. maybe i'll check out trinity at paya lebar.. sounds like a gd idea.. hehe..

hmmm... mei , i also toyed with that idea - having the solemnisation and prayer just before the banquet... but, we have some ppl whom we are likely to invite only for church recept/solemnisation and not the banquet (limiting to closer frens/family..) so, ya.. cant do dat..
we have abt 400 ppl for the church recept.... so, now ... its finding the church venue dats abit of a headache...
but.. i shall not worry too much.. God provides! heh

lovely_samsoon

my church wedding is in Sept and i havent confirmed any caterer yet! :s had been really busy with the house renov and my work and din get it done
now im in a panic mode

ive short listed harvest. do u gals have any reviews on that? appreciate your comments. thanks!

pinkcupcake

Hi stef, wow. 400 people for the church recept - ya, cannot do solemnisation at banquet venue. not enough space also, unless you were thinking of doing it in the ballroom, and not at poolside or garden of hotel.
mine just the opp. Solemnisation only for close friends and family to witness. Then later colleagues and relatives plus the people at the solemnisation will join me at dinner.

never mind, you still have a lot of time to look for a nice church. and ya lor, God will provide your ideal venue.
what is your criteria for your church venue? must have pews? air-conditioned sanctuary, location etc? if i hear of anything i will post it up.

hislove

hi stef,
ya.. 400 guests for church reception.. understand..
me inviting 550 guests to my church wedding.
i tink still not enough.. hehe.. coz our parents want to invite 200 guests each... hehe..
now into final stage of negotiation wif our parents.. haha..

Hi lovely_samsoon,
sorry.. i have no idea abt harvest, but me getting rasel..
thot the pricing & food quality is gd

cherry07

Hi Jess,

Thanks for sharing

Oh, din know that Rasel has a $10 lunch menu too. It gives me the impression that what they have is very ex. Now, trying to finalise whether have a lunch or tea reception.
Lunch recep at 2pm, is it too late huh?

lovely_samsoon

hi jess,

thanks for sharing. i've called rasel, most prolly will get them. they're quite professional plus they have worked with the church i'm holding my wedding at. but think maybe her eq is not too high? she said that my church was "run down"
i dun have much time left to really 'shop around'. have u done food tasting for rasel?

i also intend to do a cupcake tower for my church recept. my sis has kindly agreed to sponsor that for me
yay! does anyone have contacts for cupcakes?

oceanluv

hi all sis-in-Christ,

can anyone share with my your program for Holy Mat?
Anyone knows if the sequence for the ring bearer, flower gal, best man, maid of honor..etc?

thks!

crayongal

hey mei,

thanks..! hehe.. me.. yeps.. i hope to have it in the east-area... and pews or not is fine.. but we hope to have air-con'ed sanctuary and possibly with projector/screen lors...
yep yep.. lemme noe if u hear of anythg...

well, we have quite some time still... thing is, most churches wont let us confirm till end of the year or early next yr .. we did call some of 'em. so, its so uncertain.. haha.. =)

Jess,
550 is aLOT of ppl!! hehe.. well, u sure need to negotiate with yr parents man.. hehe.. mine.. mainly coz of the church folks too.. i grew up in the church and so, quite a no. of ppl that i need to invite.. =)

hislove

hi cherry07,
lunch recep at 2pm?
hmm.. i tink it's fine..
my fren did his that time.. but peopel usually quite hungry then.. so ur food portion must watch for it

hi lovely_samsoon,
huh? how cna they say ur church rundown?
so rude..
who did u spoke to?

hi stef,
hehe.. nvm lah.. wedding is a happy occasion.
our parents proud of us.. hehe.
i rather walk down the aisle in a packed church than a quiet one.. hehe..

Hi AL,
u can check wif ur church for the order of service.
as for ur processional march.. usual style.
ring bearer 1st, then flower gals, then brides maid, maid of honour and finally u.
best man & ur groom stand at the altar there waiting for u.
i noe in US, they may have the groomsmen escort the bridesmaid in

crayongal

kekeke... very very true indeed.....!!
i also would rather have a packed / crowded church crowd den a quiet one.. hee...

my own church premises/auditorium is quite huge.. so , our crowd would actually look quite sparse in the audi... well, now its also a gd thing they're renovating it next year.. so, we have to look for a place.. hehe.. so , we'll jus look for one dat can accomodate our crowd and is not so huge. hehe

lovely_samsoon

hi jess,

i spoke to elsie :s i tried to correct her by saying the church is veri 'retro' but she still din geddit
it's probably true that the church is old, but still...... duh

racherly

Hi, i'm looking for a church near town area or in the east, air-conditioned sanctuary, with pews and projector. Any recommendations?

cherry07

Hi Jess,

I managed to convince my parents and in laws that we will have the tea ceremony in the church, so i can start my ceremony earlier and have lunch earlier ard 1 plus..
now must look for caterers liao.

Hi racherly,
U may want to try church of christ of malaya at sophia road... near peace centre

yuene

Hey AL, my order of service ranas follows:

Prelude (pre-service choral music)
Processional

First hymn
Taking of vows
Exchanging of rings
Prayer
Unveiling of bride and kiss
Signing of register
Exhortation
Second hymn
Prayer

Recessional
Photo-taking (btw I did the re-march-in)
Lunch reception

5omega5

Dear Beloved in Christ!

Just like to share with all the goodness of our Heavenly Father lavish love for my husband & I on our wedding day - 30th June 2007.

It was amazing at how we came this far, looking back now at those times/appointments with hotels, florists and different vendors involved in wedding prep. The financial aspect was difficult with the costly Arts House rental fee, the flower décor and food caterer for the whole wedding. The uncertainty of the number of guests to invite due to venue space constraint and amount of food to cater for. The process of designing our of wedding cards and source for printer, and the list goes on… one conclusion, thank you for the GRACE of Lord Jesus surrounding and carrying us through, I seriously doubt my husband and I would be united on 30th June if not because of His Grace - many a times when we quarreled, we really wanted to give up...

The level of stress and anxiety that grew even stronger closer to the date. I realized that many (esp. Christian) brides tend to go through a period of depression before their BIG day. We started to have fear (of various aspects). Fear that is irrational, illogical yet it's so real inside you. I learnt that couples going thru trail and depression before unity could be becos of devil jealousy, he's trying to stop God's blessings from coming forth when a man and woman are united. Holy Matrimony is deem as a honorable covenant btw husband and wife that is highly blessed and approved by Abba God.

Just like to encourage all of who are preparing your wedding of this :"if you can't see God's hand working, instantly in a difficult situation you are in right now; trust and see God's heart that is loving you truly. Having the best provided for you and your husband. Only believe and don't doubt His love that has never fail.

On our actual day, there were little hip cups. Told myself "don't let the little foxes spoil the vine, keep my eyes on Jesus".

Besides the minor hip cups, there were many many goodness to give thanks to God for, like blessing us the best wedding coordinator who has great eyes for details. My makeup artist, the best photographer who is so organize and efficient. Our florist who did such fabulous job in dressing up the venue. And all our helpers for their special touch on our wedding day.

Loves and Hugs specially to them all…

Shalom.

lovesthesea

I am new to this thread... Hope to exchange information with all of you.

I have been looking out for wedding/ unity candles for church wedding. Some places that I've been are selling at rather costly prices (around $100). I only managed to find someone making these at Yahoo Singapore selling at reasonable price, yet elegant looking. Anyone knows where to buy unity candles at reasonable prices?

In case you are interested in the source,it's:
http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/search?p=unity+candle&cat=26084

Thanks for sharing!

hislove

Hi 5omega5,
thanks for ur sharing & testimony.
I'm very encouraged..
i'm 2 mths away from my wedding.. it's getting stressful indeed.
but like wat u say.. if not for the grace of God, i can never handle all these things plus work plus reno etc..
All praises to the King!

blessed_1

Hi Omega 5.
R u from New Creation Church? U sound like me.. hehe.. that is why.
Yup, I agree. There are always like fights and quarells but Jesus is the 3rd party in my relationship and as our Abba, He faithfully binds us together. I wana share and encourage u, my sisters, that God truly is an abundant provider. We were really messed up in our heads regarding Wedding Favors. Well, many suggested Joo Chiat Complex as they have much variety and is cheap. However, I was shocked to hear that I MUST order 500 minimum cos Malay weddings mimimal guest list is 500 pax. Quite saddened, I left the place and con'd to pray Jesus show us a great place to get really innovative favors. Then I came across another lady who does it as a home business.But never work out. Finally God provided a place where they offered coasters for $1.20 but we wanted favors for just $1. But many places dun have. Finally, we just prayed and hallelujah! the owner of the coaster shop said just for us, they'll sell at $1.00!!! amazing grace! amen!

5omega5

Hi just adding to LovesTheSea sharing...

My husband actually did the unity candle himself as both the main & side candles can get easily around us at very low cost.

The main pillar candle is only $5.50 from Ikea & 2 side candles for $2.50 from cold storage at marine parade.

Just find any preferred picture and a nice corsage to decorate the main candle. And you get the set as seen in Yahoo Singapore link. It is personal and unique to you.

crayongal

hey omega 5..
thanks for yr testimony! indeed very encouraging... =)

Jess..
dun be stressed! 2mths more to go to the big day.. muz have less stress and be pretty pretty bride.. indeed our Lord is always there =)

gals..
jus wanna chk.. how many ppl would u usually cater food for.. ? if i've got 400.... eh.. cater for 250 enuff? hee.. dats wat my fren told me.. she catered for abt half the crowd and still hv left overs..... haha

yuene

Stef, really depends on the caterer and what time your reception is. Is 400 the confirmed number of people who are coming? For my wedding I ended up over-catering because most of the people who said that they were going to show up didn't in the end, so I had only about 300 (I catered for 350, expecting 400 people, including 40 very hngry teenagers) and there were a lot of leftovers-- you could say that it was a bad case of 'feeding the 5000'! But the general rule is to cater for 70-80% of the confirmed attendance, so 250 might be a little low. If your wedding date is a popular date, then go with 70%. Check also on your caterer, they may be the kinds who are stingy and will prepare just nice for that number.

crayongal

hey sylphide.. thanks for the tip..
hmmm ... i am jus using 400 as a gauge.. most likely dats the no. im inviting (including quite a no. of kids as well la) and erms.. its likely to be a late afternoon thing... so, not lunch.. likely not many hungry folks? keke....

btw.. based on some of the rasel reviews/comments.. i reckon they're not the stingy category and shld prepare a lil buffer as well hor? keke =P

yuene

In that case, try a tea reception menu instead. Don't know if there'll be less hungry folks or what, but I think that better not assume too much when it comes to food--better that there's an excess than a shortage. But Rasel isn't too stingy, they prepared an alright buffer (for the amount that I'd originally catered for)

crayongal

oh.. hehe
alrites..... actually, i was tinkg .. maybe a lunch buffet.. (coz it would be heavier food) and den cater for abt 70% or so.. den shld be quite sufficient. hehs..

me will call rasel again ano'r day to chk out their rates.. hee
now its still abit early. keke =)

usually, book abt 3-4mths before AD?

hislove

Hi stef,
thanks for ur encouragement!
I'm not stressed.. just very bz. many things happening! haha..
But God is good.. our all sufficient provider!
It's not too early too book caterer.
I booked Rasel i think 7 months ahead..
Not that my date is popular but coz i just want to settle stuff early.

crayongal

hmmmm.... 7 mths ahead ah ?
well.. okie... hehe.. maybe i'll do smthg lydat too lors... 6-7mths ahead.

eh.. seems most of you book Rasel and are quite happy with them hors? hehe.. i trust u gals! keke =P

spidyqueen

hey guys i'm new here!
thought i shd share my good experience!

Catering
Went ahead with Angeli all thanks to the good comments from friends as well as this forum. Mr Lee is very responsible and accomodating with our requests. and flexible enough to help us save costs. He also arranged for a cosy and romantic tasting at this ofc! for free! The dry mee siam is my fave! and their decor is very classy as well. http://www.angeli.com.sg/

Florist
Dealt with a few and had really bad experience, esp with Heaven's Touch. but by God's grace, we found Qiuxian from Rosebay! her designs are really nice and she is genuinely concerned and interested in doing up a dream wedding for us then charging us for every single thing. She even threw in a centerpiece for my reception table! www.rosebayflowers.com.sg

Interior Designer
Came across r e z t and r e l a x (minus the spacing) and love their designs. Unlike many other IDs, they actually did propose something creative and not like the standard layout. our ID seems responsible and i've come across some pretty good comments as well. sorry can't post the URL due to the filtering.

My two cents worth. hope it helps!

crayongal

hee
spidyqueen...thnx for the comments and contacts! =)

hmm.. jus to chk wif u .. hee.. for the ID, wats their cost like... quite reasonable ? how much r they quoting u for yr aprtment.. =)

cherry07

Do u have any recomendations for printers that print church invitation cards and bulletin sheets?

I checked out Tecman. They do not print for customised cards. Checked out T dragon but quite expensive for printing of customised design.

spidyqueen

Hey Stef,

i think it's quite reasonable as mine's pretty basic, no fancy fixtures. Doing floor, walls, 2 bathrooms, 2 wardrobes, kitchen cabinet etc. Abt 25k excl electrical wiring + aircon.

i met another ID, the ONLY one with Superbrand award, and i was speechless with their svc. Gave them our budget, and being a 3rm flat, the designer actually left out one room cos he went out of budget after drawing the kitchen, hall + mbr. In his words, he said 'this other room you can just buy loose furniture and throw in there'. i was appalled. and when we asked him for another layout he had the cheek to ask for a deposit, worse still it's is refundable IN KIND.

To be fair to their costing, i compared the basic ones like clearing of debris, the quotation for that was double of what RnR quoted.

ultimately i thk it's impt to meet up, and share your ideas with them.

hope that helps.

lovely_samsoon

hi cherry,

i printed my wedding card inserts from T & T Instant Print Service, JB CITY SQUARE, level 4. the cost was RM100 (~S$50) for 300 pc of inserts. they were printed in gold ink.

for my church invites, i used a one piece 'post card' type. cant remb the cost...

i must commend Shirley's assistance and helpfulness in the whole process. the resolution of the location map provided by my church was too poor and shirley helped us re-do the map at no additional cost!

whole process is also fast. 1st visit, drop off the sample print, the actual date and words to be printed. the sample was ready in 1 hour. then 1 week later, we jus went down to collect.

the church invite took longer coz of the map. but we liaised via emails and a couple of phonecalls. everything was fast.

cherry07

Hi lovely samsoon,

Thanks for the contact. Wow.. $50 for 300 pc of inserts is very affordable!
mmm.. T dragon charges abt $200 for printing alone for 170 cards for wedding dinner ( wedding cards are free from hotel)!
Gosh.. ok, I must plan for the church invite card and design liao..

crayongal

hehs.. i guess quite a no. of ppl go down to JB (city sq) for printing.. so the shops there esp T & T muz be quite experienced.. so, wont go wrong gg to them for printing eh? hehe

lovely samsoon,
so... Shirley is a staff of T&T who was doing the printing for u? heh
i also intend to print one pce post card kinda invite for church... inserts for banquet as usual lor..
eh.. how abt the prog booklet or smthg for AD program... usually .. how do u gals do it eh? =)

pinkloveang

I was lucky that everyone who helped me are sisters and brother in christ. Maybe God planted all the angels around me to help me through my wedding preparations...i was touch when my MUA, prayed with me to calm me down. Really, the nervousness i felt was so great..and she just stop whatever she was doing and talked to me. maybe she sensed i was shivering..or like what some frens said, Holy Spirit prompted her to do it. I engaged her through this forum who were talking about her. Didn't know she was a christian til she prayed for me. My makeup artist was Sher 97933809, quite alot of brides discussing about her in the makeup artist thread. You can SMS her to ask her rates, say recommanded by Peishi. And she only reply SMS. Coz she works for magazines. Can't answer calls all the time.