Christian Brides

crayongal

hey sailor_p...
congrats!!

hmm.. at least u r able to wed in yr own church..
hehs........ we're still looking for a venue.. keke =)

sailor_p

Hi Stef

No, I have to look for a venue too as our church doesn't have a proper church building. Which church are you from? I am from New Creation Church.

blessed_1

Hehe.. Hi Sailor =)
Yups, it is me, Debbie..I've replied u via email. we can keep each other in touch via email yea?

Hi Jess,
I think Chris is good cos she is open to my ideas and even suggested that I give her the pics that I want her to follow so that it is more custom made and for the first time in my life, I heard a quotation that didnt blow me to Planet Jupiter! Same goes for the table centrepieces, something nice costs only $8!!! As compared to many other places which I found out charge as much as $50-100! So if u want, get Best Florist. I know I will be, lor =)

hislove

Hi Debbie,
It's great u found a florist u are comfortable to work wif.
I've yet to settle that. hehe..
Still procratisnating. hehe..

Hi Stef,
Don't worry abt ur venue.
Pray & God will provide.
I've seen how God did so in my case. More than what I expected and dreamt of.

H Zoie,
Praise the Lord for ur succesful application.
One less headache. hehe..

hapimint

Sailor, we are of the same church... haha... when did you apply for the date? I thought for NCC, we have to apply one year in advance? haha.... just curious....

sailor_p

Hi Mindy

The pastoral service executive told us that one couple has made a withdrawal. Although we do not fulfill the criteria, we can put in a special appeal which we did two weeks ago. We met up with pastor for a counselling session and it was approved on the spot!

Debbie! Yes, I got your email. I am so glad to be in touch with you. We can now keep in touch and encourage one another for the preparation!

hapimint

thats great... we were actually planning end of this year... then we went to apply early this year but the pastoral group told us that it is fully booked...
So we settled for early nt year... haha...

sailor_p

Hi Mindy

When is your wedding and how's your preparation so far? Hey, you are blessed too to have a NCC wedding.

hapimint

haha... well, we are having it on the 12th of jan.... haha...
Preparation---- nothing... haha.... we did look for flats lar... but i told my SO that without a proper proposal, i dun wan to arrange for anything yet...
But secretly, I am looking into renting a church premises to hold the wedding... haha...

sailor_p

Mindy

Ha ha... sounds like my case. I told my FH where I want to have my wedding... but will not go wedding shopping with him till he "properly" proposed to me...

by the way, when did you submit your application of NCC?

crayongal

hey sailor_p,
im from one of the AG churches.

hmms, not quite sure about your church's application process.. heh.. i thought u had an approval to use the church or smthg... hehe.. oops.

so , where r some of the churches u are looking into? hmm... i understand some are only able to confirm few mths b4 the AD. but yeps.. thanks Jess... i am indeed praying that God will provide~ i'm sure He will! hehs

sailor_p

Hi Stef

Nope, I am not having a wedding in church. I am getting the pastor to our dinner venue. We are combining the soleminsiation and dinner together.

crayongal

oh... i see...
heh.. dat is gd too lahs....can save some money there... =)

hmmm.. me haven't spoken to the pastor whom we would be requesting to do the solemnisation for us..
but, have to do dat soon... spoke to our own region's pastor oredi tho'.. heh

yuene

ARRRRRRRHHH why me??????? ***hais*** Of all the things to get right now, I've got a cold sore on my lip! And it's 10 days to my trial make-up session. First food poisoning. Now this. What next? *wails*

bb_queen

Hey Sharon

Don't fret. God has the best planned for all of us. If I get food poisoning before my wedding day, I will be happy coz I can lose a bit of weight. Build up your immunity.

yuene

*sigh* Thanks, BB. Maybe when I step on the scales they'll suddenly show I've lost 2kg! =) Anyway, I got my wedding card done, my sister designed it! One more thing off my mind...

ewwgetoffme

hey Sharon:
will pray for you. i know how it feels after years of beauty disasters due to murphy's law and God's will. haha. 10 days should be enough for the cold sore to go away right? at least it's only trial makeup
you know, when on the actual day God gives you no hiccups, you would realise how blessed you are because pre-wedding, you have been through a lot (food poisoning, cold sore, yadda yadda). then you will thank Him more :D

dear sisters:
as of today I am officially and exactly 1.5 years away from my wedding. AAAGGGGHHHHH. time really shoots past you like NOTHING okay... i have to call restaurant soon. gyaaaa! i'm swamped with projects somemore.

glad to see more and more sisters joining here! have a book to recommend to you all for all those preparing for wedding. it's about courtship, but it's really relevant to read even though you know you're 'secured' because you're gonna get married. it really does provide the preparation for marriage and the things to take note of.

Boy Meets Girl: Say Hello to Courtship
by Joshua Harris
may be bought in Life Bookshop (around $20+ for new edition, around $19+ for old edition)

Summary extracted from back of cover:

Are you ready for "Romance with Purpose"?

If you're fed up with self-centered relationships that end in disillusionment, it's time to rethink romance. Finding the loving, committed relationship you want shouldn't mean throwing away your hopes, your integrity or your heart.

In 'Boy Meets Girl', Joshua Harris - the guy who kissed dating goodbye - makes the case for courtship. As old-fashioned as it might sound, courtship is what modern-day relationships desperately need. Think of it as romance chaperoned by wisdom, cared for by community, and directed by God's Word.

Filled with inspiring stores from men and women who have rediscovered courtship, 'Boy Meets Girl' is honest, romantic and refreshingly biblical. Keep God at the center of your relationship as you discover how to:

-Set a clear course for your romance
-Get closer without compromise
-Find support in a community
-Deal with past sexual sin
-Make the right decisions about your future

(end summary)

i got the new edition, which has eight ideas for dates that will help the couple grow and learn about each other. i particularly love the chapter about how to be sexually pure where Joshua Harris was talking about how he felt about his wife when they were four months away from the wedding. it inspired my boyfriend and i to follow what he and his then-fiancee did - list out a list of guidelines for dos and don'ts. it's all about being specific so you don't give sin a chance.

do consider this book!

i've gotta go. do take care, all of you. i'll still pop by regularly

hapimint

haha... I registered with NCC in Mar... haha... so well, we were expecting to wait till nt year march but they had an empty slot in Jan and therefore, we took it... haha....
Hmm... I am calling NCC later.... I need to get a flat... resale le... haha.... then i think NCC to write a letter to prove that i am truely getting married....
not sure if they do that.....

hislove

Hi Sharon,
Do take care yah?
I tink the rest said wat I wanted to say. hehe..
May the Lord grant u speedy recovery.
U never noe.. maybe tis time is to teach u to trust Him & not get work up on wedding prep.
This is a lesson God constantly is teaching me too. hehe..

Hi Lydia,
thanks 4 ur bk recommendation.
I read the bk very long ago liao.. hehe..
when my FH & I started dating each other.
I must say it's a refreshing. Tho' many times, some of the struggles the author mentioned are so real & really tough to handle.
But I must say God is absolutely instrumental in helping us to keep on track with Him & His will.

Btw.. on the topics of bks, wondering if u gals have read Selwyn Hughes' "Marriage as God Intended".
It's a classic.
Do read it if u can.
U can even pass it on to ur daughters next time. hehe.. basic truths never go out of date

blessed_1

hi sistas

Sharon: Do not be down cast. Turn ur eyes to Jesus and take the Holy Comm. It brings to memory His finished work at the cross. All healing and deliverance from sickness and diseases thru His finished work. Healing is ur blood bought right. Claim it and walk in divine health. I had the same thing before my March hols and God showed me that one of the reasons why i was sick was also becas i held bitterness in my heart agst sm ppl in my life. Once i let go, i started recovering faster. Altho the doc said it will take 10 days for me to heal( she's also a christian), I remembered Pastor saying that it is not what man says which is final but what God declares and He wants us to proclaim His finished work agst the false symptoms e devil puts up to us. I did jus that. and do u know, i was healed in 3 days flat! All glory to Jesus! =) Jus sharing to encourage u sis. God has fought every battle on every flank for u and declared u a victor by His blood. Receive and rejoice, beloved. Will be praying with u.

Sailor: hey there! yup, jus sent u an email. attached my mobile no as well so if u want to chat, u knw what to do =)

Mindy: Hey!! didn't realise u are also a NCC member. praise Jesus! let's keep each other in the loop as we prepare.

Zoie: Chris no is 96312434 (Best Florist) You can tell her Deborah recommended =)

ewwgetoffme

jess:
i'll keep a lookout for that book! thanks your your recommendation too.

sharon:
how are things? hope you're feeling better...!

aahhhhh i'm busy busy busy. talk to you girls later

yuene

Lydia: I'm feeling better liao, the thing has shrunk and I'm just waiting for the scab to drop off. Thanks for you well-wishes, everyone!

wedding_girl

hey ladies,
haven't been posting in here much lately, but still keeping up with what's going on. just wanted to share, my FH and i just completed our second session of marriage prep with our pastor. must say that it's really helpful in preparing us for what to expect. it doesn't solve all our issues, but it prepares us for things we don't even realise. think every couple should go for it as early as possible - wish i'd done it earlier; don't leave it till just before the wedding.

sharon, glad you're much better now! you'll be all ready and pretty.

lydia, you haven't been around much either! miss all your posts. hee... take care with all your school work, and don't stress about wedding planning if you're busy with school. that's more impt!

take care everyone!

hapimint

Hi, just to enquire... my SO and I are planning for the venue to hold our solemnisation.... Assuming that the cost to rent a church is 500 bucks...
How much should I budget for the decorations and the catering for around 50 pax? anybody has experience to share?
Furthermore, is it true that churches only open for booking for non member christains only 3 months before the date?

hislove

Hi wedding_gal,
Ya.. haven't heard from u for some time already.
Great to hear abt ur marriage prep course progress.
It's amazing what kind of issues we may overlook as marriage approaches.
So it's a gd way to start considering many factors esp those issues from the past.
All the best!

Hi Sharon, Gd to hear u're getting much better!
God bless..

Hi Lydia,
Ya.. don't be stressed out by sch & take care yah?

ewwgetoffme

hey wedding_girl and jess:
thanks so much for the encouragement! :D i am going for marriage prep soon, come to think of it. aaahhhh. i forgot all about it because my pastor said 'around april' but FH said 'may to june is better' and we asked in february, so it seemed so far away then... But 'may to june' is HERE~~~ oh my. haha. i think i will speak to pastor today and ask himwhen we can start. must grab the chance since FH is very free and i get thursdays off so hopefully we can work a timeslot out!!!

sharon:
i'm so glad that you're better :D hope that everything is fine for your preparation!!! trust in the Lord ^_^

back to work. hehehe.

hapimint

Hi, just to enquire... my SO and I are planning for the venue to hold our solemnisation.... Assuming that the cost to rent a church is 500 bucks...
How much should I budget for the decorations and the catering for around 50 pax? anybody has experience to share?
Furthermore, is it true that churches only open for booking for non member christains only 3 months before the date?

Please kindly advise.... haha.. I need to understand...

hislove

Hi Lydia,
it's fine to start marriage prep course earlier.
My church started a course which is like marriage prep but meant to also encourage those in courtship (leading to marriage)to attend.
Reason is that it'll help clarify the couples' viewpts on relationships etc.. therefore, prepare those who are heading into marriage.
And sometimes, it's oso a gd thing that those who emerge from the course halted their plans from marriage till they sort out their personal issues coz the course encourage personal reflections.
Yah. so go for it gal!

hapimint

Hi, I am really keen to know any answers if any of u ladies have... please... my SO has been asking me to decide on the venue already and I need to know....
Please help......

Please kindly advise.... haha.. I need to understand...

wedding_girl

Prob most of aren't really sure about the cost...
those churches that i was interested in charged about $1000-$1500 for rental. eventually i decided to stick to my own church. as for openings for bookings, i would think it varies from church to church; you should find out from the churches you're interested in.

anyway, this is my budget:
deco: $500
catering: $10-12 per pax for a tea reception. if you're having a lunch reception, you should budget a bit more.

hope this helps...

wedding_girl

yeah, i agree with jess on the marriage preparation. i think couples who have plans to get married some time in the future should go for it, helps them to work out various issues in the r/s and for some, maybe decide if marriage is the path they definitely want to take.
so lydia, go for it!

ewwgetoffme

hey jess and wedding_girl:
ya i've been WAITING to go for marriage prep but there were so many couples who got to our pastor before us. hahaha... i was ready to go in february, but pastor and FH not free. then now FH is free, i'm not free! but i still asked pastor, he said need to wait till after june camp is over... what to do? so many weddings but only one pastor. hehe.

hislove

Hi Lydia,
Marriage prep usually once a week rite?
Maybe work out a schedule comfortable for the 3 of u.
Sure can wan.. hehe..
Let the pastor prioritise his wedding couples.. hehe..

hislove

Hi Mindy,
I have to echo wedding_gal's recommendations.
My tea reception costs $10 per head.
I strongly suggest u go for a tea reception coz won't really burn ur pockets if u are having a traditional wedding dinner oso.

As for church rental,
Seldom do churches have rental at less than $1000 for non-members.
yah.. so shortlist then call to enquire abt the rental.

Budget for decor: $500 - $700 is reasonable.
But of coz take a look at ur venue.
If the chairs are not that nice, may have to budget in chair covers which can cost abt $12 each.

Mayb if u decided on a venue, post it here..
then maybe some of us can help in giving u a realistic costings & other suggestions

crayongal

hey..
jus to chk with u gals.. since u r on the topic of MPC...
i've already sounded my pastor out and told her to kiv our names and register us for the next class.. but im not sure when dat would be..since they jus had one 2 mths ago.. n not many ppl in my church are getting married i tink. heh..

so, do u have any that are external dat we can attend ? recommendations? hee.. thanks!
pls also let me know how much it would cost and where is the venue ... appreciate!

shalomzoe

Hi to all sisters who are married, just like to know what is the market rate for hong bao to give to Pastor, friends helping out, jie meis, xiong di, flower girls, etc?

hislove

Hi shalomzoe,
I'm not too sure.. but my frens who got married gave me b/w $20- $40
But alot of people give according to "asupicious" amount, like $28, $38 etc..
We don't have to of coz.. coz not superstitious.. hehe..
U may want to give more to those who play major roles. e.g. Pastor, main coordinator

cherry07

Hello all..
Need some advice here. My church weddding will be at Church of Christ of Malaya, Sophia Road. Has anyone held their wedding there? How was it?
I have budgeted only $ 300 for church decor, possible to do it with this budget?

Thank you so much..

yuene

Wooo~~~ So excited! I confirmed my gown yesterday and went for my trial make-up! FH and best man were also there yesterday to fit their coats. Then my two co-chief bridesmaids also picked out their dresses--very funny, because they didn't realise it was their turn to go try on the clothes, so when they found out, they literally went ga ga over the dresses! LOL but they found super-nice dresses and I can't wait to see them on the actual day! Picked my bouquet too, it's a rose bouquet... Yay!!!! And passed out some invites already... and wedding_girl, I changed my wedding gown to another one! I didn't get pics, though, cuz I loaned mine out to a friend for his trip to Paris =(

Everyday my wedding is just getting more and more real...can't believe it's actually happening, and it's really less than two months away. So many things to do still-- I've just started training my wedding choir for the music and some of them can't make it for many rehearsals... But thank God they're picking up the music so well! And everything is more or less smooth, except the dinner. I know I'm babbling, but I'm really just so excited over it now! *sigh* GOSH...just last year I was thinking to myself, wow, it's still so far away, but now it's almost here!

hislove

Hi Sharon,
Yah! U really make everything sounds so exciting! hehe..
All the best.. don't fret! Enjoy this process..
Do share as and when u're free yah?
God bless..

Hi cherry07,
Sorry I have no idea in regards to ur church.
I think $300 for church decor budget is fine if u intend to decorate some stuff urself.
More realistic figure will be $500 if u getting professional help.
Hope tis helps

ewwgetoffme

hey sharon

glad to see you're so excited. it's a good thing! congratulations! :D

for all sisters, some updates on my wedding prep. WE HAVE MADE GOOD PROGRESS.

last week FH told me that his mom mentioned about our new home - she will help us out with the downpayment if we need it. thank God for that. so FH, with this new assistance and confidence, set out looking at information at HDB.

on tuesday on our way home from prayer meeting, i asked him when are we going to the HDB branch to enquire about the flats in the area. (this was decided on advice from my mom's friend who works in the property industry.) he said right after his posting is out then we go and see, now don't talk about it first. 'posting' here means the school he's posted to. he's finishing up in NIE and getting posted to his permanent school after june holidays.

that very night, he smsed me that the posting was out. suddenly i was SO EXCITED because it's as if, wah, permanent posting!!! confirm he's going to start on this career! my boyfriend is a teacher, no more student!!! HE'S WORKING! HE GOT A JOB! (even though you get paid in NIE, i hadn't really developed a perception that it was work.) hahahha i over-react a lot lah. anyway, we immediately talked about where we wanna stay, when we're going to HDB, available bus routes from our choice place to his school... then at night i was too excited, didn't fall asleep till after 1. hahaha.

really thank God for everything
my wedding is less than 18 months away~ it's time to get down to work. food tasting and pre-marital counselling in june! have one year to lose weight because the photoshoot is one year away~~~~ ahhhh. this is so exciting. sharon, i can somewhat understand!

chendol

Sharon and Lydia,

your posts are so cute! Infectious excitement.

Yes getting married is a great adventure, and the wedding is like the icing on the cake! It's so sweet to come back here and hear you gals get all excited. God bless!

wedding_girl

sharon and lydia, i'm already excited about my wedding which is like june next year, but your posts make me even more excited! haha. it's great that you both are getting somewhere with the preprations.
sharon,
do enjoy every moment of the next 2 months; i'm sure it will fly past! hey how come you changed your gown? do share photos when you can ya?
and sorry, don't have time to reply your email now, but yup, i'll be at botanic gardens this sunday, if you're there, drop by the merchandise counter to say hi. there's lots happening, so it won't quite be the quiet affair you were thinking of. you can check our website for more details if you're really going down.

ewwgetoffme

hey twinkle and wedding_girl:
ahhhh it's great to be excited, somehow. ehehehe. makes you more motivated to get through the day with a cheerful heart instead of slogging through the dreary work that life deals you.

my computer is a bit crazy... i'll post another day when it's not lagging! :D by the way today we walked to our choice estate and surveyed the area. it's my grandma's hdb estate actually... 7 minutes away from my place. very nice place to live in. ahhh. will pray that there will be an available, pocket-friendly flat! please keep us in prayer
thanks, sisters.

chendol

wow - so near your home! that's great. same as what i did. and it's near his family church so best of both worlds.

roughly which area are you eyeing, Lydia? Depends on how 'hot' the area is also, when considering whether there'll be a flat that doesn't ask for too much above valuation.

hislove

sounds like you gals are having so much fun & excitement!
Wow.. Sharon, July rite ur wedding? Cool! Will come very quickly...hehe..
Mine will be in Oct tis yr.. but not as excited as u gals yet.. hehe..

Maybe coz of the recent ballot results & some other personal stuff.. sigh..
got to look for resale & trust that God will turn my personal situation around.
Quite a tedious process. hehe..
But I got hope! just must believe God has better plans!

Continue to have the joy that Christ has given & give thanks, yah? telling myself this too everyday!