Christian Brides

bb_queen

Valerie

One way is to ask your hotel or your solemnisstaion venue to hold the booking for you while you negotiate for the other one. Usually they will hold it for 1-2 weeks.

sandsand

yeah valerie.. some church policies are tricky. While i think most pastors will only officiate weddings between christians, i think i have also heard of some couples being married by a pastor but only one is christian. But this is cause the christian has been in the church long enough.. maybe they have spoken to their pastor b4.

Can i just ask, your desire is to be married in a church or to have ur wedding solemnization done by and blessed by a pastor? Gues there is a difference between both..

the one at SAM that u guys talking about is the entirely glass hall is it? nice place, but as mehmeh says,can get cramped. And cos its all glass, might get a bit hot esp when the sun shines in, so not too good to squeeze to the max, lest ur guest feel squeezed and suffocated...

i dont know if armenian church rent out to non members leh, i only know they are open for PS.. give love offering can liao.

Valerie... JUST in case ah, just in case u cannot get marrie din a church or solemnization done by pastor, how about considering having ur PS in a church? THe traditional kind with stained glass and all, at least u have that part of ur dream wedding.. at least a church is in ur photographs forever....

hi valerie,

oh no, i didn't have mine there.. attended 2 thus far
150 is a nice no., for a cozy wedding for loved ones to be there to bless & witness

hi bbqueen,

oh 180 is really the max ah.. hahah, then my frens really wanted as many ppl as they cld possibly squeeze *heheh* once in a lifetime!

hi ribbons,

no leh.. i'm referring to the one on the 2nd flr, right abt the glass hall
i think the glass hall is a little more spacious, in terms of width, but maybe it's the effect of the glass

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hihi, i shall add my two cents worth.. i had my church wedding in SAM.. SAM has two halls for rental.. the chapel is on the 2nd floor, it is known as the SAM auditorium.. that can only seat 150 comfortably.. yah, its a really cosy place to have holy matrimony there i think.. and easy on the pocket!

the other hall is on the first floor, known as the Glass Hall. This one has higher capacity of 180 but takes shape of a function room rather than a chapel..

by the way, SAM is good too coz they only take in one couple a day.. so there's exclusivity!

hope this clarifies the doubts..

valerie, i think the girls have pretty much said.. i do think you will have problem finding a pastor who will officiate your wedding.. afterall, holy matrimony is the coming together of two children of God in His presence.. so it will really be tough if one partner doesnt believe in God.. also during the holy matrimony, we acknowledge that Christ is the centre of the marriage and head of the household.. is that something your FH can accept??

let's pray for the salvation of your FH.. i think that's more critical.. for your marriage going forward...

finally, pre marriage counselling is a must for all, in my opinion.. coz it really helps to know each other better.. and sets the right expectation for the marriage.. i dated my husband for 8 years before we got married and even so, we benefitted a lot in the pre marriage counselling classes!

wedding girl, you are right.. actually in a holy matrimony - there are two parts.. the blessing and the solemnisation.. the blessing is conducted by pastors.. solemnisation is the signing of ROM papers (more for legal purposes)

so if the pastor can conduct solemnisation (meaning has a JP license from ROM), he will conduct the whole holy matrimony.. if the pastor cannot, another person who is recognised by the ROM will do the part on solemnisation..

coco, i did my church invite solely with MS Word... but played with colored papers.. then for church program, the printer will usually do the layout for you.. you just need to furnish the contents.

sorry for the long post!</font>

tryphena

hi valerie,

my fren is in the same situation as you. so they r doing their solemnization in a hotel n solemnized by a pastor. according to her, the pastor will do the normal solemnization and not the christian way. reason being one of them is a non-christian so do not wan any conflict. it all depends on the pastors hw they wan to do it. i would encourage both of you to attend marriage preparation course cos its very helpful. there's one coming up at the Touch Community from MCYS. and there are many others nt necessary must be from the church cos the teaching is about how a couple with differences coming together as one.

coco_mybibi

hi mehmeh,
thanks alot

hi pandalic,
are you able to share your church invite and church program with me?

hi valerie,
i think the main thing now is to find a pastor who is willing to officiate your wedding. otherwise if you can do it without a pastor but you would like to have it in a church-alike building, you can try to enquire the availability of SAM chapel and the armenian church. The armenian church as mentioned by the others, is non aircon but is a nice place. Rental is less than 1k but you have to use their florist. If you have a reception after that, the reception will be outside the church and is open space. That means you got to have a tentage in case of bad weather. The first time i call armenian church, they roughly tell me the price over the phone and said will send me the quotation. However nothing was sent and from then on, nobody pick up the phone everytime i called. something for you to take note.

beachgirlz

morning gals

BBqueen: ya i tink so too. that its v hard to find a pastor who will do so for my case. ya u're right, God is everywhere.. thus anywhere i hold it, its the same. but dunno why i juz feel a church would be the best place.so hv u found ur venue? wad factors r u looking at?

ribbons: my desire is to be married in God's presence in a church. (its hard to explain how i feel, maybe i feel.. standing infront of the cross in the church, its like God is witnessing my marriage.. it may seem like a misconception?) though wad bbqueen said is right, but maybe i don't have that feeling if its held elsewhere.

no, i don't tink SAM is entirely glasshall. it has solid concrete ceiling. what is love offering? eh ur idea is really great! i didnt tink of having PS in a church! i can consider that but its a diff case from the solemnization thingy altogether. but i tink i like the idea hehe. i've been thinking spore is such a boring place for PS, now u gave me such a great idea
but i do not know which church is the traditional kind with the stained glass windows? do anyone here know and can tell me? thanks.

mehmeh: how do u find the 2 weddings u held there so far? any opinions? do u noe which caterer and florist they engaged, can share? thanks

summerice

oh my hb is not baptise yet but my pastor is willing to do it for us, coz he knows my family. That doesnt mean after the wedding everything is over...we still have to do out part and hope my hb will become christian also.

beachgirlz

Hey pandalic

can share ur pics with me? and did u engage florist to decor or u DIY? did u get caterer too? can share ur church invite and program too? i wonder what is the time frame like for a solemnization at SAM. i'm veri interested in SAM, but need to find out about these factors 1st. hope ppl who hv gone thru can help me
oh ya.. u invited a pastor to SAM?

ya i tink the holy matrimony part is hard for my FH, i was tinking we do the normal solemnization but in a church with a pastor. i guess this will have to check with the pastors that i get.

yup i hv been praying for his salvation eversince i came to God
thanks for praying for us

hi jazol: can u help ask ur fren for her pastor's contact? i think he might be able to help me since he did for ur fren
thanks for ur info on the marriage prep course! i'll definately go for tat. i feel that it will help a lot cos gals and guy's tinkings are so different.

hi coco

thanks for ur info on armenian church. wow rental is less than 1k.. that much? i guess u meant for the wedding not PS right? do u noe the pricing for rental for PS? i tink holding there will be much more expensive cos need to factor in decor and tentage. hmm i shall try to call to find out. so in the end did u hold urs at SAM too?

tryphena

hi valerie, you can consider Emmanuel Baptist Church (along bendemeer towards upp serangoon) or Faith Methodist Church (porsch still under construction).

hi coco, u got mail.

beachgirlz

hi jazol

those 2 churches are the traditional ones with stained glasses? there are available for rental for PS izzit? can u help ask ur fren for her pastor's contact? i think he might be able to help me since he did for ur fren

tryphena

hi valerie, i m too sure if they allow PS but you can call and check. for my PS we went to St. Theresa Church at Alexandra Road we took pic with the church building as our backdrop. get back to you on the solemnizer after she replies me.

tryphena

hi valerie, you can try to call Pastor Gary at 96733571 but he is not my fren's solemnizer. i dun hv the pic at the moment, will send to you once I got it.

yuene

Hey Valerie,

I didn't deal with them directly, my FH was the one who did all the communication, but I would say go book SAM first. They have an in-house caterer (Kr*st*n I also have no idea why we can't put the name?), I think you're only allowed to use them. They also have an in-house florist, but I'm not too sure who it is and so I can't say much in that respect. We also didn't get the place in the end (well duh, since the date is super popular! LOL) so I can't advise you whether they have a room for the bride to wait/change etc.

Actually Singapore is a pretty interesting place to take photos IF you know where to go, and if you're not afraid of unconventional (read: non-romantic) photos. I would have actually recommended the old blocks of flats next to Kallang MRT--it's got loads of character, but they're being demolished and the place is out-of-bounds; pity, I was going to take photos of the estate first! Singapore is better for urban photography, definitely.

yuene

BB Queen: my friend used Kr*st*n as her caterer for the reception at her wedding in Dec. The food quality apparently wasn't all that great, which was a surprise to me because I remembered their food as being pretty good at another friend's wedding, but that one was in Feb 2004. Things might change. And after I found out that the NUS temporary Arts canteen is run by them, I'm not keen to recommend them.

Floral decoration: largely it's the altar centrepiece, the pews, floral stands at the front and arrangements for the signing and receptiono tables. Also, any decorations that you might want to do for the buffet area (though that is usually handled by your caterer). Other small things that you might want to decorate would include the handles of the main entrance to the sanctuary, window sills; for the more dramatic, balconies can be decorated. You could also tie streamers from balconies to the pews along the main aisle. Flowers don't come cheap though! I'm spending 1.5K on flowers alone and I just have pew decoration, altar centrepiece, signing and reception table, and decoration of the porch and the door decoration. But to me, it's money well-spent cuz I love flowers the most.

bb_queen

Sharon,

Thanks. So much things to decorate!!! (faint)

Ya, I went to Kirst*n website and the deco doesn't look appealing and I heard the food is not good.

Valerie,

God's presence is so overwhelming that you won't be to hide from it :p If God is present, I don't believe you won't feel it. Rather than feeling upset about not having it at a church, why not move on and start concentrating on looking for other nice venues? Don't fret too long over things that you can't change :p There will be tons of things to think about during the preparation.

I believe you can use other caterers besides Krist*n at SAM.

SAM is good and affordable but they have certain restrictions on booking, ie, they will let internal pple and event coordinators book first then open to public. If your wedding is this year, u will be able to enquire if the date u want is available. If it's next year, you can only try asking probably in Sept/Oct.

Otherwise, you may try other museums but they are more expensive (going abv 2k just for rental). Armenian church...never been there but you may have a problem trying to speak to someone over the phone. I called so many times but always got a recorded message and I start wondering if the church is still in use :p Changi chapel is nice for a smaller scale wedding (max 100). Botanical gardens, Fort canning, country clubs are some other venues to consider too.

If your hubby is not pro having a "church-like" wedding, you will need to resolve this problem while looking for a venue. If he is not for, then are you going to have praise and worship, prayer etc during the ceremony? This is really something you need to spend more time pondering upon.

tryphena

hey gals, i would recommend Rasel Food Fusion, look for Elsie. their food is nice as commented by my guests and Elsie is a nice lady to talk too. ya herd tat krist*n's std had dropped and the cost is high too.

valerie, i understand that all girls will want a church-like wedding esp whn u are a child of God. as wat queen said, dun hold on to wat cnt be done bt look for alternatives and discuss wif ur FH abt hvg a church-like wedding. according to my fren, her pastor will only do a normal solemnization for her cos her FH is a non-christian and its not appropriate cos he wont know wat is going on and the meaning of the ceremony. nt to worry, if u need help jus post here. God bless you and your FH bountifully as you prepare for your wedding.

beachgirlz

Hi sharon: yup.. spoken to FH liao.. we'll go see the place once he's back from biz trip hehe. can't wait to go!

Hi bbqueen: hmm so far i don't feel God's presence leh.. so don't really know what its like. ya i'm looking at other venues also. i tink so far SAM is the best. huh if can only book in sept or oct.. then wont't it be too late?? cos i'm planning everything in a day, so i can't take risks ah..

u have the site or details for changi chapel? didn't hear of it b4 leh. FH doesn mind having a church wedding, but i guess we can't have praise and worship, prayer and the lighting of the unity candle. we can only have the normal solemnization, juz tat infront of God only lor.

Hi jazol: yup.. i will. and Amen to the blessings!

lilic

<font color="0077aa">sharon, SAM doesnt restrict the caterer or florist.. =) i used lavish and fluv for my reception and floral for my wedding in SAM.

valerie, i can share the pics once they are uploaded.. havent got time to get to that.. and sorry that i may sound harsh.. what is a church wedding to you? literally a wedding in the church??? doing a solemnisation in front of God without acknowledging Him? if so, everyone can claim to have a church wedding..

what do you mean when you said your FH dun mind a church wedding, but without praise and worship, or prayer or lighting of unity candle?

a church wedding is different from the normal civil marriages (or solemnisation) because the couple must acknowledge His presence and participation in the marriage (praise and worship and holy communion and prayers) while He speaks to the couple (through the exhortation that is delievered through the pastor).. even the vows are customised based on the Bible..

if you are not having any of these, how do you have a church wedding? the gist of a church wedding is in the essence and not the physical appearance.. that is why some of the sisters can have church wedding in a non-church premises like hotels, gardens, etc..

perhaps you should give a serious thought about what you want.. especially if your FH are not committed to have God in the marriage.. do talk to the pastoral staff God has placed over you in church..</font>

coco_mybibi

hi valerie,
yes, it is the rental cost to have wedding there.

hi jazol,
thanks alot.

any suggestion where i can go to source for more variety on christian wedding related songs? any recommendation on any cd album?

hi valerie,

was a cozy affair for both.. gd for phototaking becoz of the courtyard hmm, i can't recall the vendors they engaged. but there are many reliable vendors ard

i too agree with lilic, maybe u shd have a gd talk with ur FH.. The elements of a church wedding wld only be significant if both the bride &amp; groom are Christians. I believe, u wld also like ur FH to have that personal r/s with God... Of coz, not to pressure him, but pray with him &amp; for him on this issue k?

wedding_girl

valerie,
unfortunately, i agree with lilic and mehmeh. the significance of the church wedding is in the praise and worship so that we can honour and give thanks to God in our r/s and marriage, the message/exhortation, the prayer and the vows. even if you find a church for your solemnisation but exclude all the things that normally take place during a church ceremony, it removes the whole significance of the ceremony. then you could just have a normal solemnisation at your banquet venue. you and your FH really need to decide what you want.

chendol

Hi valerie,

Perhaps if you have already sorted out the issues of christianity, your faith versus his non-faith and have still agreed to go ahead with the wedding, it'll be a good idea to go for a marriage prep course.

That will prepare you well for likely issues that may crop up. Even if you're a young christian and this doesn't matter to you now, marriage is for life, and issues might crop up later (e.g. if you have kids, etc). Then at least you go in with your eyes open. trust us, marriage prep courses (mpc) are really fun and useful in the long run. It goes through finances, in-laws, etc. You can sign up for some at http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/PopularTopics/CalendarofEvents/FamilyLife/Couple+Programme+%28March+07%29.htm

The best case is to go for a christian based MPC, so that issues can be flagged. If your FH is not willing, then go for a non-religious one. Better than not going at all.

sandsand

i guess its a dream that every girl has (all thanks to movies lor), to walk down the carpeted aisle, towards her husband and is standing in front of the stained glass (with a cross) awaiting his beautiful bride... i had that kind of dream wedding too (and thank GOd i could achieve it cos the church i got married in got that)

Valerie, the rest have said lots liao.. just know that wherever u go, God is there, cos He's in your heart.. christian person, He's there, non christian person, whether they like it or not, He's there too..

Hope things work out for you, please do come and share in this thread if u have more questions, thoughts or better still thanksgiving okie?

I emailed Armenian Church to ask if i could have a PS there. they took very long to reply to me and they ask for love offering of $50..

val: love offering is a token sum from you. Sometimes amount specified, sometimes not specified.

Armenian church is nice, but very hot, and lotsa mosquitos.

For my PS, i wanted a church but i wanted those white exterior with white steeple kind (my church isnt that kind), so we went to St Joseph's Church (Along Brash Basar), cos my hubby's school was on the church grounds, so it had meaning for him and i had my traditional white steeple. hee... we took pics outside the church, didnt go in, but we just walked in and no one stopped us. After that we went to SAM for PS. haha..

bb_queen

I agree with ribbons that it's every girl's dream to walk down the aisle, etc. I wanted that too but for some reasons, I can't have my wedding in a church. To be frank, I know I will die with this regret, not coz God won't be present during the ceremony if I have it elsewhere. It's just a dream that can't be fulfilled. Life still goes on, still have to get married.

I understand how Valerie feels. Not only her, I even heard of non-christians thinking of having their wedding at St Andrew's Cathedrel. I feel like telling them...dream on! :p

sandsand

but well, it will just be one of our many regrets in life then.. i'm sure many pple who die, die without fulfilling their dreams..

i am so happy that i got married at my hubby's church, if i get married at my previous church and i wanna walk straight down the aisle, i will have to jump out of the sound room! Only way to walk straight.. hee...

BB Queen, hee... christians also want to have their weddings also cannot lor... indeed... 'DREAM ON!!" hee....

bigfish

i am also one of those dream to have a wedding in a chapel like church, with beautiful stained glass windows and benches seats.. but i guess i can only close my eyes and visualised that wedding.. those churches that i've contracted for rental is too ex for my budget.. and then FH decided we should go settle for our own church, b'cos the coodination wld be much easier in own church.. so guess i got to settled for a theatre-looking sanctuary.. but i guess it wld still hold significant meaning to our wedding...

tryphena

gals, in fact those are couples who are both christians may nt want to hold in the church so all these are up to individuals and most important the wedding is yours n your spouse nobody else. so enjoy every moment of it.

in fact, my church doesnt have the stained glass windows except for the pews, high ceilings. bt we chose our own church cos the venue means alot to us.

beachgirlz

Hi pandalic

shall be waiting for ur pics
no..its not literally in a church. i will acknowledge God in my heart. no, not everyone can claim to have a church wedding. for some, they wan to have it becos its romantic, its nice.. its young girl's dreams. for me, its becos i wan it to be in the presence of God. it doesn mean that outside the church, God is not there, but its the significance to me. i know i can't have a real church wedding becos of the fact that my FH is a non believer, but i hope i can get as close as possible. its veri hard to explain.

hi meh meh

yup of cos i hope for him to have a personal r/s with God, but such things can't be rushed or forced, thus i can only pray for him to come to God soon.

hi twinkle,

yup i'm planning to go for marriage prep course. will try to get him to go for christian based ones, if not then a normal one. maybe thru the course, he can get to know God more too

beachgirlz

hi ribbons

thanks for ur long reply. its great that u managed to achieve ur dream
i've prayed to God regarding my wedding already. Leave everything to Him. i'm vexed enough with all the preps.

oh ok now i know what is love offering hehe. never heard of it b4. care to share pics of ur white steeple church? wanna see how izzit like.

wedding_girl

i have also always dreamed of getting married in a church with stained glass and pews. but after finding out the cost of renting other churches, i think the money spent can be put to better use, so i'm using my own church with ugly brown plastic chairs. but at least it will be a bit more meaningful since my FH and i both attend the church and i grew up there.

valerie, i think i can kind of understand your desire to get married in a church. even though i know God is everywhere, it's all the more special when it's in a church. but it would be difficult for you to find a church, so as the other girls say, you might want to consider other options.

beachgirlz

hi wedding girl

yup. i'm looking at other options already. its gd to use ur own church ar.. mine don accept us, if not i wld wan to use mine too
u get a florist to deco te brown chairs ar.. then wont be ugly le..

wedding_girl

valerie
ermm the brown chairs are really ugly, even if you get the nicest flowers, they'll still look ugly. am thinking of renting chairs and seat covers if it isn't too expensive. hee. so if anyone has any chair contacts, can let me know.

beachgirlz

hi wedding girl

so jialat ar? ok then u better get chair covers. maybe some florist will have and they can do the deco at the same time.

chendol

I have this contact. Not sure about their charges for seat covers maybe you can give them a ring.

Nam Hup Table Chair Hire
9, Link Road, Singapore 619031
Tel : 6266 7887 Fax : 6266 7997

wedding_girl

ya, really quite bad. the chairs have been around since i was a kid i think... almost 20 years...

thanks twinkle!
have dropped them an email. have you used them before? hope it's not too expensive, if not i'll have to just use the ugly chairs.

ewwgetoffme

hi sisters:

i really think i know too many people XD just going through the guestlist and realising I'm inviting about 800 to 900 people. of course, not all of them will show up.

sigh, quite worried about the buffet reception after the service because according to FH it costs about $2500 to cater comfortably for that amount of people (previously other couples with about the same number of guests have also worked along this line of budget and even have leftover), but i have first-time bride syndrome and can't wait for him to finish work so i can pour my worries out to him. hahaha.

sorry for the incessant rambling. just needed to share. thanks all.

wedding_girl

twinkle,
i'm expecting about 400. oh, let me know how it is at your friend's wedding...

lydia,
ya i think $2500 a bit little. i thought usually people budget per person for the church reception? i'm setting aside about $10 per person and that's already $4000. unless you're looking at a really cheap buffet...
but ya, 800 people is quite a lot!

ewwgetoffme

spoke to FH about it, he said ours would be around $3000 plus. feel a bit better. haha. ours is more of tea because our service will only start around 2.30 pm and end at 4 pm, tops. so it's the in-between time of lunch and dinner... furthermore not all will turn up, and even though they count per head, the portion that is allocated to each head is usually quite inaccurate because your guests don't all eat the same amount.

therefore, we decided to cater finger food on a budget of $3200. think have to get ppl to rsvp otherwise very hard to gauge how many are coming. it's my church's practice to announce our wedding to the congregation (and i added those numbers to the guestlist) so it's like everyone in our congre can attend the wedding, but some people don't know us so perhaps they choose not to come, and some people may not be able to make it, etc so yes i think in the end only 500 to 600 will show up. don't know if it's a good or bad thing T_T haha.

thanks to all who replied!

wedding_girl

most menus i've seen are $12 onwards but $8 and $10 per pax is also available.

$3200 is really quite low; i haven't seen such low-priced menus. if you do find one that's really cheap and good do share with us!