CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

pinkbunny

lina - i think got to sign in then can see more info. just register la. free one, then just need your ic number and password only.

ant - eh don't see me no up ah. last time i join taekwondo one. kickboxing sap sap soi! (scarley go to the class then the aunties all still kicking away then i alone in the corner heh heh chuan keke)

403866.gif
403867.gif
403868.gif

tea_tree_oil

ta da! mai da bor...here's e receipe gals...its orig for banana n walnut tea loaf...i din wanna buy an entire bunch of bananas juz to use 2...also since hd remainder apricot fr baking apricot n raisin cookies e other wk, decided to subsitute banana for apricot!

Ingredients:

100g butter softened
140g light muscovado sugar (can use brown sugar)
2 eggs, lightly beaten
100g walnuts, chopped
2 ripe bananas, mashed
2 tbsp milk
225g self-raising flour

Steps:

1)Preheat oven to 180 deg cel.

2)Butter n line a 1kg loaf tin.

3)Cream e butter n sugar, thn add e eggs.

4)Set aside 25g walnuts, thn fold e rest into e creamed misture with e bananas n milk.

5)Fold in e flour.

6)Spoon into e tin n sprinkle over e reserved walnuts.

7)Bake for 55-60 mins until risen. (prob aft abt 35min, drop e temp to 125 deg - tis is wat my mum advised n it turned out well

8)Stand for 10mins thn turn out.

9)Remove e lining paper n cool.

tea_tree_oil

skylar: wa! all e babes so nice to u! u better collect all ur tears n put into nice little bottles to give each one of them as a form of appreciation!

ant: gd thing u din go to manila! ur body was telling u it needed rest but u din listen so it finally had to shut down! wahaha...now stop running arnd...u really nd to CRIB babe!

btw, e oil din splash for e chkn but it did for salmon. how to circumvent e latter prob?

ckw1011

sorry pink, looks like i can't help you with the recommendation for event coy. think my ex-col's too bz, haven't hear from her yet =(

tea tree, ur qns r too cheem 4 me ...

tea_tree_oil

i found it!!!

Cream puff Pastry

INGREDIENTS(makes 10 serving)
4 oz butter (1/2 cup)

8 fl oz water

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 oz all-purpose flour (1 cup)

4 eggs

METHOD:
Place butter in a medium saucepan. Add water and salt. Bring to boiling, stirring till butter melts. Add flour all at once, stirring vigorously. Cook and stir till mixture forms a ball that doesn't separate. Remove from heat; cool 10 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, to flour mixture, beating with a wooden spoon after each addition for about 1 minute, or till smooth.

Scoop up some dough with a tablespoon. Use another spoon to push off the dough in a mound onto a lightly greased baking sheet. Leave 3 inch between the puffs for expansion. Bake in preheated 400 degrees F. oven for about 30 minutes, or until golden brown.. Remove puffs from pan. Cool on a rack.

Slice of the tops (or cut in half). With a fork, gently scrape out any soft, moist dough. Work carefully so that you don't puncture the crust.

fat

Sorry gals! Was out of the office today with my boss. Didnt got the chance to post in here. Anyway Sky, hope you like it ya!

Gals, chk with you something hor...i know got secretary day lah...but hor got Bosses day anot boh? I know out of topic yah...kekekeeke.....

yongee86

ello gers..

my dinner for tonite:

minced pork porridge ( using chicken stock), grilled black pomfret (lazy to fry), bone marrow with eggs and ngoh hiang..

404028.jpg

ngoh hiang is last time dad cooked in bulk n kept some in freezer.. n i got no recipe for tat..

pink, simi is foo yong dan??????

pinkbunny

ant - foo yong dan is fu rong dan, or 'egg foo yong'. tze char store got. wah i love your porridge!!! recipe! simi si bone marrow?

tea_tree_oil

ant: ur chok looks super palatable! receipe!!!

pink: FYD method is like cang tao neng's, no? beat egg, add salt n pepper, thrw in ingredients, mix, pour into fryg pan?

levynn

good morning babes!!!

ya... went book fair yesterday. not as many books as the NLB one, but all books r new. bought 3 books for $10 n a cooking book... The Everything about Cooking book. will look thru it n see got wat recipes that can b used.

pink... for fu rong dan, i think same as normal egg, except maybe some ingredients must cook b4 u add everything together. usually fr those outside, got onion, char siew, prawns, mushrooms... i guess can add in your own ingredients too la... your fav crab sticks la!! keke...

yongee86

ohaiyoooooo...

sian.. back at work..

okie, honestly, i have never ordered foo yong dan when i go tze char stall.. i have absolutely no idea how it looks like.. can some kind soul post some pic to show me???

yongee86

recipe for minced pork porridge

ingredients:
rice
chicken stock (or ikan bilis stock)
minced pork (or chicken bits)

optional ingredients:
salted egg
century egg

Garnish:
spring onions (chopped)

Being the lazy me (aka sick too), i used knorr's chicken stock. Mix chicken stock with water and boil. when boiling, add the washed rice in. Turns the flame into ultra small. That begins the torture. every few mins, must stir the combination. Monitor the water level. if not enough water, add more water. best to use those glass pot to cook so that it wun stick n difficult to wash later. Do not, i repeat DO NOT attempt to be lazy and try to use strong flame to cook coz it will make your porridge chao tar..

season minced pork with some light soya sauce, mirin/ hua tiao jiu and sesame oil. then put it back into the fridge.

If you intend to add salted egg, hard boiled it like normal egg. then cut into ultra small pieces. Slice century egg into ultra small pieces too.

after stirring for almost 1.5 hours or 2 hrs (depending on the rice quality), or when you see the porridge looks almost done, add in the minced pork, followed by salted and century eggs. Let it slow boil for awhile til the pork is done.

Then scoup into a bowl and add the spring onions and some pepper. Open your mouth and start tucking in! :p

yongee86

sch, if i don't remb wrongly, you were toking about jap potato starch and something about tonkatsu right? i'm not sure potato starch usage but for tonkatsu, must use panko or japanese bread crumbs. n tempura must use their tempura flour lah. i don't think can use potato starch to do tonkatsu lah.

levynn

ant... no need pic of fu rong dan la... it's juz normal fried egg wif those ingredients i mentioned. next time u order n try,... it's one of my fac dish... heh...

lina... so shiok ah! enjoy your shopping!

fat

Good Morning Babes!!!

Ant - I like your porridge too! Simi is bone marrow? Really bone ah?

Pink - I also dunno how Foo Yong Tan look like as well. Pai sey....cant help ya!

Ooi!!!!!!!! How come no one ans my last nite's question hah? Got Bosses Day boh???????? *HNG*!!!!!

Lina - wah...take leave go shopping ah? Where you going?

joniel

KA, got...national bosses day is always on october 16.

Ant, fu yong tan is something like chai-po-neng...but instead of chai-po..u put chicken, or prawns and some onions..but got a special brown sauce to go with it...that is the fu-yong tan i tried before.

/joniel

ckw1011

KA, heard of Bosses Day b4, but not sure of the exact date. if i dun remember wrongly, i think it is after Secs Day.
Me gg Orchard, Tangs, Borders & ToysRUs, hv 2 get some bday gifts.

yongee86

remb the veg project tat our dear lev took n showed us all pictures of various gua? it is listed in one of it.. it is either called bone marrow or marrow bone.. aka si gua in chinese..

lina, so shiok, take leave to go shopping.. i oso wan.. boo hoo..

actually, i never ever celebrate bosses day, so duno at all.. can't help u ka..

ka, please remind me to bring the rosewater to you 1 day before we are suppose to meet up k.. i'm quite forgetful hor..

levynn

ant... u sure or not?? the si gua is called bone marrow meh? i thot bone marrow is those that is in the bones thingy.

is it the SI GUA or the MAO GUA??

yongee86

eheheh.. i can't remb the name in eng correctly lah.. got the word marrow lor.. *sheepish look*

it is si gua according to my dad.. he bought it for me..

pinkbunny

good afternoon babes. sorry never come in all morning. had early morning meeting.

at 8.30am
404207.gif

at tampines
404208.gif
404209.gif

and i stay at west side
404210.gif
404211.gif
404212.gif

KA - dunno about bosses' day but got pinkbunny day
eh what in the world is sharkfingua!!!

lina - i also going orchard later! took time off to go for physio session.
you don't geh geh follow me around ah

pinkbunny

gerrrrrrrrrrrrrs, red dates cook with what ah? with soup ah? is it the same one that we use to cook tea? hong zao cha is it?

fat

Pink - yap! Red dates can cook with soup or desserts also boleh. Sometimes I cook those chicken w corn soup, i also put red dates too. Or white fungus soup in desserts style too.

fat

Sky!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Muack! Mauck! Mauck!
Btw, which supermarket can find this brand coz I always go Shop&Save but dun have this brand. NTUC wu boh?

Sorry Ant, cant help you with tat. Pai Sey!

KA..
yes, NTUC have, Carrefour also have.. Cold storage dun have.. whahaha.. so far this brand is really good!!

Ant..
huh? not very sure leh.. can goggle it bor?

Stock up??? pengz... whahahaa...
u want me to post up my fav easy to cook chessy pasta bor? I just found out a super brand with really thick chesse.. i stock up on that liao.. coz now Cold Storage got discount..
I tonite go home take pix for u ... keke...

KK!!
kekee.. coz original price is $2.15 but now promo only $1.75 leh.. whahaa.. so cheaper mah.. think i more & more auntie liao...

worst still last nite my ah lao go buy so many tibits put at my hse... coz my hse got 1 table just soley for tibits only then he stock up yesterday.. my frd's son come my hse.. say.. wahh. mama... this one like my sch tuckshop! whaha...