CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

tea_tree_oil

btw, y no one asnwer my question abt how to prevent e oil fr splishing n splashing onto e oven wall whn baking salmon/chkn etc? each time i do e salmon, surely kena oil on e wall one. dun dare to imagine what will hpn with e chkn, which i will b doing tonite

ckw1011

thx tea tree. definitely feeling beta today, no worries. eh, no one answer ur qn means no one noe the answer lor =) haha, tt's what i always think 2 myself when my qns go unanswered ...

tea_tree_oil

ya hor, lina! kekeke...

so how do u bake ur chkn? i m wonderg if i were to cover e baking tray w alum foil, will e wings still turn out crispy or will they be wet from e trapped moisture...

i jz read fr e internet tht we can do tis w salmon. it's called 'en papillote'!

"In foil or greasproof paper (chefs call this 'en papillote'). Cut a piece of aluminum foil and/or greaseproof paper, brush with melted butter and place the salmon (or indeed any seafood) on the foil with some flavourings such as vegetables, flavoured butter or wine and seal the foil to keep in the heat and moisture thus helping the fish to stay succulent. The salmon then cooks in it's own mini oven."

schnauzie

tea tree - we all dunno so it means its ur duty to research on it..prob via google and teach us all!!! hahahaha

btw, can i roast my marinated chicken wing? wat temperature and how long? tt time ant's recipe for chick thigh is 170 deg, 55 mins...hmm

nicatan

does anyone knw how to cook brown rice? mus we put more water then usual? tried to cook "lao wang kua" soup and brown rice but it was quite a disaster... felt very lousy and cried... my soup had no flavor and my brown rice was not rice and yet not porridge.. cooking realli needs practice huh... or im absolutely has zilch talent in it... sigh...

tea_tree_oil

sch: wah! u mk an excellent mgr man...superb at delegation! y not u show ur dear frends lina n tea what a gd frend u make...wahaha...

roast my marinated chicken wing
=> thts wat i'm doing now for tonite actually

not sure wat temp but i preheated oven at 200
deg for abt 8min (cz i lazy to wait haha) thn dumped in e wings at tht temp. thn decided its gonna take forever at tht temp, so its at max temp now! wil monitor tho'...hopefully i dun get roasted charcoal for din!

tea_tree_oil

syt: do u hv a rice cooker? do as u wld white rice...juz prob add a little more water...eg double e water ht for white rice (measuring fr rice grain surface to water level)

levynn

schnauzie...
i wan to try wan ton but dunno how to make the filling. anyone can help? thanks.

tea tree..
i used mozarella cheese to put on top of the pasta, then put it to bake until the cheese melts.

syt...
how did u cook your "lao huang gua" soup? maybe i can help? dun feel lousy... everything must have a 1st try... if not, how do we know we can do it or not... cheer up.

tea_tree_oil

lev: mozarella! tks! i used e cheese powder we sprinkle over pizza...only cheese avail at hm...

sch: e skin for wanton izzit e same as e one for making fried prawn rolls we eat at CNY?

hm...i smell my chkn...better go chk...

schnauzie

tea tree - tt time ant say 170deg preheat for 10 mins then cook for 55 mins...think roast chicken cannot gan cheong lor..if u on max heat ur skin will be charred but inside still raw.

lev - my mother usually marinate with light soy sauce, pepper and sesame oil, maybe can add chopped chestnut if u like.

tea_tree_oil

sch: darn! u dun scare me leh...inside raw..i damn scared chkn inside red red wan! wait i go poke poke n c...ya lor, learnt my lesson...roast chkn cannot b gan cheong spider

nicatan

hi tea tree,

thks!! i put too little water 1st time and it wasnt cooked so i put more water but rice turned out to be soggy... how to gauge level of water? im using rice cooker... bought for half a yr and jus started to use it!

hi levynn,

i put 2 dried scallops, lao wang kua, red dates and pork ribs.. cooked it for 3 hrs in a pot but soup was very bland... did i miss out on any ingredients? i added lots of salt but to no avail..

schnauzie

syt - did u blanch the pork rib with hot water first? if not, will have the 'pig smell' normally my mother put more dried scallops leh...2 seem abit little...by right u put dried scallop ur soup will be v sweet liao. did u add light soy sauce?

levynn

syt...
i also blanch the pork ribs wif hot water 1st. to remove the smell, as well as excess fats. if u put in all the ingredients u mentioned, shld b quite sweet n tasty. maybe u shld put light soy sauce instead? or is it the same as salt? coz usually i dun use much salt.

your "lao huang gua" is the brown-skinned one rite?

nicatan

yes i blanched the pork 1st.. mayb i shd put more dried scallops...
cant stinge on these ingredients.. yes levynn, its the browned skinned 1..

schnauzie

i drank a old cucumber, octopus with pig bone soup in HK and it was V v v v yummmy *drool* did u add too much water n used too little ingredient? 3 hrs sounds quite reasonable hor? cook soup need big or small fire?

bear

Syt, the last round when I cook this soup, I didn't add the dried scallop. But I put in pork bone, chicken bone, old cucumber, carrot & corn. I boiled for 2 hrs. Then before I serve, I added in some salt. Got taste leh...sweet enough also.

Sch, I will use high fire to boil 1st then after it is boiling I will turn to low fire to simmer for 2 hours.

joniel

tea-tree
i am also very curious abt the splishing and splashing of the oil in oven, but seems like no one (those who use over often) answer us leh...haha...anyway since u baked the chicken wing, does the oil splash all over?

Syt, i think u put too much water that is why ur soup is bland. usually i add a little salt just before it is serve bec i heard of some ingredients (esp tofu and potato) will absorb all the salt and thus the soup will have no taste. hope this helps.

pinkbunny

yoo hoo all.... seems like bo lang miss wa hor?

yes, yesterday all day work like coolie. by the time reach home it was 3am!!! never go shopping la. slept all day. and ah lao had diahorrea so today like weekend for us keke.

supposed to go back today at 10.30pm to supervise something. was already out of the house then the contractors called me and i found out i had already told them what to do! so i didn't go down after all :D shiok.

today cooked dinner :D it's been a while. remember my leatherback fish that i bought but didn't know how to cook? marinated with salt and pepper then fry both side for a while before adding sliced onion and garlic, then added light sauce, black beans (nobody answer me hor, black beans and dao jio, got diff or not?) and water. very nice!!!!! btw the fish was very cheap so i bought. $1.80 only i think! at giant!

401955.jpg

lina - hope you're feeling better babe. me too, miss my grandma alot. 11 years liao but i can still remember what she smell like. always like hong yew one

lina, levynn - we just need to know that we're lucky to have known our grandmas, and we remember the nice memories

joniel

pink

you are always on my mind...haha...

black bean is black colour...dao-jiu is brown colour...is it har?? (scram)

lina,pink..u all ah..make me miss my mum even more..it has been 2.5 yrs...time flies...i miss my mum esp whenever i saw skylar post her mum's cooking...it looks so familiar....pink, i know what u mean by the hong yew smell..my mum uses the red colour bottle one...very strong ah..

ckw1011

sch, beta b prepared tt there might b no place 2 park ur car. the crowd on the 1st day, ie. yesterday was crazy. think it's beta 2 take the mrt.

SKYLAR, good the morning! how r u, feeling ok bo?

pinkbunny

good morning babes! tonight going to watch devil wears prada with colleagues. one of my colleagues say 'eh on la, we all wear prada to watch the movie!'. siao. she think i print money.

Lina!!
still the same lor.. bad flu.. haiz... actually my boss ask me to rest one.. then that recep today keng MC again!! too much man!!
so i also no choice lor.. come to work..

now my boss in mtg, throw me his 3 hps.. kns.. all 3 rings together... how to ans man!!

Pink..
ya lor.. me drinking water like no body biz now ah.. & the doc also got give me a prescription for Vit c.. kekek...

but think i not enuf rest lor.. sob. .. sob..

pinkbunny

your supplies cupboard very big right? go and hide there to sleep la! haha

oh speaking of that, now i remember last time my attachment time i tried to hide in store room and sleep before! keke

BAsket!!
Pink!! wait i hide in there & eat ah.. whahaha... but i got hide in Toilet before to zzzzzzzzzz... sibeh shag ah.. best is until some one come in to pang sai ah!! kaoz.. then buay tahan liao.. whahaha...

Sch
wat show?

Pink u go see the Devil wear prada liao then tell us nice bor?

ckw1011

sch, i'm not kidding lor. when i went home yesterday, there was a long stretch of cars illegally parked along the road (opp Expo, IBM side). & the roads leading to the MRT stn? there were a few traffic police directing the traffic. i tell u whenever and wherever there's an IT/computer show, the crowds r crazy.

COMEX 2006
Public - Free Admission
Singapore Expo, Hall 4, 5 & 6
31-Aug-06 to 03-Sep-06
Start Time: 12:00; End Time : 21:00

KA!!!!!!!!!!!

finally ur busy ah.. kekeke.. at least now u won't complain u got nothing to do lor.. kekeke..

Sch..
tat i would agree leh.. alot of siao lang all release during IT show one! whahaha..

Lina..
u gg ah?

fat

Sky - yah lor....hiaz.... cant complain liao...

My galfren is involve in this COMEX too....she's like cursing & swearing man!

Sch!!
whaaha... so ur one of the siao lang lah.. keke...
*whisper.. I used to be the siao lang too! whahaha...*

so wat are u intending to get ah?

Wei..
tell u all something ah.. u know my boss is super pissed with my recep man!! want me to shot her an email.. saying she is really Dumb!! nabz.. dunno how to write man!

ckw1011

how abt tis skylar:
u can't even do simple things RIGHT!!!
you muz b stu***, stu***, stu***.
if u're really not interested in ur job,
do us a favour and f*** off from this office!
trust me, u'll probably b happier once u're out of here.

god, i muz b in a super bit*** & mean mode now.

Lina..
I called u just now leh.. ur opi but u no ans.. remember the name care incident in the past that i told u.. it happened again.. how to shot her mean email ah.. kekeke... u call me lah..

Sch..
actually my bosses they all very nice to her liao.. coz see she single parent so give way to her lor.. but she abit too much liao lah.. haiz.. furthermore she today on MC again leh!! tell u liao lor.. always Mon & Fri one..CBCBCBCB!