CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

cooler0821

i wan to cook normal home soup loh

Luton soup or pototo shoup. Can i start in the morning everning comeback can drink? Afternoon no 1 at home issit saft?

pinkbunny

cannot la lina. this morning i geh gao, go and take out one fish to defrost. then cannot keep back leh. basket. aiyoh my place the kopi tiams cannot make it one. they only cater to old men watching soccer. the hawker centre close by afternoon. damn sad right

hey ivy - wah your words very cheem. what is luton? lao niang only know lipton hahahaha. most chinese soups you can throw everything in in the morning, put to low or auto and leave it on all day. if you look at some of our older threads, i posted a bak kut teh recipe that's slow cookerable. if you don't like pork, i believe KA has tried it with chicken, and it's worked ok too

fat

Pink - so you hav taken out your fish liao hah...so at least got 1 dish oredi mah...either steam or maybe this time try frying it? than another veggy can liao lor...no soup also can.

Ivy - actually anything that is soupy or stew stuffs can put into your slow cooker. Hmmm...let me make a guess ya, your "luton" is it "lotus"?

KA...
whaha.a. fried beehoon with no beehoon??? Lina that is a good one man! kekke...

Ivy,
ya man.. i also dunno wat is luton soup leh.. ehh... can jiak bor? whahaha...

actually hor.. for soup ah.. the longer u boil the better coz only then the taste & the ba-wu will come out! kekekeke...

ckw1011

wah lau a, pink, KA & skylar, lim bu when not good wan, always good & sharp wan wat lol

pink a, got fish enuf already liao wat. fish + can soup sedap. then ice cream 4 dessert, wow heavenly ... tmr tmr then u cook got standard recipe mama's dinner. huh bo, ask ur hubby to cook lah basket.

fat

Sky - dun tease me oredi lah...this Lina lah...! Hng!!!!! btw, you juz came back fom lunch ah?

Wow..i finally finished shredding my veggies liao...i stand untill kar sng man!

KA..
ya.. just back from lunch.. went out to run errands for my boss lor..

whah.. u really stand & shredd veggies ah.. why must shred, u can cut them thinly mah.. kekeke..

tok abt fish, the day before my ah bu cook fish.. very sedap... with alot of fried garlic & chilli on top.. yummy....

pinkbunny

yeah, quite sian to always steam fish. think can fry with dao jio. hmm or maybe add tamarind! very shiok one. or teriyaki sauce.... RECIPE MAMA IS BACK!

veg: 'happy family'. recipe:
you will need:
1 chicken nehneh, cut into strips, seasoned with dash of sesame oil
oil
1 onion, sliced
1 red/yellow bell pepper, remove seeds, and cut into strips
some baby corn, canned one also can
1 tablespoon white sugar
1 carrot, cut into strips
1 small brocc, cut into small pieces
1 cup water
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1 tablespoon soy sauce

step 1: fry onions on low heat then red/yellow peppers, baby corn and vegs and increase to medium heat. stir about 5 min.

step 2: add in chicken, fry around till chicken is cooked

step 3: add in sugar and a biiiiiiiiiiiiiit of salt. dissolve cornstarch in water, and pour in with soy sauce. cook and stir till sauce thickens

and reheat my old soup, i guess. better than letting it go to waste. oh i'm such an auntie!
382501.gif

pinkbunny

wah biang. i'm on a roll now.

FRIED TOM YUM UDON!
sibeh steady one. it's the steadiest bom bi bi-est one. super blindfolded also can. never post before right?

ingredients
- straw mushrooms 1 pack
- button mushrooms, a few
- crab stick, 4, sliced
- fish, sliced (optional)
- fish cake, sliced
- prawns, take off head and shell. can leave tail if you want
- garlic
- 2 tablespoon tomyum paste (bottle kind)
- 2 tablespoon hot water

step 1: boil udon as per instructions on packet
step 2: mix water and tomyum paste
step 3: fry garlic in oil, followed by ingredients, and then add tomyum mixture, and finally udon. stir stir a bit then can serve liao!

Pink...
Wahh... YUMMY!!!!! hmm... btw eat this chicken neh neh will make our neh neh bigger bor? whahaa..

ya ya... always steam fish.. boring.. my ah bu pan fried it then cook the sauce... dao you + garlic + chilli... I eat liao.. whole nite puo.. puo...puo... whahhaha.a.. see i got capture the photo in my hp bor..

cecilialim

wa lao! PB if you play others you darm rich liao lor!!! i never see someone go buy 1K pools.. you are the first... lucky you win... if lose sure can't talk for few days... at least for me la...

fat

Pink - so you are back!!! you see...you oredi know wat to cook tonite liao. your "happy family" recipe like not bad leh....ok...I will try tomoro.
Mai say nobody try your recipe hor!!! Rite, Sky?

pinkbunny

pui pui pui, cecilia! choy choy choy! all sway chwees go far far from me ah!!!!! lucky i smart - i use nets ok, never draw out 1k and put in my pocket. not rich la. siao. if rich won't stay in 3 room HDB flat liao loh.

of course comsperm will win then i bet la walau. TA DARRRRRRRRRRRR!

382507.jpg

but one time enough liao. today i am back to my $5, $10 bets :D i cannot take it, last night wake up 4-5 time and from 6am cannot sleep.

pinkbunny

tonight match.... tonight like got no match hor KA.... next match is friday hor, germany and argentina. i buy germany. $1000..... minus 2 zero

demio

hi schnauzie, yup yup... portabello is a type of mushroom... comes in diff sizes.. the big ones are so big i can replace hamburger buns with them! and it is so tasty u just need to put a bit of butter n grill it the taste will be fantastic liao..

PINK!!!!

i really tong li buay tiao man! kkekee... I was drinking my tea when i saw ur Strike tkt! whahaha.. sibeh cute leh u..
whahaha...

just made kopi for my boss.. he stare at my nails & ask me how much are they worth.. whahaha...

i anyhow do it last nite one.. u all think got overdo it bor ah? whahaha...
382530.jpg

fat

Sky - Swee man! you very eng hor...still got time to add crystals somemore....but its nice lah. I like your nail colour too...hmmm...i feel that maybe the crystal can dun put too many diff cols will be better?

Pink - wow...you betting Germany ah? My ah lau sure bet Argentina wan...

KA..
kekeke.. very easy one mah.. actually hor.. those are not crystal leh.. just those shimmering bits lor.. they are all actually 1 color only just that at certain angles they will reflect all kinds of zak ba lang color lor.. kekeke...

Arg vs Ger!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dunno wat to play man!

pinkbunny

KA - aiyah chinchye put $10 la. maybe germany know their home ground field better? then got secret booby trap and gee guan leh? hahahah

skylar - le si beh woo eng leh, put gim gim thing some more! i cannot long nail la. me chor lor lang must have short nail. what you tong wa buey diao? you lup me say you lup me la walau. no need to shy one.

wah your ah bu even got the restaurant plate man! eh ... i can't really see what fish is it leh. what's the ang ang thing? gou qi zi is it?

fat

Sky - only 1 col nia ah? Cool! Wat brand you bot for your gim gim hah? I tried before but always drop wan...not nice liao...
Btw, your ah bu's fish thou orh orh lah...but looks delicious leh. Infact I like dish with orh orh gravy wan...

Pink - you si beh funny leh...damn joker!

pinkbunny

oh sorry, who was asking about cakes ah? sorry, i'm not really cake expert. and the gers here say my cookies look like shit (literally) so can't give you any advice la! hehe

BUT since you have oven, why not try my apple crumble recipe? should be somewhere in this thread :D very easy one

pinkbunny

eh gers. you intending to watch superman? i saw it last night. and i caught up with him for interview. thought you might like to know:

This very exclusive interview is brought to you by Pink Bunny, and by the letters P and B.

Pink Bunny: Why is your suit in red and blue?
Superman: Because I'm a true blue American hero

Pink Bunny: What's with the underwear on the outside?
Superman: Everyone asks me this. I was in a rush one day and the phone booth was extra small - it was in Asia, and the booths were all Asian sized, I mean come on, I am 6feet 4 inches tall! So it was really claustrophobic in there and I just wanted to get out quick. It was an honest mistake but hey, they fashion caught on, didn't it? I mean, look at Batman and Robin! (They're gay, by the way)

Pink Bunny: Speaking of Batman, why can't we see your nipples through your costume? He had custom made suits with nipples
Superman: Ah. Nippies - great invention

Pink Bunny: Are you a Marvel comic character?
Superman: No no. DC Comics actually. X-men are Marvel. DC is way way better. Let me explain. I'm the main star in the movie, yes? And who's my sidekick? Scott from X-men. He can fly too but he needs a helicopter but me, I just raise one arm and away I go.

Pink Bunny: Are you made of plastic? Seemed so in the movie
Superman: I'm the man of steel, not plastic. I keep telling the make up artists that

Pink Bunny: What's with the curl?
Superman: I was a 1940s superhero and the curl was a big thing then. Another thing my make up artists refuse to change. We have to move with the times don't we?

Pink Bunny: What have you learnt over the years?
Superman: To be smarter! I now wear my suit UNDER my dowdy Clark Kent wear. It's hot like hell (especially when you're in the Middle East) but hey, saves alot of time. Plus I no longer have to rely on phone booths. You know some countries do not have phone booths. In the past I had to fly to the nearest phone booth country, change, and fly back to site of destruction. Very time consuming.

Pink Bunny: What's it like being compared to birds and planes?
Superman: Planes are ok but birds? Come on, I'm in red and blue. What bird do people think I am, a parrot? A cockatoo?

Pink Bunny: You lifting all that heavy stuff, injuring your hands and arms... that must have hurt
Superman: Special effects my dear, special effects. But the hands... I have to go for manicures every day!

Pink Bunny: So the World Cup, what do you think?
Superman: China? Sorry, we don't get cable where I come from

Pink Bunny: Complete the sentence: My idea of a dream woman is...
Superman: Wonder Woman. Just look at her great all American outfit!

Pink Bunny: Do you think the lady who played Lois Lane was a good fit for the role?
Superman: Nah. I voted for Oprah

Pink Bunny: One last question. Any advice for our readers?
Superman: If you want to be a superhero, get a job in the media. I mean look at me, and look at Spiderman. And now, if you'll excuse me, I have to pee.

OK no, i didn't meet him. but i DID write the above ;)

fat

Pink - you went to the Superman gala at Marina Sq hah? Me & ah lau went on Mon. The movie abit lame but this new Superman quite cute!

basket!!
really 1 Joker come out!! kekeke...

Pink..
those long plates bought from Tangs one lah.. kekeek.. she only put fishes on that lor.. coz long mah.. the fish is Seabass.. one of the other forumer Aqua's ah lao go catch gif me one.. keke.. the red red is not gou qi zi lah.. its Chilli Padi!!! kekeke...

KA,
huh? wat brand ah.. also forgot where i buy liao.. must go back see ah.. maciam no brand one leh.. kekekeke... u put the gim gim liao hor.. then apply top coat lah.. will stay liao..

cecilialim

PB... not foul mouth la.. at least now you win then say ma... i won't use 1K to gain $170.. the risks involve not worth.. weak heart siah

fat

Sky - ok..i go buy the gim gim when im out...next time my turn to post the pic here but you must help me post..coz still struggling to learn to resize my pics under "paint"...si beh TL liao

pinkbunny

cecilia - ahha i also wouldn't. but ah lao ask me to buy so ok la i buy. if lose, at least i got somebody to blame haha. i also weak heart. i nervous until like got o level exam like that.

KA - wah. you see, how super auntie i am. you wrote 'superman gala at marina sq', i read 'supermarket gala at marina sq'. then i wonder why got this kind of auntie thing, nobody tell me. hahahaha. no i went to great world

skylar - walau eh! chilli padi!!!!!!!!!!!!! seabass hokkien gio si mi ah?

fat

Sky - wow! not bad leh...you still know Seabass is Kim Bak Loh...hahahaa...

Ok gals...ah lau juz call to say he's about to come back liao...so me now go fry my beehoon oredi! See ya!

Wahhh.. KA!!!
ur ah lao got ai xin mee fen to eat ah.... got spare for us bor? kekeek...

of coz i know seabass is called kim bak loh lah.. i also know chicken is called kway! hahaha...

pinkbunny

hello hello gam sia for kim bak loh :D

KA - how, your beehoon? success bo?

here's my tonight meal:
382591.jpg

the fish has been in my freezer for DAMN long. the ah beng fish seller say very nice very nice so i buy lor. then never cook. fish - i would recommend don't geh kiang *like lao niang* and put so much lemon. so sng!

canot really see what's in my veg dish so i tell you la. it's.... TANGHOON LEH!!!! huat ah!

joniel

wah..really cannot catch up with u gers leh...suddenly so many new names pops up..welcome welcome...

pink: ur food always looks so happy (colourful). Ask you hor, the fish ah..how u cook black black one..put a lot of tao-yu is it? I always put but end up dry dry leh...not as much gravy as yours.

Ivy: if you are reading this, I am one that always use slow cooker for soup. Just throw everything in and make sure your water covers the ingredient..and it is very safe because the water will not over boiled or dried up like in the gas-stove.

Skylar: you say after eating ur ah-bu fish..u "puo". what is "puo"?? sibei cheem leh ur hokkien.

I also know chicken is kuay...duck is ah...and prawn is hey...but then i salute u la..bec i dun know seabass is kim-bak-lor....skylar wan sui...

cheers..
/joniel

schnauzie

wah i MIA for a while then i am lost liao.
bunny - ur dinner look so nice, simi color also got! black bean on ur fish is it? any fish also can ah?
btw ur soup is wat? look very happie leh

levynn

PB... ur dinner looks delicious leh!! i only know how to cook simple steamed fish... u very kiang leh... stil got lemon fish...

eh, but wat is that 2 bowls of stuff beside the soup?? eggs ah?

pinkbunny

haha i call my veg happy veg only then suddenly EVERYTHING you gers see is happy. joniel say everything is happy colour, sch say soup look happy. haha.

the fish recipe was initially for ikan kurau. but again, i don't know what it's called in hokkien. i guess any fish also can lor. want recipe?:

first, wash and dry fish, then rub salt all over it (i think i remember my granny saying it minimises the oil splattering)

fry fish in oil for about 5 mins on each side on low heat. if it starts drying up, add a bit of oil.

then leave the fish in the pan (if small fish, fry in pan. if big fish, fry in wok. i prefer wok cos can cover or else whole kitchen smell like oil), push one side, and fry slices of ginger, chopped garlic, and sliced onions.

then pour a bit of light sauce, a bit of dark sauce, and water and 1tsp sugar, and a dash of salt. then just before serving, squeeze a bit of lemon (optional)

levynn - basket, PNG la! my ah lao like to mix white and brown rice.

Do you know how they make the soup base in Mushroom Pot? Simply love the taste... and want to have steamboat tomorrow night.

fat

Pink - still say no inspirations! Very nice dishes you made last nite mah...especially the fish...i like! hey, your abit of dark sauce can end up to have so much gravy meh...mine also everytime dry up wan leh or end up too saltish nia.

Well, my beehoon last nite considered a "pass" by ah lau coz I myself feel abit too wet liao...but the taste not bad lah...kekekeke....me "Bu Yao Lian" hor? Will try to post the pic later if I manage to resize it and if not...bo bain have to get Sky to post for me liao....

Good morning!!!!

Wahhh.... Pink..
ur dinner looks very good leh.. kekeke... yummy!!! eh..how come u cook ur fish with lemon one leh.. so weird rite? kekeke... but ur rice is brown rice ah? whah.. sibeh healthy hor.. whahhaah..

Joniel..
whahaha... u also know duck & prawn ah.. kekeek.. good good.. whahah..

KA,
u still got pixs ah.. try to resize lor.. otherwise limpeh will help u one..

went to watch Superman last nite.. really lao nua man!!! sibeh yan dao ah!!!!! tian ah......

yongee86

hey hey..

PB, i had the similar fish dish as yours for dinner last nite! not i cooked thou, is my dad.. went home for dinner last nite.. ahaha.. go home eat is the best, dad will always cook a feast for us!

i had lor kway sih, spinach, dark dark fish and pig intenstine soup.. yum yum..

tonite i'm going to try to cook bak ku teh... wanted to try joniel's method, throw everything in slow cooker in the morning to cook.. but hubby say NO, no one at home, so dangerous, nag nag nag.. so will go home after work to try lor.. wish me luck siah!

pinkbunny

sorry babes!!!!!!!!!!!!! towards the end, add 1 rice bowl of water!
then close the wok cover until water is bubbly then turn off and serve to your hungry family :D

pinkbunny

joniel - yay! don't put too much star anise ok? else it will become sickeningly sweet. but loads of pepper - shiok!

eh antonia - don't just say you had good dinner hor. it's unwritten rule here - must post photos and share recipe!

skylar - my colleague said they had to use comp to desize his *ahem* cos it was too big and distracting! haha.