CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

ckw1011

skylar, simi taichi??

limbu now headache wif the mailing list 4 corporate gifts ah!!! nabz, really all over the world ...

tea_tree_oil

sch: yes, i'm baking NOW! :p

sp: tks! so if my muffin receipe calls for 1 tbsp baking powder, i'l jz add 1/2 tsp baking soda + 2 tbsp lemon juice since oredi added 240g milk according to receipe?

spongme

tea tree oil,
huh, yr recipe needs 1 TABLESPOON baking powder ah, so much, sure or not, hehehe...

the tsp is teaspoon only hor,
if I not wrong, 3 tsp = 1 tbsp, sch, sky, lina, tio bo?

good luck and hope the substitution works! if not work, don't scold me hor, scold the don't know what website, kekeke.

remember to post pics hor, I very curious u getting pancake or muffin, hehehe *scram*

gtg, running late for appmt...

vine

Hey everybody,I came across this post by chance. can i have the winter melon, tonic chicken and the muffins recipe? All pics looks so delicious!
If you all don't mind. please? Thanks!

tea_tree_oil

i'm pleased to report tht my muffins turned out v nice (appearance...still in oven...yet to taste ;p) will post pics whn free...

so...sp...they are MUFFINS...not pancakes....

pinkbunny

i know what is buttermilk! it comes in small packages, like milk carton but smaller. cold storage got sell

somebody say i clever leh

just got back.... to office. happening right? got meeting outside until 830 then have to come back to office some more. sigh. bo bian. got things to do.

so that tomorrow i don't need to come back, then can kiao kar at home.

spongme

pink,
u very clever know what is buttermilk! take pic show us can? keke.

so late still back to office to work, tough!

tea tree oil,
yay yay, yr muffins turn out well! how's the taste, is it as good as using baking powder?

pinkbunny

gam sia sp
take photo of buttermilk? orh.... you say i kiang, but it's cos you want me to take photo!!! tao yan!

ok if i see it at coldstorage then i take. it's like small milk carton, at fridge area, at cheese area and it will say BUTTERMILK big big

good luck with the crabs, sch!!! must tell us if it's happening or not ok? take many photos!!!

This is the Assam Pedas which I was telling u all the other day ..
425362.jpg

Recipe is I saw Ah Bu frying 2 kinds of her own blended chilli together... then add onions, tomatoes cont'd frying.. then add fish... lastly add a bit of hot water..

schnauzie

my chilli crab - took me 1.5hrs! with a blender somemore. taste quite good but my was abit salty..pink - did u cut down on the tao cheo or salt amt?

425475.jpg

yongee86

hey..

me back from china..

i did a stupid thing! i was trying to beam the pics i took in my hp into laptop. instead of send, i select delete!!! arghhhhhhhhhh.. so angry with myself now! i took alot of pics of beijing esp forbidden city! wana kill myself!!!

i cooked curry fishhead today and the pic was accidentaly deleted by stupid me as well!!! arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh..

sch, your chilli crab looks good!!!

skylar, the assam pedas look very spicy n shiok!!!

pinkbunny

hi girls! wow the food looks good, sch!! and skylar! shiok!!!

yup, i found it very salty the first time so i cut down on the tao cheo subsequently

alamak ant, you ah. never mind you will go again, can take again

yesterday's lunch:

pork with szechuan veg
cabbage soup
fried fish with tamarind

425572.jpg

yongee86

sighzzz.. i will go again lah, but will not go to forbidden city again.. n will not get to have famous hairy crabs in shanghai coz the season is only in end oct/ early nov! sighzzz.. maybe i will get some of the pics from my boss camera.

sch, i only cooked enuf curry for 2 for lunch. so no more left to take pic again.

here's my dinner tonite.
sweet corn n crabmeat soup, paper wrapped chicken, stir fry long beans.
425578.jpg

yongee86

recipe for curry fish head:

ingredients:
fish head
lemongrass
blue ginger
yellow ginger
buah ka lat
onion
garlic
chilli paste
curry powder
brinjal
tomato
lady's finger
lemon juice/ tamarind juice
coconut
evaporated milk

1. pound lemongrass, blue ginger, yellow ginger, garlic, onion, buah ka lat together. (being the lazy me, i use blender and mashed everything up)
2. wash clean the fish head
3. heat the wok and fry the pounded ingredients and chilli paste.
4. when smelling fragant, add curry powder.
5. Add 1/2 pkt of coconut milk with water and let it boil.
6. transfer everything into a big pot and add the fish head.
7. add lady's finger, brinjal and tomato into the pot.
8. Add the remaining 1/2 pkt of coconut.
9. add some evaporated milk.
10. when brinjal and lady's finger is cooked, add lemon juice or tamarind juice to add some 'sourness'. it is ready for makan.

the fish head recipe seems to have many steps but actually quite easy. hubby say it is very shiok, sama sama as wat we get from outside. heheh.. he said i can cook this the nxt time when in laws are around. another sure can impress like hell to my MIL.

schnauzie

mornin ladies!! wah ant..curry fish head is so impressive okok next time will try it out! paper wrapped chicken? taste like wat?

pink - ur meals gettin more n more pro! good for u!!!

sky - assam pedas is fish fryed with chilli or wat? looks very yummy!!!

pinkbunny

morning ladies... whole body aching yesterday. was out in the sun all day and when went home i had HEAT RASH. so scary. like small pimples all over my torso :S but lucky all gone now. phew.

sch, thanks for the compliment
but aiyah, not more and more pro la, just more and more adventurous la hehe.

ya ant, how to make paper chicken? hey you seem to like my crab soup hor? keke.

maybe this weekend i will try fish head curry. or maybe herbal chicken... hmm.. so many ho liao, so little time! keke

pinkbunny

today lunch my colleagues and i are sharing GOLDEN PILLOW! hehe. i've heard so much about it but have never tried. heard it's very shiok :D

pinkbunny

now it's my turn to talk to myself...

hello pinkbunny#1, how are you?
i'm fine, pinkbunny#2, how about you?
good, thank you, pinkbunny#1. where's everybody?
i don't know, pinkbunny#2
never mind, we wait here for them
ok, pinkbunny#1. you so clever. and chio.
thank you, pinkbunny#2. you too.
oh thank you *blush*

minnie_gal16

Hi Pink/Ant,

Sorry to interrupt, but can I please request for the recipe for the crabmeat corn soup? My son loves this soup so I am thinking of cooking it for him this weekend. Thanks alot.

pinkbunny

hi minnie, from memory, it should be chicken stock, canned corn, crab meat, and at the end, stir in one beaten egg. but the full recipe should be within our archives. enjoy!

wah the chicken looks damn good, sch.... i want....

Halloo... whahaha..
Sch..
WAhh.. looks our like recipe can be World Class soon liao.. whahah..

The assam pedas u can fried fish also can in my case, we at times add stingray instead.. also yummy..

Me have been clearing my emails since morning till now, & I still got like 2630 emails more to go ah!!!!

yongee86

ellooooooooo...

this morning went for interview.. but doubt got chance.. plus me not tat keen.. whahah..

after interview, came home to rest n suppose to go to work. now feeling lazy n sian n decide to take full day leave instead.. :p

minnie, the recipe is by pink and she posted previously. do check out the archives instead.

pink, how's your golden pillow? i tried it many years ago and din really like it..

the crab n corn soup quite nice n plus i got 1 big bag of corns n crabmeat leftover from fridge still.. must slowly cook n clear 'inventory'..

pink, easy lah, u cook curry fishhead for lunch n herbal chicken for dinner on a sat lor.. one stone kills 2 birds! whahah...

yongee86

paper chicken recipe

ingredients:
chicken i use drumsticks and cut into pieces)
sesame oil
oyster sauce
cornflour
baking paper (those u use to line your baking tins)

1. marinate chicken with sesame oil, oyster sauce and some cornflour. let it stand for at least 30mins.
2. cut baking paper (not too small) to wrap the chicken. wrap it like an 'enevelope' and wrap 2 times. 2nd layer is to prevent the 'gravy' from leaking.
3. heat oil in wok. deep fry the wrapped chicken.
4. serve on plate n is ready to tuck in!

minnie_gal16

Pink/Ant,

Thanks. Will go search for it or if not, will experiment w Pink's summary and see if it works.

I am so impressed w all your efforts in cooking!!

pinkbunny

hey ant, thanks ... but if it's deep fry, i think i better not try. ah lao not a big fan of deepfrying so i only limit it to my fav ha cheong gai

minne, no need to be impressed la! we're just auntie wanna bes. haha. me at least

pinkbunny

golden chicken was bleah
it was like drinking oil. ok la. the first few bites was shiok shiok shiok. and we were so excited cutting the bread. novelty mah. but after a while then jelak liao

ckw1011

paper chicken? steady lah ant! so creative =)

skylar, u're back to work ah? i thot u were thinking of taking leave 4 a few more days, wat happened? is it ur recep? eh, health more impt, do take care ya.

pink, drink chinese tea 2 wash down the oil lor. so i guess no 2nd chance for jin ji. last time i also wanted 2 try, but in the end didn't. now after hearing ur experience, think can forget it altogether.

schnauzie

yaya i hear from pple so far tt the jin pillow is not so good..guess its just a hype.

ant - after deep fryin the paper will the chicken be very oily?

sky - feelin ok boh? don push urself so hard..just delete all the emails tt came in b4 today lah keke

levynn

yo babes... clearing up stuff n doing backups la... so quite busy. plus, the school's network xiao xiao one... sometimes cannot access the website.

anyway, me going off liao... to HQ for meeting. talk to u all tmr.

Lina.. ya lor.... as usual, I guess rite.. my recep is on MC today leh.. kaoz.. then heard from my accountant that she last Fri already on MC liao.. kaoz..

actually my MC is till yesterday so by rite shd start wk today lah then i tot of gg back to work only after I remove my stitches mah.. but aiyah.. nvm lah.. somemore today we having regional presentation mah.. then all the german & aussie guys came over, just kena drag to lunch by them .. kaoz..see they see so shiok!! I also cannot eat..

then just now my Thailand colleagues ask tonite wanna go eat dinner ?? haiz... tian ah......

Sch..
the emails I cannot just delete leh.. alot needs to follow up one leh.. sob.

schnauzie

hey pple..nowadays every sat i go for a CC cookin class, quite cool leh it is call 2 dish 1 soup cookin class so every week the t'cher teach one soup..her dish mamateh lah but soup not bad always very thick and use herbs tt is always new to me. keke when i feel hardworkin enuff then i type out the 3 soups i learnt so far

yongee86

skylar, aiyoh, y u so workaholic? get more mc lah... dun push yourself too hard leh.

pink/ sch, after frying the paper chicken, only the paper is oily but the chicken is not. it is very tender and juicy. best part is, when u fry, coz it is paper, so the oil will not splatter everywhere even using a wok.

lina, not me creative lah. this is an ancient chinese dish leh. when i was young, my aunt always cook for big occasions leh.

sch, u really 24 hrs wife. even attend cooking class at CC! wo zen pei fu ni.

irene, when i cooked the curry fish head, everything is agar agar so very hard to say how much to put.

SSch.. quick!!! go type out the soup for us... kekeke..

tell u all a very TL thing man!! just now whilst my bosses & regional big bosses go outside makan ah.. I got order in lunch for those lower mgmt pple, I ordered a variety of Sushi, O'Briens S/W, Cakes & Salads.. I ordered alot for them to choose lah.. coz dunno wat they want mah.. so end up they did not finished everything leh..

then hor.. just now I heard my tea lady Call her frds say.. wahh.. eh.. the storey that I am working now ah.. got a lot of food they dun want leh.. all the Xpensive one.. got Japanese, got Western leh.. u all want, u all come & take lah.. a lot leh.. all swee swee one.. they neber eat ah.. ..
Nabz.. hear till I damn TL man.. I go stop her, ask her who give u permission to throw all these food away? I purposely ordered extra so that they ltr tea break can eat one! Then she quickly say.. oohh I thot its dirty one.. so I thot can throw.. got so TL, I told her off.. all the food packed up so nicely u say dirty?? Then I told her cannot throw.. all put back into the fridge.. then only she say.. ehh.. can u pls give me one?? U see lah.. kaoz,…

schnauzie

ant - my ah lao want me to go for the cookin class one..keke sponsor me somemore. he knows tt i enjoy cookin even though the gongfu still not v good so he thinks me (as well as his stomach) will benefit from the class ;p

the paper chicken sounds good! think i will go and try soon. just bought a bag of frozen chicken breast yesterdae..my ah lao toopid don like thigh meat..where got pple so toopid..i told him..u go to chicken rice stall buy chix breast the auntie will LUFF at u ah

sky - okok i go n dig out the worksheet tonight

schnauzie

sky - muahahah so in the end u got give ur tea lady one pack or not? or shoot her "give u for wat? so u can share share u loot with ur fella tea lady frens ah?"

Sch..
u guess? kekeke..
aiyah.. me is those fierce kind but since she ask.. so I gave her lor... kekeke..

I thot the paper chicken looks good too... yummy!!!