CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

yongee86

poor pink, must fight back.. don't let these people walk over you.

the plastic bag I'm referring to is those transparent type, those you use to choose your fruits and veg and let the auntie weigh and stick price tag in supermarkets. not those white color plastic bag carrier hor. liao giak boh?

Wahh... come in only see bitching liao ah.. keke.

Pink.. steady lor..
dun bother abt such pple ah...

Ant..
good to impress ur in laws ah.. wahhaha...

So is Sch or Lina gg to be trying out the recipes so far eh?

schnauzie

i want to try wintermelon n chick soup but i don have essence of chicken..later i go ntuc see how. the wintermelon looks so yummy. but i heard pple say if u add ur rock sugar too early it will turn bitter so must add at the end ..is it true? skalli boil the rock sugar for 3 hrs then dunno is wintermelon or bittergourd liao

ckw1011

eh skylar, is levynn & sch gg 2b trying out the recipes, not lina. lina bz wif watching dvds & left wif no time 2 cook *scram*

Sch..
u go try ya.. as for the rock sugar.. nv heard before tat it will turn bitter leh... my ah bu add from the start leh.... but u better dun choose those brown rock sugar, choose those white kind..dun think it will be bitter lah.. good luck..

Lina..
kns.. u busy with ur dvds ah? whaha... buay tahan man.. my ofc have been like sms-ing me non stop leh.. very irritating man!!!

yongee86

my dinner:

pork ribs with corn n carrot soup, deep fried wanton, steamed fish, stir fried wang ti cai with chilli.
423387.jpg

sch, i oso put the rock sugar in the wintermelon b4 putting it to steam. it taste super sweet.

i know wat u mean by sugar turning bitter. some baking recipes require u to melt the sugar with some water b4 it is added to the remaining baking stuff n put to bake. so when melt the sugar n overcooked, then it will turn bitter during baking process. steam n bake is different

lina, ur ans v good ar! u need to check with the alamanc for huang dao ji ri to cook rite?

skylar, ignore ur colls lah.. so buay zi dong. u need rest now!!

schnauzie

lina - u watchin simi dvd now?

keke..just went to ntuc n bought wintermelon and chicken essence keke...can cook on thurs when i amon leave~~wah the winter melon cost me nearly $3!!!!!

levynn

good morning babes!!!

after looking at the herbal chix n the wintermelon, i wanna try both leh... how ah?? no steamer, no big pots...

ckw1011

good morning babes

haha, ant noe me best! yup, i checked the simi alamanc, these days no hv huang dao ji ri 4 moi 2 cook leh, how? hehe. babe, ur steamed fish looked very shiok leh ... drooling liao

skylar, ask them 2 go f spider lah. or they sms u 10 times then u reply once, to the 10th sms, heh

sch, i just fin watching samurai 7 (jap cantoon serial) think will watch bride & prejudice, election 2 & saw 2 next.

levynn, hmmm, my suggestions: 1. buy, 2. borrow from niang jia, 3. ask skylar (since she now so eng) or ant 2 cook 4 u 2 eat *scram*

calling for KA!!! where r u babe???

levynn

lina... thanks. i like the last option best... wahahaha... *scram wif lina*

my stooopid yahoo email still cannot reply leh... dunno y. damn!

skylar... when u need the reply for the WV?? i help u ask ard for some more pple...

pinkbunny

haha yes ant, i know what plastic bag you're referring to. don't worry, i won't use yellow shop and save bag to steam my chicken! hahaha

sorry babes, very busy these days. meeting after meeting.

but since i already have chicken soup on the stove, i have no choice but to leave work on time today and go home to cook :D

Good morning...babes..
As usual, I was awoken by the calls from my ofc lor.. sianz.. haiz..

Lina.. the prob with me is when they sms me, I will reply liao.. haiz..
now my upper neck still very numb & the worst bit is that when it is numb it is painful too man!! Fark!!

Levynn..
u r talking about the World Vision gift thingy ah.. u can take ur time, i think deadline is 1st week of Dec if I am not wrong..
Thxs for ur help in asking ard ya.. just let me know..

Looks like now i got no kou fu liao,.. haiz.. can see but cannot eat... pengz...

ckw1011

skylar, it's been so many days already ur upper neck still numb ah? babe, u beta call & check wif the doc, dun wait till the review next week liao. take care ya.

Lina...
spoke to our dear frd u know who? she say her numbness take couple of mths to subside leh.. basket.. kekeke... so hopefully nothing wrong lor..

Levynn..
thot KA go in Dec??

pinkbunny

babes, tonight's dinner:

423743.jpg

the soup may not look it but it's really very very shiok. drink until the bowl dry! i defrosted chicken bones last night (got some meat also), and started making the stock last night. blanch then high fire with 2 tablespoons gou qi zi and 2 tablespoons dried scallops, and 2 smashed garlic. after 20 min, put to low fire. i did it about 15 min last night. then this morning again on low fire 15 min. then when come home, heat up again. very very shiok. no salt, no other ingredients and seasonings

this was on sunday. ah lao said must have veg that's why pop one kai lan with oyster sauce out haha

423744.jpg

tea tree, your question the scope is too broad la. it's like asking NTUC plastic can zhuang what....

Pink....
Wahhh... nice dinner! ahhahaa.. no wonder how come I suddenly see 1 kai lan out of ur ang mor style dinner.. kekeke.. east meets west ah?

Tree, define ur qns lah..

tea_tree_oil

huh? too broad meh? i meant what are some dishes they may be used in n how do i use them (e.g. for marinating or when frying). now can?

ckw1011

good morning babes
pink, if not for the kai lan ah, ur sun dinner looked more like breakfast =)

sorry skylar, not sure which dear fren u're talking about. but it sound strange tt the numbness will take a few months 2 subside cos i sort of think it will start 2 subside when the med wear off. again i'm not sure, so i think the best is still 2 chk wif the doc

yongee86

greetings from shanghai! got miss me boh? :p

very sleepy now.. din manage to 'dump' boss after dinner last nite. dragged me to go drinking at the bund with him! somemore he din treat. kns!

skylar, how's the numbness? i think it is best to check with your operating surgeon what you should do! sometimes, it could be something pressing on your nerves that cause the numbness which means it is not good!!

pink, your dinner really look like breakfast if not for the kai lan! the egg looks very nicely done. yum yum...

zzzzzzzzzzzzzz..

pinkbunny

hi all, i'm on mc today. long awaited la. last week had a finger infection. cos got some extra skin on the side then i kaypoh, go and bite, then kena infected. kns. the med for that gave me diahorrea so today no work for me. so now i'm back with a vengence!!!!

so after seeing the same doc again, my auntie duties started and i went to THE MARKET! haha. tonight's dinner is already cooking on the pot. tonight will be fish sliced soup, daogay, and snow peas with prawns

hello to shanghai lady! nice weather now? should be getting cold liao? eh so will you go yu yuan to eat xiao long bao not??!!

sch, what egg you talking about? the 'breakfast'? that one just crack normal egg onto pan and fry for a while then slide onto your plate lor.

with salted egg, i cracked it into minced meat then steam. (meat seasoned with pepper and a dash of mua yew only. no salt, no soy sauce cos the salted egg is very salty liao). thanks to levynn's grandma, i was not shocked when i opened the salted egg.

first you break away the black stuff, then you wash off the rest. when you crack the egg, the 'white' is like normal eggs. but the yolk is solid liao. break it up and just put on top of the minced meat mixture. very shiok. and very easy.

my steamer is 3 layer one. bottom layer can cook soup, then 2 more layers above can steam stuff. so when my soup is boiling, i just put one more layer on top to steam the meat. about 10 - 15 mins

pinkbunny

someone was asking for easy soup recipe... is it jhoo? chicken bones (first blanched) + dried scallops + smashed garlic and in the last 10-15 minutes of cooking, add ingredients like cabbage, fish ball etc

chicken bones + corn + red dates also nice.

pork bones + onion + potato + carrots = ABC soup like some call it. i usually boil potato and carrots separately

ikan bilis + soy beans + peppercorns + ti po (dried fish. first you fry it abit then add to the soup), and finally fish slice (seasoned in mua yew, pepper, soy sauce, hua tiao) added in the last few mins of cooking. = fish soup!

steady?

and now.... as promised,specially for ant, the recipe of the chilli crab you guys had at my house.

pinkbunny

xi jia po chilli crab. serves 4-6 people. you scale yourself accordingly ok?

ingredients:
crab (duh). 2 large ones
2 tablespoons oil
6 shallots, diced
6-8 large cloves garlic, minced
3 tablespoons minces fresh ginger
1-2 chilli padi or 1 red chilli, deseeded and sliced
3 1/2 cups chicken stock (875 ml)
4 tablespoons tao cheo
4 tablespoons sweet chilli sauce
1/2 cup tomato ketchup (125 ml) - i didn't use so much
1 tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoons rice wine
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon white pepper
2 tablespoons corn starch mixed with 3 tablespoons water
2 eggs, lightly beaten
jiam tao lo di

CHILLI GINGER SAUCE
6 large chillis, deseeded
5-6 cloves garlic, peeled
2cm fresh ginger, peeled
2 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon rice vinegar
1 tablespoon water

READY?
step 1
put crabs in freezer for 15-20 mins to immobilise them. then chop them up. that was a very traumatic experience for me so subsequent times i asked the handsome carefour uncles to help me chop them up. carrefour usually has good prices for crabs. right, skylar?

step 2
blend all ingredients of CHILLI GINGER SAUCE in blender or mortar. if you got blender, lucky you. i used mortar. remember to spread newspapers all over the floor and be prepared to have chilli sauce splash all over you. if you are short sighted, put on your glasses instead of contact lenses. or wear goggles

step 3
heat oil in wok on medium heat and stir fry shallots, garlic, ginger, chillies till fragrant, about 3 mins. add chilli ginger sauce, chicken stock, tao cheo, chilli sauce, tomato sauce, sugar, rice wine, salt and pepper and bring to boil. then reduce heat and simmer, for 2 mins. add crabs and simmer uncovered, tossing a few times till cooked, about 10 mins

4. add corn starch mixture to sauce and stir till thickens. add eggs and stir gently till set. then transfer to serving dish. can garnish with coriander leaves and spring onions, and serve with jiam tao lo di.

5. JIAK!!

phew. it's not difficult, just alot of work. prep time is approx 1 hour. actual cooking time is 20 min only.

Wahhh.. Pink!!!
U r really back with alot of stuff ah!! kekeke... good good...

Halo... Shanghai Tang!! whahaha.. dunno leh.. the numbness is still ard lor.. will check with my surgeon next week when I see him.. overall is ok..

Lina,
u know lah.. that one that also got op recently one lor.. keke.. she was telling me that her numbness take couple of mths to subside leh.. scare me ah.. but the funny thing is that even when it is numb but when I touch it hard, it is pain.. funny rite?

schnauzie

pink - u mean u steam salted egg only ah? buey salty meh? i found ant's old recipe she mixed with egg and water too.

wah tot tt time u scan the recipe n send us liao? now u so gook luk type all out ah? guai !

sky - if u feel pain when u touch it hard at least means still got some nerve there.

pinkbunny

sch, i steamed salted egg with minced meat la. i never use other egg, and never add water. just nice. buey salty.

i don't remmeber sending the recipe leh that's why i told ant when i free then i type out la. so kut lat right? :D

wah biang girls. i'm only at home half a day and i already very bored leh. nothing to do. an di don't want to clean up the house haha. such a lousy housewife i will be

sorry brenda, i don't know how to cook curry veg

pinkbunny

EH GIRLS nabz on sunday someone called me a lychee! nabz nabz!!!! typed this in my blog.. .just copy and paste for you all:

I saw a nice retro dress at this Chinatown place so I asked to try it. I asked for size S since it looked to me like I could fit into it.

"You ah, take M better la."

"Oh, the cutting's a bit small is it? OK lor. I try M."
Against my better judgement.

I try M and it makes me look like I'm no, not like a lychee... that's the punchline. Not yet. It makes me look like I'm 4 months pregnant. And not one of those ladies that glow with pregnancy either, no, a dowdy one. So I ask for S again and this time she lets me try it. Which fits perfectly.

When I'm paying, the shopkeeper thinks ok maybe she should say something nice:
"Oh my daughter is about your size but you're meatier than her so I thought M would fit you better"

I give a tight smile and give her my NETS card. She thinks ok maybe that wasn't the best thing to say. So she tries to salvage the situation with:
(Here it comes)
"You're like a lychee you know"

"Huh? I don't understand"

"You know, like one of those fat lychees. You look fat on the outside but you don't have much meat on you"

I gave dry laughter.

A woman should know never to call a woman fat. A female shopkeeper should know that even more.

If I hadn't keyed in my pin number I would have just taken off. 2 minutes later I walk down the aisle and see the same dress on display. But I walked on and didn't go look at it to ask for price or size. In case it was cheaper or in a nicer colour in size S. There's only so much depression a lychee can take in a day.

schnauzie

muhahahaha pink lychee - thats the ultimate the woman went to work and left her EQ in her house toilet ah?

eh ask u ah..for the chilli crab, use wat kinda chicken stock? the knorr one is quite salty ..tt one can or must i boil chicken bones?

pinkbunny

i used knorr one but diluted it. like 75% chicken stock, 25% water. if got to boil real chicken stock then it will take damn long man.

pink lychee.... basket.

pinkbunny

keke sch, i sms-ed you just now to ask about the flour for muffin... do you use self raising or plain flour? i think maybe i got the wrong number ... keke

424097.jpg

pinkbunny

lychee looks very yummy right? i also want haha. ok la you working girls have fun. i go pong pong now hehe. later baking muffin! keke

sch, my self raising flour packet got picture of muffin, should be can right?....

Btw,
any kind souls here willing to volunteer their serbic for X'mas during Nov & Dec to help mend booth @ Celebrate Christmas In S'pore along Orchard Rd (16-25 Dec)?

pinkbunny

nabz you skylar. eh if the flour cannot make muffin then it's very misleading leh!

aiyah nov and dec i already sell my soul to my company. bueh sai, sorry

btw i think i owe sky this:

424114.jpg

424115.jpg

it's the one-time-use heat pack. less than 2 bucks at watson's or guardian. the best price i got was 1.55 on promo.

Pink...
whahaha.. u scold me nabz.. whahah.. cannot stop lafting man.. think u all must be missing my nonsense for some time liao rite?

Wei... ask u ah.. this heat pack is not used only 1 time hor?

Wahh.. my ah bu cooking assam pedas... the smell is killing me & i cannot eat... arruuughhhhhhh

pinkbunny

haha the 2 sickies at home are the noisiest ones today

the heat pack is ony time only la dey. you never read what i wrote! NABZ!!!!!!!!

now i searching for kelisa la keke. so cute
i like
buy for me

Basket...
I thot u say 1 time use means today 1 time, then keep, tmr another time mah.. wei.. ur eng ke lan very good leh,.. wat is "ony" time? Or Ni ah? the yam paste ah.. whahaa...

btw.. ur kelisa is a car rite?

ckw1011

haha think i'll b a wet blanket here 4 all lychee lovers. hey, eat too much lychee heaty hor, so make sure u drink lotsa h2o after eating.

lao niang, dun mind wat tt obasan said lah, u dun look like a lychee at all. maybe she jealous u're more chio than her charbor kia, heh

skylar, email me more info & details abt the volunterring thingy can, thx. whahaha, 2 quote titanic, li ki wa ki
hey, think u kuku already cannot read properly:
pink said the heat pack is THE ONE-TIME-USE HEAT PACK, go read her post again. wah biang fren, $1.55 nia leh, u wan 2 use 4 hw many times ...

Wahahahaha....
Tsk.. tsk.. Lina.. me trying to get lao niang to scold me nabz mah.. whahah... ok ok lah.. my bak jiu da stamp lah.. no see properly lor.. whahaha..
titanic.. ok lah... me also same.. will drop u email shortly ya!!

Which obasan dare to say our lao niang looks like lychee? whahha... heng ah.. lao niang nv tell her.. I look like lychee ok lor.. but hor.. u know something? u look like chee "bye" leh.. whahaha..
*Scram*

schnauzie

pink lychee - must remember to report here if ur muffins turn our ok yah? i know if u use self raising flour then prob no need baking powder or something. go check out those baking website! they will teach u the appropriate substitute

pinkbunny

haha lina always chu kou qi for me one
i heart you, lina!!!

ya the kelisa is a car. damn nice. i was at pasir ris carpark then saw one. soooo cute so i walk around it and take photo. then got one uncle from upstairs ask me what i was doing. i said 'oh.. mei you. ni de che hen ke ai'. then he laff and say 'wo yi wei ni shi CARPARK'. excellent. first i'm called lychee, and now i'm carpark