China for honeymoon

sonata

i'm considering going china for honeymoon...any suggestions or experiences to share?? thank you very much

michell

Hi sonata,

Im decide going to Shanghai.....which part of China u decide to go??

dopey

Hi michell,
shanghai good shopping place.
Heard that the bras there very very cheap. almost equivalent to a can of coke here.

michell

hi dopey,

is it??? emm...but i heard my friends told me March e weather very very cold leh, is it??? i scare i bei tahan leh.......

sonata

Hi michell,
i haven't decided which part to go to leh, maybe beijing...
besides shopping, what other attractions are there??

och

hey sonata,

i think beijing is a really nice place to visit. is this ur first time in china? if it is, i think beijing is a good starting point. if u like history, u can combine beijing with xian. of all the chinese cities i visited so far (ok lah, there aren't that many i visited
), i like xian best.

but when is ur honeymoon? beijing gets sand storms fr mongolia in certain seasons.

sonata

Hi och,
thanks for your advice!

no i haven't been to china before...
my honeymoon will be in may/june next year... do u know whether it is suitable to go beijing during that time? where is xian? i'm now looking in the newspapers for china packages, but i can't find one that mention xian...

have u been to yunnan, jiuzhaigou, harbin? heard that these places are quite nice too...

wonder what attracts u to xian? besides sightseeing and shopping, what else does china offer?

btw, where are u planning for your honeymoon?

och

hi sonata,

no problem, glad to share my china travel experiences.
may/june r good times to visit beijing. i went in dec n it was really cold at tiananmen.
if u r going to take a tour fr sg, try to extend a few more days to explore on ur own. tours tend to bring u through forbidden palace n other sights quite quickly. u can use the extended stay to linger in those sights.

xian is read xi(1)-an(1) in chinese. it's the former chang-an n its geographical location is in the middle of china. it's where the terracota warriors by qin-shi-huang r located. i like xi-an for lots of history. when we were there, we had a terrific guide who could recite the 3000 yrs of history that occured n point out the little traces of those events. n he could describe to us the uniqueness of xi-an.
i had friends who spent 13 days in xi-an alone n loved every mintues of it. they also hv dumplings or jiao-zhi, which tastes really gd. but these come in huge proportions that non-locals like me couldn't finish. imagine, when waitresses take orders, they ask how many "jin" u want.

never been to yunnan, juizhaigou n harbin. my friends who visited hv great praises for these places too! i've only been through the guangzhou-guilin-xian-beijing route, the shanghai-suzhou-hangzhou-wuxi route, n the chang jiang route.

china offers plenty of history (fr b.c. to a.d.), famous dishes (wuxi ribs, peking duck, xi-an dumplings etc), quaint cities (e.g. suzhou), lovely mountains (guilin, huangshan etc) n rugged scenery (jiuzhaigou, silk route). different regions of china offer vastly different experiences. there's lots of culture to be seen. i remember seeing narrow roads, rivers with drooping willows n small bridges in suzhou, n mi(2)-mi(2)-meng(2)-meng(2) scenery in guilin. it was v. pretty. it's also a country that's not stagnant. u also get the feeling that the place is being developed. n if u visit some of the most vibrant cities, e.g. shanghai, a few yrs is all it takes for the city to change significantly.

my wedding n honeymoon is already over. we went to tunisia, which is a northern african country, n stopped by london for a few days. we chose tunisia for a different experience. our next destination is going to be china.

sy

Shanghai & Beijing is nice. I have been to both places. Though not very Mandarin literate, I enjoyed both places and they vary in many areas.

If history is on your mind, BJ wld be more ideal. If shopping and sightseeing, wld recommend SH.

Went to BJ in Dec. Sunny but cold. Went to SH in Mar. Weather was lovely and the shopping was great!

dopey

mi michelle 70, i have not been to Shanghai b4. But my sis bought back bras. kekeke she told me it is dam cheap.

tigerlily

i'm intending to go china for a holiday in October this year - shanghai, beijing and one other place.

anything interesting in china in october? where do you suggest for the 3rd place??

potpie

i went to sichuan 2 yrs back. i arrived in chengdu, a very vibrant city and went to jiu zhai gou, huang long and er mei shan. the scenery were terrific and impressive. especially the waterfalls at jiu zhai gou. if you r the kind of person who loves scenery, you would love this place. the negative point is you have to travel 9 hrs by small coach from chengdu to jiu zhai gou and it's not an easy trip as the altitude is very high . the airport at jiu zhai gou is not ready yet.

if u r an adventurous person & loves scenery, i highly recommend jiu zhai gou in sichuan. =) but there wont be much shopping.

wonder if this thread can still be active. I'm thinking of going to Beijing in Mar/Apr, any comments on the weather and place at that time of the yr? How many days would be enough and how much would it be (estimated)? Are the guided tours in English?

Just a few qns I have, thanks

funny

Hi DJ,

I have been to Beijing in May last year for about 5 days. Weather to me is still quite cold. I travelled by CAL about $700 +. The guided tour is in Mandarin. It's a nice city and dun forget to climb the Great Wall. It's a must !

slam72sg

Yes, what potpie said is true. I just went to Sichuan and Chengdu in December, the scenary in Jiuzhaigou is really eye catching and impressive. I really love the environment there. The people there are friendly as well. The building structure looks traditional and nice. But too bad, till today, the airport in Jiuzhaigou still not ready to use. Else we can skip travelling to Jiuzhaigou for more than 8 hours. Overall it is worth going as honeymoon.

It was winter when I went there.

leafy

went BJ for HM last Oct. Clashed with their National day (1 week PH for them) so everywhere was extremely crowded. however, tHanks to the crowd that we felt less boring as we had no other companion other than one guide. (speical request) We moved around in a car.

Spent a great afternoon at the great wall of china cos we went up without the guide. It was quite romantic actually thou panting a lot.

That guide is a young chap who speaks good english. The driver is good too. If you have some concern abt tour guide, i can refer him to you. We were so well taken care off by the driver and guide tt we requested for their contact number which might comes in handy again one day.

I have been to Yunnan too. It's a beautiful place.

Before deciding on HM place, I suggest u know your preference first...whether sceneries , buzzling cities or historical buildings.

bortei

i visited Mongolia and Silk Route before.
i strongly recommend these 2 areas as the land are wildly primitively beautiful. Unspoilt.

I went to these places about 2 years ago, at that time, still not much visitors. I went on a package tour with SATOURS and both were wonderful trips for me!

The people were lovely and kind and innocent. You will be surprised that the people in DunHuang, Tu Ru Fan (areas in Silk Route) have blue eyes and golden hair.

highly recommended!!!

skybebe

Hi Leafy

May I pls have your Beijing guide's contact details. We're considering spending our honeymoon in Beijing.

sakura_78

Anyone been to Huangshan? Heard so much about the terrific scenery... would like to spend maybe 2 or 3 days there. What type of tour package would you all advice if I would like to go for a week tour to China? Which are the areas near Huangshan??

sagittarus

Hi Sakura,

I have been to HuangShan in 2002... that was part of the package which I went Beijing -> HuangShan -> ZhouZhuang(Water Village) -> Hangzhou -> Shanghai...

Went there in may then... scenary not bad... but you gotta be prepare for the long walking trails.. I went there with my in-laws then, think they cannot really take the walking, it was a few kilometers, a lot of steps also.. =P

Plus that day was drizzing, temperature around 10C.. but I thot it was pretty cooling then.

Hmm... not sure about now, but during that time, after ariving at the Nanjing Airport, we took a coach (~6hrs) to Huangshan, which is really a very "bouncy" ride.. there was no proper roads there... most of the time you are travelling thru mountainous areas... imagine that you can see paddy fields and small towns alongway...

Think during then, they were trying to build better roads or railways to HuangShan.. not sure if those has been completed by now..

Usually tour agencies may bundle in places like Nanjing, Wuxi, Huangshan, Suzhou, Hangzhou or Shanghai together as they are all of the "southern" region...

deremi

<font color="aa00aa">hey all,

can someone share more experience abt china for honeymoon? thanks!</font>

blinky

I'm planning to go Huangshan &amp; Shanghai in May, may I know which tour company is good for China package tour?

ribenaberry

I planning to go Guang Zhou for shopping. However, I have not been there before. Anyone can advise where to go shopping and where is a good, cheap location to stay? How many days will be enough? What to buy? Thanks.

uimuim

i planning to go shanghai , nan jing , wu xi , su zhou area..
wat do u all think of garuda airlines ?
is it really very bad ?

puppylove888

guangzhou is woman paradise...cheaper compare to SHA,BJS,SZX or even BKK...
4 main area to shop in CANTON :

bei jing road
shang xia qiu road
zhuang yuan fan
liu xin qian xian

beside shopping shop some local tour to nearby town/mountain for a "country-side" experience

BTW...anybody can share experience of the new HIGHLAND EXPRESS TRAIN to XI CHANG

mystique_

Thinking of going to Shanghai, Huangshan and Jiangnan in Nov or Dec... Anyone has signed up for similar tour package before? Also, Nov/ Dec is it very cold to go up Huangshan?

bibibear

hello everyone!

i was planning to go China for HM too in Dec06.
any suggestions of good tour packages, areas to visit, etc?

maylitte

I am certain you can find a honeymoon location that has better toilets and food.
As much as I enjoyed my 2 trips to China, I've tru;y experience better places. How about Hong Kong, Singapore and Bangkok? A lot more Westerized and sanitary.

rtan

Hi Maylitte,

Thank you for being helpful, but I'm not sure how useful it is to comment on a thread that has been dead for more than two years.