CHIANG MAI??

dazednconfused

HI...

Trying to plan our honeymoon to Thailand (Chiang Mai, Bangkok and either Pattaya or Phuket). We've already been to Phuket and Bangkok. Love both places. But now, we'd like to visit Chiang Mai. Which hotels are good? What's there to do? We're thinking that since it's going to be our honeymoon, we don't mind splurging on good accommodation. But, we do wish to be somwhat close the night bazaar too. Any suggestions?

dottyback

i was there...i tink 2 yrs back..i love chiang mai 4 its simplicity..definitely will go back there if there's a chance..the weather is fabulous!

i stayed at Imperial Mae Ping then...the 1 dat Teresa Teng died in? kekeke its walking distance 2 the nite bazaar...juz dun expect 2 haf those nice shopping malls there..coz most of the shopping will b like pasar malam

interesting thing u oso get 2 c some 'tribal' ppl selling their handmade stuffs all over the place..still traditionally dresssed

dun miss out going 2 the famous temple (i duno the name) up high in the mountains...it was said dat if u dun go 2 dat temple...it means u nv go chiangmai at all hehe n u noe wad? u haf 2 go up 2 the temple thru 99 winding turns (really 99!) on a coach then take a 'lift' up

n since u r going 2 chiangmai..make a trip 2 chiang rai as well..its where u can c the tribal ppl wif long necks keke the ladies i mean..haf multiple rings on their necks

aiyo..can go on n on...but chiangmai muz go place! dat is if u dun mind out of city life wifout shopping

dottyback

hi Janis

the nite bazaar basically sells lotsa handicraft stuffs....nothing much 4 mi lar...

typical thai food...not expensive

eternity

hi janis,
hope u don't mind i jump in and ask serene some questions.... :p

serene,
so you went to both chiang mai and chiang rai... did u visit any other cities in north thailand? i'm planning a trip there in early october and trying to do some research now....

any recommendations for accomodation in chiang rai?

dottyback

hi eternity

no i din haf a chance 2 go chiang rai but i'm looking 4ward 2 go there in the near future

sori, not able 2 help u much on the recommendation 4 accomodation there hehe

janis

Hi eternity

no problem at all. you are so ke qi! when u planning to go chiang mai?

Hi serene

may i know in which month you went chiangmai? weather forecast these few weeks say raining leh!which is a better month to go? Oct ?

paopei

Hi, fyi ... last week there's flood in Chiangmai. Maybe u check the weather first before book ticket

eternity

hi janis,
pai sei to interupt mah... :p
i'm planning my trip in first week of oct....

oh, if i did my research correctly, the best months to visit north thailand will be from nov-feb... cool season and not so much rain....

serene,
it's okie, i'm doing research through guide books and internet... should be able to find a nice place in chiangrai...

wow, flood ah??? hmmm, i bought tickets liao, so must go unless weather turns bad and plane can't take off.

blunt

my colleagues juz came back from Chiang mai yest.

They fly on Sun n back on tues. They say no flood at the town area but drizzle.

endaz

U guys shld go for the Elephants rides in the jungles.. my parents just came back from Chiangmai..They strongly recommend it.. its a different kind of rides that u get at the zoo.

They went to Chiangrai - Golden triangle..Nothin much.. coz its just an empty land with some opium plant.. Not recommend to go for the ferry ride.

For nite bazzar,you can buy nice scent flowers made of candles. Quite cheap. I think 50baht for 2 flowers and the aroma stand. Can also buy the cane bag.. cost around S$5. If keen, can buy the fake birkenstock sandals, not bad..cost only S$8.

Hope the above helps

endaz

U guys shld go for the Elephants rides in the jungles.. my parents just came back from Chiangmai..They strongly recommend it.. its a different kind of rides that u get at the zoo.

They went to Chiangrai - Golden triangle..Nothin much.. coz its just an empty land with some opium plant.. Not recommend to go for the ferry ride.

For nite bazzar,you can buy nice scent flowers made of candles. Quite cheap. I think 50baht for 2 flowers and the aroma stand. Can also buy the cane bag.. cost around S$5. If keen, can buy the fake birkenstock sandals, not bad..cost only S$8.

Hope the above helps

eternity

gal,

thanks for the recommendations...

i took elephant ride before when i went Bangkok-Kanchanaburi, so dun think i will do it again...

nothing much at Golden Triangle ah? hmmm, but my hubby interested to go see leh... i thot there should be quite some "merchant trading" at that area since it's the border of 3 countries and the people from myanmar may cross over and do business... see how lor, maybe still go chiangrai and make that a half day trip... anyway, mine is a 10days trip... go can visit like 3 cities....

hmmm, the fake birjenstock sandals sounds tempting... heehee...

marble

any recommendations for nice and relaxing accomodation in Chiangmai...preferably not too expensive, with a nice traditional flavour and very romantic for honeymoon type?? ;)

eve21

I went to chiangmai early Aug05 for my company retreat. Really enjoy the trip... 3D2N at Chiangmai & extended 1day to Chiangrai. Not much things at Chiangmai except Night Markets & shopping centres with pretty cheap things. I bought a small hand carry bag at 200bucks (SDG$8) is selling SDG$20+ in Bugis. Message is a must at Chiangmai.... very cheap. Full body massage only 200bucks!!! Worth it!

I enjoyed most at Chiangrai which is a more remote area where you can see their culture. We went to a few tribes(long-neck karen, Aka, etc) Temple on mountain, Golden triangle, border of myammar, tea plantation. We were told by the tour guide to buy some sweets & biscuits for the childern in the tribes. N if you wants to take photo of the ppl in the tribe in their costumes, you need to pay them a token (10bucks). But most tribes dun ask for $ except for the last tribe i went, Aka tribe, the childern there are very aggressive & even adult also. I had a very bad experience with them, just be prepared.

eternity

i did a 10-days free and easy tour to chiang mai and other northern cities like pai, chiang rai, mae sai...

tour packages will bring u to the usual spots for tourists... if you go free and easy, can travel at your own pace and visit places that attracted u more....

chiang mai is more city-like as compared to other cities... they have nice shopping centre... in chiang mai itself, you can visit temples, do massages, vist night market, go shopping... you can also join trekking trips to the nearby national parks. some of them are very scenic...

eve21

Astrogirl
Staying at Chiangmai mainly shopping, massage & a 1/2 day seminar... Things are pretty cheap there. I stayed in Chiangmai for 2nites. I extend to Chiangrai with 10+nos of my colleagues. We hired a tour guide & a coach, continue our trip to one of the famous temple at the top of a mountain, Golden triangle, border of myammar, a couple of tribes....

eternity

astrogirl,

fyi, there are a lot of agencies, guest houses in chiang mai that can arrange tours to other north thailand cities.

eve21

Hi Astrogirl
I think I paid abt $160+ for the tour guide, coach & 1nite stay at 5-star hotel in Chiangrai. I duno whether is price is applicable to individual extension or its cheaper as we go in group.

ahjo77

Care tos hare any experiences you had in Chiang Mai as i am planning to go in Feb 06.
I would need recommendations on hotels and what to do there as this is my first trip there

sarzy

I am also planning to go Chiang Mai for my honeymoon end of the year. Can anyone tell me the toilet condition there ? Is it easy to locate toilet in Chiang Mai ? Is the nite mkt as big as Chatukchat in BKK ?

theaprilwedding

We're planning for a honeymoon in Chiang Mai but are torn between June and Sept. We hear June it's really hot and dry and Sept is the wettest month.

Can anyone share their experience with us?

Also, does the Night Bazaar have decorative household item, interior decor items just like Chatuchak Market in Bangkok? Which of the two markets offers a better range of such items? We hope to get some stuff for our new home on this Chiang Mai trip too.

Thanks heaps!

i m plannin to go end tis mth..

should i choose a hotel near the airport...eg. lotus chiangmai or stay near the market place eg. star Inn?

any advise any1? thanks!

Hi dimp dimp

It's safe to travel alone in chiang mai.

The people r v friendly & down to earth..

Plenty of shoppin & sight seein to do thr.. i just went there beginning of aug..

yappy

I have been to Chiangmai twice every year for the past 3 years. It is a beautiful place. Some liken it to Bangkok in the 70s, when it wasn't as busy and polluted and packed. Chiangmai has an old city contained within fortress walls (much of which has crumbled or been demolished). Within these walls lie several sois lined with guesthouses, small shops, makan places, temples (yes, quite plenty & nice). I have stayed at a variety of accommodations within and without the old city; ranging from back-to-basics backpacker guesthouses like S.K House and Smile House to luxury boutique hotels like The Tamarind Place. I would highly recommend The Tamarind Place if you've got more to spare. It is a charming place set in a nice garden courtyard; classic lanna decor and with good breakfast and pretty pool (though I seriously doubt anybody would swim in the colder months at year's end). The walk-in rates are *ahem* rather steep but youc an get round that by finding a pre-payment option on numerous accommodation websites. Having said that, be warned that reservations are made way in advance and be prepared to be turned down as this place maintains capacity throughout the year. The guesthouses are mentioned are ok for those on a shoe-string budget. The thing is, once you step out of the accommodation, Chiangmai is much the same whether you stay in a 5* or no* place. Staying the old city affords you a glimpse of the slower pace of life and easy access to the many ancient temples. I'm not buddhist and so my affinity to temples are solely for a dose of culture and history, and to satisfy my appetite for still-life photos. For food, I would say you can find most anything you want anywhere you go. If you are like me, and in need of supper for the late nights, then you would need to try the roadside push-cart stalls with their selection of roti prata (with condense milk, pineapple, honey, chocolate etc.) or wanton mee, beef noodle (with blood!), pad thai etc. There are just a few places where you can find food past midnight. Most are along the main road fronting the crossing to the newer part of town. There are also guesthouses and hotels aplenty in the new part of town, with those near the night bazaar the most sought-after. The bazaar opens round about 5pm and lasts till 10pm. Lining the main road and filling up some pockets along it, there are perhaps a thousand or more stalls hawking anything from tiger balm and viagra to 'rolex' and 'prada'. Be warned that it can get quite packed at the height of the shopping frenzy, so watch out for your belongings. Also, hard bargain and don't rush into any purchase. There are probably 100 stalls along the way selling the exact same thing you want. Take your time. Roadside noodles at the corner opposite Macs is one of my favourites and you may want to give it a try. 35 baht gets you a nice bowl of spicy rice noodles. I prefer the yellow noodles with lots of chille and vinegar! Yums. I'm already looking forward to my next bowl. For massage, I just pop into any of the night bazaar or roadside stalls as long as they don't look too sleazy. So far, all have been up to standard, but considering the 100 baht price, nobody would really have much to complain anyway
There are numerous tour agencies all over the place and they provide almost the same tours no matter how they try to tempt you into believing that they have exclusive rights to a certain area blah blah. The only difference would be the pricing. As with shopping, look around and don't rush into anything. I would highly recommend a day trip to the tribes with some trekking, elephant ride, waterfall trek and bamboo rafting. So far, all who have followed me on this have thoroughly enjoyed themselves. I'll be there again in Dec and am so looking forward to it. Best time to go is Dec as it is cool and dry. Let me know if you have any questions about the place. I will try my best to help in anything. Cheers!

lyons

<font color="119911">hey yappy, i'll be going to chiangmai in nov. what advice do you have for me? I also would like to stay at tamarind village but now not too sure which resort to stay when we go out of chiangmai city. Wanted to stay 2 nights in chiangmai city and another 2 nights in the outskirts. But the outskirts are not that far away, just 3 hours drive out where all the scenic views are?</font>

yappy_

Hi bride (lyons), Tamarind village is nice. Heard that they're finishing renovations end of this month and renaming their rooms to lanna names. Price increases should be expected. Used to be 1800baht per night but a quick check on websites suggest something in the range of 2300 baht per night. I have 2 other options of accommodation you may like to consider. First is budget standard Gap House in the old city. Pretty place surrounded by a lush garden. It is a guesthouse so don't expect anything more than a cosy room and basic comforts. They run a cooking school as well which explains a steady stream of long-stayers. Expect to pay about 700 baht per night. For a bit more luxury and the option of staying right smack in the middle of the bight bazaar, you can check out the Royal Lanna. I've stayed there thrice, with my fourth this coming Dec. Value for money with rooms starting at 950 baht per night inclusive of a hearty buffet breakfast. The agency I booked with also provides free airport transfer for >2 nights stay. If you are staying for 4 nights, I would recommend you spend 1 full day in the old city. Plenty of markets, wet and dry, plus ancient temples, and street side stalls for makan. Wararrot market is worth a visit too if you are inclned to chinatown atmosphere kind of outing. I liken it to Bangkok's chinatown. Hustle and bustle. Good place for foodstuff and spices, cheap merchandise, clothes etc. Just 15 min walk from night bazaar. Or if taking sawngthaew (or tuktuk); 15 baht each. Round off your day of walking with a cheap ful body massage starting from as low as 100baht! :0) Best! One full day can be spent on a tour mentioned in my previous posting. Will cost you about 700 baht for the entire works, lunch and water provided. Same thing, round off the tiring day with another massage. Your nights I suppose will be spent shopping at the night bazaar. If you are planning for trips to the outskirts, I would recommend you return to the city for the overnight except if you are heading to Fang and beyond. Towns like Fang and Mae Ai have simple accommodation for tourists. Of course if you are heading to Chiang Rai, then no problem. It's very much like Chiang Mai. If you are heading that far, you may consider hitting the golden triangle and entering into Myanmar, even if only just for the sake of doing so. Places you may want to consider outside Chiang Mai City within 3 hr drive:
(a) Doi Suthep + King's Project (half hr)
(b) Doi Inthanon + Mae Klang Falls (1 hr)
(c) Chiangdao Caves (1.5 hr)
(d) Fang Hot Springs (Nicer) (3 hr)
(e) San Kam Paeng Hot Springs (1 hr)
(f) Ob Luang Gorge (1.5 hr)
(g) River rafting at Mae Tang River (1.5hr)
By the way, it gets chilly in the evenings and early mornings, especially as you head further north, so be prepared.

lyons

<font color="119911">hey yap yit fui, you're the same yappy as above? Thanks for your help! Very useful information! You don't advise for us to do a 2 night in the city and another 2 nights at mae klang / mae rim (where is this place anyway?) Would you then think 1st night in the city then 2 and 3rd night in the outskirts then 4th night back in the city?

We won't be going to chiang rai. It's too far away. Where would you suggest within 2-3 hours drive away from the city centre? Those places you mentioned above, you've been there? And where can I find accommodation for the above?

I'm so lost, still haven't booked accommodation yet and my trip is one month away! Stress...</font>

yappy_

Hi bride (lyons), yeah I think I got kicked out of the forum cos of another posting I made about renting my VW bug for weddings. Not very sure. Anyway, had to re-register. You can call me Yappy. Hope they don't kick me out again
What time does your flight arrive in Chaing Mai? And when does it depart on the last day?
I would recommend driving to Chaingdao (approx 80km) or Fang (approx 200km north of Chiang Mai) if you are thinking of spending 2 days. At Chiangdao, you can explore the caves and participate in the many tours available; mountain trekking, elephant riding, bamboo rafting, white water rafting, hot springs etc. There may very likely be rock-climbing available too if you are into that. The mountain view is really pretty at Chinagdao. You can stay at Chiangdao Nest (but very basic ok) or several other places available there. Food is cheap but good. If you choose to drive up to Fang, you can stop by at the Doi Ang Khang nature reserve along the way. Climate is cooler the further north you go so bring along some warm clothing. Fang is a bigger town but nothing compared to Chiang Mai City. You can find basic accommodation there. I have a friend's relative who is opening a motel there but I don't think it is ready as yet. You can visit the Fang hot springs, water falls, hill-tribes and markets. If you do make it there, do try the steamboat barbeque dinner going at 69 baht per person. Eat-all-you-can!
Just drive around town and walk into any of those which are more crowded. The food tends to be fresher where there is a steady stream of customers.
You may want to check out www.chiangdao.com for info on Chaingdao. As for Fang, unfortunately, there isn't much resource on the web.
Do let me know how else I can be of help

lyons

<font color="119911">wow yappy! You really know so much about chiang mai! So would this sound ok? We will arrive early in the morning in chiang mai like around 8am? 16-20 Nov. So let's say...

1. 16 Nov
- arrive in chiang mai city early morning, 7am
- check into tamarind village
- spend the rest of the day in chiang mai city
2. 17 Nov
- Chiang Mai City
- spend one more night in tamarind village
3. 18 Nov
- early morning drive up to chiang dao / fang
- spend the day @ the springs/caves etc
- stay the night there
4. 19 Nov
- spend another day in chiang dao / fang
- spend the night there
5. 20 Nov
- Early morning drive back to chiang mai city

do you think the last day too rush? Do you have any other suggestions?</font>

yappy_

Hi bride (lyons),
sounds good actually. Is this going to be your honeymoon?

Let the hotel know if it is. They usually make the effort to make it special for you in some way or other.

If peace and quiet, and nature is what you're after, you'll like Chiangdao. Small community and all the seclusion you need. There is of course the usual hustle bustle around the main area; market etc. You can arrange all your tours there. Chiangdao nest takes care of all that for you. One full day or 2 half days there should be enough time to squeeze in cave exploration, elephant rides, rafting, trekking, hot springs and waterfalls. Keeping that in mind, I'm not sure if you would still want to head further north to Fang since there's about the same stuff to see and do there. Fang is seen as a stepping stone to the Golden Triangle.

Make sure if you are driving that you get enough rest before you set off, especially since you are not familiar with the traffic and roads there. Get a good map too. Funny thing is you are more likely to get lost in the city than when you head out
Plan for 1.5 hr to drive to Chiangdao and 3 hr to Fang. Judging from your arrival time in Chiang Mai, I'm guessing you are flying by Tigerairways. If that is so, then I don't think you will have enough time to drive back on the last day cos your flight departs at 9am, and I won't advise driving in the dark during the wee hours of the morning. You may want to plan it like how you mentioned earlier;
16 Nov - Arrive Chiang Mai (overnight city)
17 Nov - Road trip to Chiang Dao / Fang (overnight CD/F)
18 Nov - Chiang Dao / Fang (overnight CD/F)
19 Nov - Road trip back to Chiang Mai (overnight city)
20 Nov - Flight Home

You may still request for free airport transfer since you are staying for 2 nights at Tamarind Village (even though you are splitting to one night in front and one at the back). Check with this agent:
http://www.hotels.chiangmai-online.com/book/tamarind.html
You will notice the rates for 1 Nov onwards are not listed. You can still request from them. They usually get back to you within 24 hours. They were able to quote me the Dec rates for Royal Lanna even though it was not yet listed on their website.

Whatever it is, I would strongly recommend that you make it a point to relax, and take time to enjoy your holiday. Don't rush around too much as it may get tiring and stressful.

lyons

<font color="119911">hey yappy,

Thanks again for your help! I think we're going to go straight to chiang dao for the first 2 nights then come back to chiang mai city for the last 2 nights. That way, we will also spend the weekend in the city, better for the night markets.

We spoke to the asiawebdirect guy in bangkok and he was saying mae rim would be a better choice as chiang dao is now affected by the previous flood and most hotels have been closed down for a few months. It's true. I called one and they're closed
What do you think of mae rim?

Exactly what we want
To relax, have lots of spa and perhaps learn a new cooking skill or two

yappy_

Hi bride (lyons),
the floods were way back in May. Didn't think it would take that long for everything to return to normal. The heavy rains in August didn't cause extensive flooding. It's a good idea to check with the locals about the situation
Even for Mae Rim. In fact, Chiang Mai was also badly flooded in August/September last year. The Ping river is the culprit. Anyways, I have not been to Mae Rim although I do know that some of the local tours bring tourists to the area for the same stuff; elephant rides and so on. You'll be glad to know there are a few places you can choose to stay at in Mae Rim, budget to luxury class. They've got some spas as well which would likely interest you
Four Seasons!!!
Prices are sky-high though. For cooking, you may want to try Gap House or Smile House in Chiang Mai city (old city). They will bring you to the market to look for the ingredients and stuff before the actual cooking. Good thinking to stay in the city over the weekend. More happening definitely.

lyons

<font color="119911">hey yappy, thanks again!

Four seasons is definitely out of budget man... even the chedi is already out of budget... I think we'll settle for tamarind village and in mae rim, probably rimpai village.

I called the asiawebdirect guy yesterday and he suggested mae rim, as it is more popular. Ok, do you have the website for gap house or smile house?</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">hey yappy, thanks! Thai Cookery School looks good. I hope I can custom-make the menu cos there are some dishes I want to learn but may not be offered in their daily menu...</font>

bluesand

hello Yappy,

Am going to Chiang Mai in 2 days time, 8D7N F &amp; E with family member, total 9 persons.

Planning to stay at Eagle House, doing 2D1N trekking with Eagle @ Doi Inthanon national Park, 1D water rafting (any idea where &amp; how much?), 1D self drive to Chiang Rai to visit Golden Triangle and on the way back go to Fang to visit hot spring. 1D visit Doi Suthep and San Kaempang Rd for handicraft and silk factory. Wan to go Mae Hong San but considering its distance from Chiang Rai, we most probably will drop the idea. Any other place that we shouldn't miss ?

May I know how much should we expect to pay for car/van hiring ? Is petrol expensive in Chiang Mai ?

avid_reader

For those who are going to Chiang Mai.... you absolutely MUST go visit Royal Flora. Some details from the website:

In 2006, the Thai nation comes together to celebrate the most auspicious occasions of His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej’s 60th Anniversary or the Diamond Jubilee of His Majesty’s Accession to the Throne together with His Majesty’s 80th Birthday Anniversary.

To mark this momentous occasion, “Royal Flora Ratchaphruek†is one of the grand celebrations being hosted by the Royal Thai Government in honor of His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej (Rama IX), the ninth ruler of the illustrious Chakri Dynasty and the world’s longest reigning monarch. His Majesty is ‘Father of the Nation’ and ‘Beloved King’ to the Thai people.

Royal Flora Ratchaphruek 2006 represents a concerted effort of the Thai people to create one of the world’s most beautiful international horticultural expositions as an expression of deep love and respect for their Beloved King who has won the hearts of Thai people across the Kingdom through His Majesty’s tireless dedication to bringing about a better quality of life of for the Thai people through His Majesty’s gifts in agricultural projects as well as valuable lessons in life.

Through Royal Flora Ratchaphruek 2006 -- International Horticultural Exposition for His Majesty the King, the Thai people come together to express their utmost gratitude for His Majesty’s benevolence, care and concern. Time-honored traditions will be observed; only the very finest available will be presented to the ‘Devaraja’ or ‘Divine King’. This will be an exposition that deserves the name “International Horticultural Exposition for His Majesty the King.â€

Thailand will be joined by her international friends -- nations with whom Thailand has shared history, cultural, diplomatic and trade ties, many spanning the centuries. Over 30 countries are expected to participate in ‘Gardens for the King’. The International Gardens will feature unique or innovative landscaping and horticultural highlights from the participant’s homeland.

The expo site is situated on 80 hectares of land at the Royal Agricultural Research Center in Mae Hia sub-district, Muang district, Chiang Mai Province in Northern Thailand. Set amidst the lush landscape of the surrounding mountains, the location provides a picture-perfect setting for Royal Flora Ratchaphruek 2006.

A one-of-a-kind event, Royal Flora Ratchaphruek 2006 is being organized to present to the world the marvels of plants and breeds of over 2,200 species of tropical plants and flowers. 2,500,000 plants in total will be enriching the land and the minds of onlookers.

Presented under the theme of ‘To Express the Love for Humanity’, conceptual designs and layouts of the event have been conceived to function seamlessly with and to complement the remarkable geographical surroundings.

The foundation of the Kingdom of Thailand lies in the glory of Buddhism and the Monarch whose kindness towards His people is like the comforting shade of a big tree with a canopy that extends incessantly to provide sanctuary for His people.

Destined to be a wondrous spectacle, during the 92 days of the expo, Royal Flora Ratchaphruek 2006 is expected to draw an audience of over 2 million visitors from around the world.

Celebrations of this magnitude happen only once in decades. So mark your calendar and join us in Thailand for this historic event not to be missed. We warmly welcome you to Chiang Mai, Thailand.

http://www.royalfloraexpo.com

kayemoss

Any spa experience in Chiangmai to share?

I will be taking a short trip with my hubby to Chiangmai next mth.

adleen

Hi, is the thread still alive??

May I know is there alot of things to buy in Chiang Mai? Roughly how many dollars should I carry?

bochapqueen

Hi Adleen,
I was juz bk.Not much to buy actually..Alot of coffee n reading in the city except the nite bazzar..There's a special nite market near the current nite bazzar and only operate on sunday..The products are unique and cheap..Go for spa or dentist or massage are good n cheap too n they have 1st class service..