Need help due budget constrain
What is the cheapest way to go to
1. SIN - Bangkok - SIN and
2. SIN - KL - SIN

Based on 2 different trip..Anyone can give
me some advise by Air ?

pearlyshell

Hi mimi,

I think you might wanna try the budget airlines like Jetstar Asia / Tiger Airways or you can check out Zuji.com I think the no-frills deals can be pretty attractive.

rogerp

To bangkok - budget air - you can really get good price if you plan early?

KL - Travel coaches, average between companies one way $35.

SIN-KL-SIN >> cheapest definitely by coach. 24-seater return fare is around $48 (one way is $27); 18-seater (executive coach) return fare is around $68 if i'm not wrong. you can choose to buy 1-way and then purchase the return leg from KL 'cos it's cheaper (around half price of SGD ticket).

SIN-BKK-SIN >> if you have the time, can take coach too but damn damn long and you'll probably need to make stopovers along the way. otherwise, the budget airlines offer quite good deals...think you can get return tickets for around SGD200 incl taxes.

melodie

i took airasia flight to KL b4... mus go senai 1st, very troublesome (not worth it) Take aeroline coach better

jus came back fr bkk by airasia, 1st tm on budget flight to bbk (quite ok) Got tixs during free tickets promo so paid abt $62 for s'pore airport tax only... can try tiger or jetstar also

noscon

Anyone been to Senal airport from Singapore? How do you get there? Any special shuttle bus? I want to take airasia

I know Msia airline provides shuttle bus at $12 there but you must take their airline plane.

goooogal

Hi mimi, I just came back from KL and BKK. I went to BKK by Jetstar, the return fare was about $200+ inclusive of tax. No meals but the service was very good, no complaints. Tiger airways is also good but you have to board from the Budget Terminal. I went to KL by coach for about $90+ (2-way trip). The coach was very comfy and included 1 meal, dessert & drinks, as well as movies. Very satisfied with the service overall.

Hi noscon, to get to Senai airport, you can take a cab from JB. But I wouldn't advise you to take from outside the customs. If you can, bring less luggage and go to City Square Mall (just past the Mobil station after the customs) to get a cab. Then ask if the cabby will go by the meter before you hop on. It would be useful if you know some Malay. And always travel in the day as it is safer.

noscon

Ggal

thanks for the info. Why cant take cab from os custom? Abt how long from City square to Senal?

You took a super VIP coach isit? Does it stop along the way? Where u book it from?

goooogal

HI noscon, the cabbies from the custom are mostly touts... they may not wanna go by the meter, especially if you look like a tourist. From City Sq to Senai is about 45min? I'm not sure, but I'm gauging based on the fact that it's near my hb's previous family home and it takes about that long to drive there from the city.

Yeah the coach I booked is considered Super VIP. I booked from www.aeroline.com.sg. It makes 1 washroom stop along the N-S highway. So when's your trip??

noscon

not so soon but just want to do some planning... I'm planning to take an exam in KL but just want to estimate a bit how much it will cost else I will take it in singapore but KL is about $300 cheaper... hahaha and can go there and have fun lor... :p

Do you know how much cab fare from city sq to senal? Else I will just take msia airline, they got shuttle bus fr spore...

goooogal

I dunno how much is the cab fare but dun expect it to exceed RM20 if going by meter. It's still cheaper than taking a cab in SG no matter what. The cheapest way by far is still by coach and more convenient too since you can board the coach in SG.

mistyice

Anyone knows of any budget airline which flies direct to KLIA? Do not want to travel by coach cos need to cut down on travelling time. Tks!

quency

Best/quickest/probably cheapest is to fly a budget airline such as Firefly or Air Asia. It'll take a couple of hours.Very easy.

If you want to travel overland however (which would be my preferred route given time and funds), then it is very very easy to combine coach and train, stopping off along the way.

There is an overnight quality sleeper train that goes from KL to Butterworth, then you can get another train from there. But again this takes longer than the flight.

maylitte

cheapest overland is the night bus from KL to Hatyai - leave around 9.00 pm arrive 9 am.
then a 3rd class train to BKK - leave around 3.00 pm, arrive 10.00 am.

take bath & freshen up in bkk station - then carry on by bus to Chiang Mai on same day - arriving next morning 6.00 am. take another bus to Chiang Rai and arrive around noon. easy & cheap... saved 3 nights without paying for room...