CFA anyone?

study

anybody taking cfa level 2 for next year? i'm looking for pple to share text and to form study group.

level2

Hi, I'm taking CFA Level 2 for next year too. Did you study text last yr for your level 1? Personally, I find that text only is not gd enuf. I prefer study guide like Schweser/Stalla. Do u have lobang for that?

happy

Hi people,

do you all have any lobangs for Schweser study notes (not original ones)? I'm taking level 3 next year.

Please email me at [email protected] as it may not be convenient to write over the public forum.

thks!

piney

Hi Happy,

I'm taking level 3 next year too. I heard that
they might have notes somewhere in Bras Basah.
But don't know if they're out yet?

musicgal

hi sweetsuz,

i'm taking level 1 in jun 03! gotten your study guides and all yet?

hey everyone,

anyone know where to get the notes? my frens have heard that the 'pirated' copies are pretty difficult to come by these days... anyone with any lobang??

sweetsuz

hi musicgal

i've only had last year's study guide. still sourcing for this yr's guide but it's extremely hard to find too.
one of the photocopy shop uncle tell me to get it from JB as the crackdown is less rampant there. but he din specify which shop and where in JB, so it seems like searching a needle in a haystack.

do u intend to buy some of the txtbks?

giggler

Hi sweetsuz, personally I find tb useless lor. Can save your money to buy the guides instead. I prefer Schweser's.

giggler

sweetsuz

hi giggler, really? txtbks no use? i attended a briefing held by SSFA (not sure if i got the abbrev correct) and they say that txtbk will guarantee a better passing rate.

where to buy the guides then?

musicgal

hi sweetsuz,

yeah i also have last year's... someone lent them to me but i heard from friends that they sometimes shift the focus from year to year so it's better to get the new books...

nope, not intending to get the textbooks... sure dun have time to go through it one! plus i'm so lazy, sure die!

sweetsuz

hi musicgal,

i dun think there's much changes from last year's.
i've zapped last year's copy, juz based on those before i get my hands on this year's copies.

giggler

Hi musicgal, pls reply me !!!

Hi sweetsuz, heard that there's abt 30% change in syllabus from last yr's. So, it's best to study this yr's notes.

giggler

cloudy

I would be taking level 1 in Dec'04.
Would like to seek advice from those who have already completed or in the midst of studying, whether which study notes are better? Schweser's or textbooks recommended from AIMR?

I don't mind to buy 2nd hand notes from Schweser's (preferably who had taken the exam on Dec'03)..

Kindly drop a note if you have any lobangs?

enss88

2004 Stalla CFA Level 1 Full Set of Texts
Brand New, Unused Text, Original,
Going for $300 (neg)
Stalla 2004 texts comes in 2 books + 1 workbook

Interested parties please email: [email protected]

idono

Hi Cloudy,

Not yet. I just register on 15th March

But am looking for enthusiastic study group. If cant find any 2nd hand ones, maybe we can share the cost of the books & notes?

popie

hello everyone

i need to find out more about the CFA course. are all the textbooks necessary, and are there anyone here who want to let go any of your texts? i am onli taking the first level. not yet started.

yiyiyi

I am also taking cfa2 in June 2004. My friend has lobang for the cfa schweser guides. Should be $100.Any one interested?

yiyiyi

Sorry, i mean June 2005 Level 2. Oh yes, the guides are the 2005 edition + quicksheet. Let me know if any interest?

ahfaye

hi yiyiyi!

I'm also taking CFA 2 in june 05! hehe. So how's your preparation? I got old schweser guide from my friend already anyway! Did you do your own studies or attending any course?

yiyiyi

Hi Popie,

I didn't use the text, just use schweser.

Hi Angie,

Think there are not much changes from 2004, except for the economics part. You might want to watch out for that. Let me know which parts of the notes you might wan. I can lend mine for you to zap. Think the candidates reading might be different as well. I haven't gotten 2005, so I have not compared it yet.

Anyway, if your friends are interested in getting the guides, please let me know. Potentially the costs could be slightly below $100. Can't be confirmed yet coz the shop has not finished printing yet.

I am doing my own studies.Don't even have time to attend any course...How about you? You know about the change in work experience requirement? Does it affect you?

electra

Hi all, can anyone advise what's pro and contras of CFA? I'm still considering ACCA or CFA. Know it's not really comparable. Got deg in a/c. Thinking of further studies.

Pls advise.

ahfaye

CFA is definitely one step further off ACCA. CFA is more into finance but acca is solely on accounts i think?

CFA is tough. "no play-play" hehehhe

oceandeep

Both CFA and ACCA are finance-related, but into different areas of finance. CFA focuses on investment, asset management, financial modelling, economics, stats etc while ACCA is largely on accounts, auditing, reporting, financial control. I believe CFA covers basic knowledge of accounting too bcos the analysts may rely on financial statements to back their investment decisions.

Both CFA and ACCA require u to have a knack for figures, be analytical etc. For CFA, you analyse the various businesses, spot trends & investment opportunities, calculate the risks n returns etc. For ACCA, you report/study the financial health of companies, implement measures to achieve an effective financial reporting system etc.