CCK Crescent

waterbibi

Getting our keys for blk 684C #XX-350 unit soon i think

citrusmix

I just went to HDB to apply for the unit at blk 690B and no, blursotong, I'm not taking the #XX-96 cos we've decided to take the lower flr, which balcony is facing the kranji area(where all the digging is taking place now). We wanted to get higher flr but realised that the lower unit is fine. Hmmm, I guess it'll be 3mths to go before our application's result is known. It seems that all units for #XX-96 are taken except for the 7th,6th,4th-2nd units. Great to know that some of you are staying in 690B

apostles

Happy Chinese New Year to all!

keiki good luck for exams.

Yoz dubdub. hehehe. so we stay at the same kind of floor unit. When did u shift in or when are u going to shift in?

Hi Amelia, so when will u be shifting in and getting married? I guess u cant wait to get ur hands on the keys and start renovations.

Hi Jules, welcome to blk 690B.
For wis why do you still need to wait for ur application? or do u mean collection of keys. for ours, we secured the flat on the spot. When i bought the #xx-96, there are still many floors not taken up yet. and now only 4 floors left.

This blk is full of newly wed couples.:)

waterbibi

Happy New Year everyone!!

Hi blursotong,

I should be getting my keys either this or next month then commence on renovation...think i will probably move in by May.I have been married for over 2 yrs haha
Customary will be sometime this yr but not sure when.Letting our elders decide on the date.

I wouldn't be too bothered about the kranji war cemetery..after all they're heroes who died for a gd cause

apostles

HAppy Vday To all!!

Hi Amelia, so u are shifting in immediately after your renovations. So better push HDB to get ur keys soon so that you can start ur reno if you plan to move in May.
On another note, i think better for u to choose ur wedding date soon as it may be difficult to get a restaurant/wedding on the date that u want. Now is already Feb. Alot of thigns to prepare unless u are looking at a simple affair.

Jules, did u decide to get the flat?

sysa

I am staying at Blk 690B #XX-98. I can see the cemetary from my house too if I were to look out from the living room/study area & 2 other bedrooms.

When I first moved in, it was so quiet and the carpark was near empty. Nowadays, if I come back aft 10pm, need to park at 4th lvl or higher. This place is buzzing with lots of young couples.

apostles

Hi Dubdub and sysa,

I would love to visit u guys when my home is ready.... maybe i will drop u guys an email when I next go there to look at ur beautiful homes. ehheheh.......

Sysa,you are right... the carpark is really full of cars. I went to my sis's house at 8pm last night and i got to park at the 4th floor.

The lightings in the night in the common areas are really soft huh. I find it abit dark thou. Not very used to it as my currect place is very bright.... The wind is good thou at our area. No need for aircon at all.

So envious of u guys that your homes are ready....:)

dubdub

blursotong,

the wind is good, so my living and dining area dun have air con, only 3 bedrooms install aircon

waterbibi

blursotong, dubdub, sysa and all

Yup the wind is very good.That's one of the things Hub and I noticed when we browsed the area b4 deciding on our unit.I also find CCK Crescent neighbours good-natured and friendly.Another plus is the serenity.Very delighted with our purchase.

Hmmmm I think I may install a system 5 airconditioning.Sound quality of movies is better if living/dining area is enclosed...I feel..

Blursotong,

I called the customer service manager last month regarding rushed keys.Legal aspect of purchasing the flat takes time..don't want to make things difficult for them.

As for customary, looking into dates.You have suggestions of any small restaurant that can accomodate abt 12 tables or so?Chinese or fusion doesn't matter.

apostles

Hi Dubdub,

My living and dining area has no air con too just the three rooms. But I install fans in them. Saves some money. ehheheheh....

Hi Amelia, you may consider putting ur home movies in a room instead that way you can save some money for the air con unless u watch dvds very often.

Quite a no. of restaurants do accomodate to your no of tables. For eg, the Lei Gardens at Chijmes, the Crystal Jade at Paragon, the Humble House at Esplanade(very beautiful place) or the Noble House at UIC bldg (I think), the Dragon City/Inn at the Corpthorne Orchid Hotel. These are the few places that serves quite good food.

Mine is a more of a contractor. I did the design of the house. His company is called Ho Sern Contractors. Not bad. He did up my sis's place too.

waterbibi

blursotong,

Will discuss with husband regarding aircon issue.Thanks for advising

Wow that many restaurants eh..looks like i needn't worry that much.Will check out all ur suggestions and perhaps also look into a few along tanjong pagar stretch of shophouses.

I did a search on Ho Sern and couldn't find a thing
*sad* Glad u're satisfied with them

apostles

Morning gals,

Ho Sern is not the popular kind of interior designer or contractor. Small company but good. hehehehe...............:)

Ceiling fans are useful. Do consider them..

Amelia, can try Qian Xi Lou too!

waterbibi

blursotong,

Hello!It's friday yay!

Yes i intend to install both but have to discuss with the husband 1st hiaks:p..we may just heed ur advice

Where is Qian Xi Lou?..sounds like a cosy restaurant.

I am not engaging bridal shop services for my customary.I will be getting my own gown/cheongsam, freelance photographer and makeup artist.I am more confident of the final outcome this way also I had a negative experience with a bridal shop during my ROM.

apostles

Hi Amelia,

It is monday. Very sleepy at work. ehhehehe.............

Qian Xi Lou is located at Marina South Superbowl country club. Can go under the thread wedding banquet and search for Qian Xi Restaurant. There is one at Farrer Park and Paya Lebar.

at first, i thought of doing ala carte like you. At the end of the day, I still sign up with a bridal shop. May i know which BS gave u a bad experience?

coolman

Hihi..

I m back from my exam.. Anyone getting their key by tis few weeks? I m getting mine next fri. Soooo excited...keke... we be having open hse ceremony on same day.. Anyone know wat are the things i shd do during open hse?? I know must bring some coins to throw on the floor and bring some paper money to burn... Wat else i need to do??

wiseharmony

Good morning all,

am the new kid of blk 683C. Just wedded on Dec 2004. Had mi ROM + dinner all @ same nite. Will be getting keys within next 3 months. so am sourcing for FengShui master & design & deco for flat. any lobang?? share share leh...

Hi Serence,

saw this from internet, abt things to do when opening the door for 1st time, FYI. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

gettingkeys.doc (24.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>
http://www.geomancy.net/consultation/consult-home/home-onsite-audit.htm

wiseharmony

Hi Hi Meow,

Oh great! am staying @ the 5th flr. will be staying @ the right hand corner area. wat abt u?

hv u moved in? how long hv u been staying there?

meowie

wise,
yours is facing the playground right? mine is e first unit from lift. I've been staying there for at least 1yr already.

wiseharmony

Hi Meow,

Playground.... cannot remember. coz been there 2X only.

is your house windy on normal days? these few days not normal weather is terrible. do take care &amp; drink lotsa H2O.

meowie

Wise,
It'll be windy during this period of time. Once it hit march till Nov it won't be that windy already. By then i'll have sun at my kitchen

dubdub

wise,

I staying at blk 690B, when open house the first time a lot of things need to do. like finding good date to open the door and praying

waterbibi

Serene,

I will collecting my keys this friday and doing some checking of the flat on the same day.

Open house ceremony?What does it involve?Please advise

citrusmix

Sysa, just wondering, how can ur unit be facing the cemetry? I've booked #XX-98 too but if what we noticed correctly, we don't think any part of the unit is facing the cemetry on the hill, only unit #XX-96 has the door facing it and the #XX-92 units has rooms and balcony facing the cemetry on the hill. Can u pls update me, cos the main reason why we didn't book #XX-96 units is bcos of the cemetry. now I'm really worried that the unit that we've booked is overlooking any part of the cemetry.

Hi blursotong,
hee, yes you are right, it's collection of the keys not waiting for the application, we booked the unit already. But i think collction of the keys will only take place in May.

meowie

Nope Jobina, i dun work with M1.

Amelia,
You need to find an auspicious date to open the door. Then you need to pray in the house and also downstairs. That's what my MIL did. Best that you check with the elders what to do.

apostles

Many new people in here.....

Hi Serene, how are exams? Must be feeling so relaxed now...........

To first open the door, must find a good date to open. You can try the chinese tear kind of calender and see which date is clean and good for house. it is indicated at the right corner of each date. Every different dialect, has their own practice. Mine and my MIL all different format but I followed hers and then did abit of mine. Ask both side parents what to do. I do not have the coins thingy. Only have a pineapple, rice, joss sticks, candles, etc.

Jules, no worries about it. unit 98 should not see the cemetry. So no panic. Even if you can see, think you got to stretch out and look at it. No direct look.

waterbibi

Ooops looks like quite a number of rituals have to be done.Thinking I am skipping it liao..rushing to inspect the flat so i can start renovation asap.

Just asking..what are the things u check for?Mine is a standard flat.

blursotong,

Thanks, I go search for the Qian Xi Lou thread later.BS was PM at IMM.I hope it's not yours.Even my sil had a bad experience with them.Anyway, it's over.No more BS for me and I prefer it this way actually.More control over the final outcome.

meowie

Amelia,
take a spoon and knock every tiles to see if its hollow. Also check for cracks on tiles. Check if there's any leaking from the unit above you. Mine have, glad that it happen before i start my reno else i cham. We even take photo to show the hdb person as proofs.

Do open the bomb shelter door to air. Check your doors can close and lock or not.So far that's what i can think of.

wiseharmony

Hi Meow,

Oops no wind during March!!! Haiz! thot can show off to family w/o air-con olso cooling ha haa...

Hi Dubdub,
tks for the info.

Hi Amelia,
Just wondering how long before they notify U abt the key collection? less than 3mths?
Have u find your contractor? heard there is a home deco show @ suntec. planned to go down this week.

waterbibi

Meow,

Oooh thanks!Now I know what to look out for!

Wise,

I submitted my ROM certificate and passport photo a month after i selected my unit and applied for "Rush Keys".Whole process took only 2 months.My case was slightly unique becos I was away from S'pore for quite awhile and had to wait for certain documents to reach here.

For renovator, we have narrowed down to Ho Bee Construction but there are certain details we have to discuss with him/them like changing of materials etc and of course the price
before confirmation.Husband and I know what we want so we're not engaging IDs.

waterbibi

Hi CCK ppl,

I need help in deciding appliances.Kindly respond to my survey?Thanks in advance.

Brand and Model of:-

1)Fridge you are using?Comments?

2)Hood, Hob and Conventional oven(if any)?Comments?Do you cook a lot?

3)Vacuum Cleaner?Do you own a pet and comments?

4)Washing Machine preferably washer cum dryer?

meowie

Amelia,
I'm using LG fridge, Hood and hob using Fujioh but i seldom cook alot. What i'll say is that those cooker hob that are stainless steel finishing will turn black after using lor. I'm using OSIM mermaid for vaccum cleaner. But seldom use it lor. Most of the time i use Magic mop to clean all the dust.

waterbibi

Thanks Meow!

I have been thinking about the Fujioh hood and hob also.Is the sunction powerful?How much is it?

I got some catalogues of different brands..brandt..elba..EF..ellane and rinnai.I hear rinnai and fujioh is about the same since they are both from japan.True?

ahmel

Dear new neighbours!

Has not visited this forum for a long long time... wow, now got so many new neighbours liao! Me an my wife have been staying at 690B for close to 1 yr alr. my unit is 05-98, hope to 'bump' into some of u soon ... heh !

coolman

Thanks for the info on the open hse ceremony. I purposely choose next Friday to collect my hse key as that day is a good date. Will b going down to open my hse after that.

Hi blursotong, is a big relief after the exam.. Going for e 1st appointment for my wedding gown in the mid of March. So now need to start slimming down. (at least for my tummy)... haha...

meowie

Amelia,
Which model you are looking at? Mine may be different with yours. As for the price, i need to go and check it out. Can answer you by friday? I'm not sure whether rinnai and fujioh are both from Japan.

citrusmix

Thx blursotong for your feedback on the 'cemetry' issue. Guess from now on I shall not make that an issue anymore. I have to look at the positive aspects of it now hehehe. Especially now that I know I have lots of new neighbours here staying at blk 690B!! Will need your advice dear neighbours, esp when I've collected my keys. looking forward for that day!!

waterbibi

Meow,

I haven't seen fujioh in person.A friend who recently renovated her place installed fujioh hood/hob so I am thinking to at least go down to the shops and take a look.Not sure about the models yet.

Thanks for your help.

wiseharmony

Hi Jules,

yeap, b postive. think Bishan was a ex-cemetry 2. but now they fetch the highest prices for HDB flats. so who know Yew Tee might b a hot spot next time!!

apostles

HI Everyone,
many people are posting their msgs now.

Hi Serene, yeah yeah i am also trying to slim down but have not gone down to doing it yet. my tummy still there. :-(

Hi Ah Mel, shall knock on ur door to say hi. heheeh...........

Hi Jules, lots of us newbies in the neighbourhood and the block. Going to be bustling with activities at the end of the year.

ahmel

Hi blursotong,
u are most welcomed!

which floor is urs ? presume ur unit is undergoing reno now ?

Hi sysa, dubdub, jules,
welcome to the 690Bians club..haha...

I may have seen some of u in the lifts.. heh..

waterbibi

Yup Bishan was an ex cemetery.Don't worry so much hor, Jules.I am quite sure Yew Tee will do well valuation wise in future..just look at Choa Chu Kang...about 10 yrs ago it's still pretty empty.

waterbibi

Blursotong!

Hallo!!
When is your customary?When i put on weight all of it goes to my buns and thighs..so unfair!
kao_angry.gif

Have u selected ur kitchen appliances everything?Me quite confused now..so many brands!

AhMel,

Me also your neighbour!A few blocks away kind