Catholic Brides

ocean_blue

Yes but others charges $25 at least for per pew. I don't know. I am intending to get my own pew decor and just put it up the night before or 1hr before mass.

krystal80

ocean blue, oohhh...coz i found one that was $350 and they included pew decorations also =) but since mine only dec next yr, I can slowly take my time. haha

I really bai u leh...do ur own pew decor..
I everything else can DIY but pew decor I think my jiemeis will kill me =P

suwaiwai

Hi Andrea!! Who is yr florist?? $350 with pew decos too! I also want! The SFX florist charges $350 for lectern and couple's chairs. Pews charged at $8 each. She recommends doing up 14 pews (7 each side) whichh amounts to $462.

I got my helpers to do pew decoration. It was a very simple one and it was every other pew. Since I didn't have that many guests, I only needed to do a total of 10 pews - 5 on each side. And the ribbons were pre-cut & pre-curled

Hope you all can still view the deco after I shrink it down to a uploadable size.

650399.jpg

650400.jpg

love_or_money

Hi is anyone here getting married at IHM church? I have just booked the church and hall and am getting Fr. Terence Pereira to celebrate the mass for us but other than that I have not thought about anything else.

ocean_blue

bbp, your pew decor is nice. The colours are very soothing. Did u get the church florist to do the floral arrangements too?

Andrea, I also want the contact! Hee... PM / email me ok? Thanks ya!

hi love or money,
I got married at IHM last August but my celebrant was Father JJ.

hi ocean blue,
yup, I got the church florist to do the floral arrangements. Think it was 7 stands in total. To be honest, I wasn't too impressed with it, but my husband thought it was quite nice. Oh well, to each his own.

hi andrea,
yeah, the best thing is you can prepare the deco beforehand and your helpers just got to tie. actually, i just thought of another thing. they didn't even need to tie cos me and my mom went to the church a few nights before and pre-tied them and took them out again. so all my helpers had to do was to slot them on

krystal80

bbp, your mom is so clever! =) hahaha i never tot of it that way but that really makes life for ur helpers so much easier =)

ocean_blue, will PM you =)

love_or_money

Hi ocean blue
my wedding is 8th Aug 09. its such a long way away and since we have booked the church and hotel there is nothing left to do now since its too early to look at bridal studios hee...

Hi bbp
Did you use the church hall for your reception? cos im having my lunch recep there and not sure how to go about decorating it. What other deco did u do for the church besides the ones provided by the church florists. its pretty ex 8 for $400!! Any pics to show me?

krystal80

love.or.money, actually u can look at BS liao mah =) Coz if u planning to have PS, they'll need to have ur gowns ready by then =) I getting married Dec 09 and I already settled my BS =P hahaha but of course only starting the design of it this sept lah =P

krystal80

love or money...hahaha the only reason why i fast is coz i was supposed to have my customary last dec but due to circumstances, we postponed it to next dec =) hahaha...

Date: 12th Dec 09
Church: SFX
Celebrant: Fr Anthony Ho
Choir: TBC (Either brother's ex choir or friends)
Hotel: Holiday Inn Park View
Bridal Studio: Vaughn Tan
PS PG: Aspire Studio
AD PG: 3Some
AD VG: Skyworkz

krystal80

love.or.money, heh heh...true =) but because i was planning for 07, i've effectively prepared for everything...just waiting for time to pass...haha

anyta

Hi gals, I have filled up a form for wedding mass at St. Anne's but it's been almost a wk and i still havent heard frm them. any St. Anne's brides?

ocean_blue

Hi Anita, have u placed a deposit? If u have, it's considered confirmed. If not, it's wiser to give them a call to find out rather than wait in vain like this. It's unnerving.

suwaiwai

fifteenmay,
Maybe I'm not looking at the right place, but under vendor, there's only SFX details. Are you referring to the SFX website? There's no maps on yr website...
sorry I think I'm blur this morning..

anyta

No I have not placed a deposit. I was told to submit a form and they will get back to us with the details of whether the church is available. it's frustrating.

ocean_blue

suwaiwai is right. Some parishes work better face to face considering the amt of work the secretary has to do. Some parishes are just busier. Don't be upset, Anita. Just call or visit them again.

fifteenmay

Hi Nec,
Hooray! i found another Venus Bride!Not yet,we are thinking of doing it in Mar 09.choose gown this sept i think. How soon can we go down to choose the gown? i was thinking of going through at least 2 shipments. is that wise?

anyta

Yeah, I felt the secretary was quite curt in her replies. I just need to know if the church is available so that i can proceed to book the dinner venue etc. everything is on hold because of the church. oh well..

ocean_blue

Anita, priests are always busy or on the go. If u really want to get your ans fast, fastest and easiest is to pick up the phone and call. Unless, u don't mind waiting for their reply. Otherwise, you'll still get frustrated if they don't reply within a day or two (which is what we are all so used to. Anything more, we can't wait). So, why make yourself keep thinking if they have received your email? Are they gonna reply? Etc. Right?

anyta

Yeah you'r right Ocean_blue. I am trying to get in touch with Fr Ambrose but he is prob not in the office. I don't know when is the best time to call. early morn or evening etc.

necrosis

hi fifteenthmay,

why don't you join us in the venus bride thread?
;)
can meet more venus btbs there...
and hor, usually for PS, gown selection will be abt 1 mths before your PS...
so if your PS is next year, no need to select this year at all...
;)

ocean_blue

Anita, u can try calling in the morning around 8am or at night abt 7pm. Try your luck. We really don't know what urgent cases the priest may have to look into that day. We don't have enough shepherds so they are all overworked. All the best and keep cool

suwaiwai

Anita, Fr Ambrose Vaz is usually very prompt with his emails.. he is my celebrant and I usually email him all my qns/queries.. he sometimes even emails at 5.30am!!! But I understand that Apr is a killer month for him.. so be patient. Alternately, I know that he will be the celebrant for masses during the Labour Day weekend at St Annes, he'll preside over ALL masses that Sat and Sun, so if all else fails, you can hijack him in church!! haha..

anyta

oh wow! thanks suwaiwai. you helped a great deal! I actually contacted father richard ambrose. he asked me to go see him, i'm wondering if i should just go to the church (holy cross) or should fix an appt with him.

jmi

Hi Anita,

Based on my own experience, Fr Richards will normally tell you to look for him in Holy Cross. I make it a point to find out what time mass he is celebrating and then look for him after mass. Hope that helps.

necrosis

hi gals.

is it ok to ask a priest from another parish to celebrate mass in another church?
i like fr richard ambrose too..
but my church is scared heart.
how ah?

starwavez

Hey girls.. I need help. This confusion is causing me to feel a lil' frustrated. People have adviced me to book the church about 1 yr in advance. The parish sec say must speak to the priest, the priest say must book e church with e parish sec first. And when i went down this morning, the parish sec say the priest dunno anything. N she doesn't allow me to book the church a year in advance. she say wait till 6 mths before than tell her. but there are ppl whose wedding are in Jan next yr who have already booked. I'm afraid if I follow her advice and in e end I cant get the date that I want, then what will she offer me then... Can u girls share your encounter? or are most of the parish sec tt diff to deal with.

jmi

Hi nec,

Fr Richards celebrated my mass at St Teresa Church. You will need to first ask your parish priest if it's ok and then check with Fr Richards.