Catholic Brides

suwaiwai

Are you gals printing program booklets or using the church projector? I'm tore b/w both. Using the projector would mean that I can save cost (I'd DIY some booklets for the coordinators and readers only) but I kinda like the idea that the booklets can serve as a memento for guests too...

msclaire

I think if i have a choice, i would cut cost and not print. I don't think pple usually keep such things, and end up littering the place or wasting the printing cost. I think we just need to ensure what we put on the projector is very easy to follow, especially for non-catholics...

Yup, agree that most people won't keep the booklets. I can't remember why I didn't use projector; can't recall if it was due to the complexity of coordination or that my hubby felt a booklet would look "nicer".

Anyhow, we had lots of leftovers cos he was so kiasu. He kept going "if not enough how? so paiseh." I decided to give in than to have him nag me to death...

msclaire

haha how abt print one copy for ownself to keep? at least we ourselves will treasure it for sure. Nice to be able to flip back to what songs and readings you had then.....heh

I'm using the projector, as usually i find that guest litter the church with the booklets

Plus can save trees

roomfulofstars

Can anyone recommend a good banquet near to St Bernadette's that won't be too ex? Thanks!

I will be providing bus but still would like a place that's near.

suwaiwai

thks for your inputs.. will go with the projector then.

I'm having 2nd thots about my church venue. Each time I call the parish office, the secretary is so rude, it leaves yr blood boiling after the conversation. Its so maddening coz as it is, you so stressed from planning the wedding and it doesn't help that the church pple are so awful!

I've also had negative feedback on the office from a previous bride, so I seriously reconsidering my venue now. Thankfully I've not paid the deposit.. any recommendations for catholic church in the east??

suwaiwai

Oceanblue>> How is your wedding planning for SFX? Can share? I just called them up and they are avail on my wedding date!!
And the lady was SO SO much nicer than the one from my parish office.

Seems like the rates for SFX is quite reasonable. She told me its $50 to book the hall and another $100 for the canteen. And we can use external florist and choir.. tho I rather prefer to use their own grps since they are familiar with the church. Pls advise.

suwaiwai

nec>> its OLPS. I'm pretty disappointed about it.. coz its my parish and I grew up there.. and I've always envisioned getting married there. So its really upsetting that they are so rude, I can't imagine if it gets any worse closer to the wedding date. Discussed with another OLPS bride (she got married in jan) she agrees.. actually her experiences were more nightmarish.

msclaire

gals, can i check with you, do you have recommendations for a good, not so ex invitation card printer? Preferably can include the card and design and type setting. Especially since we are all doing church wedding....thanks!

necrosis

msclaire,

i was intending to get all my printing done in one of the city square printers in JB...since my bridal studio is in JB also. ;)

suwaiwai: maybe you would want to give the parish priest a feedback?
Hopefully they will change the person or at least her attitude improves?

msclaire: yah JB printing is seriously cheap!
Might want to consider there. There is a few in City Square (or was it plaza >.<) so it's very close to the causeway.

Or else head to Ultra Supplies in Queensway shopping centre?

suwaiwai

nexusangel>> actually the previous bride wrote a letter to him. I considered talking to him about it but I dunno if it will help coz these aunties and uncles have probably been with the church for so long.. I'm wondering if its just the 2 of us experiencing this negative treatment or has anyone else experience it too?

msclaire

thanks nec!

Btw, how are you gals doing up the church hall for your lunch reception? Our hall is quite bare, so really cracking my head to see how to decorate...

msclaire

sorry gals, another question my fh posed to me...any of you have beer at your lunch reception? How are you keeping the beer cool? We're hoping to be able to rent beer cooler or dispenser........

elfrushi

Hi Suwaiwai

I have a similar experience at Christ the King as well. Before booking, I had no choice as Risen Christ was renovating.

The secretary was unpleasant &amp; it made it very difficult in addition to the stress. At about 3 mths b4, risen christ parish priest announced that the reno will be completed earlier than planned &amp; it will be ready by the weekend of my wedding.....wat a pleasant news as i have always wanted to hold my wedding in this church that i have grown up with =)

&amp; then i quickly cancelled my booking at christ the king, luckily the deposit was a small sum only, so i don't mind &amp; also for the heartaches that i have gotten from the secretary. As compared, risen christ so so so much better.

necrosis

mmm...the church hall we'll be using is also very plain and bare...
but budget wise, not gonna spend much lor...after all, food more impt and most caterers will provide tablecloth, flowers...
maybe add a few streamers/balloons..?

i also intend to put up prints of my indian wedding around the place, so that will add color too...maybe you can consider collages of childhood pics or travels....

another wall can deco w a nice blank sheet, for guests to write well wishes?

msclaire

i think the nice blank sheet is a great idea, just that our hall is sth like a badminton hall with high ceiling, so quite to completely cover the wall. ACtually I would like to find a way to do that, cos there are chairs and tables and wadnots at the side of the wall, so kinda unsightly and messy. One of the florist said i can rent panels to cover that sorta stuff, that's probably anotehr alternative.

suwaiwai

Hi buttercup!! I'm getting married there too! My wedding is on 11 Oct 08. Just called joyce to make a tentative booking and will be going down on Thurs to make payment.

What time is your mass? I'm planning for 9am.. tot its a bit early, but that'll give us more time for reception and rest in the afternoon before the madness of dinner.

Are you engaging their florist Jenny and their choir too?

suwaiwai

Can I check if anyone has booked philip lye before? I just booked him via phone and he said dun need to pay deposit, pay him on actual day can liao. He has recorded my wedding date in his diary. But er.. I just wanna be sure that that is safe enough?? It will be in his diary right??

Gosh I'm becoming a kancheong bride..

buttercupz

hi suwaiwai,
my hubby book the church since last yr but we hvnt decide on the mass time, choir, florist yet.
when must we decide huh?
btw, who is presiding ur wedding mass?

Hi suwaiwai,

I've booked Philip before and he said the same thing to me. Don't worry about you becoming a kancheong bride, cos I had the same worries too!

He remembered, but I did call him I think 2-4 weeks before my date just to double confirm.

necrosis

hey suwaiwai,

that's what philip told me also.
he said he'll call in in oct to deal with song selection etc etc.
so i guess you shld give him a call at abt 1-2mths before your date to deal with that too?
and i think it's a good practice to call him 1-2 weeks before to remind him lah.
not that he won't remember, but rather for our own peace of mind. lol...
all BTBs are kan cheong!!!

suwaiwai

phew.. thks gals!! He said to call him sometime in May-June to discuss my song selection so I guess I can remind him of the exact date again.. heehee..

Btw is there a sample of his singing anywhere online?? I wanna know which style/kinda songs suits him when I do my song selection.

Buttercupz> Hmm.. I guess its up to us when to confirm the choir, florist, etc.. but I guess the sooner the better for peace of mind!! haha.. my celebrant is Fr Ambrose Vaz.

he told me to call him in dec to remind him (my AD is may 09)
feel very panic that i can't do anything before that LOL

Yah i think i'm developing kancheong bride syndrome although my AD is still far.. LOL
my family says I'm making myself panic for nothing.

Suwaiwai,

Actually you can get Philip to suggest the songs for you if you have no preferences. Since he's so experienced, might as well just use the experience right?

Fr Ambrose Vaz is fantastic! He was my EE priest...

Hi nec,

Sorry, I don't know which parish Fr Ambrose Vaz belongs to. In fact, I heard he's attached to the seminary rather than a parish.

Did a search on veritas.org.sg for you. This is the info they gave me.

Rev Ambrose Vaz
Address:St Francis Xavier Major Seminary (1983)
199 Ponggol 17th Ave
Singapore 829645
Telephone:68753287
Fax:63861342
Email:[email protected]

suwaiwai

Hey Nec, ya Fr Vaz is stationed at the seminary. My EE is tomorrow with him!! We are really looking forward to it. My FB is a christian but surprisingly he is the one most looking forward to the EE. I pray that it will be an enjoyable and fruitful weekend for us.

Nexusangel> Don't worry, I'm getting panic attacks too!! Once I even had a nightmare of the wedding!!haha..

buttercupz

So nice to get Fr Vaz...
he's a very nice &amp; cute priest!
my celebrant is Fr Gerard, since we're closer to him.. he baptised me as well. keke..

suwaiwai, u will sure enjoy the EE.. me &amp; my hubby love it! we tot of volunteering after our AD. "p

ellableu

Hi ladies, I am looking for a florist, do you have any suggestions?
Suwaiwai, my AD falls on 11th Oct too!

Hope you find the EE very meaningful.

msclaire

Adele, I'm also looking for florist, and am interested to go to Love Droplets as recommended in another thread. If you're interested, maybe we can ask for better group discount? Anyone else here looking for church deco too?

suwaiwai

Hey I'm also looking for a florist.. did some calling and found that most charge $600 for church deco. So far Mia from Blissfulthots is the cheapest.

Hey Adele which church are you using?

msclaire

My church deco itself is taken care by the flower ladies, just need to give them money for the flowers...so not so bad. So now I'm looking for florist particularly for the church HALL deco. That's why don't intend to spend too much on it. I agree that Mia has quoted the best price so far.

ocean_blue

Hi suwaiwai,
Sorry for replying you so late! I haven't checked this thread for a long long time.

I've already booked the organist and am still thinking if I want to get the church florist to do the floral arrangement or get someone from outside. Then again, actually, the church is already very nice and don't really need decor. It's all up to individual. I guess for my side, everything to do with church venue is more or less settled. Now just gotta firm up the mass booklet, meet up with the priest for the pre-wedding couselling, invite cards printing and wedding banquet

papaya123

just want to check if we can only firm up the mass booklet after meeting up with the priest for the pre-wedding counselling? think its gonna be quite a tedious process to choose the hymns and readings

jadeyu

Hey Gals,

need some advice here. did any one of u attended a weekday church wedding b4? would that be a mass or service?

since its a weekday, few pple could make it. do u think i still need to engage a choir? or philip lye? or jux play from CD?

if my church wedding timing is at 3pm, would it be very rush for dinner? though my hotel is only a few mins away from the church and i do not intend to hold any church reception.

Kindly advise. Thanx

ocean_blue

Hi papaya123,

Yes, the priest needs to vet and approve your readings, prayers (to make sure they are the right versions and in accordance to the wedding mass order) and hymns. However, you can always get a reference booklet/missal from the priest so that you can start working on your mass booklet. That way, you can be sure that the readings are accurate and you can present the full set to the priest when you meet up with him. It is not a very tedious process compared to other things that you've to do for the wedding
Just gotta discuss with your HTB and agree on the readings, prayers, and hymns.

Hi Jadeyu,
My cousin's wedding was on a weekday. It was a mass so there you've it. Weekday weddings can be a mass
I feel that just 1 cantor and an organist is enough. U can get Philip to do everything for u. His voice is good enough. A choir would be a little too much. Moreover, not everyone in the choir would be able to make it. Playing from CD would need a lot of coordination which means the person handling the CD for you must be very good at playing by ear and following the mass order sequence and that would also mean that s/he would not be able to fully participate in the whole celebration as s/he is probably back at the sacristy doing the on/off of the CD player.

If you do not intend to hold a church reception, 3pm isn't too rush especialyl since the hotel is just a few mins away. A wedding mass takes no more than 1 hr and since yours is a weekday and u reckon not many people will be able to attend, I can safely say that it won't take more than 50mins. Photo taking after the wedding celebration would also take lesser time. Let's just put it at 30mins max (but I think you can be done within 20mins). So, all in all, you will only need approx 1.5hrs in church which means that you will leave no later than 4.30pm. That's more than enough time to your dinner at the hotel. Alternatively, u can decide to have your wedding mass at 4pm so that the time b/t the church and your dinner won't be too much of a gap. Just my 2cts worth

ocean_blue

Hi suwaiwai,

Have you decided on 9am for your wedding mass? Just thought I'd give u a gentle reminder that the makeup takes about 2hrs and that excludes your gown changing and puttign on shoes and taking your barang, etc, which means that you would probably need to get your makeup artist to arrive at your place at 6.30am and usually there is a surcharge for before 7am. So, it's best u check this out and determine your mass time again.

msclaire

Hi everyone, originally thought we could save on program printing and rely on the church's projector to show the readings and preayers. Turns out that the use of projector is not allowed during weddings. So we still have to do the printing. So i guess need to check with your respective church if use of projector is allowed.

Risen Christ is $50 for rental of projector. But I just realised I'm not sure who is going to operate it >.<

What's the process like with choosing the hymns and readings? Hymns can get Philip Lye to help choose right? And the readings must have the Priest go through it first before it's accepted?

How does the process with Philip lye goes? After you have "booked" him, and then what?

I'm still considering whether to just use the church own deco for my AD or get a florist.. don't really want to spend too much.
But probably need some simple deco for my reception table...
How much is blissfulthots charging?

My wedding mass is at 9am too, have planned for my FH to wait for me at the church instead of picking me up (to save time).
Planning for my MUA to come in at 7am, as my church is only 10min drive away from my home *fingers crossed*

Question for already married Catholic brides... Did you gals have any problems with your guests coming in late for your wedding?

I'm being kan cheong again lol

roomfulofstars

Anyone attends Sacred Heart or St Bernadette's and can give me some feedback regarding the priest and choir?

Are we allowed to invite a priest from another parish to preside?

Heard that Saint Bernadette's will go through construction all the way till 3/4 of 2009?? Is this correct or am I reading wrong from its website?

I can't decide between the two leh.

jmi

Hi nexueangel,

My wedding mass was held at 9.30am in the morning and there weren't any late guests. Your plan is similar to mine. I met my HB at St Teresa's and makeup artist &amp; photographer came at 7:30am. Drive to church was 10 minutes.

After mass, photography took about 20 mins and we were off to The Beaufort for tea ceremony followed by the buffet lunch reception.

Most guests are aware of seated timing (should be indicated on your invitation card) else not they can skip the church and head straight for the reception.

Hope that helps.

suwaiwai

Oceanblue> Thanks for yr advice. I spoke to my MUA and she is ok coming before 7am.. she is a really nice person!
I was also complaining abt having mass so early.. I have to get up before 6!! But we want to spend some time to do some outdoor photography and go to suite to rest before dinner so this works out best for us.