Catholic Brides

hazuki

chocolatte: u can go ROM n ask them give u a copy of the ROM cert for church filing purpose. c if they allow. if not, u need to do it on seperate days le.
my cousin did the whole vow thingy in church as well as in ROM. meaning, both parents go ROM go through vows, sign, tat the cert back.

then at church ceremony, they signed a duplicate copy. for phototaking n video purpose...
so it seems tat the ROM was done in church.
nobody knew they already signed ROM cert 2wks ago at ROM office.

chocolatte79

maemei n petrina, thx.
i just had dinner with my friend and i casually told her about this issue.
she happen to know a priest who is licensed and speak bahasa!
Really thanksss God!!
going to call him tomorrow. plz help pray that everything smooth =)
will update here again.

kitty_li

chocolatte,
I had 2 priests for my wedding at St Teresa. 1 to celebrate and the other for solemnisation. The 2 of them con-celebrated the mass actually. They kinda worked it out between themselves who would do/say what.
It's not unusual lah. Had 1 fren who attended a catholic wedding, and she said there were 5 priests...wah...hehs...

chocolatte79

hi kitty, is it? i checked with our parish priest last week, he said now cannot liao,
new regulation fr archbishop =(

gals.. i just called the priest i mentioned in my previous post, he might not be in spore during that mth, sob.. sob..
now can only wait 1-2 more mths to check with him again.

ocean_blue

Hi Chocolatte,

You may wish to approach Fr. Robert (Rev Robertus Sarwiseso) of Christ The King Church at AMK. If I am not wrong, he was from Indonesia and probably could speak Bahasa. If not, perhaps you can ask him if he knows anyone. I hope this helps!

ocean_blue

Alternatively, you may want to contact the following churches below as they conduct Masses in Bahasa once a mth. I got all the info from www.veritas.org.sg Hope this helps!

Church of the Holy Spirit
248 Upper Thomson Road
Singapore 574371
Telephone: 64536340
<http://www.veritas.org.sg/cdir.php?action=disp_chu&amp;value=23>

Church of St Mary of the Angels
5 Bukit Batok East Avenue 2
Singapore 659918
Telephone: 65673866
<http://www.veritas.org.sg/cdir.php?action=disp_chu&amp;value=18>

Church of St Bernadette
12 Zion Road
Singapore 247731
Telephone: 67373529
<http://www.veritas.org.sg/cdir.php?action=disp_chu&amp;value=7>

chocolatte79

ocean_blue, those r the masses i always attend =)
yah.. goin to talk to more Fr-s to find out more.
thx thou =)

btw, do we need to bring the EE/MPC cert when meeting the priest for first interview (i think like 6 mths b4 AD) ?

if our AD is in Oct, is it ok to take EE in Jun? any idea?

hi chocolatte,

If you have already attended EE/MPC, bring it along so that he can do the interview and process the documents. But if you haven't attended, just give it to the secretary/priest as soon as you have it.

Yup, it's ok to take EE in Jun if your AD is in Oct. I've heard of couples who take EE just 1 month before due to lack of vacancies. Have you applied for EE yet? It's really popular and get booked out 3 months in advance. So don't leave it too late.

jadeyu

nicelip: i'll be having dinner.. so timing should be just nice if i dun hold any reception in church.. anyway its almost dinner time...

Jmi: thx for e info.. was thinking of getting Fr Richard too, from my parish church. Just worried that he won't conduct the wedding elsewhere.. hehe..

Petrina: I'll most likely be changing my wedding to St Teresa instead... just too in love with that place...

Choc: agree with bbp that u shld apply and attend early.. i applied for EE 3 mths ago.. goin next weekend.

jmi

Hi Jadeyu,

No problem. Hope it was helpful

So long you get permission from the Church about using another priest it is ok.

hazuki

purpleclouds: eh, i had the part where we light our candles.. signifying 2 lives merging into 1.
unless u remove tat part frm the wedding booklet. u can use coloured sand also.
no need to light at home. it's juz a significance..

jadeyu: u so hengz... i wanted also. white white, so nice.. red carpet... aircon.. deco so nice..
aiyah.. over liao.. glad tat u get to use it.. congrats..

jmi

Hi purpleclouds,

I didn't have unity candles at my wedding mass either. Fr Richards said it is not part of the celebration. =)

fairybride

Hi gals, did anyone hold their wedding or is going to hold their wedding at Sacred Heart at Tank Road? (Behind Parkmall) Any experience to share?

fairybride

hi nec, is that your parish or any reason why you chose sacred heart? For me it's because that was the church I said "YES" to my bf, so thought it might be really memorable to have our wedding there... also..which priest are you having? Pardon me but I do find the 2 priest there not very ideal, I am not sure what's their name but I do know there's one whom I always can't catch his english and the other one who has a really loud voice and loves to sing out very loud and strong...choir there isn't very good also, but maybe it's because of the time of the mass that I go and perhaps they do have better choir in the morning, I am not sure

necrosis

hi fairybride...
not my parish...
actually i havent been for mass there, so your reviews are really helpful.
what time mass do you normally go for?
then maybe i can check out the various timings and find a choir that is ok for us...
erm...as for the priests...you can invite a priest from some other parish to say mass for you at Sacred Heart.
so don't worry abt that.

when is your wedding btw?

fairybride

hi nec

I usually go for the evening mass, sometimes sat sometimes sunday. My AD is 20 Dec 2008, haven't got my butt down to booking the church! :p

roomfulofstars

petrina - I thought only the Cathedral of the Good Shepherd was the one that didn't do weddings for locals?

So really no one got married at St Joseph's here?

How about Church of Ss Peter and Paul or Our Lady of Lourdes? Anyone married there or have any comments? Is it very out of the way?

necrosis

hi femme,

i've seen pple getting married at our lady...
but not air condidtioned...so must have mass early else too hot...

st peter st paul also no AC... :p

graceyong

hi all, i didn't know got catholic church got Air-cond one... i am not a local. can please share? i was thinking catheral of the good shepherd... anyone here getting married on the 13th september 2008 too?

ocean_blue

Hi Femme,

Generally, wedding service is 45mins. There are a few reasons why a wedding service is conducted instead of a wedding mass. 1 of which is 1 part is not a baptised catholic. My cousin had her wedding at Ss Peter and Paul. Although she had hers at 9.30am, it was still very warm by the time the mass ended at 10.30am followed by buffet reception and photo taking. If possible, try to locate a parish that is air conditioned.

Hi 4placesbride,
Cathedral if beautiful but like what I mentioned above, it may get alittle too humid esp since your wedding will be in Sept. As the Cathedral accepts wedding request from non locals, you can consider it (unless you don't mind the risk of the weather getting too humid). Are you working here ot...? Most catholic churches are air conditioned here
If you can provide more info like which part of Singapore you would like to have your wedding mass/service at, it would be easier to provide some suggestions on the churches available.

graceyong

Thanks OceanBlue for the info. I reside in the city, in orchard area so anything around the city district would be nice. I went to Scared Heart church today and it was nice but the car park spaces a very little. Anyone had there wedding there before?

Besides that, church of our lady lourdes was also one of my list. St Peter and Paul is fully booked out on the day 13th september.

Anyone had their wedding at scared heart/ catheral / lady lourdes, please share with me your experiences. that would be great

ocean_blue

Hi 4placesbride,

You may want to check out Cathedral fast before the date gets booked. Another church is St. Bernadette located at Zion Road near Great World City shopping mall. You may want to visit the church website to get more info or to call the parish to check with the secretary if the date you want is still avail. http://www.stbernadette.org.sg

Other than this church, you already have the other churches that are located in the city. Wish you all the best!

graceyong

ladies... scared heart is booked out for the 13th Sept.

Nec, well the car park spaces are very limited. Have you been to the church before? You should go and have a look and you have a better understanding. However, the church is really nice and comfy. I really like it.

However i think the down fall is the car park issue really...

necrosis

yups,
been to the church, saw the ''car park''..
very difficult to move from the church to reception hall in the 3rd floor.

but i thought they are building some structure next to sacred heart...
is that gonna have a car park in the basement?

For yr info, the construction next to Sacred Heart is a multi-purpose hall cum carpark building (multi-stories). Construction is due to completed somewhere fr June - July 2008.

Hope the info helps :)

necrosis

that sounds really good...hopefully by the time my wedding comes along. things will be fully operational in the new building and the parking won't be such a nightmare.
*pray pray*

when is yr wedding nec?

Remember u also in the Nov brides forum also right?

If u the same month, then chances r it's already completed. Have u book with Richard, the parish sec?

When I booked last year, he mentioned that the parking won't be a problem cos it's also our main concern. Cos parking will be at the new sub wing multi stories building. The hall which u can rent separtely is also air conditioned and locate at the same new building.

graceyong

thats nice. i wanted to get wed in that church on 13th Sept but it was booked. But the secretary is very nice and friendly and he explained. He suggested me to get another day...

Nec, when is ur wedding day btw?

Girls, i was told off by Father Francis from Catheral today. He told me to go to my parish church and no one gets marry in the catheral. But i have a friend is getting married there in this June...
oh well...

St Benedette is going renovation during my weddin date 13th sept and St peter and paul is booked too so my last options are St Teresa and lady of Lourdes. Anyone have their comments on them? Please share

Hi Grace,

St. Bernadette might not be having their reno in Sept, for yr info. Cos I'm from St. Berna, cos initially thought the church might be going under major reno but then it drags on due to complication as advise by the wedding coordinator, she even asked us if we want to cancel our booking with Sacred Heart and go back to St. Berna.

The reno ain't too finalised yet. If you know Dorthoy from St. Berna, perhaps you might wanna ask her directly?

ocean_blue

Hi Grace,

Oh dear! I am sorry that you got told off by Father but did u explain that you do not have a parish that you belong to as you are not local? From my understanding, non locals are the only ones that are allowed to get married there. Maybe you would like to speak to Fr Adrian Anthony or Msg Eugene Vaz. Actually, I think the best way to go about asking for advice from the priest would be to attend 1 of the masses there and after mass just approach the celebrant and ask how u shld go about doing it if you would like to hold a wedding mass here (as in Singapore). Explain to him that you are not local and you usually attend mass at the Cathdral (heehee). Or, why not ask your friend who is the priest s/he spoke to and get him/her to ask the priest on your behalf?

As for St. Teresa, it's not in the city. It's nearer to Harbourfront; near Mount Faber. But, the church is VERY lovely! This church is in the list for outdoor photoshoot for alot of couples, both catholics and non catholics alike.

Another parish under the "City District" is St. Michael. You may want to consider that as well

necrosis

hi blessings,

my wedding is in Dec...so should be ok by then.
i've made an appt to meet Richard to place deposit etc already
actually postponed a couple of times cos FH was busy.
but Richard is always so accomodating n friendly.

st teresa is LOVELY. but sure to be fully booked.

i tried for Dec and tada! no more dates available.
oh well.

Our Lady of Lourdes is very beautiful (to me), but the main issue is that there's no air conditioning, which would mean everyone is gonna be sticky. :p

as far as i know, cathedral is the parish of the arch-bishop, so no one gets married there. i don't know if foreigners are allowed. best to check with your friend her location again. =)

graceyong

Ladies, I spoke to father Arro from St Teresa-
13 September is booked out
but he sounded friendly.

then i too spoke to Joseph (secretary) from St Bennet - his explaination is close to yours Dorothy, but he explain it quite clear that the reno would start on the Church and it is impossibile it would be ready by September.

so currently, my last option is Our Lady of Lourdes. At the moment, it is still not booked yet for 13sept.

Unless i am willing to change to another date, or else it would be Our Lady of Lourdes. Girls, any comment about it? beside no air cond.

Oh One more, will try to call on St Michael today - btw any comments?

Cathedral - I explain to Father Francis that I am not local, but he say it depends on where i stay, I told him i stay in ORchard area - straight away he ask me to go to Scared Heart/ St PeterPaul.
I decided let it be, no point debating over it with this father.

so for 13 sept - either Lady or Lordes or St Michael, or else i would have to change to another date.

fairybride

hi nec, u mentioned your AD is in dec and you have already made an appt to go down n make the deposit, is your date on 20 dec? I wanted to book today but they told me it is taken already. Kind of dissappointed as I have just managed to get my priest's confirmation to do the wedding in sacred heart but the date is booked. I thought it would be such a nice memory for us as that was the church I said "yes" to my SB and it would so meaningful to have our wedding solemize before god in the same place. Oh well, guess no choice then...

graceyong

Hi Nec, can you share with my the info on St Teresa? How mcuh is the hall would be? do they have a choir? is so what the "donation" would be for the choir? I am thinking of goign to ST Teresa too.

fairybride

Just spoke to Richard (sacred heart) today as I wanted to check the possibility of having 2 weddings on the same day and he said they only accept one booking a day. Really dissappointed. For the entire month of Dec, only the date I want is taken so I guess the lucky bride must be Nec then since your AD is in dec as well.

I just managed to get Father Stephen Yim as my yesterday and immediately called Sacred Heart but it is booked already. When my SB was courting me, it was a very difficult time for him as I was undecided between him and another guy I was dating. He gave me a date to give him an answer and the date was the day I told him I would choose him over the other guy and it was right after the 6pm mass in sacred heart that I asked him if he would take care of me from that day onwards and that is my answer for him. Of coz things went very well and finally this dec we will be tying the knot on 20 dec but we were abit late to get the church. Can only blame myself for sitting on my ass and not going to book earlier. So all brides out there, my advice is, once you have your dates, go book immediately and don't procrastinate, else might just end up like me.. sigh..

necrosis

hi grace,

they have several choirs, each of them sings at a diff time mass. you can check them out at each mass, and just approach them after mass...

i think the charges are abt $200-300 for the church and additional for recpetion area.
best to call them directly to check.

hi fairybride,
yes, my date is Dec 20th. same as yours!!!

so cool =)
you can try Our Lady of Lourdes, very beautiful church too.

fairybride

Hi Nec,

Obviously I already know that..whole of dec only 1 date taken so must be you eh. You sure know how to work fast..most likely after you ask me my date and realise it is the same as yours you immediately went to check out the church and made your booking.. anyway, congrats to you and glad you did find my reviews useful enough for you to decide on that church. May you have a beautiful wedding that day..

necrosis

hey fairybride,
actually, i booked the place in the beginning of the year already, i think i called Richard on 3rd or 4th of Jan already. :p
so it wasn't because of you or anything to do with you at all dear!!!
mainly cos i needed to book a hotel, and you know, hotels are so hot, esp on weekends, so i had to confirm the church asap before the hotel.
so everything was settled by the first week of Jan.
so really, nothing to do with you at all, dear.
in fact, i called a few churches before Sacred Heart as this wasn't my first choice, but all were booked as well.

i totally understand how you feel, many hotels/churches i wanted were all booked long long ago also...

necrosis

oh, actually, another couple had booked Sacred Heart on the date before me.
They booked some time last year!!
So when i called, i was next on the waiting list only...but within a day, Richard confirmed with me.
So i really truely booked the place before ANY contact with you at all and i don't like the insinuation that i ''most likely after you ask me my date and realise it is the same as yours you immediately went to check out the church and made your booking..''

in fact, now when i scroll up the thread, then i saw your reply....i may have missed the reply or was too busy searching for PG/VGs in the last 2 weeks..
to prevent any further insinuations that i may also book the PG you want, let me state I've already booked my PG, but not VG.
i'm looking for VG now...

also, i did decide on the church BEFORE your reviews. i said i'm GONNA have mine...not i'm thinking about having it there.
the decision was made cos other places i wanted were booked...all decisions on venues were settled on WITHIN the first week of Jan.

hope this clears the air

and that you'll be able to understand why i don't appreciate some of your remarks.
I sincerely hope you find a place that you'll love too and have a fantastic wedding.

graceyong

Hi Nec, don't get too upset the way fairybride put it. I too expereience something like that. This forum is for us brides to share experiences or issues and not to do some accusataions on each others.

I was writing on my multiply about my church wedding and someone just went in and did very harsh insinuations/ sabo words to me.. i was quite shiok and it was someone anoymous. So i know exactly how you feel.

necrosis

thanks grace

*hugs*

i guess weddings are just stressful , and when something doesn't go exactly how you want it, then we tend to get a little worked up...so no hard feelings, we're all in the same boat

elisawang

Hi. I am also looking for someone to sing during my church wedding. Can I also get the contact info and charges for Philip? Going to have a wedding service as its on a sunday.