Catholic Brides

ocean_blue

Any bride who is getting or got married at St. Joseph's Church (Bukit Timah)? Can share your experience and the cost of the church rental? Thanks!

c00kiemonster

hihi, would like to chk, anybody did this sequence?
1) gatecrashing
2) groom's house for tea ceremony
3) bride's house for tea ceremony
4) church

does this mean that the bride has got to change from kua for 3) to gown for 4) again? im considering this sequence but was worried about the changing part cos it seems troublesome..

hi cookiemonster,

its very common to change at the groom's house for the tea ceremony when going back to bride's house.

in your case, if you have a noon church, then you just need to change back to your groom.. its abit more troublsome but fine..

if you wanna skip the so called trouble, then have your church in the morning...

Any idea how much to "rent" Risen Christ Church hall and canteen?

And what's the going rate for Ang Baos for priest, altar boys, choir members?

Anyone just got a lead singer and an organ player instead of a whole choir?

He can play in any church? Or is he fixed to a certain parish?
Thanks bbp

hazuki

Hi, happen to pop by here after my wedding in sept...

Philip Lye is blind.. He has a female companion beside him, telling him wats happening during the wedding. He sings n plays the organ by himself.
Any parish is ok wif him, he's popular, so u need to book him in advance. I paid his $120 for service mass.

Oceanblue: St Joseph Church is a donation based church. So u juz give angpao can liao.
My dad chose tat church, but my hb was worried abt the steps i need to climb b4 reaching the church.
So in the end we took Blessed Sacrament, also donation based church.
U may choose florist frm anywhere to do the deco.
I paid $100 for church + canteen.

St Mary's a $1000 rental church. They charge tat for non parish members. $600 for parish members.
Includes only rental n flowers.

CookieMonster: I did the sequence of Gatecrash, then Church, then Tea Ceremony @ Hotel Miramar, then Wedding Lunch.
I did Tea Ceremony in my wedding dress.

FoolInParadise: My cousins did ROM first. But they also go through the full wedding in church, exchanging vows n all...
Only difference, they nv sign wedding cert, only the church book.
Layman see liao, will think they nv ROM b4...
So it's ok... Juz u n ur hb will noe the difference.

ocean_blue

Yes, Philip is blind but very experience and gifted. He was playing for the Charismatic Group at CTK for years. Very talented guy. The lady is actually his wife.
Like what Petrina mentioned, he is very popular and you gotta book him in advance esp if your Big Day falls on a very popular date.

Petrina, thanks for the info and congratulations!! We have decided to do it at St. Francis Xavier instead. Have already booked and paid.
I was thinking of the same sequence as what you did including tea ceremony in wedding gown minus the gate crashing. May I ask how did your sched go in terms of the timing? Did your guests have to wait long since the tea ceremony will be done before lunch and most will be coming straight from church as well? That is my only concern now.

jadeyu

anyone held or goin to hold their wedding at Holy Cross? wanna find out the cost of rental and what's the experience like.

cookiemonster,
i was thinking of having the same sequence as urs. but my church timing at 11am on a Friday. worried that this will be a bit rush... what abt urs?

or anyone went back to bride's house for tea ceremony after the church ceremony?

ocean_blue

Hi jadeyu,

It's common to have the church wedding, go to bride's house for tea ceremony (since usually the church wedding will be held at the church nearer to the bride), then go to the groom's house for tea ceremony, proceed to hotel to rest (if you have the time), MUA to meet at hotel to do the dinner banquet makeup. By the time, makeup is done, it's gonna be almost 7ish, so u can start to prepare to appear for the wedding banquet. At this time, the groom can opt to mingle with the guests while you prepare to get ready for the banquet in the hotel room. OR, the groom can choose to be with you. It's up to you.

My cousins had their sequence this way.
Mass (around 9am or 10am), phototaking in church (abt 30mins max), proceed to bride's home. All relatives to proceed there from church. Reception at bride's home + tea ceremony. Proceed to groom's home for tea ceremony, reception for relatives would have begun while waiting for the couple to return from the bride's side. Proceed to hotel after tea ceremony.

jadeyu

Hi Ocean_blue,
thanx for ur advise. My worry is the transport of relatives to bride's home after church. ( though my church is pretty near. prob a 15 mins walk away).

and tot should hold tea ceremony at groom's place 1st? does this also mean that there'll not be any recep in church? thx for ur help!

Hi jade,

According to Chinese customs, we are suppose to have the tea ceremony at the groom's place first, but for me, I had mine at my place first since the church is nearer only 5min from my house.

I guess as long as both sets of parents don't mind, anything goes

ocean_blue

Hi Jade, a few suggestions to solve the issue:
1) Car pool: Arrange with those who own cars to car pool your relatives. For those young and fit, they can have slow walk to your place. Probably they won't be involved in the tea ceremony anyway

2) Have the tea ceremony for your side of the family in Church after mass. Your parents can then lead them to their place for a small recep
OR u can have reception catered for them in church. OR, better still, have reception for everyone and then announce that tea ceremony will be done shortly after.

3) BlueBearypie is right. Going to the groom's place first is just a chinese custom. If both side parents don't mind (can try reasoning with them. Your HTB to his parents, and you to your own parents), then u can have it at your parent's place for u first.

Which church are u using btw? When is your AD?

jadeyu

Hey gals, thx for ur advises.

Ocean, I'm using Holy Cross. and personally, I would prefer holding the tea ceremony at home.. more homely and more meaningful. Also tot of using BBP's way, but heard from FH that FMIL says should rtn to girl's hs (hui niang jia) after goin to groom's hs. guess will see whether can use ur cousin's way, but go groom's hs 1st instead then my hs since both our homes are near e church.

ocean_blue

Hi Jadeyu,

You're most welcome! Everyone's here to help each other

The "hui niang jia" thing is all chinese tradition. So, it depends on how the parents view it. Doing at home is convenient but can be a tad too warm if there are too many relatives around for the place. heehee...

Well, the problem's kinda solved if both your homes are near church

Hi Jade,

You're lucky to have both homes near the church. I was really glad that both sets of parents didn't mind doing tea at my place first, cos Church and my place are in Serangoon whereas husband's house is around Holland Village area.

It would have been a nightmare trying to go to husband's place and get to church by 10am

jadeyu

yup yup...
jux spoke to my FH and asked him for opinion on my planning.. yeah.. he agreed.. hahaha.. jux hope it'll go smoothly.. anyway.. 1 more year away.. hehe..

Hey bbp, is Philip Lye from SAVH? How do u contact him? thx.

ocean_blue

SAVH = Singapore Association for the Visually Handicapped

Hi Jadeyu, while looking forward to your BIG day and amidst the planning, u may wanna look thru' the bi-monthly issue of the Catholic News. At times, there are ads for the various wedding services e.g. photographers, band, etc, that you may wanna consider as part of your planning. Just my 2cts worth

jadeyu

Thx bbp.

ocean. thx for e info.. FFIL amlways bring them back, but nv take a look at those b4. haha..

btw, do u gals happen to know roughly the time to arrive in church for the mass?usually wats e procedure like? do we have to arrive early to mingle with guest? got reception table? ang pow box? read these somewhere, so abit confused. thx for answering my nv ending queries.

ocean_blue

Hi jadeyu,

Shld read the catholic news lah
Good articles and information.

What time u want to have the wedding mass is up to you. Some people have it as early as 8am, some have it as late as 4pm. It all depends on what time you want and the availability of the church and the priest. Reception table is up to you to arrange with the church secretary. When you do your booking, just ask her abt it. But definitely, it doesn't include the table decor. Ang pow box u have to bring your own. Don't have to be there early to mingle with guests though it's recommended that the groom and his bestman (and your helpers) be there earlier to make sure that everything is in place e.g. choir's ready, church deco all ok, reception table is ok, etc. The bride only appears in time for the mass (about 5-10mins earlier to be sure u are there in time).

U are most welcome to ask all the questions u can think of. We will all try to help

c00kiemonster

hi jadyu, i am also tinking of having it ard that timing..hav yet to fix it cos i cant decide on e sequene...headache...

btw when u gals engage philips, r u all still using the church choir? o jus him alone?

necrosis

hi jadeyu,
i'm thinking of having my wedding mass as Holy Cross also leh.
whom should i speak to?
when is your AD?
can we choose the priest? lol...
sorry for so many questions...not familar :p

anyone going for EE in Jan?

Hi cookie,
I only engaged Philip, didn't get the church choir.
Since he sings into the mike, it was clear and loud

Hi nec,
Yup, can choose priest one, haha.
You can even get a "outside" priest to do it, as long as you inform the secretary there. Well, I had mine at IHM though, not Holy Cross, but should be pretty standard across churches.

renzze

I just had my church wedding at Holy Trinity 2 weeks back =)
I realized that I still have some of the wedding mass booklet that we printed left so if any of you gals need a copy for reference just email me at [email protected]

You can pick it up from me at Pasir Ris or just pay $1 for the envelope and postage and I'll mail it to you.

necrosis

哦
thanks bbp.

wonder if anyone knows anything abt St Teresa's church and Holy Cross...rental? contact? choirs? etc...
hoping to get either one of these...

no one going EE in jan ah?
all married liao....?? hee

jadeyu

hi ocean.. haha.. guess u r rite... i shld be reading the CN to get some info.. hehe.. but i very blur one.. guess can only pray that things will slowly fall into place.

hi cookie.. me too.. i only fix time.. sequence tentative lor.. worst thing is my area undergoing lift upgrading next yr.. def won't complete in time by dec.. then e corridor os my hs will be so messy.. sigh.. dunno how now..

hi nec. yup. i think u can choose the priest. i haven't decided on e priest yet, but will most likely ask the Fr of the church. check out Holy Cross website. the secretariat's email is there.. FH called, and said she's quite a friendly lady. I'm hlding mine on a fri. 12/12, and i'll be goin to Jan EE.
anyone else?

krystal80

hi ladies, did anyone DIY their mass booklets?
Coz I wanna know where to find the paper to make the "cover" or if got lobangs for printers that'd be great...thanks in advance!

hi andrea,

Fancy Papers opposite Bras basar complex is pretty reasonable. And they have loads of variety too.

For printing, you can think about getting them photocopied by the numerous shops inside Bras Basar.

jmi

Hey drea,

I DIY-ed my mass booklets. I got my covers from Fancy Paper. Cos I'm a sucker for details, it's the same paper as my wedding invite except it's thinner.

nicelip

Hi Jmi,

Blessed x'mas and happy 2008! How was yr wedding? Any photos to share?
Tried to look out for your wedding announcement in the church bulletin but I think I've missed it.

kitty_li

hey Jmi,

Nice pics! Congrats on your wedding!
I haven't come into this thread for a while...been busy with my new baby gal...heehee...she's just 4 weeks old...

Hi nicelip! *waves*

jadeyu

Congrats to CSI Fan on the arrival of your baby gal...!!

Hey Jmi, the Fr presiding your wedding looks familiar. He's not from St Teresa? Btw, i will also be holding mine in St Teresa, then Hotel in Sentosa too, but Rasa. =) what time is your church wedding? can share with me on any relevant charges for the church. I've yet to spoke to the church secretary. Thanx

nicelip

Hi Jmi,

Nice wedding and pics! Hope you are enjoying married life so far

Hi CSI fan,

Congrats!!!! So happy for you
I've been very busy lately too, just changed job and very stressful

Hi jadeyu,

I had the same for my wedding in May last year, church wedding in St Teresa and buffet lunch in Rasa Sentosa
You gonna have dinner or lunch?

jmi

Hi jadeyu,

The priest who celebrated my wedding was Fr Richards from Holy Cross. He baptised me in Holy Trinity so I specifically asked him to celebrate my wedding

My church wedding was at 9:30am. After mass, we had a bit of photo-taking outside church then we headed to The Sentosa for tea ceremony before lunch buffet at 12:30pm.

Donation for use of church is $200 or $250 (if I remembered correctly)
Choir was $300
I had my own freelance florist to dress up the church.

Hi nicelip,

Thanks! Well married life isn't that much difference cos we've been together for 11 years before the wedding. Still trying to get used to calling his parents and the term 'wife'. :p

hazuki

Hi all, long time nv come here le... busy preparing for my bb's arrival...

oceanblue: my schedule...
9.30am - wedding svc then photo taking
10.30am - small buffet while we rush to groom hse in HV to light nuptial light.
11am - reach hotel to serve tea
12.30pm - lunch starts

jadeyu: holy cross is nice. my baptism place. but church was under reno during my wedding.. so we chose blessed sacrament instead.

bbp: so giam... my matrimonial home is in HV also...

Jmi: married life for me also same same. since we dated for 9yrs liao... only calling MIL mother is difficult...

femme: victoria st church dun do weddings for locals leh... i checked le. they'll refer u to ur local parish church.

nicelip: i wanted St teresa.. but haiz.. my wedding day fall on their feast day... argh...

andrea: i bot hard paper as backing n printed & photocopied my booklets myself. then stapled them myself... nv use ribbons. too messy.
if u wan, photocopier u can go to those printing shops... hard cover i printed using my home printer. not many mah. i printed 60 sets.

chocolatte79

hi... wondering if we could have 2 priests for the mass, one as the celebrant and the other one for the solemnisation?
coz the priest that we wanted for the mass does not have license for solemnisation.
can anyone share? thanksss..

hazuki

chocolatte: it might seem weird... lawfully, as long the priest signing ur cert is licensed, they dun bother wat u do during the process.
but it might seem rude to the licensed priest as u only need his signature n licence no. for ROM registration...
if have 2 priests, then wat is the licensed priest gonna do during ur wedding mass? sit ard?

chocolatte79

that's why i confuse. coz the mass will be in bahasa (indo), and none of indo priests here has ROM license.
thot of having ROM & church same day.
or anyone happen to know any malaysian or peranakan priests or singapore priests that can speak bahasa?
plz share... thanks gal.

hazuki

ya. it's difficult. cause usually indo priests r here only on training. therefore they dun have licence. i suggest u go to ROM n settle ur vows then go to church for mass on same day. u can have the whole procedure of signing in ROM office.
In church, u can juz sign the church book. in tat way, it's also a sacrament marriage in church.
Ur cert signing need not be in church to be considered married in church.

chocolatte79

thx petrina. yah.. i checked with the priest, the ROM cert must submit to church latest 2 days b4 marriage =)

sob.. sob.. looks like got 2 do in 2 different days now.

maemei

Hi chocolatte

You might want to consider asking the parish priest at the church you are getting married in to assist at the wedding. That way you can ask that parish priest to be the officiant in your ROM document. Anyway, worth asking that parish priest and the priest celebrating your wedding mass for advice. Don't give up so fast.