Catholic Brides

hi blessings,

welcome.. yah i did mine with the communion cos FH is from a catholic family so its right and necessary to do so

1) ask both at the same time.. it all depends on the church and priest.. cos each church have their own priests and it aint nice to ask another priest to go over.. sensitive i guess.. unless u have very good reasons..

2) okie will send later..

3) yah.. but do check with the priest ba

lyons

<font color="119911">hi blessings, it's ok to book your church as early as possible, although the secretariat might tell you that the church program might take precedence over your wedding (IF that happens). If your wedding is not during the festive seasons (i.e. christmas, advent, lent...), it should be ok.

As for asking the parish priest, I think you since you're holding the wedding at your FH's parish, then just ask his parish priest if he will preside over your wedding and if he says yes, then you can go ahead and book the church. If you want your priest to do it, I suggest you ask the church you want first, if they say can, then ask your own priest. Even if your own priest says cannot, you can always ask that church's priests.

Lastly, WELCOME TO THE CATHOLIC FAMILY!

lyons

<font color="119911">hi fairybride, my itinerary for the day is:
groom come to bride's house --> gate crashing --> tea ceremony at bride's house --> proceed to church --> mass --> reception at church --> proceed to hotel for tea ceremony for groom's side

We wanted it this way because it makes logistical sense as the church is nearer to my house and we both stay quite far from one another</font>

Hi lyons and minssy - many thanks for the tippings and yes minssy, received your mass wedding booklet samples :) Thank you guys for making me feel welcome here :-D

Minssy - Just went RCIA today, caught Fr during the break. He said it's ok for him to go to nearby church during the reno as he think most families would prefer to have the ceremony peacefully without the heavy drilling and piling works going on the main hall. He mentioned 2 churches which deem ok as apparently, alot did ask to hold the ceremony at churches nearby. He'll be able to hold full wedding mass at the 2 churches except on sunday where only wedding service will be hold as its from the Bishop.

However, he did said prefers to have the signing of marriage cert and church wedding mass all in 1 day. He cited mentioned of 1 couple in my RCIA class that they managed to defer the submittion of the marriage cert until after AD to HDB and Fr wrote in to HDB. He said unless we bought resale flat then another story lor. But then, with new HDB flats so in demand, thats why we wanted to apply for a new one in the meanwhile and ROM in Feb 2008. But then, I do not think HDB can have the submit of the marriage cert more than half a year later if we manage to have one now, right?

Just very confuse and pretty down as it seems to be the timeline is very confusing and hard to predict, ain't it? :-(

Any BTBs or those who have gone thru the marriage process give some advise?

hi blessings,

i do not have experience with having to ROM due to flat but from friends etc, its ok to delay 1/2 a year and even more than 1/2 year but not more than 1 year.. when you write in, attach receipts of the actual ceremony and that the wedding ceremony will take place etc so that its more 'proof' lor.. hee..

Hi minssy,

Hmm...you saying proofs are the receipts from like florist, printer, banquet, honeymoon, rings etc?

But then, wondering I gotta delay the reno of my new hse until "about time"? Cos funny to leave the fully renovated flat in tact for a few months before AD ba? Now trying to reschedule and visualise how the schedule is like.

shugar

Hi Blessings,

Happen to drop by here and saw your post. Hope this will be helpful...
Our wedding's in Sept next month but we first applied for our flat in late Dec, 2nd appointment was in early March. (Ours was a resale flat)

For us, the deferment of the marriage cert submission went rather smoothly. We wrote in an appeal letter to HDB and supported it with receipts from the hotel(banquet), BS and also church booking. We also had an acknowledgment letter signed by Father to acknowledge that he would be officiating our wedding on the mentioned date. Passed all these to the officer in charge handling our application. On top of that we also applied for the HDB grants and all went along ok.

Dun worry too much... for your case, you are applying for a new unit, maybe you could call HDB to ask? But i think with enough supporting documents, should be fine. After all the govt is encouraging pple to get married and start families mah! :p Heheh

Dear Shugar - Thanks alot! Now after hearing much advises fr the kind BTB here, feel much assured. Many thanks!!

But then, apply for new unit, also headache. Live my FH's side, not possible cos Whampoa not much new ones. My side worse! Kim Tian Road, too exp and new balloting all taken up in a snap. Guess from your experience of resale, it wouldn't be a problem on the deferment :)

hi blessings,

yah mainly the church and banquet deposit receipt or something. its to show the officers lor..

of cos reno will be done one lah.. i think as non married couples, typically you all will not stay there full time what.. alot of couples treat their new house as chalet or weekend stayovers till they are so called 'officially married' ah

no worries lah.. things will fall into 1 piece along the way...

Minssy, geee...I'm those gan-chiong type. Don't like it when I have to do things I don't know. I'll be applying online for my flat today as gather enough info on the HLE loan stuffs. Now, gotta pray hard hard that my Q# won't be too behind.

Once again, thank you all for the help rendered. It's really nice and warm of you guys :)

My FB can't believe it when in just one morning, I have so much answers on hand :p

shugar

hi again blessings,

thought I'd share with you our time line too...

We got our keys in mid March after our second appointment with HDB. Spent April sourcing contractor and comparing quotes and decided around end April. Reno started about mid-May coz contractor was busy. We didn't have much major reno. Did not do any hacking of floor. Just knocked 2 walls down, re-painting, polishing of existing floor and changed toilet stuffs. Reno ended in 1st week June and some furnitures that we got earlier came in about mid June till the end of June. In the mean time, my BF was dying to move in.

HAhaha.. So we decided he'd get to move in first coz he didn't like the idea of leaving the house empty till our wedding in end Sept. But by the time he got down to packing, its was already July! Hehe.. so he eventually got to move in at the end of July and time seems to be passing so fast we are heading towards Sept already!

I'm sure your timing will work out ok for you too. You'll be surprised how fast it passes. :p

hi blessings,

ah. that must be the recent balloting exercise then?

gan giong also no use.. at this stage, you need to read more and understand....

we use the term 'FH' in this forum

hi shugar,

your sharing is interesting.. hee.. getting a house and shifting in aint easy hor?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi blessings, don't worry too much. Leave it in the hands of God
Really, everything will fall into place sooner or later. One step at a time. Settle your HDB first

mrs_n

Blessings just one comment about dress colour.

While it is traditional to wear white or off-white it is not a must. There is nothing in the Catholic Rite for Marriage which says all brides must wear a white/off-white or even a dresss for that matter in order to be married in church!

I don't think the priest who married us would have minded if I wore jeans and T-shirt on my wedding day! But my mum would certainly have a lot to say.

The colour of dress is secondary. What counts is your heart, your faith and your attitude towards marriage.
God will bless you irregardless of whether you are in a red, green, blue, white or even a champagne-coloured dress! Just wear what you are comfortable with and be yourself. As long as you're happy that is all that matters.

Minssy - LOL...ya...I starting to grip of the lingo used :p

Arrr..nope. Mine is the bi-monthly. Tmr the closing of online application. Just finished trying very hard to pay the application online. Apparently the system is very heavy! Did read up but then sometimes what HDB ruling doesn't somehow applicable to real life lor hee..like the timeframe of submit of ROM cert. Sianz....nowadays new units pricing are going up. Fat hope if hoping they will go down.

Lyons - Sigh...gan chiong cos what we planned originally now have to quick track again.

Mrs N - LOL..this one I did think abt it. As long as we are sincere in our vows. But then, again got to depend on my priest if he has any comments. This dress color is not on my current agenda though. This can leave it till next week when I attend my RCIA with my FH then ask the priest. But I think my mom don't like haha. Let alone my MIL :p

As for the rest of the issues, I'll leave it in God's hand as kind BTBs here mentioned. Guess I gotta hypnotize myself and relaxxxxx :)

Thank you guys for your opinons and advises :) A big thank you to everyone here.

hi blessings,

yah the sector C thingy one rite?

yah i think its not going down anything soon...

yes u gotta relax.. this is ONLY the beginning.. there are TONS to come

Hi minssy - Yah the sector C thingy lor. So bad that they didn't have any extra grant for people who are first timer who choose to live near parents cos my side super expensive! And his side, not much new development :-(

Yah..mom says that dun expect HDB govt price will go down. Never in history except for resales where there's always yoyo.

LOL...dont frighten me leh...just the ONLY and TONS are enough to make me go sleepless tonight :p

hi blessings,

aiyoh i tell u.. wait till u do the guest thing.. then that will make you sleepless.. kekeke.. take it easy..

heehee minssy, why leh? Ain't that just mix and match? Haha... maybe too much people to invite for us. At most 25 tables for both families. Headache meh?

But i do recalled a few years back my cousin got married and she placed us with a set of relatives that most don't like. LOL...my mom still remember this until today!

hi blessings,

it getting the rsvp and arranging tables and putting who should sit with who etc. not an easy job.. 25 tables still manageable lah.. oh well, but u seem like an organiser.. should be relatively easier

hahah. must have cut your mum deep.. make sure u dun do the same.. kekeke.. ;)

Hi minssy, hee ya, now already have some mind how to organise the tables leh. LOL...very fast hor. Only left with some friends and my FH's side.

Wah...she's thinking of putting my cousin's family with my that very weird set of relative leh.

Thumb of the rule, be nice and considerate hahaha...I can only guess thats where the hard part kicks in. To please everybody hahaha. Hmmm....I'll probably think RSVP a bit hard but then, have my mom, my sis and his mom and in laws to handle so I guess thats not very tedious unless RSVP must be handle by either me or my FH?

mrs_n

Blessings haha yah I think most mums would like their daughters to go the traditional way.
My mum was a bit shocked when I got my dress off the internet (well at least the cloth and pattern) and when I decided to sew my own veil. Tbh I didn't really bother much with the wedding nitty gritty. My husband and I just took things as they came. He did most of the planning anyway.
For us the most important one was Church and next the venue and when that was settled we spent the next few months relaxing.

Don't worry too much as stress will just sap energy out of you. Might be helpful if you pray regularly with your FH. My hubby and I used to do that before we were married and we still do. With God at your side, even the big problems will look small.

skinnybeany

i wanna ask you girls a qn (esp. those who have already ROM &amp; wearing your WB)...on your AD, will you be wearing your ring? cuz we'll be exchanging rings in church rite?

is it my HB have to bring our rings to the church, after the gatecrashing in morning?

tks.

beanniebean

Junie

Your husband suppose to bring the ring to church for exchange, and of cos if exchanging of ring than you should ne be wearing another ring right?

skinnybeany

oohh...ok.

cuz i was wondering if we only take out the rings when we reach the church and put it on the ring pillow beforehand.

anyway, tks.

cookiebunny

Hi Junie,

Maybe you can send your rings for polishing before the AD so it will look like new.
We also had our ROM first so few weeks before our AD, we sent our rings for polishing and we didnt wear the rings again until the church wedding.

skinnybeany

hi cookiebunny,

yup we would definitely send it for polishing. i think i need to remind my HB to bring the rings &amp; ring pillow on the AD morning before he comes over &amp; fetch me, cuz he's the forgetful type!

cookiebunny

Hi Junie,

Does your hubby has someone who will help him during the AD? Maybe prepare a list of things to bring/do and brief the person beforehand. I think it's important to delegate as much as possible so you and your hubby can just relax and enjoy the moment on your big day :D

skinnybeany

hi cookiebunny,

yup, he'll have a few groomsmen but some are as forgetful as him. haha.

it's best i remind him on the morning itself to remember to bring.

i think on the AD itself, the bride will usually "worry" more than the groom

lyons

<font color="119911">hi junie, maybe you can come up with a tast list and then give a copy to each helper on the day so they're clear on the AD itinerary as well as their tasks? Clear and concise so they can't forget even if they wanted to

Haha. I worried the least on my AD. Before AD, I kept thinking of what I still needed to do. But on AD, if those things aren't done, too late liao mah. Also, whatever happens, everything will be over by 12 midnight. So best not to worry!

lyons

<font color="119911">hi bbp, your wedding over liao? So fast??! How was it? Do you have photos to share?</font>

cicitz

I would like to ask about wedding booklet printing. I want to DIY, but stapling to become a bookfold type is a headache. Anyone, knows what is the cost effective way to have a shop do it for you? I will only need the stapling service. Print out will be done myself.
TIA

miaka05

i have stopped posting in this thread some time back ever since i postpone my wedding and now my wedding is going to be next Jan.

has any brides conducted your wedding at OLPS? the church will assign a wedding couple to help and advise u in the planning right? usually when will the church assign them to you? my wedding is next jan and until now i have no news about who is the couple advising us.

hi miaka,

normally its done like 1 - 3 weeks before wedding.. so its still early.... check back with church priest in nov or dec..

hi miaka,

by right as a bride, you would have prepared already mah.. the couple only advises on what will happen on the wedding day.. priest will guide/approve on the booklet which should have already been printed by 1 mth before your wedding..

hi matahari,

then u gotta buy a big stapler yourself and do it manually leh.. hee.. else just to go a photocopy shop and let the pros do the printing and free stapling for you lor

hi matahari,

I think ArtFriend sells those huge staplers. How many booklets you intend to do? Get everyone to chip in, will finish quite fast one.

cicitz

Girls,

I got another idea, so will shelve the stapler thingy. hahahaha... I will punch at the edge than will tie with ribbon. 2 hole punch. Once I got a sample will show you girls.

Another question, any St. Mary of the Angels' brides?? I would like to ask about St. Clare Hall on how to setup ound system plus projector....

TIA

snowball05

A quick qn. I am working on the mass booklet and had been looking at some done by my mum's friends' kids who just had their church wedding. I realised that some do not include the Penitential Rites...I am kinda confused...dont we need that for mass?