Catholic Brides

snowball05

Hi Diamond & Suparcat, thanks for ur reply.

I tried to book OLPS since I grew up there, but the morning session had already been book, and for the first sat of the months, they do not allow reception to be held at the halls for the noon and 2pm sessions.

I will try Nativity since its my HTB's parish, just that my mum preferred OLPS! duh....

Anyone getting married at Church of Nativity of Blessed Mary?

suparcat

snowzie,

Sorry to hear that OLPS is not available on your preferred date. Hope that you are lucky with Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

snowball05

Hi Suparcat,

Finally booked OLPS, changed our date to accomodate instead. Nativity is very strict, they claimed that my HTB's address is considered North and not Serangoon district even though my HTB insist not so....
St Anne's also only allow booking 6 months before instead of a year.

Anyway, now that I have booked the date and time, I still feel uneasy cos it was just over the phone. So worried that they may not take it down properly! hahaha very paranoid huh?

jklim4642

bride, SFX's youth choir is too ex to be within my budget. the person in charge told me the rates for this yr - 2007 is $1k!!

good luck if u are using them. last yr's rate of $500 i already not willing to pay. dun even mention abt this yr's rate of $1k.

the soloist that the SFX church organist brought along was good. even my guests said her voice was good. and they dun cost me more than $200 bucks.

jklim4642

snowzie, i also like u that time. scared they nv take down the time & date. but then, nothing will go wrong as we signed the booking form & thereafter made the deposit payment. so even if they forgot to block that slot in their central book & the priest's diary, it does not matter to me. b'coz they are answerable to me since i hv submitted the form & made the payment.

booking via the phone is not sufficient to protect ur interests. but submitting the booking form & making the deposit payment can. the secretariat told us if we dun do that, they can always give the slot to another couple for make payment & submit the form.

suparcat

snowzie,

glad that u finally managed to book OPLS even though u have to change the date to accommodate. Sad to say Nativity is indeed very strict and particular in their rules and regulation. Maybe it is a blessing a disguise :p

haha! if you are afraid, just make a trip down to place a deposit to secure that time slot!

snowball05

Hi suparcat, haha yeah think thats what we gonna do....
I'm now trying to get hold of Fr Richards Ambrose...sent him an email but not reply...and I am kinda afraid to call him direct...cos he used to be quite strict when I was in the youth group! hahah. Have a good weekend!

lyons

<font color="119911">hi diamond, who was your soloist? Guy/girl? Have you heard of trevor? He's a soloist and quite good so i'll see how much SFX youth choir charges first.</font>

jklim4642

bride, we engaged the church organist to play for us. she is responsible to get a soloist from the youth choir for us &amp; we trusted that she will be professional abt this. i dunno the name of the girl soloist she brought. i dun bother since i trusted the church organist to bring a good soloist. true enough, she has a fantastic voice which some of my catholic guests commented &amp; asked me where i got her!

i hv talked to the person in charge for the SFX choir. $500 was last yr's rate. and this yr he told me it wld be $1k. even if i hv excess money to burnt, i rather give it as a dpnation to the church than to give so much money to a choir. furthermore, ours was just a service. how many songs are there for the choir to sing?? tsk tsk tsk

jklim4642

bride, u may as well use the money to get a bigger engagement ring.. maybe 1 carat. instead of the current 0.9 ctt... neither here or there hahahhaha :p

kitty_li

hahaha...Snowzie, I know what u mean abt Fr Richards being strict...hahaha. I used to make the effort to avoid going to him for confession during pennitential services last time when I was in Secondary school...hahaha.

Hmmm, Ben, if you could scroll back to the archives (around the mid part of 2006), there was a bride who posted an Excel spreadsheet abt the diff between a wedding service and a wedding mass. The main diff I know of is that services don't have the Eucharistic celebration...

lyons

<font color="119911">diamond, are you saying my 0.9 ctt is neither here nor there? If that's true, then I'm quite upset by what you said. And it's not a nice thing to say either. But if you didn't mean that, then I'm sorry. But all I wanted was to ask for opinions here, I didn't expect for you to say things like that. If I'm not wrong, you're married already right?

Well, I've budgeted $1k for the choir anyway so it makes no difference for me.</font>

Hi bride,
I think diamond probably means that you can upgrade your diamond to a nice round number of 1 carat. Hey, but even if you don't get it upgraded to a 1 carat, to me, your diamond is already huge. Mine's a 0.51 carat only lor but I already find it quite big. Heehee. Don't be too upset k? I'm sure diamond didn't mean it that way.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi bbp, i hope she didn't mean it also
from 0.9 to 1 carat quite big difference in price, not linear one. Like e.g. 0.8=$8000, 0.9=$9000 but 1 carat will be $20,000

ya lor! I very scared it drop off leh! Every 1 minute stop to check if diamond still there

Hi bride,
Yah, I know the jumps are at 0.5 and 1 carat. I actually asked my BF why he don't want to get 0.49 carat since not much difference in size but big difference in price. He say he can't find a nice 0.49 carat one. He should be happy to have a GF like me, encourage him to get smaller diamond. Haha.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi minssy, i dunno how to PM... can teach me?

hi bbp, haha he is indeed quite a lucky guy! Rare to have a gf to tell him to buy smaller ring
My FH spent so much money on the proposal dinner i also heart pain and thought better to put the money into the wedding savings. But then some things are better off spending for lor, worth while mah

hi bride,

haahh! u click my nick, then another window will appear. there is an option for you to 'CLICK HERE to send a PM'. then click and send a message to me can liaozz..

kitty_li

wah bbp, u are good leh...I told my hubby (then FH) no need to get 0.5 carat one coz the price differential is quite big, he actually listed to me leh! warau! hahaha...he got me a 0.43 carat one. hahahahahha....coz he said he could not find a good one other than the 0.43 one. hahaha. but that's him lah. He's quite a perfectionist...(like moi), so those characteristics etc of the stone on the cert, gotta be perfect to him. And so happened, it is a small bling. hahaha. Told him next time got $$ must compensate. hahaha.

hi Bride, you are lucky...got such a big bling...enjoy it!

hi minssy, long time no "see"...

hi bride,

cool

hi csi fan,

hee.. yah lor.. long time no see
now you can also provide good advice to new brides here liaozz since u had been through the lovely process.. kekeke...

lyons

<font color="119911">hi CSI, thanks
a bit uncomfortable cos i scared i lose the diamond!
how was your wedding? Bet it was beautiful!

hey minssy, did you PM me?</font>

jklim4642

bride, why so sensitive? of course i know the price differential between 0.9 carat and 1 carat. but then again, it does not cost $20k to get a 1 carat diamond.. this is what the retail jewellery shop quotes... who prices have been heavily mark-up.. dun forget these retail shops have to pay for rental, advertisment, staff salaries, etc.

bbq, thanks for helping me to clarify.. u have a 0.5 carat diamond? well done.. i hv one too at a good colour &amp; clarity. but i got it at a very good price as HB knows the private jeweller who does only referrals. HB also custom made a 2.5 carat ruby ring set in diamonds from the same jeweller.. it took him 2-3 mths to source for the ruby which is in a nice pigeon red colour... one fine day, i secretly went into Poh Heng shop without HB knowing &amp; asked for a quote... my goodness, i cannot believe the price they quoted me.. HB defintely did not pay so much for the ruby ring! well, i can be assured that that is the one &amp; only ruby ring around and is designed by my HB..

anyhow, my birthday is coming next mth. HB said he has ordered &amp; customed made something for me.. am waiting to see what it is this time..

babyfifi

Wah talking abt diamond rings. My engagement ring also not big big one. But its a row of 5 small diamonds. I think biggest is about 0.13c only. :-(

I cannot wear big big cos my finger very skinny de. Too big make me feel like my finger will drop off.

I'm also one of those that ask FH not to overspend. I rather have a ring that I like and look nice on me than an expensive stone which I'll be too scared to wear. Lucky FH of mine hor.

kitty_li

Hi minssy,
yah...heehee...hope the advice will be helpful manz. hahaha...but you're the best lah...still active here...

Hey bride, yah, I know what you mean...

Well, I think the wedding went great. Had loads of help from friends and cousins - to sing, read, usher, carry stuff etc.
It's still quite fresh in the head. hahaha. Wonder how's the memory like at 1st anniversary. kekeke...aiyah, every wedding is beautiful, esp in the couple's own hearts.

Well, since you have the budget for it, I say go for it!
Important thing is you do not go over your means (everybody has different means) and that both of you are comfortable with whatever you spend on...

Hehs, what is $1k for the choir If you can easily afford several stone-filled-jewellery?
But that said, different pple place importance on different things - some may feel that spending on choir to enhance the atmosphere of the once-a-lifetime mass is more impt, than spending on material stuff that comes with extra worry...

kitty_li

oh diamond, hi...I forgot to ask you...apologies manz. How's ur MIL? I remember your posts last year before your AD, you mentioned that she's sick and you were quite worried abt the finances etc. How is she now? Hope she's doing well...

lyons

<font color="119911">hi hi CSI! Thanks for your advice! Ya, minssy is right! At least you give very constructive advice

i agree, everyone has emphasis on spending on different things. and the choir's very impt to me, cos it determines the atmosphere. And luckily i budgetted for me so i'm ok with spending on the choir.

my diamond's bought from a trusted and highly recommended diamond dealer and the specs are good so i paid much lesser than i would in lee hwa or soo kee. plus, these shops don't carry 0.9 ct.

haha i'm sure it'll be a beautiful memory CSI! Hopefully we'll all still be here to share! Then we can set up a thread for: "Catholic Past Brides, Now happy married!"

jklim4642

CSI fan, thanks for your concerns. MIL is still the same, in &amp; out of hospital. before wedding, she went for an op at the spine.. ie, inject cement into the fracture.. 2 wks ago, she went for another of such spinal procedure. well, that is on top of 3x weekly dialysis cost and ex medicine cost. HB &amp; the SIL are paying for all these...

my prority now is to start a family, ie have a baby... guess that wld be the best present for my MIL too.

snowball05

Hi CSI,
Haha, I used to go to those priests that are really old for confessions or really nice like Fr Arro when I was in school cos if they are damn old usually the penance very standard one! :p

skinnybeany

anyone knows what's the procedures is like for couples who have already ROM then get married in church.

am wondering if we need to take out our rings &amp; then after saying vows &amp; I DO again, wear it back?

hi junie,

yes u can... just that you need not do the actual signing of ROM cert in the church premise.. the rest of the procedure still remain..

nevermyne

Hi everyone. I'm new to this thread. My AD will be on 30 June 07 at OLPS church. The priest will be Fr Gregoire.

Does anyone have a copy of the mass booklet that they can show me as a sample ?

Is it true that the readings chosen need not be from the prescribed list of readings ?? Will I be able to choose from passages that I like ?

Also, does anyone know if OLPS is very "strict" about using "commercial" songs during the wedding mass ?

Any help would be appreciated

hi junie,

yah.. cos the exchanging of rings is a ceremony mah

hi nevermyne,

u can PM me and i can send you via email...

readings have to be from the 'recommended standard list', but there are alot of readings for you to choose from... and no you can't choose from those that you like...

as for commercial songs, try to go for classical rather than commercial cos ultimately, the ceremony is in a church..

jklim4642

jungle... i have my soleminsation in church. but i do not hv a ring pillow.. do it is not a must to hv a ring pillow.. do something different.. dun hv to follow the norms.

jklim4642

nevermyne, ultimately, your booklet has to clear the priest soleminisation your wedding. some priest is more open &amp; flexible than some. eg my Responsorial Psalm was sung.. my BIL was surprised when i passed him the booklet a wk before the AD.. he was the first reader.. he said, thats not the norms.. btw, he is quite holy and asked me if i hv cleared with the priest. our priest is very chin chye one.. he never change a single paragraph in my booklet. the couple who wed before us had another priest... she had to do so much changes (and more than once) until she did not understand why! esp when she copied her booklet from her bro's wedding 6 mths ago.

so, ulitmately, your priest has the final say. u know, our priest was so funny until he created so much laughter during the wedding church service... i was surprised that he cld actually crack jokes in such a serious environment amidst all the prayers &amp; singing.. he is good... even my guests told me that he was funny! am glad to hv him as a soleminser.. it was a breeze everything.. booklet he saw 1st time, said okie. he has no objections to the design of my wedding gown.. etc etc.. he told me, the most impt thing is the couple must be happy.

jen02

Hi girl,
Anyone can teach me how to make a Mass Booklet? U DIY it urself or find a printing company to do it? Must i show the sample of the mass booklet to my priest before i print it out?

jklim4642

oh ya, i had lighting of the matrimonial candle too. i understand that is is not common these days. but then, he was fine with it.. and am glad we had that.. it was so pretty &amp; romantic... 2 lighted candles, light 1 big candle... meaning 2 individuals are now united together as ONE

i still kept the 2 small candles &amp; big candle... so pretty

nevermyne

diamond thanks for the advice ! I'll keep the points in mind when I'm doing up mine. I heard that my priest also quite chin chye but I just wanted to be sure.

nevermyne

hi bride I have visited the website before &amp; I've bookmarked it for use. Just wanted to check to see that the "style" in Singapore is the same as in Ireland. Thanks for the tip too !

lyons

<font color="119911">hi nevermyne, glad the website is useful. But do take not that not everything will be the same. I like this website because you can choose between a few readings for first, second and gospel readings.</font>