Catholic Brides

crescent

hi junie!
my AD is on 20 Oct 07 too! i'm having it at Risen Christ.

for mass booklet, i have done already... hehehehe.... but still need the priest to approve.

adel23

hi junie
i had mine at SFX as well this month...its a very beautiful church hence minimal floral deco is required.. i engaged the church florist vincent.. YES, please call now to book philip lye, i booked him a year before , he is very popular..
lyons,
as for the choir, someone on this thread mentioned they are expensive, 1000 if im not mistaken, they are an award winning one(browse thru the archives for more info)

The church has got an organist as well..... think she is called mabel...
as for mass booklets , i started doing mine 2 months before the wedding and started printing about 1-2 weeks before... its good to start early as you need to send it to the priest and philip for checks...
all the best!

skinnybeany

tks ladies!

I don't even intend to do any decor in the church cuz it's already very nice on its own

adel>> were all lights in the church switched on during your wedding? Cuz my sis had hers last yr @ SFX & they only on the front rows and the place looked kinda dark.

lyons>> R U getting Fr Ho to preside over your wedding? Cuz Fr Ho said he has a few for Oct 2007, hehee.

Not getting the choir. Very much out of my budget & I want to keep it simple.

adel23

junie,
errr... i cant remember cos i was too preoccupied with not falling, but SFX has many windows with natural light coming in so maybe they might not have switched it on, but no problem, if you want all lights on then make sure you get your helper to inform the church sacristan catherine or francis on the actual day..

diamond,
he charged me 500 plus for 16 pews, alter flowers, bridal chairs deco, lectern deco and unity candle arrangment...

jklim4642

adel, thanks for the information. that is quite ex... i got it much cheaper for the same deco that you had from outside florist.

skinnybeany

diamond>> which florist are u using?

i'm not doing any decor but if it's not too ex, i may consider.

can you PM me the contacts?

much thanks!

klesis1

I'm new, can anyone let me know how to "PM"? I'm trying to contact moninet re: the organza decor. Also getting married in holy family! Thanks!

klesis1

whoops I figured the "PM" thing... BTW is anyone here having mass at 2pm? I was wondering whether to have a reception after that at all, cos it's fairly close to dinner, and everyone will prob be late for dinner if we have a reception! any opinions? can anyone pls share your mass booklet soft copy with me? Do PM me if u are willing... thanks!!

hi klesis,

if you are having a mass at 2pm, its still better for you to have a tea reception... yes its fairly close to dinner but afterall, a reception is still necessary...

jklim4642

klesis, the couple getting married before us on the same day is not having any reception. instead, they will be going home for tea ceremony as they stay nearby. maybe there is no hard & fast rule... beats me

kitty_li

hey klesis,

I think it also largely depends on your crowd. If it's a small group of guests (esp mostly family), perhaps you can do away with the reception. Just do some small gift for them (eg. chcolates wrapped in nice tissue wrapper, or apples with those "Thank You" tags). My fren had a really small group (think it was 20 pple). She just gave out chocolates and the mass booklets. There was no reception...

klesis,
I guess it's entirely up to you as to whether you want a reception or not. Rather, it may be your parents' wishes to have a reception. That's what happened to me. I didn't think I needed a reception, but my mom insisted with her "How can invite people to wedding and no reception?!"

babyfifi

bbp... your mum thinks like mine...

I also thought I could do away with the reception or at most have a very small one with just drinks and chocs. But I got vetoed and now I'm having my wedding over 2 days... 1 days just for the church ceremony and reception...

skinnybeany

i thought of buying nice color papers and DIY myself (i.e. print from office...SSsshh, hehee) since I think the qty is not a lot.

Fifi>> yup, good to include the map of your church location for guests who do not know how to get there.

i'm intending to do that too

shinem

my wedding is in january. now i m vexed over the printing mass booklet. anyone noe of any printer who can get mass booklet printed at about $1? or is tat bgt too low?

having a tight budget so dun wana spend too much.

tot of DIY but the papers are not cheap too and no where to get good printers to print myself.

any advise or suggestions?

Thanx.

kitty_li

Hi Fifi,
map is for invites...think the mis-comm arose when everyone was talking abt mass booklets when Diamond started abt the maps. But she was probably trying to inform what else she DIY-ed.

Hi Shine,
erm, I think $1 is a bit too low. I mean, our mass booklets is ard 24 pages. Well, maybe if yours is a service, it might be less? My friend's service was 16 pages...so that's like 4 A4 pieces. So shd be less than $1.

jklim4642

shine, u may want to get papers from paper suppliers @ "fancy papers", located at North Bridge Road Centre. 1 rim of papers for printing can get abt 10 bucks (500 pieces).. they sell other types of good quality papers at as cheap as 10cent/piece , u can use that for making invites.

babyfifi

Hey how do you all get your maps? Draw? Or download from web?

About booklets hor, how do you all make it booklet style (i.e. the settings, margins)

kitty_li

Hi Fifi,
maps ah...I drew using MS Word.

Booklets...u can use MS Publisher or MS Word. MS Publisher...just follow te steps for new publication, I guess. I used Word. Under page settings, I used "Book Fold" settings, and adjusted from there. Then I converted to PDF format and printed it lah.

mudpie1222

Just happen to browse through your conversation.

Fyi, if you require to use the map, you can download from the website, but need to seek approval frm the authority to use it for printing & distribution. It's a very simple procedure, just send an email to the authority that's all, they would reply to your mail with approval.

jklim4642

fifi, i draw the map using microsoft viso software which has the map drawing function.

church booklet, i use microsoft word to do also

shinem

Hi CSI Fan and Diamond,

Mine booklet is about 16 pages. Not a service but somehow manage to squeeze everything to 16 pages.
Thank you. i will have a look at the papers @ Fancy Papers. Thanks.

skinnybeany

hi CSI Fan,

I tried to find Book Fold under MS Word but can't seem to locate it. Can you kindly let me know under which header can I find that in?

Is it under the Page Setup of FILE header?
Tks!

tanjanne

Hello everyone,

I am new here and have full load of questions..

Anyone here held their wedding/ lunch at St Anne's Church in Sengkang?

What are the necessary booking fees and cost to engage the choir?

Many thanks!

regards, Jo

kitty_li

Hi Junie,

It's under "File" -> "Page Setup". Margins tab.
Under the Margins tab, there's <font color="0000ff">"margins"</font>, <font color="0000ff">"orientation"</font>, <font color="0000ff">"pages"</font> &amp; <font color="0000ff">"preview"</font>. Under <font color="0000ff">"pages"</font>, click on the drop down thingy and select "Book Fold".

Hi Fifi,
Margins-wise, I'm not too sure myself. It was trial and error for me. But I think you might have to adjust the Gutter margins (that's for the middle part of the book). My comp's default settings is for the margins to be 0mm. Think it has to be more than that...

lyons

hi girls, you girls want to make a table to compile simple details like this?

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Priest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Florist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

rabbit10

Hi Diamond, so you will be having a service?
I will be having a service too as my fiancee is not a catholic. Have you done the rehearsal?
What to look out for? I kindof stressed up coz the priest is not in town and my big day is drawing near.

hi bride,

nope... its fine.... maybe topics that are covered were already discussed betweeen you and your FH and MPC is like an reinforcement...

kitty_li

hey bride,
Nah, I don't think it's ever too late...better to attend before marriage than not, and then get married...(unless you were thinking of attending EE?)

princess_lee

i have a few questions to ask the brides here. hope you all can help me.

1)if home church is booked on our date, can we do it in somewhere else. eg. non-church places like ACM?

2)is it a must to attend the marriage preparation course?

lyons

hi evian, i think catholics must be married in a catholic church in order for it to be recognised by the church. You can look for alternative catholic churches. Places like ACM cannot celebrate mass and give out holy communion.

It is a must to attend MPC if you want to marry in a catholic church

kitty_li

hi evian,
(1) Nope, can't do it in non-church places...unless you can get ur priest to agree. But don't think they will agree...

(2) Yes. Either MPC or EE. But can also be priest dependent. Coz I know of 1 couple that didn't attend. Best to check with the priest celebrating your mass/service...

jklim4642

CSI, some priest allows. At least I know our priest does. he said he will do soleminsation outside the church environment... he quite chinchye one.

sea_blue

I never had friends having it outside the church. But it was one question that I asked quite a number of my catholic friends too. And everyone told me no.

So whether it can be held outside or not depends on the priest?

kyrieleison

Hi girls!

Can i check with you with regards to what we need to bring when collecting our certs from ROM?

It states in the efiling instructions that we need to have a copy of the solemniser's consent form. However, when I asked the priest from my church, he mentioned that we only need his license no.

Did you girls need any consent form?

adel23

kyrie
when you collect your certs from ROM, you need a copy of both your witness's ic ,your FH and your original ic. and yes, you def need a consent form, at least that was the case for mine. You can go to the ROM website verify again.

kitty_li

hi kyrie,

hehs...what was the question you put forth to the priest? Guess sometimes it depends on how the question was asked...

Yes, you definitely need the consent form. Not sure if the ROM officer will refuse to give you your cert if you turn up without the consent form, but it happened to my friend...and they took a really long time to get their cert (not sure what happened there...they didn't go into the details when telling us their story. They just kept reminding us to bring consent form! haha). The whole process (excl. waiting time) shd take about 7 min (incl. making declaration), but the friend who didn't bring the form, it took them 30min.

Just print out the form and pass it to the priest to sign. If really dun need, the priest won't sign either...hehs. But otherwise, he'll just take and sign. You only need his license no. when doing the efiling (and when filling up consent form). Subsequently, they dun ask for his license no. any more. Maybe the priest thot that you were referring to the efiling, and not the collection of documents (VD/SD).

jessi

has any of you done your ROM solemisation together with your church wedding? what are the difference in the procedures during the wedding?