Catholic Brides

tarepiggy

Hi ladies! It's been a long long while since i joined in this forum.

My 2-cents worth on the ang pows issue okie... i've been lector for 2 wedding masses this year, both occassions i do not know the couples very well but because their relative/fren (whom i know pretty well) invited me to help, i happily agreed since i'm a lector in my church + i happened to be free on the wedding dates too + i really feel happy to be able to contribute to the joy of the couples on their Big Day. The AP i got was $4 & $20 respectively, but to be honest, when I agreed to help in the 1st place, I didn't expect any returns, so to me, the APs were merely a gesture of token from the couples to show their appreciation for me.

Another time 3 of us colleagues helped another colleague to do up the floral decorations in her church. My colleague was very grateful to us & gave us AP of $100 each, which we found was too much a token. To us, we felt that we had a great deal of fun the night before doing all the floral arrangements & the sense of satisfaction to see the final product of the church done up beautifully for our colleague bride already made our day! So in the end after her wedding, we used the AP $ and bought gifts for her new house.

Hence I guess we don't have to really worry about the amount in the APs we give to helper-frens cos I'm sure true frens will be more than happy & willing to help & join in the fun! They won't be calculative one lah ...hee

adel23

mudpie, well said!
im putting up the ang pow list as well for helpers... thanks for your insight!

kitty_li

yup, tarepiggy,
agree with you!

but some gals have frens [frens who have had church weddings], who have told them a certain market rate to follow for AP...

Impt thing is to give within your budget, and not feel compelled by it lah...

cornwall

Hi Mudpie

Yea well said... I am sincerely thankful for friends who offered to help me. My big day is just 1 wk away!! Hope everythign will go fine...

kitty_li

diamond,
not sure what's the point that you're making...but I was suggesting the Novena sessions u and ur FH can go...to pray for your FMIL, that nothing is wrong with her bones. Novena sessions are half hour (at every hour), every Sat. It's believed that after 9 consecutive weeks, prayers are answered. So, just thought you guys might want to try that.

este

hi Adel & minssy, thanks alot for your advice!
have discussed it with my fiance & he also thinks that its more convenient to have the lunch recept in the church hall...I've not discussed this with my parents yet, but I'm pretty confident that they are ok with our decision, it's my in-laws that I'm worried about, though fiance promised that he will handle that *whew!
Adel, when's your AD?

adel23

No problem Este.

My AD is 11 nov, which is 2 weeks away! excited...
im having my tea ceremony at the church hall after the lunch reception ,this means relatives and friends can take their time to have lunch and mingle while we go home to change and return for tea . Took a bit of convincing on my part that its more practical this way as our dinner is on the same night. Good that your fiance is doing the convincing. Just have to lay out the facts to them.. all the best!

roidana

my AD is the coming sat!!! *scared*
was planning pew cards for the key people... Need your comments on the following:

1) Groom standing on the alter - Groom usualy stand on the right side or the left side? (facing the alter)

2) the groom's family and frens on the right side of the church (facing the alter)? Or is there no standard and up to individual instead?

thanks a mil girls!

hi roidana,

relax

1) man is always right, on the right i mean :p

2) no standard.. family, bestman & brdesmaid usually take the first row..

adel23

haha minssy, your "man is always right" so funny.... anyways something to ask you gals,
i have 3 bridesmaids walking ahead followed by myself and dad... i was thinking of waiting for the 3rd bridesmaid to reach the alter before the doors are opened for us.. is that all right? or has it got to be a continous procession?

hi adel,

technically its nicer to be continous else having too long a break in between may be a little weird for the guests...

kitty_li

hi adel, I guess it depends also on how long ur aisle is...and you might want to consider using a different music for when u walk in, so that it sort of creates a separation, kinda thing. May be more grand too...heehee...Continuous music and continuous flow is nice too, but if aisle too long, the "break" (like minssy said) may be too long...

roidana

haha.. minssy! man is always right.. hahaahah

ring bearer--> flower girl--> bridesmaid--> moi and daddy.. start moving every 8 beats into the song. haha... so will be walking together... St Anne's aisle veyr long.. so have to walk together..

hi roidana,

then you will not forget mah
even when your dad pass your hand to the groom, the groom will be on your right throughout..

roidana

minssy, thanks! finally things are starting to fall into place after i allocate all the tasks to be trusty helpers... thank God

hi roidana,

yup... i think i am being naggy but i gotta say it again.. just let your helpers do everything! try not to even make any decisions on that day... its YOUR day so be pretty and enjoy! kekeke

adel23

Thanks ya all!! Okie will go with the continous flow then... sounds more logical...
another thing... if i have no kid carrying the ring pillow, can i ask the first bridesmaid going in to carry? or no need and just leave the rings with best man?

crescent

just check with those who are having a inter-faith marriage in church.

During the exchange of rings, this is often used:
[Bride/Groom], take this ring
as a sign of my love and fidelity
*In the name of the Father, and of the Son,
and of the Holy Spirit*.

I find that the words between the * are not suitable for me as my FH is non-catholic.

Can anyone advice on that?
whether can change the words, or wat to put?

Thanks a millions!!

hi adel,

a.... either way also can....

hi crescent,

its ok one..... these are standard phrasings.. i also said the same thing :p

moninet

i've got some organza deco from my church wedding, anyone interested to buy over? it's baby blue & the deco was for holy family church's pews & stairs. but if untie the ribbons, will be able to fit any church.. oso, there's car deco - fake baby blue roses & blue organza..

do PM me if you're keen & i'll email the pics & price to you..

amoeba8888

crescent,
you can opt to remove the in the name of the father bit. i just got married to a non catholic - my husband was very uncomfortable saying that phrase as well. we spoke to the priest who said he did not have to say it. i did thou.

krystal80

hi ladies, any one have reccomendations for florists for SFX?

Also, any SFX brides? Can someone tell me if seat covers are necessary or can I just have like cloths to "dress up" the chair? And is there like a changing room/waiting room?

Many many thanks!!

cornwall

Hello Gals
I just had my wedding at IHM and it was great..- mass, the reception, music entertainment and my guests enjoyed themselves.
everything went well and I wish to thank everyone on this forum for the indispensable advice and exchange during the past 6 months of wedding preparation.

For those who are in the midst of planning, all the best and God bless. Be open to some minor hiccups but just relax and be radiant.

hi cg,

glad it went well
its been 1 year since my wedding and i am still missing it! hee..

hi andrea,

there are a few SFX brides.. the florist stuff has been discussed.. maybe you can spend some good moments and read the past few archives and there will be alot of info for you

hi roidana,

hey how was your AD last weekend?

hi csi fan & petrina,

yours are coming up.... lets count down! kekeke...

kitty_li

Hey minssy,
yap....counting down...
so busy with so much work lately...aiyoh....
been enjoying the preps so much, I dun really want the AD to come! hahahaha.....

adel23

hi hi... my AD this coming sat... excited and nervous and scared at the same time, still some nitty gritty stuff to settle.. stressed.. but praying hard for inner peace so i will be more calm.. heh...
will be passing the rings to the best man, thought quite strange for bridesmaid to carry in.. haha..
hi andrea, i engaged the church florist , rates are reasonable and the church provides simple cloth covers for the chairs as apparently the chairs are in a ghastly red colour! haha...
counting down to my DAY....

krystal80

adel, thanks! Congrats on ur big day!!

ladies, sorry for asking this qn.
Given that Dec is the season of advent, is there anything I need to take note for the hymn/reading choices?

chick77

Hi CG, congrats..can share yr IHM pics pls? Me getting married there next year..so jus KPO as to how the decor and all looked like :)

cornwall

Hi Mudpie,
Yes I did have it in the Multipurpose hall..
The caterer did a brilliant job in converting the place from a badminton hall to a nice lunch reception place. I also had a string trio to add to the atmosphere..
Thank God its all over and I can happily go live a new married life now

All the best for your big day .

cornwall

Hello Mudpie
I used Mum's Kitchen cos they did many receptions at IHM and food is good too.

May you have a lovely wedding celebration and God bless,

roidana

Hi girls.. had be wedding on 4 nov.. it was fun being a bride... and thanks to all you here who in one way or another, helped to make the day possible!

adel23

Hi gals! My AD was last sat 11 nov... it was a very tiring but memorable day!!! OH one thing... remember to remind your FH to bring perfume cos mine forgot and he sweat buckets during the gatecrashing and was not exactly very nice smelling during the church ceremony... haha.... something to remember anyhow...
Philip Lye was wonderful, he has such a deep and beautiful voice (thanks minssy for recommending him and for CJS as well) CJS our caterer was punctual and our guests liked the food from there as well...
There were a few hiccups here and there but all in all it was a good day...
Thank you all in this thread for your advice and expertise... i will come in once in all to offer any help as well.

elven_princess

I need an organist urgently for my wedding service on 8 Dec. Any freelancers u gals noe who are available that day? Just realised my church is using an organ so the pianist i originally engaged to help cant play cos' we thought the church is using an electric piano.
Pls PM me or email me [email protected] Appreciate all your help! God bless

hi adel,

welcome and glad things went well

hi elven,

u can call philip lye.. i dun have his number off hand.. u can do a search in this thread using the search function..

skinnybeany

hi fellow Catholics BTB!

My AD will be on 20 Oct 2007 & will be held @ SFX.

Not sure if it's too early to look for an organist or to contact Philip Lye to 'book' him.

Any ideas by when should I be printing or doing the mass booklets?

I'm still very lost on this! argh!

lyons

hi junie! my wedding is also at SFX, one week after yours
Looks like SFX is a popular choice eh? You'll be getting Philip Lye? Not the church choir?

hi junie,

book philip now in case he is already booked.

mass booklets takes a while to do... if you can, start reading up and compiling info on mass booklets...