Catholic Brides

cornwall

Hi Minssy and CSI
hmmn,,,Ya I too tak boleh tahan when ppl jump into conclusions. Anyway , need yr advice again.

Just want to ask how long the phototaking in church normally takes after the wedding mass ends or how much time did you allocate based on experience?

I think it will be quite impossible to take photos at the church sanctuary with every single guest so I intend to just single out photo taking sessions with immediate family, relatives + close colleagues and friends( both sides).

Your input appreciated. I intend to send remaining guests over to the reception for drinks refreshments before lunch starts.

Your inputs appreciated.

hi CG,

it will take abt 15 - 20 mins so so.. we go by groups....i suggest the below... of cos feel free to expand depending on family size... u need a brother/someone to announce the groups. photo taking is normally done after you re march in again....

1) bride & groom with priest
2) groom's family and relatives
3) bride's family and relatives
4) groom's parents’ friends
5) bride's parents’ friends
6) groom's friends & colleagues
7) bride's friends & colleagues

others:
1) with jiemeis & bros
2) with PG/VG/choir/soloist

cornwall

Hi MInssy

Ok i jsut wrote what u said down in my wedding program. 15-20 mins... that is not too long a wait. :p

My friend is going to help announce the order of the photo taking.

Thanks a million! We need more " guardian angels" like you around.

:D

hi cg,

cool!
yah get the announcer to say something like 'before we proceed for the lunch reception, we would like to invites guests to take photos with the wedding couple... '

kitty_li

hi minssy, CG...

heehee...was on leave yesterday (painting the home) so didn't log on to internet.

Hehs, we must be full by now, with all that food for thought. muahahaha...but yah...I also buay tahan. Ok lah, sometimes I also jump to conclusions...but if I "jumped" wrongly, would quickly come out and apologise...only right mah.

For the order of photography...my list is quite similar to Minssy's. Depending on the groups of guests you're inviting, can single some out from the general "Friends" category too...coz I've heard comments at other frens' weddings before..."wah, we're under the "Friends" category ah? There's a nice bunch of us here to be 1 group, why put us together with her other friends?" or "Eh, we are known as "Other friends" worh..." Those kind of comments lah. So you might want to put that at the back of your mind...

cornwall

Hello CSI
OK.. thanks for your insigth.
Think maybe can name them as XXX sec school friends, or XXX company colleagues, or XXX church friends etc

hi csi fan,

hahahah! yah lor yah lor.. ultra full from the food for thoughts... so much 'food'! such indigestible food should not exist.. hahahaahhah!

hi CG,

haha if like that got good & bad: u will take up a very long time for photos cos getting pple to go up and take photos and coming down takes time... then what abt any misc friends.. abit hard also.... but up to you.. u can plan nearer to date when the bigger things are more finalised...

krystal80

hi ladies, need some help.
Can someone tell me if the couple is supposed to sit on chairs in front of the altar? coz I saw someone's wedding mass photos and they were like that.

If that's the case, then how to get the chairs and the seat covers and stuff? thanks for teh help!!

kitty_li

Hi andrea,

erm, when you engage ur florist to do the deco, usually you would have asked for chairs deco too...then it would be taken care of there. Otherwise, approach your caterer. Or, ask the parish secretary.

krystal80

hi CSI, like that I need I need to ask the parish sec coz I not having caterer or florist to do church deco for me. My frens very sweetly offered to do ribbons decor for my wedding =)

lyons

sorry minssy, i didn't know the green colour is so striking... hey diamond, thanks for your advice on having a couple before us. I hope the couple before us can vacate the church before us but when I asked the secretariat if they have to vacate the carpark before my guests come in, she said no need! But how is that possible if we each have 200 guests, for example? The carpark big enough? Sigh... actually I REALLY REALLY like church of the nativity but no aircon, scared too hot...

teacup

ladies, need some advise. if the church is only available for mass in the afternoon at 3pm,(morning is already booked) how will the day's schedule be like?

hi andrea,

yes its like that.. the church will definitely have such chairs for couples... just make sure the florist/your church coordinator get it from the secretariat if they did not prepare in advance...

the 'seat covers' are normally part of the package in a church florist package by florist in general...

in your case, your friends need to get some sash or decorate the chairs themselves...

hi bride,

hahahahahh! no offence
just that posters here generally go by the default :p

hi tea,

you need to spilt the dinner, if you are having.. i suggest:
9am - fetch bride
1030 - go to groom's place for tea ceremony
1130 - go back to your place for tea ceremony
1230 - simple lunch reception at your place (cos its lunch time)
130 - go to church to standby

i am sure you have more than enough time to go to your own place (if you already have one), or back to ILs place, whichever your new home is...

lyons

hey tea, i've got a feeling which church you're talking about... heh heh... which church will you be holding your wedding in?

jklim4642

bride, SFX has plenty carpark place. if u notice, after than those parking areas outside the church hall, it also has a basement carpark. not forgetting that the guests can also park along the road. so, dun complain anymore la.. compared to other churches, SFX is good already. anyhow, let your guests ownself go settle the parking thingie. no lot, then park further away & walk. isnt that common for church wedding?

mudpie1222

Hope someone can advise. Is it okay not to have bridesmaids for the church ceremony? Maybe just the Pageboy & flowergirl

cornwall

Hi Mudpie
I remembered you are getting married at IHM.Yes its ok not to have bridesmaids and Page boy+ flower girl.

Its really all up to you whether you want to have or not , or whatever number, if you wish. I am having 3 page boys, 2 flower girls+ 1 bridesmaid.

mudpie1222

Hi CG,

Thank you so much for responding.

Yes, so glad you can remember me. I'm just tossing the idea of having or not having the bridesmaids/matron-of-honour. Cause I realised that it's such a hassle. It's just so much easier to deal with children. You don't hve to worry if they are happy with the clothes or dress you pick for them and etc.

But, just wondering, now that my wedding is about 1 1/2 month away, is it okay to tell the girls that I'm not going to have any bridesmaids/matron-of-honour? Not sure if they will be offended.

cornwall

Hi Mudpie

I think i saw you in the Silhoutte thread too :D I signed up with Minda as well and my wedding is gg to be in Nov.

I am not really sure about the temperament of your friends so I advise you to exercise discretion here. Unless they can be potentially petty and get upset, I think you can go ahead and tell them you want things simpler, hence dont need bridesmaid.

I suggest you just get the parents of the kids to buy clothes and then you reimburse them as it will make your life much easier.

gakune

i'm a catholic BTB nx year and would be grateful for any advice pertaining to the church wedding. Got to know that another couple has booked their wedding at 10am. As such, i'll start mine at 12.30pm..

Thanks to Roidana for the excel file. Definitely a great help. I'm really blank about church wedding you see..

Thanks to

jklim4642

mudpie, it is not necessary to deal with children than bridesmaids. well, it is not easy to ensure that the children will "behave" that day... also, some may even have stage fright & start to wail.... is too common.

anyhow, it is your choice on whether to hv bridesmaid/page boys/flower girls.

lyons

hey mudpie,

just a thought... my friend's wedding the flower girl last minute scared of crowds so in the end never walk down. Quite pai seh... but it's ok if your flower girls are older cos hers was just 3 so maybe that's why.

hazuki

Hi all catholic brides... I also a catholic BTB... Holding my ceremony @ Blessed Sacrament Church. As I am new to this thread, could anyone refresh the thread by kindly informing me what I shld do on the day of the ceremony? I already saved the excel file. So that wouldn't be necessary. My wedding is on a weekday so I am very worried nobody will come to my wedding... Church will look very empty. sob sob

jklim4642

bride, the thing is page boys & flower girls have to be young kids.. then is nice leh... at least is what i think...

i am having a bridemaid, aka my sister. even though is my own baby sis, i still hv to bring her there & she must like it before i buy it for her!

usually wat most brides do is either to tell their bridemaids, the colour theme & their budget & get them to go & buy their own.

how to buy it for them? all different built, differnt height, different body shapes. wat looks nice on 1 bridemaid may not look nice on another bridemaid. we brides wan to look pretty & at our best. our bridemaids are wan wat. be fair to them la :p

hi petrina,

1) this is a forum so no one will refresh the tread by informing you what you should do.. as a BTB, you need to proactively read up and pick up notes from there

2) my wedding was on a weekday.. turn out was basically some relatives + closer friends.. actual attendance was prob under 60? but mine was in a chapel so its still fine
if yours is a big church, you need to get your ushers to direct guests to sit where there are pew ribbons (which is normally 20 rows with 10 on the left & 10 on the right). then at least the crowd will be within that certain area so it makes attendance fuller.

mudpie1222

Hey girls,

Thank you so much for all your valuable advise. My problem with the bridesmaid thing is with my own sister, the rest of them, whom are my close friends have got no problem. In fact, mentioned to my sis that if she is not comfortable wearing the dress, it would be okay for me that she just help out but not as bridesmaid. Anyhow, told my mum about it, and she mentioned that she may get angry. Well, will see how to put it across to her then.

As for the pageboy & flower girl, think it's not much of a problem, cause the pageboy is already 6yrs old and the girl guess about 5yrs. So no issue.

Thank you so much once again.

mudpie1222

Hey girls,

Thank you so much for all your valuable advise. My problem with the bridesmaid thing is with my own sister, the rest of them, whom are my close friends have got no problem. In fact, mentioned to my sis that if she is not comfortable wearing the dress, it would be okay for me that she just help out but not as bridesmaid. Anyhow, told my mum about it, and she mentioned that she may get angry. Well, will see how to put it across to her then.

As for the pageboy & flower girl, think it's not much of a problem, cause the pageboy is already 6yrs old and the girl guess about 5yrs. So no issue.

Thank you so much once again. Enjoy your wedding prep.

mudpie1222

So sorry, double click the button accidently.

CG, yes, I'm with Sil too. So, since your wedding is in Nov, you should have had your last fitting and also PS right? Hope e'rything went well.

kitty_li

hi mudpie,

Long time no see...in this thread at least. hehs...You back in SGP already?

Well, u enjoy your preps too...

cornwall

Hi mudpie

My bridesmaid wil also be my sister too.. heh heh. Actually she didnt want to be one but I " forced" her and tailor made a dress in a design she choose.

My fitting is in 2-3 wks time (Minda did a good job
! )and PS is few days before the wedding as my hubby will be back in SG only 1 wk before. Hence the mad rush..

Still typing my wedding day program..

teacup

Hi Minssy, thanks for the suggested schedule. i will probably use that. So glad my mum allows me to have the church wedding in the afternoon. Phew. a load off my mind.

jklim4642

Minssy, so u have a sample of the cover for your wedding booklet? if so, can email me? thanks

CG, my sis is a tomboy. she does not wear dress/skirt. but for my wedding, she will allow an exception. i even told her that she has to go for mani & pedicure together with me & my mum.. also, she is quite hairy... must go for waxing also.. she also fainted when i told her all these... but she is very accomodating, for my sake she will do it.. anyhow, am paying

mudpie1222

CG,
Good to know that e'rything went well. But isn't it kind of rush to have your PS so late?? Will the pics be ready in time for your wedding?

Hi CSI,
Yes, it's been a long time since we interact. Anyway, have been really busy with the wedding prep and also the move back to Singapore. Therefore, didn't come in much. How's your prep coming along? Hope e'rything's in place.

roidana

Hi alice, no worries.. you shd thank Minssy, she did the checklist! i just shared the info i picked up from the forum....

Hi Minssy, My wedding is in 3 weeks time... both hb and myself getting into jitters now.. pre-wedding blues? too many things to handle on top of changing jobs and busy jobs? I dont know.. abit disillusioned now... scared.. it's like.. i;ve got everything under control, yet not everything undercontrol that kind of feeling.. ok.. dont know what i am talking abt already...

roidana

Oh btw minssy, would you please share with me your actual day schedule? Worried that i might have missed something out in mine... *worried*

hi bride,

EE is more popular cos its a 'crash course' of only friday evening to sunday evening..

MPC is over 6 sunday mornings...

the topics discussed is similar BUT MPC will be more detailed.. bcos the group is smaller, there will be more talking amoung couples.. EE is will kinda lesser.. there will definitely still be communications but in a different way....

i think 1 of 2 BTBs here attended both.... see if they are here to share their exp.. else you can go to veritas.org.sg to understand more..

cornwall

Hi Diamond
Maybe I can help. If you have not ROM before the wedding, you will probably have to bring your ICs for verification and checking against the ROM cert. Its best to double check with the priest who is effectively both your legal and church solemniser that day.

Hey bride, I attended MPC and though long, my fiancee and I found it extremely enriching , informative and useful. I would recomend it if you have have time and the willingness to commit to sit thru all 6 sundays at SJI and the presenters homes, and finish the "homeworks" allocated to you.
Its definitely helpful start for marriage preparation.

Cheers, C