Catholic Brides

diamond,

yes... its preferred that readers are catholics since they are reading bible verses but if they are not, its still ok..

there are logistics things to be done, u need to ensure that the recep venue is done, caterer is there, flowers are all set up, recep table set up, ROM docs are sent to priest, sound system, wedding rings etc etc. u need to sit down & think of alot of logistics and make sure that someone is capable of ensuring the smooth running of the event.

kitty_li

if the event is simple enough, and food is the only major thing, then of course there's nothing to coordinate lorh. Perhaps the meaning of "ensuring the buffet is set up" includes ensuring that the recep venue is done, caterer arrives, flowers are set up, recep tables are set up...dunno lah.

Hmmm, just out of curiosity, if the couple already ROM, are there still ROM docs to pass to priest? Sorry ah, I dunno coz I haven't ROM yet mah. heehee...

jklim4642

minssy, i thought just have someone to ensure that the buffet & flower are set up will do. ROM docs can be given to the priest 1 day in advance isnt it? what sound system? no need wat.. the organist who is using that will ensure is so. ie, sound system belongs to the church.. nothing extra. as for wedding rings, it will be in my FH's pockets! wat else ah?

mudpie1222

I'll be hvg my wedding in IHM, just wondering if it's okay to just use CDs for the songs/music. Also, are anything else we need to prepare other than getting the florist to decorate the hall.

jklim4642

minssy, make it simple then everything is simple loh... this is why, we are not having any page boys & flower girls, for e.g. so, save the headache of having to coordinate them & risk them not listening to instructions on that day.. worse still have "stage fight" that day & start wailing away... ;P

kitty_li

diamond,
your wedding preps seem pretty ok. It seems that you've gotten yourself quite well prepared...you dun need this forum manz...you're better than most pple. Think we shd be asking u for advice. If only we can all think like you...life would be so much easier. Preps would be a breeze...guess some of us are just super ks. heehee...like me. muahahaha
ok, gotta take inspiration from the way diamond handles her preps....

roidana

Hi ladies, i was also wondering wad to prepare... then i found this checklist i downloaded some time back from this forum. I really cannot remember who was the great chap that attached it in here.. I have attach it again, for those who are lost... Serveds as a good guide for myself.. and thanks to the forumner that posted this in here last time! Cheers!
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Church Wedding Checklist
Church wedding checklist.xls (26.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

jklim4642

CSI, i no energy to do so much things myself la... &amp; i am the gancheong person, if going to have so many stuff on AD day, i will be so worried of this &amp; that until i cannot relax that day! check with u, our wedding is at 11am, before us, there is a couple getting married at 9am, wedding mass, followed by phototaking. but they hv no reception. do the florist have enough time to deco the church for us since the 9am couple will most likely finish at 1030am right? (see, this thing i also worry... so if i hv more things for that day, i will worry non-stop!!)

minssy, wats ur view on this huh? enough time for us? thanks girls!

jklim4642

CSI/Minssy, did you hand deliver your invite to your relatives?? my FH said he will send instead since his dad is no longer ard....

kitty_li

diamond,
seriously, I have no idea if your florist has enough time to deco the place...coz I'm not your florist. If it's me, I will tell you have enough time lah, coz I think can. But you'd better check with the florist lorh. Since you say you worry about this, shouldn't this be under your list of "things to coordinate"? You were asking what else to coordinate in one of your earlier posts...

kitty_li

Invites for relatives: Parents say they will settle for me. Guess it's up to you? If it's you, would you prefer to receive an invitation from your niece/nephew by hand or in the mail?

cornwall

Hey diamond
suggest that u can "share " your flower decors with the earlier couple so that your florist doesnt have to scramble to put it up in time for your wedding. Your florist will then have to put up the decor the night before?

Or if they already have their florist and decor, ask them if its ok you share.

In that way you dont have to worry about yr florist having lack of time and save $ too! :D

jklim4642

CSI &amp; CG, thanks.

CG, i have the same colour theme for my invite &amp; service booklet. thus, i wan my floral deco to have the same colour theme. actually wanted to share with the earlier couply, but what happens if the earlier couple at 9am has a colour theme in mind also? i sms the girl to tell her abt my colour theme &amp; i wld wan to get floral deco in the same colour.. she does not reply me..

the florist that am going is only charging 350 bucks for the whole package... so is not that ex even if i cannot share...

cornwall

Hi Diamond
I am sure you already have something nice in mind. Then it is too bad that the other couple didnt respond.
Actually its not just abt saving $ , more so to help ease yr worry and for the convenience. Esp if they dilly dally before you.

Unless you mind, try calling her again. If nothing, then its ok ..U just have to go with the flow of things./

jklim4642

CG, well, the couple at 9am knows that a couple has booked the 11am session when they did their booking. thus, is their choice to put it at 9am.

even if they dilly dally, i will just tell my florist to go ahead to do the floral deco latest by 1015am.... wat to do,my wedding has to start at 11am sharp wat

kitty_li

Something happened today, and this food for thought popped out:-
why are questions being asked, when the mindset is already fixed, or when the answer is already fixed in the mind before the question was asked?

Is this due to the insecurity of the human mind? Or is the mind trying to seek out better ways to approach the question? Or is it just simply a way of seeking approval for a particular approach, regardless how correct that approach may be...? Or miscommunication?

Quite interesting...how something can be understood in many ways.

Ok, just being weird today. Lots of thoughts in the mind...hehs.

hi csi fan,

hahhahahhahahah! i see it as assurance seeking from a 'i-am-a-tough-and-successful-career-professional-so-i-must-continue-to-be-tough' person.

roidana

Hi Minssy.. the list is yours??? hahah.. hope you dont mind me sharing it here as i do feel that quite a number of brides would be worried on what is not done yet.. *blush* and this list has been my church "bible" ever since i got hold of it... thanks a mil again!

And yes, CSI, I love your interpretation of that food for thought! haha

cornwall

Hi Minssy

You have been a great help to us with yr indispensable advice. Noticed also that you already got married last year and still bother to stick around this forum to give advice. Thanks for sharing!

kitty_li

Hi minssy, roidana...
hahaha. yeah, was in the mood for thinking yesterday. hahaha. Usually I dun think so much one. I guess to some extent, we are all guilty of that (the food for thought), once in a while. Only thing is...how often do we do it? and the level of "intensity" and how receptive we are of other people's view and ideas. heehee...

jklim4642

girls, NATAS fair starts tomorrow, 12pm. but, the natas rates are already out for booking. can just book with the agent directly at natas rates. then pick up the freebies tomorrow. no need to go squeeze with the crowds.

i faxed in my booking form just now &amp; my agent will do the reservation for me today. tomorrow then charge to the card for me to claim freebies. nice right?

roidana

CSI:- totally guilty. at certain times, re-assurance is required. haha...

Ah jo, finally got back to singapore. do provide me with your email addy so that i can send my mass booklet to you okie? *hope not too late*

chick77

Hi Minssy and roidana, can send me sample mass booklets please? my email is [email protected]

Hi CG, remember you having your wedding mass at IHM. Have you considered doing away with mass booklets and just using projector? Anyone else tried that before?

cornwall

Hello Chick
Yes I am having my wedding mass at IHm this november. To save trees &amp; $, I am not having mass booklets and relying on projector.
Our priest gave us the option not to have the mass booklets. You just have to appoint a friend that day to help you operate the system that will flash the mass slides on your wedding day.

Cheers, C

lyons

<font color="119911">hey diamond. I booked SFX too! But then hor, the couple before me 9am and I'm booked for 12pm earliest. Dunno why they don't allow me to book at 11am leh? Sigh... What do we do if they dilly dally ah? Really need your help here in terms of arranging the church wedding stuff...</font>

jklim4642

bride, the couple before me is also 9am. we booked earlier than them at 11am. i guest SFX allows the couple's 9am booking because they do not have a reception. thus, supposedly, their wedding will end at 10am, followed by photoshoot.

well, in my case, the couple has to vacate the place by 1030am. if we are not sharing the flowers, i will tell the florist to start deco at 1015am as my guests are to be seated at 1045am. to me is, every couple has to be aware when the next wedding session is &amp; vacate in time for the next couple.

the next couple after me is at 330pm, no reception also as they cannot make it in time for mass at 5pm!

chick77

Hi Minssy...Thanks very much for the booklets..

Hi CG, all the best..M with Fr Brian too, hope he doesnt move parish before my wedding!

cornwall

hello Chick
U can book him and in case he moves parish,you can stil invite him back to celebrate your wedding.
May God bless yr wedding preps

CG

lyons

<font color="119911">hey diamond, thanks for your advice. I've spoken to the secretariat over the phone and she said the florist thing can discuss later but should not be a problem cos the 9am mass should end by 10 and when they're in the canteen for recep, my florist can come in to put up the flowers. Problem is the reception area cos my mass will end at 1pm and I will need the recep area to be ready by then. I'm thinking of getting the caterer to setup at 12pm. The previous couple should be done by then (9-10am mass, 10-12pm recep, 2 hours more than enough right?), do you think so?

BTW, who is your florist? $350 seems very reasonable. Has this florist worked in SFX before?</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">hey minssy, you're a great help! Hope you'l be here to guide me closer to my date man... I'm panicking over the small things like diamond, so worried over things like time of mass, perks for the banquet, scared cannot get the photographer i want etc... aiyoh... *scratch head*</font>

jklim4642

bride, the 9am couple will not leave the church hall at 10am one, b'coz there wld be photo session. most of the time, the couple wld wan to take photos inside the church!
well, if u get the caterer to set up at 12pm, wat time can your guests proceed for lunch? your mass will start at 11am &amp; ends at 12pm, u cannot expect the guests to wait till 1215-1230pm for food right?

anyhow, for my case, i will get my caterer to set up food at 1030am &amp; hv someone to ensure that everything is in order... &amp; join in the celebration at 11am. am having a service, so it wld end at abt 1135am. photo session then lunch at 12pm latest

am not using the church's florist. too ex. am using the red petal. check out its website.

well, it does not matter if he has worked in the church or not. b'coz, i told him that he has to be there during our rehearsal. if so, then he will know how the church hall is like &amp; he can plan the deco.

u still hv not booked your AD photographer??!? u better book now, all the good ones are reserved long time ago

imel88

I know this amy sound kinda dumb but...I've already ROM in May and will be having my church wedding in Dec...so when we do the exchange of rings...I'm supposed to remove my wedding ring and let my husband put on for me all over again huh?

Seems so odd...hehehe!!

lyons

<font color="119911">hey diamond, oh, my mass starts at 12pm. Will you be using the canteen or hall? I'm only having about 100 persons so think the hall might be too big leh? Ok, will check out red petal's website. Thanks!

hey minssy, my AD's 27th oct 2007</font>

jklim4642

bride, church wedding is at the church hall (which can take up to 1000 guests). lunch reception is at the canteen.

u mean u wan to hv church wedding at the canteen?? gosh!!

hi shine,

welcome

hi bride,

can use normal color font anot ah? green is very striking leh..

27 oct 2007? haha. cant guarantee that i will be around but it has been abt 1 year since my AD.. i could still be hanging around here 1 year later :p

hi petrina,

paging for petrina secretary!! where are you? yoohoo!

hi csi,

sigh.. i have food for thought... sometimes i cant stand pple jumping to conclusions.. i regret helping certain pple, even though its provding advice..

hi bride,

oh! do take some time here to read the past archives a little bit to get a feel of the forumers here