Catholic Brides

catholic

I have sign up a package with Rasel for my church wedding in December.

We have decided to do away with our Church wedding cos my IL are not a Catholic or Christian.

I have check with my caterer and they are willing to accept any wedding booking with any prices so long as I can find someone to take over.

Have paid a deposit of $1000. Willing to transfer at $500.00

For sincere buyer buyer only.

I don't check this forum often. Please email me directly [email protected]

kappating

I have just attended the MPC with my fiance. We are glad to know about this course and we strongly encouraged engaged couples to attend it. It's a great experience.

agone

Hey Greentea, yeap you have to. you also have to give an angpow to the choir and the helpers in the church (if the church has a helper to unlock the church for you/ring the bell/clean up after your reception at the canteen etc)

Hi all, random question for everyone..at the start of the wedding mass, after your maid of honor walks in before you, where does she stand while you are walking down the aisle, and when does she sit down? Should she be waiting by the side then start walking to sit down only when my dad and I reach the front of the altar and my dad starts walking over to sit down too? Sorry..just realised I hadn't thought of this yet! lol..

purinne

hiya agon-e ... hmmm am just wonderin since we paid a sum for using the church choir ... wld we still need to give ang bao to them?

i also missed the MOH part ... haha ... gotta go ask ..

agone

hey purinne, hmm in that case probably not necessary to give an ang pow (but that's just my opinion) :p If you wanna be safe you can give a small ang pow I think? just as a polite gesture..

yeah i completely forgot about the MOH part too! also when do you walk in? do you start walking in after the MOH reaches the altar, or do you start walking in when she is at the halfway point from the entrance to the altar? what if you have flower girls, when does the MOH start walking behind them? sigh so many things i never thought about before..now all coming up..

purinne

hiya agon-e

thank u ... i mite do tat
... will discuss with bf

current plan is mi MOH will walk in before me ... once she reaches the mid of the walkway ... then i'll start to walk in
... not havin any flower gal

lawlipop77

I am also a Catholic BTB!

Hi agon-e, chanced upon your comment above. When my cousin got married, the MOH walked in first. When the MOH is somewhere in the middle of the aisle, then she started walking (with her dad) and the MOH continue walking until the front. When MOH reaches the front, she then stood at the side (in front of the 1st pew) until my cousin reached the front. She only went to her seat when everyone sits down. But to be honest, no one really looks at the MOH once the bride comes in. Sad to say.

agone

thanks so much purinne and lawlipop! haha okay yeah that makes sense, i guess the bride is the center of attention so it's not so bad if she sits down when everyone's seated :p

honey_greentea

I have a question...
For i am not having gate crushing b4 going to church, so the bridal car will come and fetch me to church right, then are my parents supposed to go with me in the bridal car? then how about the jiemeis? they wil meet me at the church or accompany me at my house then go to church together? exactly two months from now! arrghhhh...

krystal80

hi greentea,

i'm also not having gatecrashing n the bridal care will send me to the church....but because i'm renting the bridal car, part of the conditions of rental is tt the car is only meant to ferry the couple. So my parents will make their own way there.

I only have 2 jiemeis with me at my home while I get ready to help me along the way...the rest will make their way directly to church themselves and help out prepare with the xiong dis and other helpers

honey_greentea

Hi andrea, thanks!
i also only have two jiemeis accompanying me at my house leh.. so they will also go to church by themselves from ur house?
oh, never know that the bridal car only ferry the couple... i'm also renting bridal car loh. hmmm..

krystal80

hi greentea, one of my jiemei's hubby will drive them around =) So got "spare car" plus transport for the PG n VG....if not enough, I borrow xiong di to drive lor...hahaha

Hey Fay, I used weddingcars.sg...then I was reading the terms and conditions and came across the condition about only being meant for the couple's use

purinne

hiya greentea and andrea
... i din know bridal car is meant for the couple onli ... we intend to bring the maid of honour with me when i go to the church ... FH will be goin to church first to receive the guests ....

krystal80

hi purinne, just check with your rental company lor =)

hi fay, they very efficient and prompt which is what I like...can say so far so good lah =)

krystal80

purinne, if u borowed ur cousin's car, it's ok lah i think....=) mine is coz i rented so that was terms and conditions stated =)

honey_greentea

yea there'll be no restrictions if using private cars la..

Fay, for me i'm using the bridal car provided by the bridal shop lo...
so far they din say cannot ferry ppl other than the bridal couple... so i think i will get my parents to travel with me bah

agone

greentea: yup should not be a problem, you can do it outside the church near the porch area. couple of my girlfriends who had catholic wedding masses have done the same thing, but you can choose not to do so if you dont feel comfy :p

honey_greentea

Lalaa, bouquet tossing at the dinner? sounds cool huh ^_^

agon-e, i wish to toss the bouquet loh.. some of my frens already requested for it! (including guys! =P) haha.. it would be fun i think.. just that we must not dirty the church compound la..

agone

greentea: oooh no wonder..haha yea it is definately possible, i think if there is an outdoor compound/area right outside the church..thats where ive seen my friends throw theirs..

honey_greentea

angon-e & andrea & purinne, your PG/VG will start to take pics at the bride's place and grooms place first or straight away start their work only in the church? then have to go both the bride and the groom's hse to take pics ah?

krystal80

starting at bride and groom's place first then going to church =)

U can discuss the arrangements with the photographers...they would be more "concerned" about when you start and stuff

purinne

hiya greentea
... our photographers are hubby's frenz .... so one was at mi place in the mornin ... two were with him since mornin ... and they all started takin photo since the beginnin ...

minj

hi everyone, i'm new here. currently looking for a church to hold my wedding. Photos of the churches are not easily available online. Are there any nice churches to recommend?

yrshopping

Do you want to find reliable supplier who can provide low price with high quality wedding dress, considerate service and low price? yrshopping.com is a good wholesaler online factory shop from China. They have over over 500 styles custom-made wedding apparel including wedding dresses, bridesmaid dresses, evening dresses, mother of bride dress, flower girl dress, cocktail dresses etc. They provide Paypal, Moneybookers, Western Union and T/T payment methods for buyers as well as drop shipping. Items can be shipped directly to your home whatever you are from. No MOQ for almost their products, so you can order only 1 PC to check the quality and their service before you order big qty. For each line products, they provide mix wholesale discount, you can get big discount as per the mix wholesale rule listed on their website. If you want to set up a wedding dress store online, yrshopping.com must be a good choice. Wish everyone has a good business.

shanawawa

Hi ladies, I'm new here too! But so relieved to have read so much advice here. =)

I have the same issue as Jas.

Can I choose a church to hold my wedding but that is not my parish church? I kinda like another church because of its look but would that be too superficial a reason? >.<

I called up a Priest of my choice church and he told me I should approach my Parish church priests and hold it at my parish instead. I don't know how to tell him leh.

Another thing is .. if I do choose a venue that is not my parish church, do I ask the Priest at the other church? Or ask my Parish Priest to go to the other church? Will it be too weird?

krystal80

hi jas, I'm having mine at st francis xavier...it's a nice cosy white chapel sort of church =) Unfortunately I dun have pics on hand with me =P

hi shanawawa, i've had friends who did that (hold their wedding in a church that's not their parish church). Most of the time there's no issue...all you need to do is get clearances from both parish priests then ok liaoz =)

shanawawa

Hi Andrea,

Thanks! I don't know why I have a hard time with the Priests >.<

And one even told me I shouldn't hold it in Dec (my intention) because it's during Advent.

But I am seeing many Dec brides here isn't it?

I was thinkin of SFX too because it's very near my house though I don't go there for Mass.

When's your big day? =)

krystal80

hi shanawawa, actually I'm a Dec bride myself...hahahaha My big day is 12th Dec =) For me, I'm lucky that SFX is my husband's parish church =)

I've heard from someone tt priests generally enourage couples to go back to their own parish so that there isn't an "overcrowding" at specific churches...(at least I think that was what she said)

zljoan

hey hey...I'll be having my wedding at st mary's...haiz...from that parish, book 1yr in advance but still didn't get the timeslot that I want! I've a colleague who isn't from smota but booked the church bout 2 yrs before her AD :s

minj

hmm..regarding parish prists, is it ok if we ask an ex-parish priest?
Which means, this priest is no longer from my parish, and he is also not from the church that i'll be holding my wedding at..

And 1 more thing, is it true that most of the chapels are non-airconditioned?

honey_greentea

Hi shanawawa, i'm also a dec bride, which is the same day as Andrea =) my parish church is St.Mary but the day we want has been taken up so have to hold in another church and end up with St. teresa. it's a nice church though

Sobe, lucky for u to have wedding at st. mary. it's one of the most popular churches loh.

jas, St. mary and St. teresa is air conditioned. blessed sacrament @ commonwealth also air conditioned

shanawawa

So far as I read through the pages of this forum for Catholic brides, the most popular churches for weddings are SFX,St Mary and St Teresa. Hmm.. why ah?

Now I'm so afraid my date will be taken already. Which might be true. keke

So do I book the church first? or approach the Priest? Anyone else having their wedding at a church that is not their parish church?

zljoan

Greentea> ooo...you're a parishioner of SMOTA too? yeah...i'd have been very disappointed as i grew up with the church (would have preferred the 'old' structure thouhg...oh well)

Shanawawa> which parish are you from? churches usually put aside slots for their parishioners. you can contact the church's office (secretary) to check on the availability...

honey_greentea

wow... u grew up with the church? that's very meaningful to have ur wedding there
but i dunno how the old building look like?

purinne, if i'm not mistaken, u r holding a lunch banquet at a hotel after church rite? then how about tea ceremony? when do u do that? i'm planning to have it after the lunch... isit weird? hehe..

purinne

hiya greentea
i had mi tea ceremony 2 wks before my AD
... yeah had mi lunch reception at a hotel right after church weddin ...

it dun sound weird at all to hav it after lunch ... after all, it is mainly for the families

shanawawa

Can we ROM first then do a Church wedding? But it defeats the purpose, right? As in for ROM, we would not be in front of Priest but Justice of Peace? I'm not sure.

krystal80

hi shanawawa, i personally ROM-ed before my church wedding and know of another couple that did so too =)

It really is your own choice