Catholic Brides

faylene

Hi anyone here knows if engaging Sir Peter Low's choir is possible? They sound so good @ Good Shepherd but not sure if they actually allow us to engage them for weddings?

I have booked my church wedding at IHM

noknok

Ask you all, will it be weird if the bride also come out to greet the guests at a church wedding? Or should they 'hide' somewhere before the ceremony??

purinne

mi fren told mi to hide in the car ... and park the car somewhere first then appear just ard the time of marchin in

honey_greentea

hahha... no place to hide..
yeah last time my cousin also like that. we all went in the church oredi then only the bridal car came. ur husband is the one who greet the guests in front of the church, not you.
am i right?

noknok

But must brief JM on the march in leh.. hmmm... some more I going to have gate crash, feel like having some photo taken in church with just the two of us only.

Eggy, I posted before, search one archive up ba.

retsel

In my case, the sacristy lady started ringing the church bells to commence the march-in and did not inform any of us. So my bride, who was waiting in the bridal car in a corner of the church carpark, wasn't even in place when the march-in started. Everyone panicked .

ellytusk

hi all, i wrote to STC but no reponse. Anyone I can look for? STC is not my parish church but mine is taken on the day I want. Im a christian, not a catholic, STC available to non-members? Anyone got pic to share of their chapel? email me thank!! =) [email protected]

noknok

Tan, actually can just call up the churches to ask the secretaries. Is your HTB a catholic?? If not might be a bit tough.

noknok

lalaa.. this is wat my priest told me. After the mass, will be signing of registry before the recessional hymn. The marching out music will be during recessional hymn.

noknok

I dunno abt urs... my one should be at the recessional hymn as well. But they'll take the "short cut" leaving at the side of the altar (they're coming in from there too. not going to march down the aisle)

lalaa_27

ooo i see.. kk thanx.. usually attend weddings we dun notice all these ah.. cos our eyes r always on bride & groom.. haha. .den wen plannin our own wedding so blur.. haha
hmm wad recessional hymn u chose?

honey_greentea

yeah lo, we wil not notice these small small details until we plan our own :p
then recessional hymn is a church hymn that the choir wil sing? i was told that we can choose a bridal march music.. example is the traditional bridal march we always heard in tv series one..

lalaa_27

Noknok & Greentea.. i checked wif my church choir co-ordinator yest leh.. we cannot march-out during recessional.. after sing finish recessional hymn.. he said the organist will play us a separate march-out music..

noknok

oh.. is it?? hmmm.. weird.. I go ask father again tonight. hee

you settle the hymns with them already?? not much time left for printing

lalaa_27

most of it settled.. juz some loose ends to tie up.. by dis weekend shud be confirmed.. den next week ask cousin to type the hymns in, cos rest of the booklet almost done.. we're printing the booklets ourselves.. print 1 & photcopy

ur booklets all printed oredi?

honey_greentea

Lalaa, that means we will have both recessional hymn and then the bridal march out? so recessional hymn is smth like final hymn la?
ur AD coming soon?

lalaa_27

Greentea.. yup that's wad I gather from wad the church co-ord told me..
yup yup coming soon.. less than 3 weeks left.. excited, stressed & nervous! haha

noknok

Mine the soonest and I'm super stressed!!!

I found my bm hand bouquets at $18 each

YEAH.. Thank the lord.. must pray pray pray.. still hv quite a bit of stuff to iron out.

faylene

Hi Noknok, can I ask where you got your bm hand bouquets from?

anyone know of a good contact for church floral decor? I'll be using Church of Immaculate Heart of Mary next yr.

noknok

I took my bridal bouquet picture and go parkway parade there and ask the florist. The lady very nice.. told me my bouquet not difficult to do, actually can DIY. Say each stalk only cost $1.50. need about 6 stalks for one small bouquet. In the end I got her to do everything for me at $18 each bouquet. She still warn me not to cut the stalks on my own on the AD cos she's going to wrap the base for me to keep it fresh.

Sorry can't help for church floral decor. Mine is compulsory must use church one.

krystal80

hi faylene, u actually can try Blissfultots (blissfultots.multiply.com). A number of brides from here have used her services...another is Red Petals florist...I think there's a another but I can't remmeber the name =) Maybe if u look thru the archives a bit, u will find it =)

lalaa_27

nok.. yupzz.. we asked him n he said can.. my cousin's wedding last yr, another priest didnt let dem use, though they oredi bought their candle..
but our priest ok wif it leh..
ur priest allow?

noknok

I nv ask.. dun wanna to hv.. hee.. follow traditional way can liao..

Think u search for christian shops should sell.. dun think catholic stalls hv. You can try e one near Labelle. from labelle walk towards sattine, it's further down. there's quite a big christian shop there.

elodvd

I'm new here. I have a question about getting married in church, can anyone please advise?
I'm a Catholic but my HTB is not. I read from another thread that we can get married in church after he attends the engaged encounter course, is it true? My wedding is Nov next year, what do we need to do in order to have the holy matrimony in church? how about having the solemnization in hotel by the priest, does my HTB have to attend the course too?
Thanks a lot!!

krystal80

Hi Elodvd,going for engagement encounter (EE) or marriage prep course (MPC) is part of a requirement to get married in church, whether or not you're both Catholic =) It's got nothing to do with him being Catholic or not...=)

I am not sure if the priest can do a solmenisation outside the church, you may need to check with your priest about that option. (I think it's quite unlikely though)

Aside from going for a pre-marriage prep course (either EE or MPC is fine), you need to first book your church on the date you want and the priest you want =) Then go for either EE or MPC, get either a (at most) 6 mth old extract of your baptism cert from the church you got baptised at or a photocopy of your original cert (depending on your priest), and arrange for a pre-nuptual session with your priest...there your htb will have to acknowledge and agree to that while he doesn't have to convert, he has to agree to allowing your children to be brought up as Catholics =)

That (I think) is the main gist of it lah...=)

Lalaa, you can also try the bookshop next to St Peter and Paul at Queens St there...

bouclepomme

this is my first post and will be having my wedding next yr. my fiance is a catholic. I'm not a catholic. We'll be having a church wedding at a roman catholic church, but my fiance is not a member of any church.

After reading all these threads, i know we need to attend CEE (Catholic Engagement Encounter). We will do that but not sure when to do.

Need some advice/help from the experts here.

1. After shortlisting the churches, what do i need to do? Am looking at Church Of Sts. Peter & Paul and St Teresa Church. (As my fiance and family are not local, they need aircon and it will be comfy for guests too)

2. If possible, we would like to attend CEE at the church we will be wed.
Any problem?

3. From Flowers, Choir, Sound System, Decor. Does the churches typically have people to do these (of cos at a fee)?

4. Lunch Reception, can i have to use my own? As i would not be having a wedding dinner, we have not firmed up on using the canteen or transporting guests to somewhere.

5. Mass Booklet.
Being a non-cat, I'm not sure what to include in there, can anyone send me their samples?

Nervous.

krystal80

hi bouclepomme,

Welcome and congrats! =)
St Theresa's is air-con but St Peter and Paul isn't =) You will also need to get a priest to celebrate your wedding. If you are planning to use the church wedding as a civil wedding registartion at the same time (ie: ROM at church), you will need to make sure your priest celebrating the wedding is a licenced JP, else you will need another priest to sign off on the marriage certificate.

CEE is done at a retreat house, not in a church =) It's a 2D2N (Fri night-Sun evening) stay in retreat. There's a website you can sign up for it..but book earlier if you can, so that you can get the slot earlier.

Some churches have their own church florist to do the floral arrangements but you can use your own. Choir you can approach the various choirs that sing at that particular church if they'd be available to sing at your wedding.

Lunch reception, you will need to get your own caterer and also advise the church that you will need to use either their canteen/hall (depending) and pay a fee for renting it.

Will send you some samples that I've gotten from other brides thru this forum

bouclepomme

hi andrea thanks but issit a normal to not ROM at the church?

now my fiance side is saying we can have our religious ceremony in maybe in macau (they use to attend churches there) or something if it's hard for us to find one here.

looks like there might be some changes. my fiance feels its not very warming to have lunch reception in the church, the sitting and stuff. he thinks maybe we shld go somewhere else..

an alternative plan for us is, hold the catholic ceremony privately and ROM at somewhere with lunch.

i have no idea man .

btw i dont have to confirm any churches first before doing CEE? so i can just book now?

thanks for your quick reply too!

krystal80

Hi bouclepomme, yeah it is...actually I ROM-ed outside of the church.

U can book CEE first and then confirm the church and priest later =)

No worries about the reply =)

Hi lovenco, no worries...will drop you an email soon.

agone

hey andrea, sorry..was wondering if you can send me the samples too via PM? i actually got a copy from my friend previously when she got married, then my PC crashed and I lost everything..including the wedding invites, tentative schedules etc which I had pretty much completed...vomit blood!! gotta design again from scratch and type out the schedule all over again!! sigh..then when i emailed my friend she said she already deleted her soft copy of the wedding booklet..sigh..

bouclepomme: you can have your recep out of the church, i think a couple of us are choosing to hold it elsewhere, like hotels or other venues