Catholic Brides

faylene

LPF, you can contact this printer of mine who does my marketing collaterals. He's great to work with, patient & can recommend the right paper

Frankie - 9668 9104 (Olympia Printing)

agone

purinne: nope..haven't done my mass booklet yet, since mine is still some time away (next April, lol!)i have a sample if you need it for reference though

emma_watson

hi, newbie posting here

i want to ask if any of you know whether it is possible for me to do a sunday wedding service and make it in time for wedding lunch immediately after. what is the earliest time possible to hold a wedding service on a sunday? are the timeslots only available in the afternoons?

im having some problems with this because i was thinking that most churches have sunday morning mass till late morning. is my plan of having a wedding lunch impossible?

thanks in advance!

retsel

U will be able to do only a wedding ceremony / service after the Sunday morning masses, but u cannot do a wedding mass. It means it is less elaborate than a wedding mass, and there will be no eucharist. Reason being there are already a few masses on Sunday morning so there won't be anymore masses conducted after that. U should be able to hav the wedding reception after your Sunday afternoon wedding service. Hope that helps

purinne

hihi agon-e
thanks for the offer
... i managed to get a sample from mi rcia coordinator
... now need to make changes to it

hermione, tink u need to check with the church you hav in mind to hold ur church wedding. coz some churches do not allow wedding ceremony on sundays

noknok

Actually the reason for no sunday wedding mass is becos it's suppose to be God's day.. at least that's what I understand.

Hermione, I did attended a catholic wedding service before at 12pm. It's at St. Joseph (bt. Timah). They serve lunch in church after that, everything finish at about 2.30pm.

Are you planning to have lunch reception at a hotel or restaurant?? If yes then the timing is really very late.. hmmm maybe a High tea reception will be good.. one of a kind.

emma_watson

ya i have no problems with just a service on sundays, because my fiance is not catholic :p

i'm planning to skip the church reception and just have all my guests go straight to the hotel/restaurant for the wedding lunch. Ok, I suppose it will be really a rush job... Haha... I suppose if it really gets too rush then we may have to do a high tea, hehe.

We picked sunday because the day we want just happened to fall on sunday, we wanted to do it on the same date that my fiance proposed. That's why

honey_greentea

Hi hermione, i'm also haveing church wedding then moving my guest to the hotel for lunch reception. my wedding mass starts at 10am (saturday) so guess should be enuf time for 12.30-1pm lunch bah... understand that service should be about 30-40min only rite?

emma_watson

hi greentea! did u pick a hotel near ur church?

sometimes i think of all the logistics i just feel like sleeping. haha. lucky i have 1 yr to plan, super lazy man.

noknok

hermione,

Would it be possible to just hold it in church for your reception?? I've gone to one where my friend actually engage people to do up a tentage right outside the church. btw, which church are you looking at??

emma_watson

i have no idea what church i should be looking at, firstly they gotta be able to do a noon wedding on sunday I guess.

i actually just want a simple ceremony, u know, no need for big crowd or big gown, i'm not even looking at flowers for the church, i don't think it's necessary.

i hope that after the ceremony i can just go meet everyone at the hotel for reception. i hope it's not too rush!

agone

hermione: hmm actually from what I understand St Joseph's at Bukit Timah is just about the only church in Singapore that may accommodate a wedding service on a Sunday. Not sure if that info is outdated or not :p From what I've heard, the reason is cos Sunday is when the priests will tend to put their parishioners as 1st priority. Even at St Joseph's I've heard its on a case by case basis, it's not a given that they will agree to it..

Aside from finding a priest who is willing to take time off on a Sunday to solemnize your wedding, even if you find a church that will hold a service for you on a Sunday, a crucial requirement is that it cannot clash with their normal mass schedules..so you have to make sure that the church you have in mind does not have noontime masses (11.30, 12noon or 12.30pm). most wedding services that are held on a sunday are usually after their last noontime mass/before evening mass, so like 2 or 3pm-ish. hope this helps!

emma_watson

yes i know that there are a few churches with noon time sunday masses, so those are out. my parish is st francis of assisi and my parents got married in sacred heart, but i'm open to holding my wedding in any catholic church because the priority is on the holy matrimony after all. I guess I better start making some phone calls to check now then.

i hope we won't have to end up going to plan B, which is bring the date one day early to sat, although that will really solve all our problems i think!

has any of you had to change your wedding dates to suit your plans?

agone

hermione: hmm my catholic parents are pretty pantang, lol! our initial date was in june next year, but we've had to change it to another date (april next year) cos of our ba zi :p so while it wasn't in our plans, we went with the given date so as not to incur the wrath of the village elders from my side of the family :p

honey_greentea

hi hermione, am having church wedding at St Teresa, hotel will be at orchard. should be ok bah.. not too far

for us we choose the date ourselves (which is easy to remember :p) then our parents just agree to it.. they are quite open-minded so din have much comments.. haha.. that's the lucky part.

Hi all, wondering if anyone has the same schedule as me?
8.00 am Pick bride up go back groom's place for tea ceremony, then bride's place for tea ceremony
11.00am Church ceremony
1.00pm Lunch at restaurant/ hotel

Will this be too rush? Any advice is much appreciated

emma_watson

This is something like what I'm planning, church then followed by lunch. But I'm skipping the first part. No pick up or tea ceremony in the morn, will prob do the tea ceremony later after everything.

Me and my fiance initially wanted to do it on sunday, but figured that it will be too rush to have our church in the afternoons, so we're changing to sat to save me some headaches. we'd prob do a wake up, get ready for 10.30am church ceremony then head to restaurant/hotel for lunch around noon. I think there's enough time, and mine is a church service and not full mass.

of course it helps if ur church is not too far from ur hotel/rtn!

honey_greentea

hehe.. hermione, same here, wont behaving pick-up bride and gate crashing. fiance will just meet me at the church.
my church wedding starts at 10.30am then lunch at 1pm lor.. shud be enuf time bah?

emma_watson

ya i definitely think got enough time! are u having church reception? or are ur guests going to the hotel straight? i want to meet my fiance at the church too! haha, i think i will want to surprise him with the dress.

is st teresa ur parish? im still undecided on the church except i want it to be near town also, easier for transporting my guests. is st teresa an easy and nice church to work with?

precious_11

hermione - the date i originally wanted was a sunday.. and we couldnt really find a church that was willing to let us have wedding mass on sunday...so in the end, we brought it forward by a day i.e. sat..

From what i have tried, only 2 churches were willing to let us have sunday masses - Risen Christ and St Joseph.. but Risen Christ was already booked on my date and in the end, i felt that St Joseph really didnt leave a very "positive vibe".. so i gave up on my ideal date..

In my personal opinion, its relatively easier to find a priest who is willing to do a Sunday wedding mass than to find a venue Sunday mass...

agone

hermione: yeah st teresa is pretty easy to work with compared to some of the other churches Ive called when I was sussing out which church I wanted..by easy to work with I mean less restrictions..most of the secretaries I've spoken to are v nice people
hmm out of curiosity..are you having a church reception too, or are you going straight to the lunch location?

another church near town you can consider is st bernadette (zion road), it's like 5-10mins away from orchard.

krystal80

hi agon-e, isn't st bernadette undergoing renovation? or is it done liao? =)

cathedral of good shepherd also can but only thing it's not air-con...another church in town are St Peter and Paul

emma_watson

Cher: Ya in the end we decided to bring to saturday also, cos we really want to do lunch instead of dinner and if we do on sunday it will be v rush... so now im just gonna decide my banquet and go for my EE end of august first before i decide on the church that i wanna use.

andrea: and ya man, aircon is a big consideration. wouldn't want to be sweating... hehe...

agon: nope, im not going to have a church reception. thinking of just moving the entire thing straight to lunch! so ya, must be near to hotel/rtn location man.

krystal80

hi hermione, haha...yeah totally understandable...
Other churches nearer town would be St Ignatius (Farrer Road), Blessed Sacrament (Queenstown), Novena church (not sure if you can have weddings there though)...church of sacred heart is also in town...and that is probably one of the closest to town you can get

honey_greentea

Hermione, wont be having reception at church liao. straight away eat at hotel :p St teresa is not my parish church but they r fine with it. my parish church is st. mary but the date i want is taken lor...
yes agree with agon-e that St teresa is 'easy to work with' compared to others! so far it's the most 'shuang2 kuai4' secretary amongst the churches that i have approached. hehe...
Andrea, St peter & paul and Sacred heart will be going thru renovation this year lo
initially i wanted St Peter & paul but they said they dunno when they will finish reno..

For Cathedral of good shepherd, it is not a parish church so they dun celebrate wedding there. unless u really have a good valid reason..

emma_watson

haha, i always wonder what will be considered a good reason...

do u guys know if it's possible not to decorate the church for the wedding and just use the church as it is?

honey_greentea

hermione, good reasons are something like ur parish church is undergoing renovation, u r not local (foreigner) so u dun belong to any parish churches, all the catholic churches have been booked on that day u want =P , etc, etc. hehe..

noknok

Hey all,

I got a silly question to ask.. what do our bridesmaids march in with?? are we suppose to prepare small bouquets of flowers for them to hold for the match in?? I think I totally forgotten about this.

emma_watson

haha yea, i was a bridesmaid before and my friend had to top up a little to include 3 bridesmaids bouquets that match hers... her posy is the nicest of course. ours were simpler and smaller. the florist is supposed to make it according to the bridesmaid's size. apparently taller people get bigger bouquets. haha.

noknok

WAT!! oh no.. I totally forgotten tat part... your friend got the Bridal Studio to do it or outsourced?? My AD bouquet is from the BS leh.. how?? one more headache.

purinne

hi noknok ... same here ... @_@ ...

i got 4 bridesmaid ... but dun tink im doin a march-in coz one of them refused to wear dress ... so im gettin onli mi maid of honor to march in with mi ... does this sound weird?

emma_watson

my friend met up with the florist from the BS package, then told them she needs 3 more bridesmaid posies, she just top up money lor. cos after all not everyone has bridesmaids so it's usually not in the package. also her bridesmaids posies will match her actual day posy because its the same florist, if u outsource not sure if will match anot...

purinne, sounds totally ok with me, why not. that means only the one marching in with u will need a posy, the rest don't

definitely need to hold something, if not it's a little weird not to know what to do with ur hands during the march in!

noknok

eh.. shouldn't you be marching in with your Father?? am I right??

Is your maid of honour marching in front of you?? I find it a bit weird to jus have one leh..

btw, anyone saw the video on the dancing march in on U tube??

emma_watson

ya lor, all these small small things will eat into ur budget :p

ya i saw the youtube march in, super hilarious!! haha... very cool huh. singaporean will be too shy i think! oh and remind ur bridesmaids to smile!! me and my friends were so concentrating on walking and not falling that we all forgot to smile! haha, everyone thought we were the most serious bridesmaids ever!

ya, usually maid of honor will march in front, i think 1 is ok if u have ring bearer or flower girl! not weird! haha... i dont want any of those, decided that it's too much work to coordinate. hehe

purinne

noknok: haha ... yes, im marchin in with mi dad .. i meant mi maid of honor will march in in front of mi
... the idea of all marchin in sounds nice ... i mean bridesmaids ... but ... tink it mite look really weird to see 3 in dresses and 1 in pants

not havin a flower gal coz we all scare tat mi 2.3 yr old niece will stray off once something else catches her attention .. risky~

hermione: thanks~
... now i gotta tok to the BS on the extra bouquet ... @_@ ... hmmm ... i guess it has to b matchin with mi bouquet ya?

purinne

hermione ... sorries ... just realised u did mention abt the matchin bouquets for bride's and maid of honor's ... @_@ ... sorries

noknok

ha.. I have 5 bridesmaids.. that means a hole in my pocket..

Purinne, I wanted my dog to be my ring bearer.. worse right..haha.. now I put that idea off in view of the logistic problem

I also won't have flower girl and ring bearer leh.. how ah?? Purinne, how are you bringing in your ring?? or is it with the Groom already?

emma_watson

hehe wow, 5 bridesmaid, i guess ask for really simple matching bouquets lor, maybe can get for less than $50 per posy? hehe.

i wish my dog can attend my church wedding too.. but dont think she can go into church hor?

purinne, if u have 3 bridesmaids wearing dresses then why not have the 3 bridesmaids march in? or u afraid ur other friend will be left out? im sure she is ok since she already so outstanding by choosing to wear pants? haha... just curious

purinne

hermione: ya lor ... dun wan her to feel left out ... so decided to get just my maid of honor to march in front of mi ...

noknok: yeah ... will let FH handle the ring ... hehe ...

noknok

purinne.. I know I a bit bad.. but how abt asking tt friend of urs tat wear pants to help you with your dress??

hermoine.. My Priest allow my dog to be my ring bearer, but hor, after we brought him to our photoshoot and the amount of whining when our PG is taking jus e two of us, I cannot stand it.. haha.. dun wanna sacrifice any of my friends to bring him out of the church and miss our wedding.

emma_watson

wow nok nok, is it really ok for churches to allow dogs in as ring bearer? what church are u holding ur wedding at? I'm seriously considering it now! haha...

and im also gonna bring her for my photoshoot! :p

purinne, are ur bridesmaids wearing tailor made clothes? if the material is the same, pants or dress makes no diff as long as there is consistency. the pants can be the first to enter! followed by dresses!
i still think if u have 4 bridesmaids, it's nice to have everyone march in with u...

purinne

noknok: eh ... cant wor ... coz she'll b leavin the church early to help mi set up at the hotel for mi lunch reception wor ... so if she help mi ... can onli help halfway ... i already feelin quite bad tat she gotta leave halfway wor ...

hermione: mi bridesmaids are not wearin tailor made clothes ... was tempted to get them same or similar clothes but dun wanna impose on them to wear sth tat they wun wear again ... also ... mi theme is pink haha ...

noknok

hermione.. I'm getting married in St Stephen Church.. I got baptised there. Father Khoo loves animals, that time I sort of hinted to him and he agree to let my dog into the church. He keeps a dog there too but she's not allowed into the church. Logistic problem comes when two dogs meet and they'll bark at each other.

Purinne.. will she feel left out if she dun do the march in?? think you can talk to her about it.. she might not be that concern. I guess when we're helper for our friends, we just want our friend to have a wonderful once in a lifetime thing.

rene3

I have a few enquires.
- Which catering company have u gals engage?
- How do u inform ur guests on the location of ur church? Shown on the inserts?
- Will u be putting the hongbao box in church reception or dinner reception?
- Is there any cheap and nice printing company to recommend?
- Any one has any mass booklet to share. Pls send to [email protected]

noknok

Irene,

My answers
1) Rasel
2) I asked printing company to draw on my invite.. cannot use street directory one, copyright issue. if not you can ask your chuch if they have one ready soft copy to incorporate into the invite
3) Will be putting one at both since I am not inviting the same group of people
4) I'm using digilab, using digital printing. cost me about $200 for 250 pieces but hv not seen the results yet, can't comment. My one is postcard type invite. DL size.

purinne

noknok ... tats y i tink im askin onli maid of honor to march in front lor ... anyway will b havin a makan session for the sisters and brothers to meet up ... mite seek their views then ba

irene ... my ans as below:
1. not using any catering company coz lunch reception will b at hotel
2. will b including map ... probably as insert ...
2. will b puttin ang bao box in both church and lunch coz tink there mite b some ppl who dun attend both ...
3. am probably gettin the card company tat prints mi hotel invite cards

noknok

purinne.. are you getting from T-dragon? most hotels uses them.. but I find them expensive and slow. So in the end I just collected the cards from them but got someone else to print. You might want to check on that.