Catholic Brides - Recommended Florist for Church Decor

eml

I am getting marry at Church of SFX, anyone had good and reasonable florist to recommend for church decor?
Thanks!!!! =D

ocean_blue

Hi eml,

Maybe u can post your question in the Catholic Brides thread. Shld be able to get more response from there

madelyn

Hi eml
Could you share with me about their charges? Im planning marry at SFX church also in Dec 08. Hope it is not too late to do the booking now. Thanks

eml

hi madelyn,

The charge is $150.00 booking fee for church premise and canteen!

Probably you can check with the church secretary to see whther ur date is still available for booking!

Which date are you planning to get marry? coz mine is oso in Dec'08.

jeanstarry

Hi Eml, try online florist like love droplets, my summer scents....there are so many choices available in the forum. Especially for me with tight budget...not able to spend anything above 1K for venue decor. My wedding date is nov. I had engaged My Summer Scents for church decor cos my fren used them for wedding decor beginning of tis yr.

I am using Church of Holy Spirit....... luckily the church is not very fussy with a lot of restrictions imposed on the church decor. I understand some churches have very strict rules over the decor part.

If u r interested, go to their website www.mysummerscents.com. They had posted their church venue decor photos....u can check it out then. Hope the info is useful for u

graceyong

hey girls, you got ur deco person? If not I got another person, her name is Sue Ling. Let me know if you need her number

graceyong

Btw any brides from Church of Sacred Heart (Tank Road)? if so, please msg me ....... i got heaps of questions and need help..... thanks

jascal

love droplets is very expensive & not professional at all. Service quite bad. Design so so only & my fren paid $600 for 14 flowers & design of the 2 chairs..

flora77

Hi jascal,
what flowers did your friend choose for the wedding and is friend wedding decor up at their multiply site? I would like to view the pictures,as lovedroplets is one of the florist i am considering

xmas08

May I know the colour theme and floral used? Lead time taken? How much is the package then?
Also do u have any fotos on ur church wedding decor to share with us here?

Merry Xmas to all of u too!

juztea

Hey Ladies, any of you having your wedding at Christ the King, seems like I have to contact flower ministry if I want to customize the flower arrangements. Any experience before?

jumbosstar42

No experience on that one but they should allow you to bring in your own florist right? Scarlee their work not nice how? Usually church flower ministry work not very nice one... maybe a bit old fashion. If u can get ur own might be better. Then u can have more choices and pick one u truly like.

wishuponastar

my friend had her wedding at Christ The King, they are kind of particular about the floral decor..
They didnt allow my friend to bring her own.. and insist that they use the church floral team..
but they allow her to decorate the pews (only the pews) herself..

jumbosstar42

In that case, boh pian liao. Spend more on the pews. Get a good florist to do a nice big pew flower decor. With ribbons and all. Can try out this new florist called Enchanted. They are new but when they are new, it's easier to talk to them and they will be more flexible. Can check them out. I think they have a blogsite which you can click through from their website www.enchanted.com.sg
Their flowers look very refreshing and nice.

veracity

I also spoke to Dolly b4 & she sounds v gd. But now I will be more wary aft what I've read here. TSK.

Here are the florists Ive shortlisted. Pls let me know if you've any comments:

1. JM Florist
2. GreenAcres (www.greenacres.com.sg)
3. EC Florist
4. Far East Flora

Oops, tt seems abt it actually.

I've eliminated a LOT of florists (I did approach many) because of distance from my ceremony venue. My flowers are fairly delicate and I think it's impt the florist is near my venue (correct me if I'm wrg!). If not, q hard to compare the quotes they've given me too.

Far East seems V unreachable! I already hv a bad impression of them. Not sure how far I wanna pursue w them esp since budget <$1K.

Hope to hear other brides' thoughts.

keropi_81

I used Stefii &amp; Bloom for my ROM. We are quite happy with the decor. Josephine (also the boss) give us lot of ideas &amp; is quite helpful. I had asked for quotation from a few popular florists &amp; their charges is quite high ranging from $600 - $800. As for Stefii, they chg me ard $300 only. their website as follow: - http://www.stefii.sg/stefii/

You gals can try contacting her.

keropi_81

I had received requests (through PM)for photos of what Stefii had provided for my ROM therefore I had attached some pic for you gals to see.

I received: -

Poles &amp; chairs decor x2
6 posy for tiki torches/door handle
Wristband &amp; corsage
Rose petals

1005709.jpg

1005710.jpg

1005711.jpg
1005712.jpg

veracity

Hi keropi

Tt's useful! I like the blue on the corsages tho I dun nd corsages. May I know what tt blue flower was?

Personally, am not keen on a v white theme tho...

keropi_81

Emm... I'm not very sure too...
I not a fan of flower... hehehe... I just told my florist that I wanted a blue/white theme then she mix &amp; match the flowers herself...

jumbosstar42

hi keropi,

Thanks for sharing your pics.
What's that pole thingy? Is it provided by the venue? I like your wrist corsage. Do you mind PMing me a bigger photo of the corsage? I wanna have a closer look. It looks very graceful.

veracity

Anyone went to Woodsville Florist b4, feedback pls?

Also, any other Stefii brides out there to share their experience?

zeerobabee

Hi, i saw from some threads that EC florist or Fleur Dsign is really bad and posted good comments themselves. I am contemplating using them as their price appears to be very reasonable. Can someone who have used them advice on their service?

jumbosstar42

i visited woodsville before and considered them. but they are a big company. and once again... that is where my theory comes in... abt the salesperson is not the one doing ur flowers. its true. that is what i found out when i visited them. thats why i decided not to use them. also, they show u v nice works but all those are big budget kind. they dun have pics of their small budget ones. so i figure must be not very impressive

regards to zeerobabee, i can only say one thing: no such thing as cheap and good. serious. if u wan cheap, dont expect good. when it comes to flowers, if u wan ur wedding to look nice, it means more flowers. if u wan ur wedding to be cheap, be prepared for not so nice flowers. its very real lor. unless the florist is newbie and willing to charge less and give u more for their portfolio. then u have to gauge from seeing their style, their works. from there, if u like their style, taste, then u have to trust them to deliver.

veracity

Just want to seek views on this:

(1) Would you go to a professional one-stop florist (e.g. Stefii, Woodsville, etc) OR buy flowers from a nursery (e.g. Far East Flora, etc) and get a non-florist frd experienced in floral arrgmts (e.g. for church), and who's willing to help, to do ur arrgmts and/or church deco?

=======

My dilemma on this is 2-pronged:

(a) I wonder if I wld get more bang (i.e. quantity) for my buck if I buy flowers wholesale, and let a frd do it vs paying a professional florist the same amt for an arrgmt, This is what I understand fr other pple;

(b) I feel I'd be able to trust a professional florist more if it's creativity/the professional look we want, while perhaps a frd can probably do just a traditional arrgmt.

-> POSSIBLE Solution? : At present I'm considering getting frds help on some areas and professional on others - best of both worlds.

The other issue is, just because we get frds to help, doesn't necessarily mean $'s saved coz u've to give angpow (anyone know the usual angpow size suitable for this purpose?). Dun give sufficient, oso feel paiseh &amp; dunno if ur frd may feel underpaid. In fact, in my rough calculations for my own 'POSSIBLE Solution', getting a frd may not save me much more - in fact it comes w added risk tt relationships may be strained due to whatever reason - u can chase or harass a vendor but not really ur frd rite?

Pls let me hear ur thoughts on this. Hope to resolve this dilemma, at least for myself, soon.

meow5

Hi there, i just engaged florist for my church decor for St Francis Xavier. the person is also in charge of deco the church for our wedding. She's very helpful and offers generous tips and suggestions - plus she's a Catholic herself. Her price is also reasonable - basic package S$450. if you are interested, pls pm me.

veracity

May I know if the bridesmaid's bouquet can also be used as the tossing ('throwaway') bouquet? Or is it really for the bridesmaid to keep... tx!

zeerobabee

well i have decided not to take the risks with Fleur design and will go with greenpoint florist instead. I do believe in quality work and don't mind paying a bit more. Greenpoint impresses me with the willingness to accommodate and charges reasonably for their establishment. While some of the florists' basic packages appear to be cheap, the size of the posy can be rather small. So ask them specifically to show you exactly what you get for the package.
For greenpoint, their basic package is reasonable and comparable to other florists and they are generous with the size of the posy. Highly recommend!

zeerobabee

well i have decided not to take the risks with Fleur design and will go with greenpoint florist instead. I do believe in quality work and don't mind paying a bit more. Greenpoint impresses me with the willingness to accommodate and charges reasonably for their establishment. While some of the florists' basic packages appear to be cheap, the size of the posy can be rather small. So ask them specifically to show you exactly what you get for the package.
For greenpoint, their basic package is reasonable and comparable to other florists and they are generous with the size of the posy. Highly recommend!

mochalatte

hey peeps,

just wanna share that i have had a really good experience with Nativity's church flower decor team. they do provide flower decor for other venues,(even halia restaurant at botanic garden) besides churches. pity they don't have a website for their works but they are really professional.

Kip, the guy whom I have been dealing for my church decor is so helpful. Always trying to help me think of ways to cut cost (their prices are lower than the online florists and works are better, in my opinion) and he sorts of acts like my wedding coordinator as I'm really hard pressed for time. Do consider them if you need a church decor team yeah? or even flower decor for external venues. My wedding will be next month. So far so good.
Will update with pics if possible.

good luck for your church decor. I ain't as stressed now that I found the angel in Kip.

bani

Hi Sally,

Im also going to marry in Nativity !

Would you share with me the contact details of the flower decor theme ?

cookiecream

Well , i have experienced Fleur D'sign work before and seriously i totally do not agree with what you guys have said above. I was that kind of people that has the same thinking as Veracity ,but i thought , no harm just walking in and taking a look , since i am staying around their shop and its realli convient for me. Fleur D'sign prove me wrong at that time and changed my perceptions towards low prices. So i got my bouquets and decorations from them and from what i know, they are of high level of qualification in flower design and are very experienced decorators , they would charge little as they would like to create new designs and start the trend themselves. Personally i feel that , not all florist can be conculded as low price , low quality. As what i have said , i got my bouquet and decorations from them and they surprise me once again , the price , yah , its low , but hey , dont judge a book by its price. Not only this , they gave me frist class quality and Christina attitude towards customers is commendable.

Well , Overall ,
Thumbs up for Fleur D'sign

sandydy

Hey ladies ,

Hav just engaged my florist to do my chruch decorations and guess what the price is only about $350 and i got my whole chruch done up beautifully. It was truely satisfiying. Btw i got it from Fleur D'sign , really dont get it why some others commented them with bad comments because i have saw many other brides talking about how good their serives are and well , i agree wiutht hem too , indeed , marvellous. someone please enlighted me?