Catholic Advice Needed Please

shern

Hi celtricia, my PS also in aug, what locations do you have in mind?

shern

Hi sasa, some even plan more than a year ahead to get the auspicious date, promotional rates or for specific locations
so tell your FH, your timeframe ok...

celtricia

Eloz Sasa!

My wedding date is initially on 18 June 05, but my MIL wanted to push early.. so i've change d date last minute to 1st Jan 05, its not a date dat me n my FH wanted but, after browsing thru, its d best date for an early wedding.. heehee. datz y..
Oh! So now u r in US, den hw do u go about trying on ur gowns? When will u b coming to singapore for ur preparations den? Its best to come 3 months b4 ur wedding date, as u can still do some last minute preps juz in case... In singapore, most ppl plan their weddings a yr to half a yr in advance, as most gd hotels/restaurants r being booked way in advance...
So watz d reaction of ur fiance when u showed him my note? heehee..

oraia

hi celtricia,

yup, sunday has a more auspicious date. we wld have preferred sat, but no choice. i'm ok with sunday i guess.
it's the next best alternative!

hi sasa,

hey! you're a BV bride too!
how are u gg to manage ur fittings if u only come bk closer to the wedding? hehe, yes, tell ur fiance 6 mths to the wedding is just about the time when preps start getting more intense! am sure it's the same over in the US. plus u are planning an overseas wedding, that's even more details to note! so do start early!

sasa_kao

sher, celtricia and oraia,

Yup yup. You guys are making good points. I will try to communicate with my fiance again and see if he can get some motivation and share my stress. Otherwise, he always says.... you are not Singaporean and you don't know the Singaporean way. sigh...as long as he is happy and his families are happy, I should be satisfied. That's the whole purpose of having this wedding in Singapore.

Oraia, how is your experience with Bridal Veil so far? I booked them solely based on recommandation. I have not visited the shop yet. Luckyly, a couple of brides from the forum share their photos with me. I think the design is very elegant with clean cut and that's the style that I like.

Sasa

celtricia

hi oraia..

oic.. auspicious date is also quite impt right.. though we r catholics.. heehee

hi sasa..
it seems like u r not really please dat u r not involve in d whole preparation process.. Cheer up!
Mayb u should let ur fiance noes dat u r part of this wedding too n let him noe ur stand n how u feel.. the whole preparation process should incld mainly u n him, but of coz both of ur families can b part of it too.. heehee

steff

Hi Celtricia,

I got married at St. Francis Xavier at Serangoon Gardens. That is my parish as I lived near there.

Philip Lye charged me $100 and I gave him another $100 as Ang Pao.

I have moved to Choa Chu Kang & have been attending Mass at St Mary's lately.

steff

Hi Celtricia,

I got married at St. Francis Xavier at Serangoon Gardens. That was my parish as I lived near there.

Philip Lye charged me $100 and I gave him another $100 as Ang Pao.

I have moved to Choa Chu Kang & have been attending Mass at St Mary's lately.

celtricia

Hi Steff...

Thanks... Tink i'll haf to call him up again to check if d price increase.. heehee...

Hi Shern...

At d moment still undecided as to whh location to go to for my PS.. heehee.. but i tink in sg its always d usual places dat most couples went for PS

celtricia

hi shern,

hmmm.. i tot of my new place too.. n haf told my bridal coordinator abt it. she mentioned dat unless there r special features we would like to take n d lightings r strong den its ok.. so in d end we drop off d idea of having our PS in our new home...

celtricia

hi shern...

oh! so u tot of other places areadi? me n fh still undecided to go to places whh many couples went to or crack our heads to tink of special places.. heehee

shern

hi celtricia, headache over the places, most prob the place we met, sentosa (cos a lot of 'variety') & 1 more spot -tot of ACM, you've been there? Is it still closed?

BTW.What's the usual chuget decor budget?

celtricia

hi shern...

watz ACM?? Sorry abit koon.. heehee..

the usual churc budget? depends on wat ur church secretary include in d rental charges lor.. for mine coz d flower deco is areadi included so i only place any 200 to spare for any other decors dat might come along..

shern

hi celtricia, ACM is Asian Civilization Museum, heard it was closed for renovation, not sure if it's open. Highly recommended for PS.

Mine excludes decor, tot of minimal amt(?) cos wanna set aside more for banquet decor. yours is St Mary's right?

celtricia

hi shern..

oic.. yah i heard it was closed.. heehee..

hmm.. i nt sure d minimal amt leh.. yah mine is at st mary's..

shern

hi celtricia, tot of checking it out...too bad...
gotta 'shop' around for prices before deciding on the decors

celtricia

hey shern..

actually wat kind of decors u planning to haf? coz for my church right.. d only decor is the flowers lor.. dat's all... so i tink it basically boils down to wat kind of decor u looking for to fit ur budget..

jus_me

I'm also a Catholic bride
Just wondering if anyone of you knows if it's common practice to give our priest-cum-jp an ang pow or to invite him to the lunch reception?
Congrats to everyone on your upcoming wedding!

oraia

hi jus_me,

i think normally ppl give priest angpow AND he's also invited to the reception i think. urs is lunch reception? at church? or elsewhere?

congrats to u too! when's ur wedding?

shern

hi jus_me, which church will it be at?

little_ger, checked out the kebaya shop yet? if you're planning to get sequins stitched on the top, let them know which area. ny kebaya turned out nice but they over-did the sequins, gonna get them to remove some. call beforehand cos the lady going on a short holiday. (mrs cheng 63445077)

little_a

hi shern, thanks a lot for the info. do u have a pic of ur kebaya?? can i see?? i am thinking of going to malacca to mtm one.

bin

Hi ladies!
Hv not pop by for a long time. Hope everyone's prep is going on fine

I hv checked with my parish priest & scy wrt the church charges. Think i only need to pay abt $200 or less for the church, since I won't need the hall. If I don't intend to add/request particular type of flowers, no extra charges too

Hi jus_me,
I'll be inviting our priests to lunch aft the mass. Will give main celebrant an angbao.

Hi shern & celtricia,
I was ard the Civilization Museum last nite, it's open and there was some coy function gg on in there. Find it a rather nice spot for PS.

Any of your FH tailor made their suits? My FH is rather small size and cldn't find a fitting one at our BS and yet not very keen to spend $600 on a suit to be worn only 2x at most. Any suggestion??

Good day to all!!

cosmicstar

hi bin,
You can try making your FH suits at Far East Plaza, there are many shops there that tailor made suits, quite reasonable also. Last time my hubby made a white shirt there, cost $45 only, somemore got pleats infront kind.

bin

Thanks java!
You catholic bride too?? Last resort will tailor if no alternative, but likely to make the shirt at least. Which shop did ur hubby go?

oraia

hi bin,

wow! booking ur church quite cheap, which church is that?

can ur FH fit suits at G2000? the prices there quite reasonable i think.

hi little ger,

mandarin collar shirt quite diff to find in sg. how abt MTM one? try CYC.

bin

Hi oraia,
It's Risen Christ. It's undergoing renovation now. By my AD, it'll look better
Sigh...even G2000 suits looks large on him, my skinny bf

celtricia

Hey gals..

Seems like there's lots for me to catch up on.. hehe..

Hey Shern,
U doing kebaya ah.. hw much does d lady charge u ah? I also tinking of doing it leh.. Juz for ur info, philip lye plays d organ.. he's a excellent organist i mus say.. i've areadi booked him for my AD liao.. heh...

hi bin..
agreed wif oraia, ur church really bery cheap leh... cheaper den mine by almost six times leh.. kekeke

oraia

hi bin,

i seee.
good! it'll be a nice and new when ur AD comes! hehe!

uh oh... looks like u guys really hv to MTM his suit! when's ur AD? how abt gg BKK to do it? i heard it's really cheap there!

shern

little_ger, dun have, forgot to bring camera, my MIL went malacca, said pricing jus slightly cheaper and so so designs only, not worth the journey up and down. checked out amor meus yet? i did but silly me forgot to ask for more pricing cos the one he quoted me is for elaborate kind. my tailor quite good lah, jus like i mentioned lor, over-did the sequins.

bin, thanks for infor, now can consider that place, will go check it out this weekend. can try this shop at far east shopping centre #03-21 (i thinl) will check it out for you again. or peninsula there's a few shops that ties up with BS for MTM suit.

celtricia, thanks, hb kept asking me if he plays instruments, finally can tell him. will you be giving him an extra ang pow? kebay 550 excluding sequins

shern

btw, i was quoted 400 for church decor. 3 arrangements for altar/ reeption and 16 for pews (fresh flowers, exotic kind) any comments?

little_a

shern,
thanks for the info... guess that i will just dropped the idea of mtm one in malacca... amor meus i think it is ard 700+...
i am oso considering $400 for church decor.....

any ladies mtm flowergirls dresses?? i have a contact....from $30 - $65 depending on the age..

shern

litle_ger, maybe you can treat it as a pre-honeymoon lor
what if my MIL taste very different?! hehehe i can't find any flower gals, so sad, either too young or too old. mpc not necessary right? i only went for ee leh.

bin

Dear ladies,
Thanks for your suggestions on the suit
Will see wat FH wants.

A friend told me MPC covers more topics and in greater details than EE. I'm one KS...went EE and gg MPC :p

shern, I'm opp...i hv too many friends offering their sons and daughters as page boys & flower gals!?! A bit paisei to reject oso :p

shern

bin, whole entourage lah it'll be so cute, all hand hand

think i'll skip the mpc, attending too many things liao....

zara

i've finally signed up for mpc. this yr oct. anyone going for that one?

btw, think my wedding will be at bsc rather than at olps. wanna stick to the date we chose but olps don't entertain weddings on public hols whereas bsc very easy-going, so my church it'll be. =)

btw, wanna ask u gals, if payment to church doesn't include church rental, meaning it's free, we only pay for reception hall and flowers, how much ang bao should we give the priest?

shern

hi zara, finally anther bsc bride, so glad

i heard can give 100 or more if you can afford if there's no church rental.

when is your AD, i forgot. have you booked the date yet, which fr? anyway, i've checked. bsc only allows 8 pews (per side)to be decorated, you need the church's contact for florist (i have the no.)? planning for reception?

little_a

zara, mine will be in olps... i dun noe how much to give too.. mine include church rental, reception hall, flowers..

zara

hi shern,

my AD is gonna be 23 may. i haven't booked the church or priest yet cos i was away on a work trip, and we had just made up our mind abt the church b4 i left. will most prob ask for father anthony, but heard he's away or smth.

i haven't thot abt many other things yet, have just been shopping for bridal boutique and photog the last 1 1/2 mths. but still haven't booked. shld be booking by end july. thankfully, our wedding is just gonna be a simple one, so once the church, BS and photog is settled, shld be lesser stuff to do.

shern

hi zara, you've still have sufficient time so no need to rush
once those few items are settled and it's just R&R till big day.

celtricia

hi shern...

ic.. ur hb anxious abt it ah.. hehe.. anyway, thanks for ur info on d kebaya, coz my aunts r all wearing kebaya, was wondering whether to make one for myself, but so ex leh.. heheh..
i tink 400 for decor of church is consider reasonable lah..

i also went for d EE only, no time to go for MPC.. stretching for 6 weekends is quite a chore.. haiz..