Catholic Advice Needed Please

zara

hello ladies,

i just went to check out 3 bridal boutiques over the last few days... ted wu, divine couture & bridal veil. ted wu kinda appeals to fh and me the most... i like the embroidery that he does and i got this wow feeling when i tried on his gowns...

the only thing is that i prefer the photographers that divine ties up with... kinda like studio d'fia or beetles @ work... ted wu only ties up with montage, chris ling and a few others. plus divine now got promo package.

any opinions abt these boutiques and photographers to share?

btw, i checked with olps. it's $900 for rental of church, reception hall & flowers (assuming mine is the only wedding that day). is that the standard amt for most churches?

hmm... hope u gals dun mind... i seem to be always asking qns rite now...

oraia

hey buffy!

didn't see ur post till today!

yeah.. me gg to start gown designing this week.
*happy* hehehe.

how's rcia coming along?
fun or not? hehe.

hi zara,

u can take ted's non photography pkg also if u like the other photographers
go with whoever u're more comfy with, if ur gut feeling is ted wu, and budget is ok, then go for it. hehe.

buffy

Hello ladies,

<font color="ff6000">Celtricia:
Yah yah, I think we need to compile the list of AD, BS and Church &amp; Wedding Venue. Hahahahahahaaa... Otherwise, also loose track leh. K, maybe I start the ball rolling and you guys add on?</font>

Buffy - 30 Dec (AD), Merchant Court (Venue), Wedding Present (BS), St Mary (Church Venue)
Bin -
Celtricia -
Oraia -
Smilezz -
Zara -

I may have forgotten some out so please add on hor

<font color="0077aa">Oraia:
Oh... RCIA is still going on fine. We had a "break" on Tues because our Cathecist was away on holiday. Oh... U starting yr designing liao huh? How how? Exciting right? For me, it was exciting at first. Then, it was very confusing and then, it became quite a chore! hahahahahahahaaa...

It was because I liked so many thing and so many different styles so could not decide at all lor! I know lah, I power!

<font color="aa00aa">Zara:
Oh, different churches have different amounts leh. For St. Mary, it is $600 (inclusive of flowers) but $500 if you are a parishioner. However, the "rental" of the canteen / rooms is an additional amount in my case and it depends on which area you want to "rent".

Hmmm... As for BS, it totally depends on what is important to you. For me, I tend to go for a designer whom I can speak to and who understands my requirements. Because design wise, it can be modified by showing him / her pictures. So, if you like Ted Wu's designs, perhaps you can highlight those "areas" you like in your discussion with Divine and see what they come up with. Likewise, you can ask Ted Wu if they are fine with working with another photographer. Just some tots yeah?</font>

oraia

hi buffy,

wah!!! such a colourful post! hehehe.

hehe, ya started designing process liao
exciting, but a little confused!! will take some time to decide and then see how loh... may re try some gowns again to make sure...

heeeee.. no lah... all brides to be all same same one lah... like so many styles, and want so many things.. in the end v confused loh

okie here's mine :

Buffy - 30 Dec (AD), Merchant Court (Venue), Wedding Present (BS), St Mary (Church Venue)
Bin -
Celtricia -
Oraia - 12 Dec, Grand Hyatt, Bridal Veil, St. Francis of Assisi.
Smilezz -
Zara -

celtricia

Hey Buffy! Good work! Thanks for starting the compilation.. heehee.. here's mine..

Bin -
Celtricia - 18 June 05 (AD),Fame Bridal @ Yishun (BS), St Mary's (Church Venue)
Smilezz -
Zara -

buffy

<font color="808080">Hi ladies,

How's everyone doing? I finally got the "our life together" book at the piety shop for wedding outside mass. Will look through it over the weekend with HB and perhaps make a selection from there.</font>

<font color="119911">Oraia:
How's the designing process so far? You decided liao?
Hee... U also like me huh? And I tot I was the only one who is so "sum si si", cannot decide what I like!

What colour is your EG? Mine is pinkish. I know lah, very "girl". Hahahahahaahahaaa... I had some doubts for fear that it will look too sweet but pink is one of those colours that I wear well so not much choices lor!

<font color="0000ff">Celtricia:
Hello dearie! How are you getting on? Yr AD still some time away huh? So must be quite relaxed for you.

celtricia

Hi buffy...

Hee... yah lor.. quite far away.. dat's y c u ppl getting ready n choosing n finalising ur gowns n all.. so envious.. make me feel like i've got nothing to do for my wedding.. hee.. at least nw i'm busy wif my new hse reno.. so not so bad.. but would love to get ready for my wedding though its still far fetch.. kekeke..

oraia

hey buffy!!!

heee.. still hvn't decide.. will prob decide in eaerly jul
no lah.. me oso cannot decide one.. always caught in big dilemmas. hahaha. so u are not alone ok?

me hvn't decide WG yet ah!! where got so fast decide EG?! heeeee.. i like red leh. so may get red. see how loh. see what cols are proposed then i decide.
pink quite sweet mah!! nice nice!!! is it light pink? or fuschia pink? u must be v fair hor? since u take pink well? heeee...

hi celtricia!

no need envious lah!!! soon it'll be ur turn.. actually ur wedding's in june.. u'll prob start in a couple of months!

little_a

ladies can i join in??

Bin -
Smilezz -
Zara -
little_ger - 26 Nov 05 (AD), Intercontinental (Venue), Divine Couture (BS), Our Lady of Perpetual Succour (Church Venue)

little_a

bin, i remember u did mentioned tat u r attending aug mpc...i will also be attending aug mpc..which commences on 1 aug rite?? maybe i can see u there@ SJI?

little_a

i am thinking of getting fr gerard...cos he was the spiritual director when i was going thru RCIA... he is really nice and very fatherly..

zara

hello ladies,

i'll add my details to the list when they're confirmed okie?

right down still choosing bridal boutique. presently am considering ted wu or kevin seah. one of my church frens took kevin seah and had all good things to say about him, and introduced me to him. we went down to his place and met him. kevin's really quite easy to get along with, fh and i quite like our interaction with him, whereas we never got to meet ted wu. dun think he meets potential customers, only confirmed ones. and kevin seah's gowns are absolutely gorgeous! haha, looks like we're inclined to one huh?

btw, wanna ask you gals something. the baptismal extract is only valid for 6 mths from date of wedding rite? when i spoke to the church secretariat of olps, the guy there told us to get our baptismal extracts, then talk to the priest and book the church date and all. then wouldn't the extract be invalid by the time our wedding comes next may?

celtricia

hi oraia..

heehee.. can't help it but to envy leh.. kekeke..
but nw i in deep shit.. haiz.. my MIL wans us to bring forward the AD.. so nw i having trouble arranging for a day to haf it in church.. haiz.. areadi planned my day of PS n day to choose gown.. real stress ah..

may haf it in 1st Jan 2005, but duno if its possible to hold it in a day like tis.. hehe..

oraia

zara~ yup, u are right about ted wu not meeting customers until they are confirmed. i went down as well and was told that. but he'll be at all design sessions.

can u book the church date first? just in case it gets booked? then talk to a priest to marry you. i think the baptismal extract comes last, when u meet the priest abt 3 mths before wedding.

celtricia~ heeee.. no need to envy lah
bring fwd AD to 1 Jan!?! that's like half a yr away!! is there any reason why? abit rushed i think, for you.
If i'm not wrong hor, 1 Jan is feast day of Mary, Mother of God. eh... must check w church whr they can marry u on that day. dun stress kae?

little_a

btw, wanna ask you gals something. the baptismal extract is only valid for 6 mths from date of wedding rite? when i spoke to the church secretariat of olps, the guy there told us to get our baptismal extracts, then talk to the priest and book the church date and all. then wouldn't the extract be invalid by the time our wedding comes next may?

>> zara :
OLPS has got three time slots (if it is on a sat)
9am, 12noon, and 2pm.
Rental of church - $250
Rental of reception venue - $250
(Wedding mass at 2pm ... reception not allow)
Decor - min $300 (external florist not allow)
Deposit of $100 (will be refunded after everything is in order and cleared up)

Documents to be submitted :
1. Inform ROM
2. Baptismal certificates of both parties
3. MPC Certificate

There will be an interview with the parish priest and documents to be submitted b4 wedding date.

celtricia

oraia... yah i m very stressed now.. i do not noe d reason y my MIL wans to push forward d date.. but doesn't really matter.. now me already rushing to get tings down.. scheduled my PS n gown choosing date liao.. nw only left d church.. st mary's feast day is on the 1st of Aug.. if i'm not wrong.. n its my parish priest dat ask me to haf wedding on 1st of Jan.. shoudn't b a prob i guess. heehee.. if not i dun tink he should mentioned it right? kekeke..

hi little_ger...

its seems like its much cheaper to get married at OLPS den at St Mary's... kekeke... anyway, u should actually book d church first b4 getting the baptismal extracts as told by my parish priest..

little_a

celtricia, yup that's what I did...i booked the church first...paying the deposit next week..attending MPC in Aug 04...
no harm booking the church first..

bin

allo ladies,

Oops! Think I missed many postings. Anyway, here's my update...

Bin - 1 Jan 2005 (AD), Imperium Chinese Dining (Lunch venue), Yvonne Creative (BS), Risen Christ (Church venue)
Smilezz -
Zara -
little_ger - 26 Nov 05 (AD), Intercontinental (Venue), Divine Couture (BS), Our Lady of Perpetual Succour (Church Venue)

I've juz selected my WG &amp; EG for PS last sat. I chosen all OTR, thus leave me with nothing to do except to wait for my trial makeup in Jul
Meanwhile, trying to get all the beauty zzz I cld, drink lotsa H2O, watch wat I eat, and try to loose a few kg/gm/inches

Hi liitle_ger:
yup, yup. I'm looking forward to MPC on 1 aug. Getting bored with nothing much to do with fh over the weekends
Sorry ah...wat is baptismal extract?? I'm kinda shock with church rental charges. I din find out or budget for mine, will ask tonite when I pop by the scy office. Tot only need to pay for flowers

Ha-low celtricia:
My AD is 1st Jan!
I've tok to my parish priest who gave me the go ahead. But like oraia mentioned, it's a feast day and there might be morning masses. Thus I can only hold my wedding mass after 10.30am.

Who are you gals engaging to be your AD photographer? I'm scouting ard now...

oraia

hi celtricia,

*hugz* dun stress kae? you are getting OTR gowns is it? can lah, can still make it, don't worry.

ya, i think st. mary's is quite ex to rent for weddings, cos its such a lovely church aft reno. wish i cld get married there.

good luck w ur preps ya?

buffy

Wah wah wah... So many postings over these few days. Ai yoh, I read first and then "contribute" later.

buffy

<font color="119911">Celtricia:
Ai yah, no need to envy lah. It will be yr turn soon and when it is yr turn, perhaps you will be like me and Oraia, BIG headache over the gowns and all. Hahahahahaahahahaha...

Ohhh... How is yr AD coming along? Confirmed the new date liao? Dun stress dun stress. Just hang in there ok?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Oraia:
Eh, red EG nice leh! Really! I was thinking of either having a pink, gold or red. Hee... I like colours lah!
Do you have any preferences with regards to the EG? For me, I wanted a spaghetti one for my EG since WG is off shoulder, so wanted some "differentiation" lor.

Oh... Hmmm... Truly, I dun think I am fair because my SIL is LOADS fairer than me. Perhaps because I look "pale" so pink adds a little "warmth" to my skin. Oh. The pink is not exactly as strong as fuschia, think it is a little lighter. I wanted fuschia but could not find matching chiffon so had to compromise lor.</font>

<font color="ff6000">Little ger:
Of course can join! Welcome welcome. So you gg for Aug MPC huh? Let me know how it goes hor? Mine is the Oct intake.

<font color="aa00aa">Zara:
Hee... For my case, I was deciding between Kevin Seah and TWP. One of the few reasons why I finally ended up with TWP is because of budget problem. Kevin Seah is slightly on the higher end. But yes, his gowns are BEAUTIFUL and he is very nice! Two thumbs up!

As for the extraction, yah, it should be done no earlier than 6 months. We met up with our celebrant a couple of weeks back and I remembered him instructing my HB.</font>

celtricia

Hi Shern..

Welcome u to join us...

Hey bin..

Spoken to my Parish priest.. but he din inform me of d feast day n my wedding mass will b at 10am leh.. so i duno if it'll clash.. anyway.. if there's a mass den i gonna 'scold' my parish priest liao.. hehe.. anyway.. yet to find any suitable photographer for my AD, may get some relatives or relative's frens to help us do d photography as he always does it for our church event..

hi oraia...

thanks for d *hugz* heehee.. yah my gowns r OTR.. but as i'm not having any wedding dinner n my bridal package inclds a nite gown.. my aunts r suggesting i get a MTM for one of my 3 gowns, something dat's semi formal.. short dress sort.. but i duno if i wan to or juz use it to upgrade my vehicle to a jaguar.. hehehe..
yes.. st mary's is quite ex to rent for wedding.. haiz.. it seems like everything also $$$$.. so sianz.. y can't u get married in St Mary's since u like it so much.. but St Francis of Assisi also juz renovated wat.. should b quite ex too issit?

hi buffy..
heehee.. no longer envy liao.. nw really stress up wif guest list n d buffet lunch n all.. heh.. i've confirmed my AD liao.. its on 1st Jan 2005..

oraia

hi buffy!

as usual, veri colourful postings heee!

i oso like gold, but i think i won't stand out cos i'm not fair lah. i still like red best. but see how loh. i think i want softer design for EG. havn't decide what style yet tho'

got any pics to show me or not? :p

hi shern,

welcome!
when's ur wedding?

hey celtricia!

i see... so not so bad lah, no dinner to worry about. still can make it! dun stress! heee.
i can't marry at st. mary's cos the date is already taken even tho' i went late last year to try and book.
nvm lah... st. francis not too ex to book. almost same charges as OLPS i think. how much is st. mary's? 1.2K is it?

celtricia

heloz oraia...

oh! ur date is being taken? no more time slots for u liao meh? hmmm... st francis also so cheap after reno ah.. not bad leh.. st mary's after adding on d church n hall its 1.1k..i tink.. duno if there's any other charges to add on.. haiz.. everything comes down to money.. even in d faith of religion.. so sad..

shern

My FH wanted Holy Fam initially cos he's from there but we're currently attending BSC. Seems like most we spoke to think that having it in our own parish is a better idea. (Anyway I prefer BSC

Booked BSC for mid dec on a Fri, kinda worried that'll it be empty. Any brides gonna DIY booklets as well as invites?

I like St Mary's design...very minimalistic

shern

Bin - 1 Jan 2005 (AD), Imperium Chinese Dining (Lunch venue), Yvonne Creative (BS), Risen Christ (Church venue)
Smilezz -
Zara -
Shern - 17 Dec 2004(AD), Rasa Shangri La (Venue), Silver Cloak Couture (BS), Blessed Sacrament(Church Venue)

1st fitting mid jul, PS in mid aug (jus before 7th month)

zara

Hi Shern,

I'm from BSC! =) But am currently attending OLPS with FH. We talked to the OLPS secretariat. We're actually looking at Mon 23 May 05 for our AD which is a public hol, but the priests of OLPS are not really for having a wedding on a public hol. Think they prefer Sat. Now gotta discuss with FH whether to change to a Sat or hold it at my church (BSC) instead or beg the priests of OLPS to let us have it on our preferred date.

Actually I wouldn't mind having it at BSC since I grew up there, and BSC has a longer aisle to walk down. Hehe. But I also wonder if it'll look empty as BSC is so huge... Well, will keep u gals updated.

shern

Hi zara, glad to know someone from BSC
my FH was from OLPS long time ago...told me after the reno, it looks very nice.

I dun think BSC will look bare cos the whole church is in dark wood...cosy feeling too. Agree that the aisle is very long...a lil' too long actually hehehe think I need to count the no of pews... and decide on the decor for it

celtricia

Celtricia - 1 Jan 05 (AD),Fame Bridal @ Yishun (BS), St Mary's (Church Venue)
Smilezz -
Zara -
Shern - 17 Dec 2004(AD), Rasa Shangri La (Venue), Silver Cloak Couture (BS), Blessed Sacrament(Church Venue)

Hi zara...

Tink d priests at OLPS quite lazy ah.. hehe.. hw come dun take public holiday for weddings.. kekeke.. it shouldn't b a prob wat..

shern

hi zara, celtricia, jus find that some priest are more accomodating and some are very strict..... had bad experience with one....hehehe
any of you have a softcopy for the church booklet?

oraia

hi celtricia,

ya... it's taken already. my AD is a sunday, they can only do one wedding in the afternoon. so no can do.
would have loved to have fr phil marry us.

sasa_kao

I am a Catholic bride also. The difficulty is that I don't live in Singapore but I am planning a wedding in Singapore. We have booked my fiance's parents church, IHM (Church of the Immaculate Heart of Mary). Anyone is getting married/ or have married in IHM? Would love to have your advice.

My biggest worry is the music and choir. I am used to nice music/choir in my own church overseas and really would like to have nice music on my wedding. My fiance and his family keep telling me that it's too early to worry about the music now. How long before the wedding would be the right time to search for musicians/choir? Do I have to search within the church or it's possible to hire catholic musicians/singer from other church? Could you please share your experience?

thank you!

Sasa

shern

Hi sasa,

u can check with the church, i'm with BSC and they have a florist who can arrange for decor, music and printing of invites/booklets. If there's none whom they can recommend (unlikely
) I can check with mine for u. when's your AD? u can always list out the songs u wan 1st

sasa_kao

Hi Shern,

Thank you for the reply! My wedding date is Jan 1, 2005. My impression is that if I don't know anyone in the IHM choir, they wouldn't sing for me. well... I probably exaggerated a bit. It certainly doesn't sound easy though. I really don't know anyone in the choir but wouldn't mind paying the musicians.

What kind of instruments are you going to have for your wedding?

Sasa

celtricia

Hi shern...

true to say.. some priest r quite difficult to handle.. hehe... but dun let that get to u lor.. hahah

Hi oraia,
oh! urs on sunday ah! no wonder.. anyway.. even if u manage to get st mary's for ur wedding, u may not get fr phil as he's going bak to aust soon.. but i duno when.. heehee

Heloz sasa...

welcome! ur AD also 1st Jan 05 ah.. same as me n bin... anyway.. dun worry abt d music part.. if u've book IHM for ur wedding, they would definitely recommend u some of their church choirs for ur wedding.. no probs.. hehe.. u can always call up to enquire.. i'm sure they'll love to hear frm you..

shern

hi sasa, no prob, i've not met up with the lady who does these, so i've not decided yet. i think for church choir its usually an ang pow instead of payment...unless professionals i guess.

celtricia, got over it, cos the BSC priests more than make up for the 1 bad experience i had

steff

Hi all brides to be,

I posted this much earlier so many of you may have missed.

Pls contact Philip Lye at 65661683 if you need someone to sing at your wedding without wanting a choir. He's experienced in singing/playing the piano or organ at wedding masses and has been doing it for a long time. BTW, he's blind but his wife will bring him around.

I had him for my Church wedding and it went without a hitch. He will liaise with you nearer to your wedding date to find out about your hymns.

cosmicstar

For those attending MPC soon, try to go every session with your hubby-to-be. You will learn many important lessons to be emotionally prepared for marriage and for children. I attended MPC June 2002. I was attached to couple Michael and Phyllis Goh. During alternate sessions, we had our sessions at the couple's home. The input sessions by Victor and Vivienne are very inspiring. Do watch out for them!

little_a

Hi sasa, maybe i can help you. I know of a choir in IHM...if u need them to sing on ur wedding day..i can give u the contact.

sasa_kao

Thank you so much Shern, Celtricia, Steff, and little_ger! Thank you for the help!

Celtricia, Really? we have the same wedding date! How is your preparation going so far?

Sasa

sasa_kao

Hello Little_ger,

You are with a choir...
Do you mean you are a choir member? I love singing also. I actually told my fiance that if I can't find a cantor then I will do it myself. He looked at me like if I am crazy...haha...

Anyways, does the IHM choir you mentioned sing in the morning or afternoon service? Have you heard their performance before? What kind of instrument do they play? I would love to get the name and contact number from you. Here is my email [email protected]. I will need to discuss this with my fiance's family again though.

thanks a lot!

Sasa

shern

me quite blur...what's the role of the cantor? can the commentator double up as a reader?

little_a

hi sasa,
i am a choir member. gee, how are u going to be the cantor when u r the bride? anyway, i believe there is usually a few cantors within the choir. i will email the contact to u by this friday.
As to whether the choir is good i cant comment cos I only hear them sing once.
Alternatively, you cld attend mass at different timing and hear them sing...can just approach them after the mass. that's what many couples did...they actually approached the choir members after mass..

Hi shern,
anyone can be the cantor or reader.... the role of a cantor is to sing out the psalm and the gospel acclaimation. alternatively, the psalm and the gospel acclaimation can be read out.

For my case, I will get the cantor within the choir itself.

Usually a certain amt is charged for usage of the choir.

oraia

hi celtricia,

yup.. mine's a sunday.
no choice lor. fr phil did ask us whr we can do it on sat, but my mum prefers the date on sun.

oh well...

really?? fr phil is leaving to go back to au?????!!!

celtricia

Hi Steff,

R u frm st mary's too? btw, juz to find out.. how much did u pay for philip lye's service? coz i'm going to ask him to play n sing for me during my wedding..

YOz sasa...

Yup! We've got d same wedding date.. so far i've done my gown selection for both my AD n PS liao, n haf booked my church as well as the priest.. nw trying to finalise my caterer for my lunch buffet n at d same time trying to finish up d reno for my hse.. heehee N my PS will b in 2nd Aug...
so hw bout u? hwz ur prep so far?

Eloz oraia..
hmm... but y sunday? issit becoz ur mum check out d date on sunday is auspicious? coz most ppl n family would haf preferred sat as it'll not b too tiring d next day.. heehee.. but ultimately it seems u've got to go along wif ur mum's wishes right.. no choice lor.. kekeke

ya.. fr phil is leaving for aust, as his term is up liao.. but i duno when he's leaving..

sasa_kao

Little_ger, thanks a lot! I would love to hear their singing myself but I live in the US and I won't be able to fly to Singapore until very close to the wedding date.

Hello Celtricia,
I like our wedding date because my anniversary can be a holiday every year! :p Wow... you have done so much already. It has been very slow for me. Planning an overseas wedding is not an easy thing. I have booked 3 important things: IHM for the wedding ceremony, Four Seasons for dinner and Bridal Veil for the bridal package. I really hope that I can make a trip to Singapore before the wedding. If not, I will have to rely on my fiance's family for all the details.... I do trust them. It's just that I would like to plan my own wedding. I have been quite stressed out lately but my fiance thinks it's still too early to think about the details. I just showed your note to him and let him know that Singaporean do start preparation 6 months before the wedding.

Sasa