Carlton Hotel

circuit

Hi Froggie, mind sharing the wedding themes for Yr 2006 with me too? My email add is [email protected].

Btw how many +/- of the no. of tables does Carlton allow? Meaning the no. of tables that can be reduced if the guests don't turn up.

jmie

halo everyone,

just had my wedding dinner at Carlton and everything was gd, except that some of my guests mentioned that the fish was fishy..i chose sea bass and i understand that seabass does come with a 'muddy' smell..so a bit upset..also, they commented that the sharkfin was full of mushrooms and saw little sharkfin..

my hubby told me it could be becoz there was another wedding at esplanade room and i heard it was a more expensive menu..could it be becoz they gave better indregients and dishes to the other dinner and mine was neglacted? any comments? so sad..

but for other brides-to-be, dun worry, carlton service was really not bad! augustine and eunice were very helpful. everyother thing went out fine. i enjoyed myself in fact!

dv1adm2

hi jc/circuit/elyn..

sent the packages!! do check mail.
tell us if u sign up and stuff k..
i myself am undecided..sigh.. =P

isishui

long time din come to this thread, think not many will rem/noe me here.. :p i juz had my wedding banquet with carlton in Nov.. everything went smoothly.. i got alot of last min changes on my table arrangments but Augustine was able to help me settle everything.. he's even able to arrange for vegetarian dishes although we make request aft banquet start.. :p most of my guest find the food there nice..

hi sherv & kev,

my EG is champagne gold.. quite okie.. goes well with the oriental theme.. anyway, it's onli the stage and VIP tables tt's red.. the rest still okie.. if ur EG is gold colour, better dun choose classic.. classic deco's main colour is gold.. ur gown won't stand out if the colour is too similar.. :p

chipdale1910

Hi Shihui,

Congrats! Do u have a wonderful time for ur wedding day?

How do ur guests find ur foods? How many tables do u have? Any photos to show?

Jus wondering will there be any stage decro like putting our names there?

Btw, my EG is a bit of pinky red. Does it goes well wif oriental theme? I myself like the oriental theme alot. Hehehe.

I'm sorry for so many questions.

My email: [email protected]

isishui

hi chipdale1910,

wedding day was fun.. feel like a star.. :p most of my guests like the food there.. i had 31+2 tables.. eventually open 32 tables in total.. quite spacious.. but take note of the table at the front most left and right.. they won't be able to see the screen if u intend to hav video/photo presentation.. so dun place close frens/relatives there.. :p

the stage decor is very simple... mine dun hav our name on it.. din request for it.. :p

not sure if pinky red goes well with the oriental theme anot.. but think it's shdn't be a prob.. i think the oriental theme goes well with light colours..

i hav email the link to u..

faintz

Hi,Ladies

Just to share..

If you are taking the oriental theme, it will block out your names unless you want to place it one the left and one on the right..Initially, I want to put also but later realise it might not be nice after talking to the coordinator.

Shihui is right about the table at the front most left and right. The guests seated there will not be able to see the screen. In fact, there are at least 4 tables other than the two tables mentioned that cannot see the screen.

33+2 reserve tables are still quite spacious. In my opinion, 35tables and above will be a bit crampy.

Heard that the hotel will have an automated screen only after year 2006 but the pillars will still be there :p they are their fengshui pillars.. ha ha...

Oriental theme is nice with red roses, I felt.. What you ladies think?

Any one know what is their fan fare? Any first dish songs to recommend?

isishui

hi faintz, yup.. there's two other table tt's hidden behind the pillar... half of the table can't see wat's going on.. :p (better dun put anyone impt there as well.. :p) i match my oriental theme with champagne pink rose... quite nice...
they will provide first dish song.. but.. it's better to prepare ur own... dun really like their one.. :p

Hi Bear, any clearer hint? :p not very sure of the seating arrangement leh.. :p u juz ROM not long ago rite? :p

i will juz post my link here lah.. enjoy the photos..

http://uk.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/isishui/my_photos

sereneli

Hi Shihui,

Seeing your pics really bring back beautiful memories kekeke....but how come ur pics a lot slanted one?? keke

sereneli

Hi Shihui,

hehe but the photos does bring back nice memories....was talking to hubby just now, he missed the suite most! still can remember our room number...2201

chipdale1910

So to exac, there will be 4 tables that will be blocked, rite?

Hi Shihui,
Thanks for ur photos. It's very nice & i like d oriental theme. Will consider this as my theme. Dun noe whether will they change the theme this yr a not.
Btw, do u use their LCD projecter? U put ur slide show outside d ballrm?

It's so nice to see u back here. How's life now?
I suppose u miss d times for ur AD. Times flies.

isishui

Hi chipdale1910,
i used their LCD projecter... used it for photo montage before dinner and morning highlight before 1st march in.. i put my slideshow on stage.. so before i march in, they got to remove it fr the stage as the projecter will be placed along the walkway.. but it's very fast.. onli 1/2min at most.. :p

hi serene..
wow.. u room so high up.. mine is 0601.. so sian.. not much to see... :p

sereneli

Hi Chipdale,
Heehee life is quite hectic now due to my work.
But will be going Bangkok this evening for a short getaway with my family. Yeah, miss my AD time heehee.....all the prep works and the AD itself :p

So how's your preparation? Had your PS?

Hi Shihui,
I thought most of the suites are on the top few floors?? Aiya, you should have requested for it cos the view up there is really GOOD, till my hubby tot of booking the room again for my anniversary keke. Somemore during my time, got the NDP rehearsal, so we saw the "show" from our room in comfort hehehe

chipdale1910

Hi Shihui,
Ok, thanks. I will show my photo montage b4 my 1st march in.
Btw, what songs did u choose for ur 1st,2nd march in & 1st dish presentation? Sori for soo many qns. Paiseh...

I have choosen my gowns oreadi. My indoor PS will be on 28-Feb & outdoor PS will be on 06-Mar.

Good idea! U & ur hubby can go to Carlton again for anniversary. But, it will be quite ex le, hehehe.
Btw, when shld i collect my invitation cards from Carlton to send for printing? My AD is on 09-July.

sereneli

Hi Chipdale,

Wow, things are slowly falling in place huh keke remember to share your pics!

Yeah, quite ex....one night about $300+. Actually you can collect your cards anytime liao cos if u print earlier u will have more time to write. As long as you are comfortable with their selection of cards and that in the next 2 or 3 months no new cards, then u can let them know u want to collect

isishui

Hi Serene, tt time i did told them "huh.. so low ah" but they told me bridal suite is always at lvl 6... so no choice lor...

Hi chipdale, my first march in is "Say Yes" by chage and aska.. 2nd march in is David Tao's ai4 heng2 jian3 dan1.. i used their song for 1st dish presentation.. but strongly encourage u not to use if u hav time to choose.. :p for champagne pouring, i used beauty and the beast.. haha.. :p

sereneli

Hi Shihui,

kena conned liao...keke cos on my AD, there's another couple who held their wedding on the 4th floor ballroom, they got the 26th floor suite hehe

jmie

Not conned lah..coz i saw both type of rooms in 26flr as well as 6flr..i think those on 6th flr is better..bigger leh. maybe not the floor tat matters but the type they give?

sereneli

Hi Jimiee,

Heehee not that I said 6th floor one no good but Shihui was told that the Bridal suite is always on level 6 mah....so that's why lor.....

yeah, it's not the floor that matters, as long as u enjoy your AD can liao....cos the rooms layout are the same and same size. Anyway, just a suggestions for future Carlton bride, can try to ask for upper floors cos the view is really fantastic. Can see chjimes overview.

isishui

Hi Serene..

actually tt time abit disappointed when i got the 6th floor.. but too tired aft morning activities.. so any room for me to rest my legs can liao.. :p but slight disappointment when i enter the room.. the bridal suite feel like ordinary suite leh.. i was hoping for a more romantic feel.. :p if they can provide bubble bath with rose petals etc, will be perfect.. haha.. :p *i think i too imaginative liao.. :p*

nervous_tweedy

actually still thinking whether to choose Carlton Hotel as my AD place. However, after reading all your info make me really keen. Just to check is the view really bad and the projector stuff will it actually spoilt the whole event should they removed it not fast enough.
Hope to get some info from all of you. Tks in advance =)

chipdale1910

OK, will share my pics after collecting my wedding photos. Hope tat everything will turn out nice (*cross fingers*)

Actually, i tot of collecting the cards in Feb. Then have more time to write them. Hehehe. In case, the printing is wrong.

Hi Shihui,
Ok, thanks. Actually, i tot of bringing a CD with those love compilation songs to play throughout d whole banquet. Do u think can it be done?

circuit

Can all who has been to banquet at Carlton comment on the food? I have heard -ve comments from a friend. Thanks! :)
Now thinking of Carlton or Meritus Mandarin. It's perks vs cost.

isishui

hi chipdale, i think it shd be okie.. u can juz pass it to the banquet manager on ur AD can liao..

hi circuit, i got gd comments fr my guest leh.. however, i mixed n matched the two menus they hav.. in the end need to top up as the dishes i chose were all the expensive ones in the menu.. but i onli top up $20/table and my guests enjoyed the dinner... so i think it's worth it lor...

faintz

HI, CHIPDALE

i might be collecting my cards in march or april cos dun know there will be a change of cards.. heard tat wedding favours are changing..

was surprise that they took awhile to remove the projector.. i spoke to the banquet manager and he told me will be a lot of movement involved to remove it. two guys on the stage and two off the stage to remove the projector and wire..end up we decided to put the screen outside like wat Serene did.

oh ya, what first dish song you using?

sereneli

Hi Shihui,
Nvm lah, as long as you enjoyed yourself that day, that's the most important thing right?

Hi Chipdale,
Will definitely turn up nice. Just relax and enjoy your PS.

Hi Chris,
What info you need?

Hi Faintz,
Yeah, tot that's a "safer" way of using the projector!

nervous_tweedy

I have yet to go down to carlton to take a look, any photos to show on the pillars there. Besides, the food there is it good and how the service? My parents very particular about food. As I got budget constraint guess choosing the 598 wan, however, did the manager provide food tasting for 10 etc and wat other perks they offer? Tks in advance sorry for so many qns =)

Hi Shihui,
I was browsing through the menu and realise whether can mix and match. So maybe can give me some advice on the menu u took up. Dun wan complain from my guest.

isishui

Hi Chris,

for the cold dish, i got the one with jellyfish, octopus, prawn salad n roast pig etc.. the rest are taro prawns, fruity meat, mango duck, sharkfins with conpoy (strongly recommended as the sharkfins with crabmeat is not nice fr past experience for my fren's wedding at carlton), steam "chang1 yu2" with "dou4 si3" (personally prefer chang yu with sour plum, teochew style but they dun hav), vege with mushroom, glutinous rice, red bean paste with bai3 he2...

basically, i selected all the yummy dishes fr both menu.. tt's y got to top up.. btw, tt time, i dun need to top up for change of seabass to chang yu... if change to garoupa, need to top up.. not sure how much though.. :p

hi serene, agree with u.. most impt is to relax n hav fun tt day and enjoy being the princess of the night... still miss my AD.. haha..

Hi Faintz, feedback fr parents tt they very fast and smooth in removing the projector and screen.. but placing outside is definitely safer.. dun hav to worry if they able to remove in time anot. :p

chipdale1910

Hi Faintz,

I might be collecting cards in Feb(after CNY) bah.Kiasu hor.

I think i might place the projector on d stage.they can take it away b4 we march in, rite?

i'm still looking ard for songs leh for 1st dish? Wat abt u? Have u found d song?

Hi Serene & Shihui,
Thanks, I will relax & enjoy d whole process of PS & AD.*Cross fingers* Hope tat everything will go on smoothly. Hehehe.

chipdale1910

Hi Faintz,

I think i might place the projector on d stage.they can take it away b4 we march in, rite?

i'm still looking ard for songs leh for 1st dish? Wat abt u? Have u found d song?

Hi Serene & Shihui,
Thanks, I will relax & enjoy d whole process of PS & AD.*Cross fingers* Hope tat everything will go on smoothly. Hehehe.

circuit

Hi Shihui,

Thanks for your feedback. I feel assured. Maybe just take your dishes to be on the safe side. :p Are we allowed to try different food from the 2 menus, ie. one eat Menu 1 and another eat Menu2?

isishui

Hi circuit,

during food tasting, i was allowed to pick 9 dishes (including cold dish n red bean paste)out from both menus to try at no additional cost.. can still change dish if u dun like aft food tasting.. onli need to top up for my AD tables aft i confirmed with them wat i want for my AD...

nervous_tweedy

Hi Shihui,

Tks for your info on the food. I have arranged to meet up with the coordinator April on next Friday to discuss further. Pray hard she is friendly...hope everything turn out well...first meeting loi...

Can anyone pls send me the sample pics of Carlton & themes oso?

sereneli

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

I have yet to go down to carlton to take a look, any photos to show on the pillars there. Besides, the food there is it good and how the service? My parents very particular about food. As I got budget constraint guess choosing the 598 wan, however, did the manager provide food tasting for 10 etc and wat other perks they offer? Tks in advance sorry for so many qns =)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Chris,
I will send you a link to my pics later. As for perks, mine may not be the same as I had my wedding in June 2005 and negotiated the perks in Aug 2004.
But the service is excellent and the food is great as commented by my guests and relatives. I love their mango duck!

sereneli

hi serene, agree with u.. most impt is to relax n hav fun tt day and enjoy being the princess of the night... still miss my AD.. haha..<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Shihui,
Yeah I agree and I definitely miss my AD too!

sereneli

Hi Faintz,

Hi Serene &amp; Shihui,
Thanks, I will relax &amp; enjoy d whole process of PS &amp; AD.*Cross fingers* Hope tat everything will go on smoothly. Hehehe.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Chipdale,
No worries, just relax and you will have an enjoyable wedding. Btw, for first dish presentation, you can try Maksim's pieces

chipdale1910

Ok, thanks. I will relax, looking forward for my wedding day &amp; enjoy.

For the 1st dish presentation, is Maksim's pieces a song? Sori, i dun know. Is it a song? Do u have it? Can send to me? Thanks.

sereneli

Hi Chipdale,

Maksim is a piano player......some of his works can be used as the first dish presentation, like bumble bee, kolibre etc.

I don't have the mp3 files, have to go and search

sereneli

Hi Chipdale,

No problem lah....I also didn't know until my hubby let me listen to it as he chose kolibre as our first dish presentation. I am not into mp3 downloading so I don't know where to source for u :p keke