Cameron Highlands

icedrops

Midas,
Thanks. So parking will be free in this case? It's safe also right?

Also, what time does the shops & eateries usually close at night? Besides provision shop, any market or supermarket at Brinchang/Tanah Ratah? Need to get some fresh meat, fish & vege cos will be cooking for my gal there.

Idono,
What kind of fresh stuffs does the small market outside the hotel sell? Do they sell meat & veges?

icedrops,
ya parking there shld be rather safe since the traffic there is not heavy...

hmmm...eatery shld close later than 9pm ba..i've taken 8pm+ dinners b4. fresh fruits n vege sure hv but not sure about meat leh..see wat idono says..

idono

mostly vegetables & cameron corn. cameron corn is really nice & sweet, try it. i dun really recall fresh meat. even those restaurants serving steamboat, the meat are really not fresh.

clldavid

icedrops. Eating places at Tanah Ratah close rather late. We've eaten dinner till 11pm before.

Fresh veges is easy to find in Cameron Highlands lah ah. They grow veges there after all. The young corn is so good you can eat it raw (in fact, they taste better raw than the cooked ones).

Oh. And please don't bother about this thing what they call the "Jambu Apple". They'll try to sell it to you saying lots of things. But I realised that on the packaging, there's a label that states it's simply guava with permitted food colouring and permitted flavouring. I went to read it because my fiancee commented that the colour looked very "fake". And I found it tasted like guava.

mystique_

I agree with Idono. Vegetables are plentiful and fresh at Cameron but not the meat. For dinner on both days, I chose the more crowded steamboat restaurant at Brinchang. For lunch, I went over to Tanah Rata to have Indian food.

icedrops

Thanks folks. In this case, I'll just chk out with the hoel to see if there's any supermarket/wet market nearby where they sell fresh meat & fish. I know veges are plentiful @ Cameron but not sure where to get meat & fish. Btw, anyone recall seeing any supermarket/wet market at Brinchang/Tanah Rata?

they shld hv wet market lah...otherwise hw the locals buy their stuffs? but need to know where..i suspect tanah rata hv. but hor, u can speak malay? i afraid the stores r manned by mainly malays..

icedrops

Yup exactly. There'll definitely be one or a few of them ard.. mayb u din notice when u're there. My dad can speak Malay so no prob. Anyway, oredi emailed the hotel.. waiting for their reply. Tks ya!

clldavid

Not so much of Malays manning the stores actually. You'll be surprised by the population there. A lot of Chinese and Indians. If you know Cantonese, it's a plus. Most, if not all, of the Chinese there speak Cantonese.

ya...there got many chinese but most can manage both cantonese n mandarin..i was more concerned for market stalls coz i've seen pple sell vegetable at sunday market at tanah rata...they r all malays..

icedrops

Mdias,
Hv checked with the hotel. There's both supermarket & wet markets at Brinchang. They sell everything - fish, meat, veges & fruits.. so will pop by to take a look =)

As for dialect, I'm a Teochew so can speak Teochew fluently. I understand Cantonese & can speak simple ones. Malay only little bit here & there. But my dad can speak & understand Malay v. well & my mum can speak & understand Cantonese so shldn't hv any prob over there. Only Indian we catch no ball haha.. :p

icedrops,

oh well...u r more or less ready for the trip le
only need to settle the car n pack ur luggage...remember to bring jackets hor..

estee03

Hey ive just came back from CH. Lakehouse is not that bad... but i wont wanna stay there again;p yeah idono, it's good for honeymooner, very beautiful interior.

but Equatorial seems like a better place.. haha. nearer to the farms etc, and it's higher, and cooler.

for those whose interested to go CH, feel free to check our my blog.
http://doveblueshower.blogspot.com/ maybe it'll help. hee hee..

happylee

I will like to go Cameron Highland in 2 weeks time...dunno whether it too late to start the planning now. By the way, may I know where can I book the tour to CH or just book coach to go there then roam around ourselves is better? But I will be bringing my mum with me, so total consist of me, my hubby and my mum. Which hotel will be better, actually I care alot about hotel, especially cleanliness so I dun mind paying more for a good hotel. So is there any apartment like hotel which all of us can stay together but in different room? Sorry for asking so many questions cos never been to CH b4.

Thank you very much.

estee03

hello.

it's not too late to start planning now! you can book it in golden mile. they have quite a few:) for me, i got a free and easy package from vacation planners and it includes two way coach, two night stay at lake house, one free jungle trekking tour only (but i didnt go). i think it's better u get the hotel first. maj of the people go equatorial or strawberry park. theyre nearer to the attractions and town. coach from sg dont go other hotels..

we booked a country side tour there ourselves. they have other tours like adventure, waterfall, village, etc. u can book it directly from the tour agency there too.!!

evd

Hi Estee, which travel agent u got your package from? I am considering going to Cameron too, but as you said, all coaches from Singapore do not stop at lakehouse, but only strawberry and equatorial. I saw lakehouse website, it was really beautiful hotel! If you don't mind me asking, how much did you pay for your package>

estee03

:)

I got my package from vacation planners for $300(it's at orchard towers) includes 2 night accomodation, 2 way coach svc (konsortium coach)and breakfasts and room svcs.
http://www.vacationplanners.com.sg/
it was a promotion, but i dontink it's still on ): why not u call them up and ask? i think they do provide coach svc t lakehouse.

ANYWAY, lakehouse is really beautiful!! but kinda isolated from the main towns. so u need to take cab to go everywhere. i spent around rm60 on cab.

go to the lakehouse restaurant for fine dining! wooooo.

oceanmist

Anyone stayed in a 1 or 2 bedroom apartment at Equatorial before? If so, can recall if the tap opening at the bathtub is wide or narrow kind? Coz bringing my kid along & they told me the shower head is not removable so wld like to bring along a hose to connect to the bathtub tab for easier showering of my kid. I emailed them abt the diameter of the tap opening & they told me it's 4" wide so cannot be fixed with a hose, is it really true?? Cos 4" is v. wide for a tap opening & I'm v. doubtful. Can those who've stayed b4 recall??

lamby

We'll be visiting Cameorn in 2wks time & hv bookd our stay with Equatorial Hotel, 1 bedroom apt. Anyone stayed there recently? Can advise the condition of the apartment? Is it clean?

alicia_choo

Can anyone tell me where can I top up for the "Touch & Go" card as we will be driving up.
Can someone tell me how's the strawberry park resort.

ngfifi

Can anyone been to CH advise me if it is a gd time to visit CH during CNY period?

Tt of self-drive and stay at Strawberry Park resort. Anyone stays there b4?

Also not sure if it is cheaper to bk my accomodation thru local agency or internet? Im only gg for 2D1N

opi

I am considering to stay either Strawberry Park resort, or equatorial. Which one is better?

ryanmel

Supposely Equatorial should be better,
as its near to those 'farms'.

Anyone tookup the 3D2N Cameron + ipoh package
from Five stars?

Melissa.

pangel

I duno abt strawberry Park resort. But if u want to stay at equatorial, dun stay in their 2-bedrooms apartments. Their beds stink (very stale smell) and the water heater is enuff for abt 1.5 pax usage only. And it took forever to heat up. The door knob of the bathroom is faulty and the bathtub is rusty etc...=(

However, their moring breakfast buffet is decent enuff. =)

ybur

I have a two-day trip from KL to Cameron Highlands.
Bus up on Day 1 morning (9am departure), bus back on Day 2 evening (4:30pm departure).

How should I fill my time at Cameron Highlands?
I'm staying at Strawberry Park hotel with 2 other people, and we have no form of transportation. I assume there will be taxis for hire.

I know there are lists of activities and places, but I can't really figure out how far they are from each other.

Can someone suggest some two-day itineraries?

thanks in advance