Cameron Highlands

siewjingbao

orh ya..i stay at the tanah rata...when i am in cameron last year....at heritage hotel..love tat place..

simply love the pratas at the tanah rata there..
my bf simply loves the durians...simply delicious..

yum

skinnylatte

Hi sunrays,

I took Konsortium to Cameron Highlands. When u book ur coach, let them know u are staying at Lakehouse. Also remind the driver when u board. Becos the coach will arrive at Cameron very early in the morning, it will go straight to Brinchang first to let u have breakfast and to intro you their tour packages. After that they can arrange to send you to Lakehouse. Hope this helps.

sunrays

hi skinnylatte

tks for ur info!! I'll look out for Konsortium then...btw, is their coach comfortable? Just hope that it's comfortable cos it's abt 8hrs rite?? Did you book ur rooms from lakehouse's website or booking engines??

skinnylatte

Hi Sunrays,
The coach is quite comfy, spacious seats but the aircon gets terribly cold esp at nite! hehe. i got the room through Ping Anchorage (msia agent who accepts online booking as well) as their quote was the lowest. But slight inconvenience as i had to TT the payment to them.

sunrays

Hi Skinnylatte

So u got your room separately? I just called up Konsortium and they said they dun do coach with lakehouse stay.. Do u remember how much u paid for room & coach?

Tks!!

skinnylatte

Hi Sunrays,
I got the room myself online thru a malaysian agency. U can also book via Lakehouse's website. I paid about S$165 per nite..

pink_koala

Anyone can share? I'm looking at the quickest way to get there coz hv kids, so flight to KL first then coach transfer will be most ideal..

sunrays

Hi skinnylatte,

I already booked my coach to cameron at five stars..then i managed to find another website that is even cheaper than ping anchorage..I already booked the lakehouse but now the only problem is getting to the hotel from the place that the coach let us alight.
I emailed the lakehouse and they said that buses from SG will pass by their hotel but I dun think so cos I chked wif five stars and they hav no idea...they simply told me I can choose to alight either at Strawberry PArk htl or Equitorial Htl..
Do u hav any idea how far away is it? Are the taxis there expensive?

skinnylatte

Hi Sunrays,
Lakehouse is quite far from Brinchang where u will alight.. about 30 - 45mins drive away and taxi is not cheap. In fact, u will pass by the lakehouse first before u reach Brinchang. When u board, tell the coach driver are staying at the lakehouse.. they should know

hi sunrays,

i've travelled with five stars to cameron b4...Lakehouse sure will passby one. juz tell the driver who will be driving u uphill to drop u there. there is only one big lake along the way up. its quite yellowish the last time i passby but not sure about it now. will u be changing into a smaller vehicle at KL? we did last time...the big coach does not drive uphill.

sunrays

Hi skinnylatte,
tks for your advise maybe i'll inform the driver then..thk u!!

Hi midas,
I already asked five stars and they said it's a direct coach and there's no changing of buses...cross my fingers lor...i hope it's true cos these coach companies not very honest at times.. how small is the bus u changed to in KL? Cos if there's really a switch of buses,it's really gonna be inconvenient!! Cos i'm doing my photoshoot and i'll be lugging all my stuff with me! Plus the photographer & vdographer & makeup artist's stuff...jialat!!

hi sunrays,

wah u doing PS in cameron ah...err bad news is, if really got change of vehicle then it'll be a mini van. and the most inconvenient part is u'll arrive in KL at 3am in the morning (they'll drop u off at one of the 3star hotel and proceed to Genting). we waited for an hr at the lobby b4 tis van comes along and pick us up. and tis driver being very 'seasoned' driver, will drive uphill very fast and turning corners at high speeds. i wonder if ur barang barangs wld be intact by the time u reach Lakehouse at around 7am in the morning...wish u luck man.

oh, by the way tat was 3yrs ago lah. maybe things hv changed now

am_blessed

I'm planning for a short trip (maybe 2D or 3D) in late dec for my parents who r visiting me in singapore. Neither I nor them have been to Cameron Highland. Unfortunately, I can't accompany them during the trip to Cameron Highland. So, I'm planning to just book a tour package in advance that already includes everything : coach, hotel, and nature tour.

Anybody has done this before?..or if u have any info about tour package to Cameron Highlands, pls kindly let me know. Thanks =)

tiarad

I'm planning to go 4D/3N cameron highland and genting with my parents. I like to go CH coz never been there but my parents like genting. So thought of going 2 places.. but will it be a very tiring trip if we go 2 places? Any suggestions? How many days must we stay at CH to be able to see most of the places? Thanks

pink_koala

Hi, anyone here took a flight to KL first then do a coach transfer to Cameron? Or know of any agency tt offers such packages & is cheap? Can share??

tiarad

Anyone just came back from tour in genting or cameron? Are the two places affected by the haze? Quite worry... intend to go during the holidays in oct 06... now hesitate to book. Any feedback? Thanks

joey888

Ya, I intend to go Cameron this coming holiday too... but my hubby also afraid of the haze... anyone can feedback? Thanks.

belleteo

I am planing to go Cameron Highlands also.
1) Can advise me on th price and is it we have to booked thru tour?

2) Any hotel or resort to reco?

3) If we want to go to the farm is it have take a cab?
Sorry for so many question.

xiaojan

bumping this thread up!

anybodu goin to CH soon? tot of goin there during the may holiday...any recommendation on the package? or is it better to DIY? (ie. book coach and accomodation separately)

xiaojan

er...for those who book the coach and hotel separately, i need help!
i intend to reach cameron highland on 28 apr 8am and depart on 30 apr 8am (all by coach), can i book the hotel fr 28 to 30 apr only? does the hotel allow early checkin?

icedrops

Hi folks,

Need some info! Anyone stayed @ the Equatorial Hotel before? How far is it from the tea plantations, farms & nature walks? Is it within walking distances or do we need to take a cab/drive there?

And how far is it from town area? Between Brichang & Tanah Rata.. which one shld we go for & which is a better place to eat & shop? Any other places we shldn't miss?

Lastly, if we were to visit the attractions ourselves, do we need to rent a car to drive ard or iszit better just to join the day tour?

This is my first visit there so really appreciate anyone who can help.. tks alot!!

equatorial hotel is located on a hilltop...nice view but damn far away from everything else. u gotta take a transport to all places mentioned here.

btwn brinchang n tanah rata, i prefer tanah rata coz its cheaper to eat there

icedrops

Midas,
Thanks =) But among all the hotels, Equatorial shld be the closest to all the plantations & farms rite? Cos tt's where we'll be going mostly
So is it better to join the day tours or can we just go by ourselves? Are cabs easily available??

hi icedrops,

the plantations n farms r not within walking distance...whether u stay near or far from it u still hv to pay for the tours...plus 4star hotel like equatorial charges higher for exact same tour as a 3star or budget hotel. however, there is indeed a small strawberry farm within 10mins walk from equtorial though..there is a small street mkt there too..nothing much to see lah. spend 1hr there finish seeing everything liao. n most time u r stuck with eating food at the hotel coz no more food choices elsewhere (coz u r in the middle of nowhere)..n the hotel charges u for transport to brinchang n tanah rata...no FOC service.

all tat said...i do always plan my last 2 days stay at equatorial coz its one of the more comfy hotel around. the budget hotel we frequent at tanah rata does not hv hot water at washing basin...only shower is got heater one..plus no tv lor. if u r fussy about comfort then u need to sacrifice accessibility n money lor.

oh ya...forgot..the cabs there is fix rate one..go to brinchang (5mins) or tanah rata(15mins) cost the same...forgot is SGD10 or RM10 liao...they dun hv meters hor..no aircon too..must wind down windows.

icedrops

Midas,

Thanks alot for the info. Will be bringing my parents & my kid along so need to stay somewhere more comfy. Dun mind taking cabs to go ard places & towns since no car rental service available & cabs will be only way. Our main focus is also on the plantations & farms so even though not within walking distances, Equatorial is still the nearest so travelling will be easier & faster as compared to staying at Tanah Rata/Brinchang. It's more scenic & cooler too since it's at the highest point. And since day tours will more ex, guess we'll go by ourselves then.. more freedom also =)

Thanks again anyway!

idono

There're many plantations & farms. Equatorial is not really the nearest but it doesnt matter as no matter where u stay still need transportation. The only good thing abt equatorial is there's a small strawberry farm just outside the hotel and a small market for you to buy fresh stuffs.

icedrops

Idono,
Glad to hear tt. Yes transportation is still required no matter where u stay but Equatorial is still nearer to most of the plantations & farms so will be easier & faster. Sceneries are nicer too. Hv also heard gd reviews abt the hotel

Btw, are cabs easily available at all attractions? Is it easy to get a cab?

idono

actually, i nvr quite notice cabs, but i only see lots of them hanging around town area. i guess from hotel u can ask the hotel to call them in, its about 5min drive to equatorial from town. from there, i suppose u'll hv to make arrangements for the cabby to pick u up from the farms / plantations tht you'll be going.

btw, may i know which dates are you going? i'm thinking about going there again

icedrops

Idono,
Tks. Hv decided to self-drive. Will be renting a car from KLIA to Cameron since we'll be taking a flight there. Save up a lot of time & $$ also on coach transfer & cab fares to/fro the attractions. Will be departing on 9 Aug..

Lyn,
Tks for sharing =) So u self-drive too? How long did u stay there? Did u stay at the apartment/hotel room? Is it gd? Hv booked the 2 bedroom apartment cos will be going with my parents.. cheaper than getting 2 deluxe & it's bigger too. Btw, how's the food at the hotel? Is the humidity low @ Cameron? Any nice makan places to recommend at Brinchang/Tanah Rata?

hi icedrops,

oh...if u r driving then gd lor..dun need to stuck at the hotel liao. drive out to either brinchang or tanah rata to hv ur meals lor..

icedrops

Midas,
Ya.. will be so much easier having ur own transport rather than having to call & wait for cabs to go ard places.. waste a lot of time.

Btw, is the humidity low at Cameron? If so, will have to bring some moisturizer along. What abt water? Is it safe for consumption after boiling? And where is the nearest place u can purchase mineral water there? I heard mineral water is easily available anywhere?

idono

humidity is high. in fact, so high at times esp in early morning tht u may get wet from walking outside..haha. water hv to be boiled. but since u drive, just bring lots of mineral water in the car. there's lots of providence shop in town, so no worries abt water & food.

icedrops,
the provision shops at tanah rata sells everything cheaper then brinchang..since u r driving might as well stock up ur water there. no probs with humidity...same as sg.

icedrops

Idono & Midas,

Tks alot.. glad to hear tt
Cos my gal still need to drink milk so definitely need to boil some water there. That's y gotta ensure the water quality is ok for consumption even after boiling. It's not yellowish ya?

Btw, is the drive up to Equatorial v. strenous? I heard there's lotsa bends & steep narrow roads & it takes abt 1.5 hrs just to reach the top from the foot of the hill. Is it true? Any particular stretch of road/area we shld lookout for when we're driving there?

Lastly, any gd makan places to recommend @ Tanah Rate/Brinchang?

err...i always go up on a coach..most times its 5-6am in the morning when they start driving uphill..so me kooning most times. but when going downhill, i do notice the rd is very the twist&turn lor...n the roads r two-way type, no divider n no railing to prevent u from falling over the cliffs...so ya its quite true. i suggest u go during day time n drive slowly...many pple will overtake u but dun be bothered by them...sound ur horn at every turn.

i like the 'Cameron satay' push-cart stall at tanah rata...its manned by a cripple malay guy..the satay is very gd...he will throw away burnt satays one...gd QC

idono

there's 2 roads up to cameron, the new road is less windy and yes, it still takes ~1.5hrs to get to the top. i'll suggest to take the new road as u've elderly folks, its broader and not so windy.

err... most MY water seems to be yellowish. but its drinkable. wht u can do is boil it then let it stand for a while, u'll notice the yellowish stuff will settle at the bottom. also, bring ur own boiling flask as most hotel flask hv rusty elements. tht's wht i'll do as i'm bringing my kid too. including a slow cooker..haha.

final advice .... naggy but do take the new road, less lorry too.... the old road a lot of dangerous lorries.

clldavid

I spent 4 days in Cameron Highlands recently, so let me share a bit here.

Me and my GF didn't go on a tour there, so we took coaches up and booked our own room (in Twinpines, Tanah Rata). Actually, you don't really have take cab. There are bus services between the towns and the markets up to a certain time.

We preferred Tanah Rata because stuff there are cheaper. Try the Tandori Chicken at D'Chenai if Rajah is still there. He's a friendly guy in charge of cooking the Thosai. Mayflower is quite good for Chinese food too. They give quite a lot of stuff for their steamboat.

There's pasar malam on Friday evenings in Brinchang and on Sunday evenings in Tanah Rata. Got lots of cheap and good stuff. We had really good ice-cream there the last time.

For water... Just go for the dispenser water that's available along the stretch of shops. 10 Malaysian cents for 500ml. Cheap and clean.

Oh. If you like tea, buy the premium garden tea from Boh Plantation. I bought Palas Supreme and it's really good.

Any other thing you want to know, just let me know.

icedrops

Thanks alot folks.. u've all been a great help!

Idono,
I know there's a new road called Simpang Pulai.. is tt the one u're talking abt? Otherwise, u know the road name? We'll be driving from KLIA.

And yes.. will definitely bring my own kettle along. Oredi had many bad experiences with rusty kettles at most hotels I went so will not trust them again.. haha :p

estee03

Hello. I'll be going lakehouse this weekend.

Are there any car/motobike rentals?

btw is lakehouse really that far from everything else? can anyone share what to do if i were to stay there? cos im scared i end up in the lakehouse room with nothing to do at all! argh..

idono

yes, lakehouse is really tht far from everything else. used to hv a nice lake behind the place, but now its nothing much.

as to wht to do there, lakehouse is ideal for honeymooners.

agreed with idono...the lake now become muddy liao...yellowish n ugly. somemore the location damn far from everywhere...tours booked from there is more ex as need to drive further to pick up n drop off...

icedrops,
i think parking is juz anyhow park leh...dun recall seeing any carparks or marked out lots for parking..juz park at rd side lor. as for equatorial there will be marked lots for u to park infront of ur apts..