Cameron Highlands

rihini

My hubby and I are taking a coach to Cameron Highlands. The coach will drop off at Tanah Rata.

Where is best to stay? in Brinchang town, Hotel Equatorial in Kea Farm or in Tanah Rata town?

If Tanah Rata, I'm looking at Hotel Heritage and CasaDelaRosa. Any comments?

zoeanne27

Hi Gal
I just went to Cameron Highland 2 weeks ago
We stayed in Century Pine which I think is very very nice and new ( 4-5 star hotel), there is a park very near to Hotel and just 5 mins walk away from Tahah Rata Town..It is at the entry of Tanah Rata Town.

I find equatorial quite far from Brichang. U need to take a cab to Brichang. The only hotel which is in Brichang town which look decent is ROS * ( Replace * with A)...I cannot remember the name. The rest are just small hotels above shop houses.

Hotel Heritage looks old, CasaDelaRosa look nice too but also need to travel by Cab to any of the town....

If you wanna see any pics or feedback, feel free to contact me at MSn [email protected]/ yahoo- [email protected]

rihini

Hi Zoeanne.

We've decided to stay at Equatorial. Manage to get a package that makes direct transfer to the hotel. While it's furthest away from the town, it's very near the plantations and farms. Also, as it's in the highest part of the highlands, it will be cooler and more scenic. Thanks for your suggestion and advice anyway.

It sure is!! Cameron Highlands' wonderful in Dec, esp those rose gardens and Boh tea plantations. But kinda foggy...It might drizzle here and there, but I didn't kenna heavy rain.

haru

hi!
am thinkin of gg to cameron highlands during christmas week with hubby. any idea on if i should get a package from a tour operator here in spore??

garfield05

hi haru, i am also thinking of gg to cameron highlands this dec too..
anyone stay in the 'lakehouse'? seems very nice from the internet...

haru

hi wen,
i was also thinkin of lakehouse!!! but i checked and they said no booking for end dec, which is when i wanted to book for. I might consider gg in late jan, for hubby's birthday instead. anyone been there before?

garfield05

yeah haru.. u mean it has been fully booked for the whole of dec?? i have thought of gg after our ROM which is on 9 dec hee..
and they have the couple's package and looks quite nice .. which agency did u check with?

dont mind send me the details too? Thanks!

haru

hi wen,
i think if u wana go aft ur ROM, u should try to book now already. coz dec is school hols, so might be quite full. i emailed the lakehouse directly.can't seem to find an agent that does accomodation at the lakehouse..u mite wana book directly with the lakehouse then book the coach from spore agent. let me noe once u manage to book ya? hope it all works out for you!=>

idono

I would suggest calling instead. Its more straightforward. Anyway, yes, lakehouse is a small place, that's why easily fully booked

garfield05

Thanks Haru and Idono!..i will just check out some of the travel agencies over the week!.. hopefully there is still vacancies...

magaz

hi...just wondering how do I book a package to Cameron Hihglands. Been looking at the papers..nothing much on the papers...

rihini

Hi mag,

What we did was we bought the coach and accomodation package to CH with Alisan in Golden Mile. We arrived at Equatorial Hotel around 8am.

The coach will stop at Tapah toll where you alight and wait for a transfer (by another coach / minibus) that brings you directly up the Equatorial Hotel.

(They also drop guests staying at other hotels like Strawberry Park on the return trip down from Equatorial Hotel.)

(Several other coach operators - I believe Gunung Raya, Four Stars, etc. also offer the packages but their transfer coach may be at KL instead of at Tapah toll)

At Tanah Rata, a local tour operator will come aboard and introduce their day tours around CH.
If you are undecided about the tours, don't be pressurized to book on the spot. There's a tour desk at the hotel for you to make bookings as well. Although different operators, the trips are all similar.

We took the Nature Tour which brings us to the Boh Tea plantation, Gunung Brinchang summit,the Mossy Forest, Orang Asli Village (don't expect too much, it's all modernise and nothing to see) and a waterfall in Tanah Rata. Forget about the farm tour, you can move around Kea Farm by yourselves on foot. In fact, we did our Kea Farm tour on the 1st morning and later in the afternoon, walked all the way down to Tanah Rata (making stops at nurseries and farms along the way) for dinner and the Pasar Malam which is there on weekends. Back, we took a cab.

Our 1/2 day Nature Tour on the 2nd morning starts at 9am and ends around 1pm. If you are staying only for one night, you will not be able to join any tours on the 2nd morning as the departure home is late morning.

vios29

Just drove to cameron highlands last week. It's a challenging and tiring journey. Challenging as the route is long and lot of bends (around 600km). It took me around 7hrs to reach leaving from singapore woodlands custom.

All the best and good luck who keen in driving up. Maybe not during these period as there are some landslides going on.

coldwinter

Hi Tan (vios29)

Did you use the new route, simpang pulai to cameron? I understand this route is wider and less winding...

seemic

hi there...

I have an accommodation voucher for 3D2N at the Lakehouse - Cameron Highlands at their Honeymoon suite for sale.. Inclusive of daily breakfast and 1 lunch per stay. Voucher valid till July 2006. Worth about $560 but now selling off at $400...

Please email me at [email protected] if you have any queries. Thanks.

skinnylatte

Dear all, I am planning a trip to Cameron Highlands and to stay at the Lakehouse. Anyone been there? And do you know any coach operators that provide transport to the hotel itself?

idono

when are you going? askin in case u can hitch our ride up (i'm driving), but we've not fixed date nor hotel. tentative plan is early June

skinnylatte

I'm looking at 23 - 25 June cos other saturdays gotta work.. Just a short trip over the weekend. U planning to stay at the Lakehouse too?

idono

nowadays still got pple work saturday one ah? yar, planning to stay at lakehouse, hopefully still hv room coz its quite a small place. cant fix my date yet as waiting for parents to confirm their travel plans as well

skinnylatte

yah lor.. bo bian.. u really gonna drive there?! thought someone said the route is quite tough.
i am trying to arrange for coach but they dun stop at Lakehouse.. dunno whether the hotel can arrange for transfer.. they have been quite helpful though.

idono

Just came back from cameron.

Didnt stay @Lakehouse but I dropped by to take a look. Frankly speaking, I'm glad I didnt stay @Lakehouse.

idono

Stayed in Equatorial. Lakehouse is farrrr out of the way. And its not as cooling at lakehouse area due to lower altitude.

I think equatorial location is good, not in the middle of town but still within 3km. And there's a strawberry farm rite outside of it.

skinnylatte

I just returned from Cameron. Stayed at the Lakehouse and i think it is lovely! It is very quiet and peaceful and the hotel and rooms are nicely decorated, very english looking. I didnt mind it being away from the 2 towns at all.. If u wanna join the day tours, the hotel can help u arrange.

mistyice

Hi skinnylatte,

Does the restaurant there serve any local dishes cos I understand it's more of English cusine? Cos intending to bring my parents there & if they're only serving Engish cusine, then dun think they will get used to it =)

Also, how far is Lakehouse away from the town & the tea/strawberry farms? Is it really that inacessible?

skinnylatte

Hi mistyice,
Their restaurant serves western food only and it is fine dining so prices are not cheap (mains are RM 50 - 60). The hotel is not inaccessible cos it is in fact just along the main road. But it is about 45 mins drive away from the main towns of Tanah Rata and Brinchang. Since u are going with your parents, maybe should choose a hotel which is nearer to either town? More convenient for older ppl mah. For me, i can do with just staying in the hotel! hehe

mistyice

Skinnylatte,

Tks for the info. If that's the case, guess I really hv to choose another hotel since food is an issue liao for them. And 45 mins away from town?? That's pretty far ya.. tot it's oni 15-20 mins drive then still ok. Not very convenient then esp. for the elderly since my mum wants to visit the tea & strawberry farm there, otherwise still ok.

Actually this place is great for honeymooners. I actually 'eyeing' to go there for quite sometime liao... hehe... :p

skinnylatte

Yep yep. It is really a nice place! If you are concerned about the tours, can book thru the hotel actually and i believe they will come to pick u up from there. The hotel can also arrange for taxis to town. It costs about RM25 one way..

Hi Hazy, the scenery up the mountains is quite nice. Quite cold when i was there and it rained.

hazybreeze27

Hi Skinnylatte

Is the weather like Genting? Or hotter?

By the way anyone heard or been to strawberry hotel? Can give some comments on the hotel?

mistyice

Ya tks, but still think not suitable cos of the food. Dun think they'll get used to eating western food all the time, unless they hv local dishes which will be great. If only hubby, myself & my gal, then definitely will choose to stay there, no doubt abt it. But since bringing my parents along, must think of them..

Btw, u drive there or u took a coach? I heard driving not very advisable cos of the road condition? true?? Will it be easier to take a flight to KL then take a coach from there?

Hazy, the weather there is very cooling. Think oni abt 21 degress or so. Great escape from SG's hot climate!

skinnylatte

It was much colder than 21 degree when i was there!! haha
Mistyice, yah think u should go with ur hubby next time..
I took Konsortium coach there. It leaves Golden Mile at 10.30 and reach Brinchang around 7plus in the morning. The overnite journey was quite alrite for me.

idono

Strawberry Park Hotel is away from the main road. But near the 2 main towns. I've stayed there before and enjoyed their fine dining restaurant. Basically, the hotel will be VERY quiet esp. during the off seasons like now as its quite a fair bit off the main road

idono

Those travelling wif our older folks or young children, Equatorial is really the best. Its not in the middle of town, hence its pretty quiet at night and even if u wanna go town at nite, its only 3min drive so its not too dangerous.

Those who wants it reasonable price and exclusive, go for Strawberry Park Hotel.

I guess Lakehouse is really for those whose willing to pay for a unique experience as its really quite different from your run-of-mill type of hotels

mistyice

Skinnylatte,

Oh that's even better.. I love cold weathers heehee.. =) Just came back from Perth last mth, was freezing there cos winter is only a week away. Still, so much better than inside an oven here.. haha.

Anyway, tks for all the info. Actually not fixed on the trip yet juz wanna gather more info for a start. Will be scouting round again..

skinnylatte

Hehe.. not a problem. Hope you have a nice trip to Cameron! Oh and btw, do make a trip to the Boh tea plantation.. the scenery is splendid and they have a nice cafe that overlooks the mountains. I bought their tea home and its much nicer than the yellow labelled one ;p

mistyice

Oh ya we definitely will keke.. My entire family are nature lovers, esp. me & my mum. She actually saw the tea plantation in one of the travel programmes on channel 8 last week & was mesmerized by it haha.. so tot of bringing her their since she's been wanting to go Cameron for quite some time oredi..
Tks again ya! ^^

suishi

i'm planning for a short holiday to Cameron Highlands, which travel agency offer the best packages?

suishi

this is my first trip to cameron, can anyone advise me what activites can i find there & how the food there?

hi suishi,

i've been to cameron a couple of times...
i always book my accomadation direct wif a budget hotel at Tanah Rata (cheap & clean but no tv) and then book the return coach transportation with Fivestar travel. Last time the coach drive all the way up the cameron hill, now a days they make u drop off at KL and change to a small van. Return trip also like tat...so i hv stopped going there 2yrs ago.

but juz to gv u a brief idea...Tanah Rata is a very very small town, nothing much to shop but food is very cheap. can try different food at different store everyday. there's some satay stalls tat open at nite selling cheap and gd satays...try it if u r there.

as for day tours...u can book them thru the hotel u stayed. lower end hotel will quote lower prices for exactly the same tour...some places worth going are the tea plantation, strawberry farm (go in morning, afternoon no more strawberry) and jungle walk (take u to highest peak for photos and waterfalls etc.)

do PM me if u need more info..

sunrays

hi skinnylatte and gals...hope u're still around....
am considering going to the lakehouse to stay but how to get there? any direct coaches to lakehouse??