Cambridge Diet 7days Challenge

alan_golfnut

Esther: Are the 'advisors' staff of the people selling the Cambridge Diet? Honestly though, I'd be very careful abt the advice dished out esp if they are not trained in matters such as dietetics. I mean, I'd be even more concerned if they're paid by the company cos it means they're not different from the 'advisors' in slimming centres. Just my thot.

zovianius

Basically, i dun suggest replacing all 3 meals. its very stressful on your body. Maximum i'll recommend replacing only 2 meals per day. your body needs solid food. although they may contain fibre, but that is not wad your body wanted. moreover, rapid weight loss, there is a high tendency that you are actually losing water and muscle mass and not fat. One thing to note is that, whether this diet is sustainable. the logic behind meal replacements is to restrict the amount of calories the person takes in, thereby creating an energy deficit.
So, when you replace all 3 meals, you are being deprived of food literally. What happens when u take solid food again? i'm not agaist meal replacements, but i am against replacing all 3 meals.
dats my bottom line.

lglhyper

Alan: yup! Strongly agree with u! We have to analyse all the advises that we received with caution and to countercheck with experts! I personally would cross check information before committing. The CB thing had been in market for many years, thus i have gave it a try. I am a lagger in terms of product usage!!! :p

Berry: I have not post out to u yet. Will do that next week ok? ;-P I going away for my weekend! U take care ok! ;-P

pinklez

hi ppl..i am new to this thread .. so just wana give my side of the story

i tried cambridge diet long time ago n only lost 2kg for 7 days..was rather disappointed wif the results ... n when u start to eat normally all ur cravings will come ... though u r not hungry .. u wil just grab aniting n put it into ur mouth..hahaz..tt was scary !! ...

so i think cambridge diet works .. but u reali hav to becareful .. cause i gained back those 2 kg .. hEEz =D

n i'm 161 cm n 49 kg .. am i considered fat ?

northgal

hi all,I have some doubts :

Will the meal replacement lead to gastric problem resulted from stomach being over-acidic cos there is insufficient food for proper digestion? (how about living by popping the vitamin pills instead?)

Doesn't insufficient calories cause our body to conserve our reserve, thereby making us tired and lower the metabolism rate? This seem to contradict with our general understanding that we should aim to maintain or increase the metabolism rate in order to release energy fast from our body.

hamasaki128

hi to all,
wad i knw is dat yr metabolism'll slow down when u dint take in ani food when u r hungry....thus body'll slow down breakdown of fat& thus increase the storage of fat...i believe d cambridge diet shd have some degree of calories so wont deprive d body frm necessary nutrients ba...i m nt too sure...u all nd 2 check d calories content....

hazel,
u r not fat...look in2 yr BMI....mayb if u find yrslf fat,it's got 2 do 2 c if yr figure is a shape of apple/pear...

lglhyper

So far i have slow down on cambridge stuffs too. ;-P i find that i tend to get easily full when taking normal food. So far i have not increase, only maintain that inital kg that i have lost.

I think grabbing things to fill our mouths is a habit not because of diet or stuffs. We tend to rely on food for comfort thus we must "train" our minds to turn to other means of expression when required. E.g. when moody, we should PUNCH someone, when sad, we should WATCH sad shows, when happy, we should buy things we like! haha...

Well, by right, stravation should reduce our metabolic rate. What the CBD promotes is that with lower weight, we should be able to maintain at our lower matabolic rate. Well.. a bit confusing over that section.

Anyway, I think we should 'listen' to our body if we have any discomforts or problems. They should be the best indicator of our health!

yup! agree with Cheryl! When we think we are fat, it is usually because of our body shape. I find myself ok, except shape like a pear! If can and got money, would want to go for lipo to stuck out all the fats in the butts and bums! ;-P

straw

Hi Esther,

It's good you are maintaining the initial kg lost. Don't give up on cambridge, my friend says if you take 2 cambridge only, then, you lose weight gradually, and not fast like if you take 3. He has finished 2 boxes of sole source, and officially down by 7 kilos in two weeks. Hope he can maintain the weight, will let you know later if he still in shape ;-)

pinklez

cheryl thx for e advice ... i dun reali know wads my body shape though ...my fats seems to be evenly distributed...i used to be 58 kg..now lost to 49 ..quite happi but feel that my arms thigh n stomach still flabby flabby wan .. hahaz n i hav quite alot of stretchmarks at my thighs..anione knows how to deal wif them ?

lglhyper

Berry: ok ok.. i will continue with the CBD. Think the good thing is that during lunch, instead of eating and having indigestion after that, i can take a nap, walk and shop shop, suft net ...etc. Else, i try to do more work during lunch and sneak back home early! ;-P I am in sales line, so can 'play cheat' ;-P

Hazel: i think stretch marks can only be clear off by LOTS and LOTS of massage. If u are hardworking enough everynight to massage some body lotion, think it can be improved. I used to have lots of those, when i lose weight previously. Took me months to 'improve' the condition. Regardnig flabbiness, u should do some exercise to tone up! No short cuts for that ;-P Try picking up some bottles and do stretch ups and stuffs! ;-)

northgal

Hi hazel & Esther,
The flabby flabby is due to lack of toning exercises and lose of skin elasticity. This happen frequently among the weight watcher as we are obsessed with losing weight and thus neglecting that we need to tone up and maintain the skin elasticity too.

In order to maintain the good skin elasticity, it is essential to have sufficient protein (collagen) in our body. Animal skin is an excellent source of collagen. Collagen may also be derived from marined fishes. Therefore, when one avoided these food during the dieting process, we will find that our skin (and face) lacks the elasticity. In the long term, they will become dull and may sag. Unless there is no way that we can intake protein from animal, an alternative source of protein will be from soya.

Simple exercises like dumbell help in toning up the arms.

When we feel good with the weight loss, we need to look good too - a radiant face and a well tonned body.

sweet_apple

Hi Esther,

I'm thinking of trying out the cambridge diet, which flavour taste good? Didn't wanna waste it, cos I'm rather particular about food, not nice I won't finish one.....

alan_golfnut

I still maintain the stand point of Very Low Calorie Diet (VLCD). They are viewed with disapproval in the US where consumer regulation is very high, and considering the amount of calories you put in, your metabolism will surely slow down. In case you cannot understand how very low calories causes metabolism to slow down, here's the quick lowdown: When your car is running low on petrol, would you still drive aggressively (which consumes more petrol)? No, you'd drive more conservatively and slowly so as to maintain fuel efficiency. Likewise for the body. And because the body is lacking the essential calories (and nutrients), it'll grab whatever that comes into the body and store it as fat. BTW, an average person's basic requirement of calories for SURVIVAL is 1500-1800 calories a day. And another thing is, chances are, you'll be peeing out your drink plus it's content cos the body best absorbs nutrients through solid food. Why do you think instead of simply popping a pill, we're still going through the hassles of buying, preparing and chewing solid food?

lglhyper

Wow! so much happening over the past few days! I am soooo excited! My wedding is coming Sunday and i still have not finalised the guest list! I am sooo uptight now!

Berry! ok ok! Good for you! I am happy that someone like the thing! At least it is not wasted.

Apple! I think everyone's taste a bit different. I like all the shakes, because taste like shakes to me. But my collegue who had tried out the chocolate shake find it terrible? She also use cold water and stirrer but she dont like the taste? So if you like milk shakes, i think u are pretty well with all the flavours!

For me, i am not latose-tolerant, so i take non-latose free banana/butterscotch/strawberry in the morning, so that i can go to toilet! ;-P my personal favorite is STRAWBERRY! i like strawberry cakes/pudding/...etc.

Alan: Frankly speaking, i dont encourage extremes measures in any case. I read that VLCD are used for extreme Obesity cases, where medical attention is needed. So if someone is perfectly healthy, however need to shed off a few pounds for vanity, i would not recommend them to go on VLCD. As a friend, i would likely go exercise and monitor food intake with her. Your information is very good for people who dont study what they are popping into their bodies and relying solely on adverts and hearsay! I believe eating healthy is the best way to good health.

However, VLCD is really a fast way to lost weight. I am back to 2normal meals already and my weight is maintain. However it would be interested to share with all fellow dieters what i have personally encounter, perhaps 3months down the road, that all these weights would come back. U know i am myself OWN guinea pig! ;-P

hamasaki128

Alan,
How do u knw so much abt VLCD? I undstd onli part of yr msg but pls explain d latter part of d msg. This is wad i dun unstd: "Likewise for the body. And because the body is lacking the essential calories (and nutrients), it'll grab whatever that comes into the body and store it as fat." I dun undstd y when our body's lacking of essential calories,our body'll store wadever we put in as fat? It shd b using d food dat we take in as fuel instd. So can use d food 2 burn off fat for fuel.

"BTW, an average person's basic requirement of calories for SURVIVAL is 1500-1800 calories a day." how do u knw d average calories intake is 1500-1800?

"And another thing is, chances are, you'll be peeing out your drink plus it's content cos the body best absorbs nutrients through solid food. Why do you think instead of simply popping a pill, we're still going through the hassles of buying, preparing and chewing solid food? " i dun undstd wad u mean...sori....u mean our body can absorb nutrients better through solid food instd of liquid?

alan_golfnut

Esther: Yup, no doubt VLCD is a quick way to losing weight, but also a quick way of piling on the fat and rebounding too. It's no diff from the old diets where people just starve themselves, hence the term'yo-yo' diets cos their weight go up and down.

Cheryl: Actually, I'm sure nurses also studied some of these things too. It's info found in med text.

shuhui83

hi ester, the date is already so near... its quite difficult... but if you are intersted in wining some money and prizes and at the sametime you also can silm down... i can recommend you something lor... cos my friend told me that her mother company actually have a competition pon silming... and she say that all partiscipen is to follow the weight lost program arrange... thus it is more healthy as you no need to staff yourself. and within 2 mths some of the participen can even lost about 10 kg... prize and cash will be given for winners but i am not sure about how they jude thw winner lor. but i think that this is a saver way of silming and somemore have a chance to win money... sound good but i am too thin if not i also will join lor..

lglhyper

heeehhee.... Kacy... what competition is that? Must eat supplement or what? I dont like to eat supplement-very dangerous. Afraid of Slim10 case. And i dont have $$$ to sign up slimming centre. If it is other types, perhaps let me know.... Perhaps you can let me have more information?

\(^^)/

hamasaki128

alan,
but i juz dun undstnd y a person who's on VLCD,d body'll store wadever goes in as fat. i reli dun get it.

could anibdy b'side alan can explain it?

zovianius

Hahaha,
Our body is specially designed to store as much as it can (from prehostoric times, where food is scarce and need to be hunted for) so our body becomes super efficient in storing all calories as fat. Fat can be stored as fat, sugar can be converted to fat, protein can be converted to sugar and then to fat. so don't you think our body is an efficient fat storing machine?

Next, i agree with alan that our body required at least 1500cal per day (without exercise) to function properly, to maintain health, to let u feel ok. if your body is given less calories per day, e.g. from VLCDs, the body wun know u are dieting, it'll perceive it as starving. Our body is still similar to the prehistoric model, so when u go back to you normal diet again, >1500cal, your body will quickly store them as fat (body's best storage form), kia-su mah, scared kena starved again lor. hence, after your "course" of VLCDs, you'll tend to gain back weight, if not fatter. I'll give you half a year, you'll gain back your weight if your diet and lifestyle is still as per last time.
Because last time your diet and activity habits already got problem, when u go back to them again, the problem still exists. you are just wasting your money on these expensive low calorie stuffs.
Moreover, in cases of extreme VLCDs, a person lose a lot of water and also muscle mass. When your body needs calories, it'll just pull from the sugar stores, the muscle stores and lastly the fat stores.
And when a person looks fat, its not wholly due to fat deposition, some is due to water retention. know which type you are and use the correct method.
When its due to fat deposition, do exercises and control your diet, at least 1500cal/day please. Thats natural those weight loss programs are a hit cos its human nature to be lazy.
Talking about that... after finishing this msg, i'll go do my cross-trainer.

When it is due to water retention, take in more protein from low fat sources. You'll see significant differences. No need to spend so much on those replacements... make ur life miserable only... and also they dun contain all the nutrients you need to maintain health. the body required at least 40 types of nutrients to survive.
Go and count lor. count how many nutrients there are. and if you are going to survive all meals with the replacements, you imagine for yourself lor.
dats why in my prev posting, i recommend at least 1 proper meal.

lglhyper

I remember that although we have evolve over the past few centuries, our body are still programmed in the same way that our great ancestors do.

Previously, they are all hunters and as such, food is not readily avalible. Our body is equipped with storage device, like those of camel. So they can last many days without food. When there is food, the body quickly store it as fat so as to use it when the fuel is low.

Our great ancestors are very active and could afford to go on stravation-full-stravation mode as they have very high activity level=> hunting for food.

So, this explains, fundamentally, our body had the capability to store whatever as fat so that in event of stravation, there are fuel avalible.

Next the question of metabolic rate. Metabolic rate is the activity level of our body. Our great ancestors are hunters, thus their metabolic rate should be much higher than us, office ladies/engineers/....etc.

Understand during stravation (not just on VLCD), our body will switch to lower metabolic rate so as to reserve fuel for emergency (remember our ancestors). If on high metabolic rate, we would use up energy much faster.

Question on average calories: This can be extracted from health promotion board, where u can go into health tools to calculate the amount of calories needed to maintain your current health (based on your current weight/height/activitylevel)
http://www.hpb.gov.sg

The only question i dont understand is the part on solid food vs liquid food absorbtion. So far, i have not read any articles on that before. Sorry unable to answer this.

This is what i have gathered from past readings. Hope it helps!

lglhyper

wow! i type too slow... Zovianius's explanation is more professional compared to mine! ;-P

I had done my 500 rounds of hola-hoop this morning too. I remember Health-for-life mentioned, every little bit of exercise helps! So today, i will use the stairs like Zoe does! ;-P

hamasaki128

estherlim,
u r doing v gd as well! btw,u talked abt solid food absorption & liquid absorption...u said u dun knw...but i dun knw wad u r talking abt...

btw,wanna ask if one's who's on VLCD 4 quite some time le...when dis person who's put bck 2 carbo again...gain wt,hw can dis person've a high metabolism again....thr exercising? for hw long can a person c his/her metabolism gtg high again?

yuuri

Hmm...no one here already?
I was also taking CD, and when I stopped taking and started eating normally, my weight did not go up!

sweet_apple

Hi Belle,

I will start taking CB next Monday for 2 consecutive weeks before my wedding in Dec '04.

I wanted to start earlier, but it really needs a lot of determination cos I dun find it tasty at all.

Will update you people again on my progress. My weight now is 50kg, my target weight is 45kg

yuuri

Hi Apple,
I think you can definitely hit your target weight! But be sure to stick to the sole source...
I lost nearly 5kg in my 1st week alone....and another 5kg in the next 2 weeks, after which i went back to eating normally and on/off CD...the weight has stayed off and lost alot of inches too!!

slimdown

i'm new here...getting married in 2 months time..im quite fat..erm..try all ways but can't slim down..anyone here has slimmed down alot? can anyone advise me on effective slimming down? r u all talking about cambridge diet? is it effective and how long to see effect? hehe...seems like i ask too many questions but im very anxious..

yuuri

Hi Mabel,
If you have the determination to take nothing else but the Cambridge Diet (I lasted all of 3 weeks), then u will definitely see results in 2 months!
For me, not only lost kilos also clothes went down 1 size!
Only problem would be if you lose alot of weight, then must be able to alter your gown in time!!
Good luck.

yuuri

Hi Mabel,
Assuming you're using sole source (3 meals all CD, no other food), then it should cost around ermmm...$350 +/- depending on where you buy it.

I think I did write above re. my weight loss...1st week 5kg, 2+3rd week another 5kg....after that cannot bear the temptation of food, so went back to eating normal stuff...but total weight loss of 10 kilo still stays!

snowysoul

Yuuri,

So wat is your weight now?really so effective har?i am 60kg and hope to shed another 5kg.Do u tink Cambridge diet can help me to shed my unwanted kgs?thanks!

yuuri

Mabel,
Like I said before if you have the determination to stay on sole source, sure can lose weight! Confirm, stamp, chop! Technically speaking, if you cut down on all that calories, the kilos will drop like flies! 5kg is nothing!
But don't procrastinate any further, just start on it...I agree with apple, don't try the soups...just go with the drinks.

sid

Anyone going thru a liquid diet would definitely lose weight. Once you stop you will gain back weight provided you live a healthy lifestyle buy eating right and exercising regularly

yuuri

I thought my weight would bounce back but it didn't....I still don't exercise...and I still eat what I like (in relative moderation)...

lint

yuuri,
after losing so much weight suddenly, will your menses go haywire? are they still regular?

I m quite concern about it..as I used to go on crash diet such as eating nothing but fruits and I lost 5kg in a week but my menses go haywire for a year..!

tess

hi eveyone,
my dear friend lost 7kg in 2 weeks!
She looks really good after taking the meal replacement! Since she took it a few months back,she stopped and her weight maintained ever since and morever no side effects!

She been bragging abt the product!

yuuri

Lint...
Come to think of it, my last period came 2 weeks late!! Didn't think much of it, as....well, looks more important than late period! LOL

sweet_apple

One week of Cambridge diet, I lost 2 kg. I only replaced with 1 meal. 3 more KG to go.... hopefully my weight will go down to 45KG by Dec '04.

blurrz

hi apple,

if u wanna fast result... take 3 meals a day n hold on to 7 days... u will be able to lose a kg a day... me tried liao... so me still trying heard to shed off extra weight...

sweet_apple

Latest update... my weight is at 47.5 now. Lost 2.5KG so far. I will change to 3 meals a day for the last 5 days.

Moving nearer to my target weight of 45KG...... :p