Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

spongme

Hi, Susan! My MUA didn't do the "geisha-hairdo" for my Jap costume, only a very simple style, so it's ok...

susany

Thank you for all your suggestions which can help me into a better consideration.

I have chosen not to be away from the bridal shop for outdoor photo shooting, instead there's a man-made landscape balinese/japanese garden at the rooftop of the bridal shop.

anne

Hi ladies..I'm back for my Tioman diving trip.
It was a bad trip for me..I got sea-sick..what a messed

Joo Yin, I agreed with u that usually bridal house will charge a lil higher than those free-lancer. Hmm..y not u ask around those cosmetics counter in the shopping centre. They might be able to help. My cousin got hers over the Bobbi Brown counter..and the gal actually went to her house to do for her. Nicely done up.

skyloppy

Hi All, just want to know did anyone here got any ideas for the transportation getting Singapore frens to Johor for wedding dinner? Any recommendation on this?

bb_2

Hi Skyloppy, Susan has mentioned this earlier. Hope this is helpful. So u must thank her.

Got this contact from Classified for transportation SG-MY :
Jaafar - 91009860 (12/14 seater van)
XXXX - 02 016 7661990 (Merz Passenger Van)
Abdul - 97835616
Sue - 90409661

Hi LaLaOoh, sorry I am not familiar with KL.

bb_2

Susan, thks for suggesting shorts. Make my selection go smoothly. I put on a tight aerobic shorts. Hee.. won't feel uncomfortable.

i am counting down the days for the PS. Hope my "Auntie Visit" won't mess up my PS. Even thought of changing the dates. If I postpone 2 weeks earlier it will falls on the "7th Month" If I delay 2 weeks, we worry the photos will not be ready.(my hubby off on alternate Mon) Well, just pray hard.

Ladies, any outstanding jobs u r working on now?

laughing

Hi BB2 & SusanY, thanks.

Will check out the sparkmanshop. My FH is from KL and he goes back often, like 1x every 1-2 weeks or so. He wants to make his suit there as he thinks it'll be cheaper..

susany

I can't remember where I got the contacts from ... no, didn't get a chance to try them. Don't know their charges too.

pancake

hi everybody!

I am a malaysian bride too. My hubby is a sporean. But i dont intend to hold the tea ceremony in malaysia because my hometown is in northern malaysia. the tea ceremony will be held in the hotel. Any of you doing the same?

138335.gif

anne

hi pyzhang, welcome to the thread

I'm going to have my tea ceremony over the hotel before my dinner reception.
Btw, I'm fr Penang..what about u?

bb_2

Hi pyzhang, welcome... I will be going back to my mom's place for tea ceremony. Actually, its a good idea to have it at the hotel. Hee.. then relative can come early and will not be late for the wedding. But then u will hv to dress up early for the tea ceremony?

okie

I M new here. Just wanted to get more information on the bridal package if you have signed up one in Msia. Kindly share e.g. pricing, number of albums plus the size, how much did you top up for additional photos etc...

susany

Just had photo shooting last Sunday, from 11am-4.30pm. Selection of photos would be on 17 Sep. Bought bedroom wardrobe & chest drawer yesterday.

anne

Hi Susan, how's your PS? Hmm..how come so short? Have u taken outdoor shoot as well? I had my PS for one whole day..from morning 10am till 8pm..fun but tiring.
Oh ya..went for my photo selection last Sat..end up we topped up another $1600..sigh..

little_star

Hi BB_2,

You mentioned that u will go back yr mum's place for tea ceremony...but when is it?? actual day??

Only my close family will come during actual day (me fr M'sia, hubby S'pore). So the tea ceremony at my side only to my parent coz all my relative won't attend...We will rent a chalet for my family and I will "Chu Jia" fr the chalet...

But I hv a separate dinner (same as u) at Batu Pahat two week b4 my actual day...so the tea ceremony how huh??

bb_2

Hi little_star, my AD is on 25Dec. I will chu jia frm BP's hotel to his mom place in the morning. Serve tea, thn proceed to restaurant for wedding lunch. rest a nite in BP. (hv nt decide to set up a temporary wedding room or just stay in the hotel) then proceed to spore on Sun morning, 26Dec. Straight to my mom place for tea-serving, then to my hotel in spore. rest then hv dinner in the night.

ya, I understand for malaysian, ladies can hold their wedding dinner before the guys side. is yr mom fine with serving tea in spore at the hotel room before u start the dinner? Try asking what is your parents preference, thn check w yr FH if his parent are okie? How's yr preparation, understand yrs is round the corner...Hope this is helpful to you.

bb_2

Hi Susan, yr selection of photo is 2 days before my PS. Hee... Hope my ablum will be ready before my wedding. When did thy promise it will be ready? Oh, i hv not give them my final draft of my invitation card yet....

Hi anne, wah additional 1600 Sin or RM? how many photo did u add?

anne

Hi BB, we topped up S$1600..coz my BS is in Spore. Well, alot of money but hope the album and the montage potrait looks great at the end result
Once a life time loh...hehehe

spongme

Hi, Okie, Welcome!

My BS is in Msia. Package price RM1788 including a RM200 cash voucher. PS misc expenses came up to RM85 (use own ampoules).

Photos:
Big album 10R 21 pcs
Small album 4R 21 pcs (same pose as big album)
1 wall picture 24x30
48 pcs 3R photos (8 poses)

PS:
2 WG
2 EG
2 traditional
1 special (choices: Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter or Greek - I chose Greek)
Outdoor (repeat 1 of the 2 WG above)
2 fresh flowers hand bouquet for PS

Hairstyles: 9
Make-up: 2 (halfway through the PS they changed my eye-shadow colours)

AD:
1 WG (2nd hand)
1 EG (2nd hand)
Groom one coat (black or blue, 2nd hand)
1 hand bouquet (3 choices of flowers only)
1 bridal car deco

Others:
1 VCD (same 21 pics)
1 guest book
1 12R shell frame w/o photo (when booking paid RM600 then only entitle)

Photo selection: to choose 21 out of (83 colour + 2 sepia) 85 4R sample photos

What I paid to TOP-UP the basic package:
Add 2 12R wall pic RM140x2=RM280
Upgrade all 3 wall pics to canvas RM350
FOC 5 sample photos
Sample photos RM174 for 19

Note that my BS does not return sample photos or negatives. Sample photos can buy at high prices, but negatives die-die also they won't sell. Some more photo selection must be at the BS, cannot take sample home to slowly choose ~stressed~

Other "potential" costs for me would be:
AD make-up RM650 + misc
Upgrade WG & EG from 2nd-hand to NEW OTR RM500
Gown deposit RM600 to pay when taking out gowns for AD - hopefully not dirty or torn if not the $$ will be gone
Add photos into the album: RM52.50 for each 10R photo
12R pic for Shell frame RM88 (special price, normal RM99)

Prices of wall pic inclu frame & tex:
8R: RM85
11R: RM125
12R: RM140
After 12R, the prices increase very steeply, so I didn't bother to remember.

Ok, that's all I can recall from my memory. Hope the info is useful for you, Okie.

susany

Anne, my outdoor photos were taken from the rooftop of the BS, therefore save some time from here. Also, shots taken from each outfit were not many. Furthermore, the BS here don't practice night shooting. I bought my own fake eyelashes & ampoule but rejected by the make-up artist, ended I paid RM158 extra for 3 bottles of ampoule, hair color & fake eyelashes. So far, I didn't really like the service of this BS, don't know if this applies the same as other BS in M'sia. Let's see the outcome of the photos, hopefully they will turn out better.

BB_2, I wore the silicon bra for the ps. I brought along a corset too but didn't get a chance to wear it. The photographer asked me to come on 20 Aug for photo selection but I don't think I would go back to KL during that weekend and we proposed 17 Sep instead because we'll be going back that weekend for food tasting & 'tien-ching'.

bb_2

Hi Susan, I thk my package was abit exp. which was at RM$3188. Tell u girls the details tomorrow. and need to top up $50 for the MISC like ampoule, fake eyelashes etc. Which they claim thy will not make us pay xtra. Susan, can i say we will change into the gown, being drove around for shooting? What about going to the washroom etc?
Susan, any discomfort wearing the silicon bar? itchy or?

anne

Susan, ya I think u saved some times on outdoor. Usually BS will make us use their ampoule and eyelashes. This is one of the way they earn extra $ fr us..keke..
To be frank, I have done some survey on BS in MY. I don't like their makeup and also style of the photography. For my hubby, he doesn't want the hassle of travelling in and out. So we decided to have our PS in SG although it is much much expensive.

BB, RM3188 is so much cheaper than u have a BS in SG. My package is far more expensive

Well, lucky thing is that we satisfied with the service till to-date.

Will keep u gals posted when my album is ready.

spongme

Hi, Susan!

It's great that you saved time & hassle on your outdoor! For us, tpt to outdoor location was not provided, so my FH got to drive our 2 photographers & ourselves as well as all the camera eqmt, hehe. Our car's a really small car, so it was a tight squeeze, hehe.

I also brought my own ampoules & fake eyelashes for our PS. Our MUA also commented that the ampoules were "oily" and not suitable, but since I insisted, she used it, hehe. As for the eyelashes, the BS's eyelashes were so much more "natural" looking than those I bought. My MUA gave me a choice - use hers or mine... in the end I chose hers la, why risk looking like "Drama Queen", keke.

My BS also didn't take many shots for each outfit - average 10+ shots each except traditional 4 shots each. And, misc charges that our BS charged for the PS were:

Set hair RM25 (me)
Hair colour RM20 (me) + RM15 (FH)
Fake eyelahses RM25 (me)
Total RM85

I SAVED on the expensive BS ampoules: one box 4 bottle = RM90. If buy "loose" then each bottle RM25. (During the PS they used my 2 bottles, 1 on my FH & 1 on me.)

Our BS also didn't take any "night shots" for us. At night after dark they just took studio pics for us. We finished after 9pm, very tiring. The next day I slept the whole day to recover, hehehehe

Susan, at first I was also unhappy with my BS over certain matters. It took me quite a bit of time to slowly lower my expectations & "accept" their level of service. No choice, signed up with them already, cannot run.

Remember to share your pics with us, k?

rhino

i am new here. Like to ask if any one noe any good caterer for home buffet in JB. Gonna hav a small reception after tea ceremony for mum's relatives in Kulai.
Many thanks in advance....

okie

Hi SP, thanks for the information. I noticed you upgrade 3 wall pictures to canvas. What is that? Was it in a poster kind of pictures instead of frame so that we could roll it up?

Btw,I didn't know guy needs ampoules. My bridal shop only charge me one bottle. Would it be better if I buy some ampoules for my husband?

susany

The BS charged me RM38 for fake eyelashes, RM90 for 3 bottles of ampoule (used 1 for me, 1 for FH, 1 unused but still sell to me), RM30 haircolor on me and FH ....... initially, we were informed of all these "OPTIONAL" charges but when the day came, didn't know all these turned to be "COMPULSORY", also insisted me to take additional bottle of ampoule eventhough only 2 bottles were used up.

Haiya, endless complains lah - my hairstyles (same hairstyles for 4 outfits), too simple make-up, no one help FH for outfit coordination/matching, even i have to pick my own shawl from their rack, no creative poses (luckily we brought our own deco stuffs) etc etc. Only 3 shots each for 3 traditional costumes, 7 shots each for 2 evening gown and 10 shots each for wedding gown.

The package of RM2388 includes 7 outfits for photo shooting (2 white, 2 evening & 3 traditional),
1 wall portrait (30"* XX),
1 big 11" album of 21 poses,
1 smaller 5" album of additional 21 poses,
2 same poses 8"/11" photos for 'mothers',
48 or 60 pieces with 4 poses of 3R,
1 VIP white gown, 1 VIP evening gown & 1 non-VIP evening gown for Actual Day,
2 jackets for groom on Actual Day
Car Deco + 1 hand bouquet + 1 buttonnairre corsage for Actual Day,
a pair of teddy bear + handbag + guestbook

"OPTIONAL"
RM80/piece for graphic designed photo
RM500/CD for insertion of all photos (without editing)

After the selection of photos on Sep 17, I think it'll take about 1 month of the albums to be ready. Hopefully, the turnout to be better and will definitely share my pics with you all.

I really want to limit myself in spending additional $$ for photo shooting, I rather spend more for honeymoon.

anne

Susan: I think your BS is making all the optional items become compulsory ah! That's what I don't like about the BS in MY. A lot of hidden costs.
For me, My MUA given me 2 pairs of eyelashes.1 natural looking which I can use for my AD and another pair I got it for my PS. Ampoule wise, we r paying for $15 each.
My package is quite pricy compared to yours and SP. The reason is I took it in Spore. I do see that you gals had quite little shots ya.
My photographer taken all total indoor and outdoor of 212 poses for us. When I see the thick stack of pic place on the table I was abit worried. I know that I'm sure will spend another huge sum on topping for additional.
I believe when u come to photo selection, u r tempted to spend more..haha..experience tell..my hubby also said the same thing to me that we must well save the money and spend more on our honeymoon. Yet, end up we spent another $1600.
I'm glad that I'm quite satisfied with both BS that I gone thru. Although I already spent a big sum with them..no regret at this moment

little_star

Hi BB_2,

I will chu jia from S'pore, so I can only serve tea to my parent coz all my relative won't attend the dinner at s'pore. Not budget to invite all the relative from M'sia to S'pore. Coz accommodation and transport is a big problem!! Some of my relative suggest to serve tea during my dinner at M'sia, maybe b4 the dinner start. But i afraid my in-law will not happy....she is very traditional and insist must serve tea to groom side then to the bride side!! and my dinner in M'sia will held b4 my AD!!

So far I hv not prepare anything for my wedding yet!! But already finish my PS and selection of photo and my album will be ready by end of sept. I will going back to BP this coming week end and will try to confirm the manu fr sea view. Hv u confirm yr already?? How much per table??

spongme

Hi, Okie!

Yalor, I was so surprised when my BS told me even FH also must use ampoule... hmm... must be their "tactic" to max profit!

My "canvas" wall pics got frame. Looks exactly like the normal pics, except that the photo is printed on canvas cloth, not photo paper. It is also very light because there is no "back cover" (just the canvas photo & frame).

I heard from my gf that canvas pics last longer than normal pics. Not sure whether true or not, but don't mind taking a risk...

My bro-in-law got outside ppl to make those rollable posters to hang - abt 5 ft long. He said it's cheap & he paid about RM100 each. Err, not my cup of tea, so when he asked me whether I want I said no thank you... a bit "kua-chang" hahaha...

spongme

Hi, Susan!

Wow, you got a good package! Got VIP gowns & most of the things you need are already included!

Anne & Susan, me same-same, prefer to spend less on photos & go for better honeymoon, hehe.

Anne, if I got to choose my photos from 212, I'll go crazy
& sure top up my next 6 months' salary to the BS...

susany

Wah Annie, 200++ shots .... mine came to about less than 50 shots leh, which figure is lesser than what we've been told last time - feel really cheated.

SP - I see no reason why FH must put on ampoule as well and lagi no reason forcing me to pay for the additional unused ampoule. When I cleanse my face after the shooting, I feel a sticky feeling on my face. Sounds like i'm having a good package hoh, but the service is so bad. All the hairstyles making me look so old.

By the way, where's your BS?

spongme

Susan, your BS is too much! How can they take lesser shots compared to what they told you? That's not fair!

(Fyi, my BS told me they'll produce abt 60-70 sample photos for me to select. In the end they produced 85, hehe. I estimate they took about 100 exposures because those I accidentally blinked/ closed eyes they didn't use.)

You so poor thing, ampoule sticky & kena force to buy 1 extra some more. My ampoules were from my gf, and there was no sticky feeling at all. Your extra ampoule maybe you can use for AD or else if too yucky can give to your enemy for her AD hahaha
Just kidding! I'm sure you have no enemies.

I thought I looked really old with some of the hairstyles but in the photos, I looked "not that old" after all, phew! Don't worry, see how your photos turn out first, okay?

My BS is one of the BS at Loke Yew. I'll put the BS name under my profile.

susany

SP, your AD will be on end of October ah ... how's your feeling now? I'll be attending a wedding dinner on 30 Oct @ Overseas Restaurant, Armada Hotel.

Yeah, I find Taipei Taipan is too much, I think I want to view my photos earlier, will make an appointment with them for 20 Aug, instead of 17 Sep.

Your package sounds not bad, with that price.

By the way, r u engaging any videographer or photographer for your Actual Day?

susany

BB_2, sorry, I missed some of your queries - as for the outdoor shooting, we need to change into our gown in advance before being drove around. I guess u got to prepare yourself from the studio for 'biological call' before going for outdoor shooting. The bra didn't give me any discomfort effect - so far so good. Stick well to your skin.

spongme

Susan, good to hear that you will go see your photos earlier. Got more time for them to do something in case really not good enough. Remember to keep us updated!

For our AD we are relying on relatives to take pics & video, so FOC, keke. Btw, are you doing your own hair & make-up on AD?

Can say now no feelings yet, hehe. Still too early considering parents also haven't "thee-ching" to discuss abt GDL.

Hi, everyone!

I'm wondering is it normal to "thee-ching" so late? Initially supposed to get it done last weekend but something came up & now because of 7th month got to reschedule to 19 Sep.

susany

My 'thee-ching' is scheduled by the temple, would be on Sep 19. My mother has no idea at all what to request from the groom side. I'll do my own make-up and hairstyling (am taking the course now).

Just called up bridal shop, I could change to earlier date but the photographer will not be there for my photo selection. The reason for the photographer to be around as he can help us to select, woh ....

I'm not sure if I need the photographer to be around if I were to change the date to Aug 20 morning. If I wait till Sep 17, the photographer will be there for me.

How, ah?

spongme

Hi, Susan!

I agree with you that you don't need the photographer to be around to choose your photos. We all know how to appreciate well-taken photos & what to look out for.

Maybe the real reason for the photographer to be around is to persuade you to choose more pics & top-up for larger or "magazine-style" albums, hehe, so beware. Do they have other photographers who can help you out? Or maybe the girls working there can also help?

My gf shared some photo-selecting tips with me:

1. Know that at first-look all photos look good & you'll want all of them. At this point, we are most vulnerable & likely to agree with the BS to top-up/ enlarge/ whatever. DO NOT SUCCUMB to the temptation!

2. Look closely at all the photos - concentrate on the expressions/ faces - shortlist those that pass the faces test.

3. From the shortlisted, look at other aspects for eg. background, outfit, hairstyle, poses etc. Pass? If not reject... Remember your preferences for close-up/ half-body/ full-body.

4. Pair up the photos 2 by 2 (my album is the usual type - open up got 2 photos 1 left 1 right)
[Tip from my photographers: nicer if left & right background is the same.]
[Tip from my gf: don't have to listen to them - if ALL "left right" same background = very boring]
[Tip: if you are topping up for magazine-style, you will need to check with your BS on the number of photos to choose. They might need more of similar background/ poses for each layout.
]

5. I numbered the photos 1-21 for them to arrange accordingly in the album (I have my own preference, so fussy hor, hehe)

Oops, didn't realise I'm terribly long-winded...

susany

thank you so much for the tips, these really help a lot to other brides as well!!

Anne/SP - was there an expert (or photographer) around when u were doing the photo selections?

I guess the purpose for the photographer to be around is to "press" us in spending more $$$. Your tips are definitely a very good guide for me to do my own selection.

SP - is your album ready? will u be doing a photo montage?

spongme

Susan, you are welcome!

There were 3 photographers around when we were selecting the photos, but they were more for advising us the costs of adding photos/ enlarging/ etc. We (4 of us) selected the photos ourselves.

My album is ready & already gathering dust at home, hehehe

Err, don't know what is photo montage...

anne

Susan, my photographer was not there during my photo selection. Only the artwork co-ordinator there to assist me.
We are quite lucky in the sense that nobody pressing us while we were there for the selection. All topped up are done by our own decision even the photo montage that we need to pay quite a sum.

SP: since u got your album with u..y not share with us

my e-mail: [email protected]

anne

Susan: my photo montage is not slide presentation ler..mine is one big potrait that having multiple photo in different sizes or one 15R page with multiple photo printed too.

susany

haiya, i thot photo montage is the slide presentation type, the multiple photos thot called as photo collage??

me blurrrrrrrrr

spongme

Hi, Anne & Susan!

I'd love to share my whole album (21 pics) with you, just that I don't know how to scan them into the computer. You see, the "tex" or protective layer on my photos are very coarse - you can feel & see the gridlines as they are very obvious. If scan sure see all the lines over the photos - super yucks.

The other option is to email the vcd file to you... Can you teach me how to save it into the computer? Me IT-Idiot...
It's a pity the vcd quality sucks to the max, cannot use as slide show. Even viewing it on pc monitor also blur, grr... (it's "free", so cannot complain).

For now, I'm only able to share the 3R photos meant for us to giveaway to our "sisters".

I didn't scan the sample photos that I bought because they are the "rejected aka 2nd-grade" ones that didn't make it to the album (but I could not resist buying hehe
). They are mostly 'repeats' of the main 21 pics, just faces/ eyes looking different direction etc.

anne

Susan, at first I also blur sotong like u..dunno how montage and collage like. Well, now learning loh..montage is something with digital effect and different photos. Collage means one photo repeated by another or same photo repeating in the page for couple of times.