Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

confused_qi

hello sunflower,

ya..i was also thinkin about the way u mention tt is to hv the tea ceremony wif my parents 1st when my fh fetch me..at least wont be so hectic to rush ard.will reali consider tt. thanks for all your suggestions..

its reali alot of things to plan..hopefuli thins wil go smoothly as plan..if nt sure headache..

whens ur ad??hw many tables u hv in conrad??

sunflower44

Xiangqi,
no worries! If u have doubts, feel free to ask any of us loh... I'm sure there are many alternatives for u to consider! =)

Whats more impt now is to secure a hotel for ur dinner... the rest can slowly wait...

My customary is on 12Aug; dinner in S'pore on 18Aug loh... we have only 18 tables in Conrad. Actually the minimum table for Conrad on weekends is 25, but since ours falls on the 7th lunar mth, the coordinator is kind enough to accommodate to our request...

U have any hotels in mind?

confused_qi

sunflower,

i am also looking at tables of 18-20..still thining of a few of the venues. Like furama riverfront, citycentre, holiday inn atrium and peony-jade restaurant. u hv any comments on any of these??

btw can u advise me where do u get ur AD dates from??cos i was thinking of asking my mum to choose 4 us.but my fmil insist that my mum cant do it.bt she keep draggin in getting a date 4 us..she says the shifu at her place says the dates 4 next yr wil oni be out tis yr end..bt its too long le..cos i hope to secure a venue asap..

sunflower44

Xiangqi,

hmm..i've not been to any of the venues u mentioned.. but i've some frens who are holding their dinners in HIPV...heard its not bad... As for Peony Jade, heard the food is good. Perhaps u can make an appointment to go down these venues u've shortlisted, see if u like wat u see? Thats how all couples choose their dinner venues.. Look at what freebies they can offer, the bridal suite... food... Before u go down, maybe u can email all the hotels, tell them the no. of tables u're looking at, and get them to give u a quotation.

My HB's family got the date for us from a shifu in Taiwan..i just follow... =p Maybe u can get ur FH to talk to his mum... if she cant secure the date, then u n FH can consult any shifus in S'pore?

confused_qi

sunflower,

thanks for your suggestions.i thin i will head dwn to the viewing of venues once i got my AD date. Meanwhile, i m asking sum of my frens for 'shifu' tt i can enquire abt the calculations of the AD.

Hv u taken your bridal photos le??

sunflower44

Hi Xiangqi,
Yup oredi taken loh... my AD on 12 Aug leh....haha! Will be busy these days to come into the forum... feel free to pm me if u have any queries ya...

fion15

hi hi, not sure if this thread is still active.
may i know if we can bring flower bouquets into msia from spore ? understand the customs will tax or not allow plants fr spore to msia. anyone got thru the customs ?

millh

Hi fion

Your bouquet is not as big as plant. Don't worry. My hubby brougt in from singapore to Johor last week.No issue

fion15

hi HL,

Thanks for the assurance and good news! Heehee.. Cos we kena taxed and stopped a few times when bringing in small pots of plants (gift from grandfather) and some newly bought chains, rather careful on this now.

My hubby and me going in 2 weeks earlier before AD for our wedding lunch banquet for my Msian relatives. So we will just bring in the bouquet of flowers like this without dressing in our gown n outfit. So not sure if will get stopped. Then last min duno where to buy the flowers from in Msia. Also duno what good boutiques they have in Msia.

I also heard abt the bridal gowns kena taxed from my bridal shop because her seamstress bring in the gowns will sure be taxed.

bling__

Need some advice here... I am S'porean and my FH is from Penang.. please advice on where should our AD be held? Anyone is in this situation before?

we will be having the dinner at Penang 1st followed by s'pore.

graceyong

Hi Bling, well it depends on your husband side. Usually we brides would follow husband side. If you FH have a house (his own/ family) in Singpapore, you can consider to have the AD here. THe most important thing is the room/house of your FH on your actual day.

So if u guys have a house here in singapore already, it would be Singapore. But if ur husband don't have one, then i think your AD in Penang would be most likely one.

Usually the GIRL side would have their dinner first then the GUY Side (which would be on the AD)

bling__

Hi Grace,

we dun hv a hse here, will be staying at my parents' place temporary till our new hse is ready.

another thing is, the guy side wish to hold the dinner 1st

so do I still need to 'chu jia' from singapore.

graceyong

Oh that isn't a trouble if the guy side want to hold it first. Small matter.

In chinese custom, it is important where the bride goes into. so your "chu jia" is the critical thing. You can only CHU JIA ceremony once. That means, most likely you either "chu jia" in Penang. You come out from the hotel in penang and then go into your husband home (meaning you get marry into your husband family)

FH side would have to redecorate his room in penang. Change the bed and put in a new one. And you get marry into that Room.

Seldom people get marry into a Hotel (as you can't have the new bed, which is quite important). Discuss with your in-laws. Usually for this, the Guy side have more say. (traditionally)

However if your guy side very Open-Minded, then make your parents Place as the wedding room/ or a hotel in singapore as the wedding room, then go with what you and your FH prefer and more convenient.

Or do you have other siblings or relatives, that have an extra room and you can use that as your wedding room. Or vice versa meaning your get marry out from a hotel in sg and marry into your parents house (representing your hubby house)

bling__

hi grace,

thanks for your advice..

my FH dun have a room in his penang hse and I will be "chu jia" from a hotel there and probably using the same room as our new room. There will be a new room in my parents' place if i "chu jia" here.

My parents do not follow any traditions, leaving all to me to decide that why I'm so confused now...

If i dun figure this out, I won;t be able to proceed with the other preparations... I need to have some concrete ideas before i discuss with my in-laws in 2 weeks time...

graceyong

since you scenario is like that, then i suggest u to "chu jia" in Singapore.

It is much easier to coordinate with you and FH are both in SG. At least u can plan it and make arrangments accordingly.

My suggestion: You "chu jia" from a Singapore hotel and go into your parents place New Room. IF this is OK with both party parents, then i think this is the best.

IF FH parents want u to CHU JIA from penang, then i think it doesn't meet any purpose since FH parents don't even have a ROOM for their son to use as New Room. Besides very seldom bride take their bride back to a Hotel Room. (basically i never heard before). And if you chu jia from hotel room and go back to hotel room the meaning may not be that good. And if you want to chu jia from penang, make sure your in-law are very helpful people. As a lot of coordinating/help comes from them, since u are in singapore.

In a nutshell, it is better for u to do it in singapore because u can control better and u have more friends here to help u with.

This comes from REAL Experience!

bling__

Hi Grace,

Thank you very much for the info..
Will think about it seriously and work out the logistics arrangement too..

keep u posted once I have made up my mind..

really appreciate your help

jayfunglwi

Hi all, i am from malacca, Malaysia and my FH is from SG. My parents insisted me to chut moon from home in Malacca. I am not really happy about it ... and I am not sure if i can be in-time for the church ceremony there in SG. I do not want the whole church to wait for the bride if we encouter traffic jam a long the way ...

how shall i deal with this?

bling__

Hi Jaycelyn,

initially i wanted to chut moon from sg to penang too but the flight timing not ideal so gotta abundant the idea..

is it possible for you to chut moon a day b4 your church ceremony? you will nvr know how bad is the jam at custom.. better not take the risk..

pinklady23

I'm a singaporean and FH is Malaysian. I'm very troubled as FH side wanna me to 'chu jia' in Malacca's hotel but my parents wants me to 'chu jia' from Singapore. I still have 3 grandmothers who are still around and wants to see me get married. Both my FH and I had bought a flat in sg already and FH do have a sister staying in sg too. Can anyone advise me what to do? Is it possible for us to do the whole ceremony in sg and have a dinner back in Malacca?

denjan

hi Joelle,
i don think is a good idea for u to hold whole ceremony in sg....cos u r married into ur FH family,not the other way round.also since ur future in-laws are stll around...do considerate if u r the groom family....

this is my personal opinion,and if i were u,i will follow wat they want while do the best arrangement to accommodate sg's side need..

graceyong

Actually, it really matters which "ROOM" is ur wedding room. Since u got a new flat in sg, you can get married here.

I think it is the best for u to have the whole ceremony in sg and dinner in Malacca because u would be doing most of the coordination. If the whole ceremony in malacca you would have to depend on ur in laws side to help. It is very very difficult sometimes.

If u chu jia in Malacca, means the Wedding Room would be in Malacca. Your AN CHUAN ceremony would also be there, and u neeed to have a NEW BED there.

But then, if ur in laws side got also grandpa and grandma's, then as Janice say, the Groom side have more say in it. as u marry into Guy side

But if just the PARENTS, you can always discuss with them, use the New House as good point, no point buy 2 new bed and renovate 2 places right? ;)

graceyong

One more thing, if worse to worse, then Really you chu jia from SG and drive into Malacca. It is only a 3 hours ride so it is not too bad.

Can consider this option!

pinklady23

Thanks for all the advices. Only my mum-in-law still around, as for my side well, still got 3 grandmaothers...therefore I need to consider them too. And my FH doesnt have a house in malacca instead we bought a flat in sg. If ceremony in Malacca, we are actually using his brother's house. Therefore I also think that it better to do the ceremony here as I can 'chu jia' from my own house and hubby is also getting out from his house to fetch me. So I dont see the problem as in we dont follow the traditions. For the dinner, is not an issue as we are holding dinner at both country. Hubby has been in sg for many years. He has friends and colleagues here also with some relatives. The main problem is the ceremony... Well, tmr hubby's sis and bro are coming to talk to my parents. I really dont know what the outcome will be...can only pray that its going to be a positive outcome. Anyway, thanks for all the advices girls.

graceyong

hi joelle, in that case, it is not about tradition actually, if there isn't a GROOM house to go into. if go into his brother house, it really doesn't mean the same. if go into the parents house, then it is the tradtion meaning.

Real tradition is to go into the ROOM of the GUY side. So if the brother house is not really his room, then hubby should come out from both ur sg house to go pick u and bring u back

that is more logicall and follow the tradition. Back to the Groom house.

Good Luck for tomolo

pinklady23

Hi grace,

My mum-in-law actually stays at his brother house and hubby stays there too when he returns back to Malacca. So then does the house consider to be the parents house? Haiz... I'm going out soon. Really hopes everything goes smoothly.

yongyong

I happen to read one of the post above regarding some legal procedure of m'sian marrying in singapore, but it's stated there if both the couple are malaysians.
I would like to chk if you are malaysian & singapore PR and your hubby is singaporean, do you still need to submit ur marriage cert to the malaysia high comm in singapore within 6 months of ur marriage? or this is only necessary for two malaysians marrying in singapore? pls advice. Thanks!

teresa45

Hi Stir,

Yes, u still have to submit ur marriage cert to the malaysia hih comm within 6 mths of ur marriage. I m malaysian + S'pore PR and my hubby is Singaporean but we still have to submit the cert to them..

shopbags

can anyone recommend a good makeup artist? what is the price range? i will be having my wedding dinner in Penang. thanks in advance

simplyserene

Hi Teresa,

You can call to ask for Su Lee, MUA at Elegance Wedding Collection, Tmn Sentosa. The no is 07-335 2988. She was my MUA for my pre-wedding photo shoot. Very quick and good

simplyserene

Hi huisheng... if chu jia fr hotel... yes they still hv the tekan session... i saw photos and videos of my friends' relativse' weddings... e.g. m'sian chu jia fr singapore hotel, chu jia from KL hotel etc...

tricia_c

Hi, my FH is from spore and I am from Msia. I would like to enquire on the following:

1) If I rent a gown from Msia, will there be a surcharge if I bring the gown down to Spore?

2) I am interested about Hui Sheng's query too about the 'tekan' session in the hotel. THanks for sharing!

simplyserene

The ones that I know of actually did theirs in the hotel room to avoid disturbing other guests. Just for the fun of it I guess.

Hi Tricia, not sure abt the surcharge thingy. I'll also need to chk with BS. Which one are you with? I'm with Elegance Wedding Collection @ Tmn Sentosa.

huisheng

HI tricia, I won't be able to help you about the gown issue as I rented my gown in singapore and bring it back to malaysia. As for the gate crashing in hotel, I think it's fine to do it in the hotel, maybe ask the manager to allocate a room to u in somewhere more isolated to the other guests, provided the hotel is not fully booked =P

yongyong

HI,
Actually I've thought of Chu1Jia4 from hotel room too. but eventually decided to use my new house instead. I'll be shifting into the new house 2 months b4 the AD, my fiance will only move in after the AD....so I thought it'll be cosy and nice to invite my jiemeis over to the new house, and my m'sia family will also be putting up at my place the day b4....Find it more convenient as I dun need to lug so many things to the hotel... and it'll be more convenient to have a kitchen...my mum can prepare desserts, jiemei prepare tekan materials..generally more space to move ard and more comfortable.
After the gate crashing, I'll head straight to church for the Holy Matrimony service. Tea ceremony will be after church at the hotel.

tricia_c

S'rene, I have yet to choose a BS, still shopping around. My AD is next year, so plenty of time!

Hui Sheng, are there any surcharge then to bring your gown from spore to msia?

hmm, maybe i should CHu Jia from a service apt instead

huisheng

Hi Tricia, no, there is no surcharge. I am with Sophia Wedding. I am interested in renting a service apt too, may I know where can I find them? Can you provide me some information about this?

tricia_c

Hi Hui Sheng, when is your AD? the thought have just came to mind, will check on the details soon tho, thus I do not have any information on this at the moment le...you can try this website tho...not sure if they cater for rentals for a few days..

http://www.lmbhousing.com/

anyone know if there will be any bridal fair in spore this year? thankssss

tricia_c

oh, i am not familiar with spore. Anyone can recommend a charismatic / evangelical church for a church wedding? I know chimes might be too pricey...

xiaocai

can anyone give me an advice?
My FH is a malaysian and i m singaporean.

We had went to see shifu to calculate the date for wedding in 2009. And the shifu had told us that we should hold our actual wedding in Malaysia first and then have a banquet dinner in singapore. However, my MIL insisted that banquet in singapore should hold first then malasyia side.

my mum said she did heard of female side to hold their celebration first..

now i m totally confused...
Please advise me....

jaslyn288

Hi Joanne, you should chu jia from here.. As I oso will be chu jia (AD) and dinner in Singapore..
Hubby's side, will be one week after.. Will be having a small tea ceremony n follow by dinner. My In laws, let us decide the whole agenda..

By rite, this shd be the way lor.. Discuss with your hubby again lor.. Think the elderly will understand de.. dun worry lah.. =D

foreverlove08

Hi Joanne,

My suitation is same as you.

I will chu jia & hold my dinner in Singapore. My Hubby will fetch me back to her sister hse as we did not have our own hse yet. Then a week after, we will be going back to Malaysia for Tea ceremony for my Hubby parent & relatives & with another dinner.

BTW,
I'm looking for a makeup artist in Ipoh near bercham area, anyone can recommend?

xiaocai

Hi Huisheng, Jaslyn and hcy, thanks for your prompt advices..

my hubby and me had just gota our new house however my MIL insisted that i should chu jia from malaysia hotel and should not chu jia from my current house in singapore as journey from spore to my FH's malaysia house is about 4hrs or more from singapore.. she insisted that people will feel tired to travel from malaysia (4hrs) to singapore, pick us up then drive back to malaysia (another 4hrs)..

But my mum wished i chu jia from my current house in singapore... drive in and had the dinner ceremony on the night itself there... even had a "big" quarrel with my mum just afew weeks before becos of this...But of cos, i told my HB that i also wish i can chu jia from singapore and go into malaysia for the ceremony lo...
hai...quite dishearted... a happy ceremony with all the unhappiness....

hcy, my hubby house is in Seramban (spell in this way??, i think so la)..Nearest "good hotel" will be Afarmosa resort (within 45min journey)... so if chu jia from hotel will be this hotel liao...

hcy, jaslyn and huisheng,
my actual wedding date is fixed on 10-10-09. and singapore dinner on 2-09-09. (1 week before)..
so have you all fixed your date?