Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

angsana

so glad to hear that some of you are from malaysia...i need some help here. my fiance's family from muar, going to have a banquet in one of the restaurants there...thinking of taking Chuen Ting? any of you heard about it?

also do any of you know how toget MUA there?

sunflower44

Hi Jolle,

Hmmm...for my case, I'm S'porean while FH is M'sian-cum-S'pore PR. My FH is come fetch me in the morning. We'll be having the tea ceremony for the bride's family after that, then proceed to Batu Pahat for tea ceremony session for his family. Thereafter, luncheon for the guests in Batu Pahat. As for S'pore wedding dinner, we'll be holding it 1 week later loh.. Guess thats the best way for us. Hope this helps... =)

sunflower44

Jolle,

Oh btw, my family members will be going over to Batu Pahat as well to attend the luncheon.. only the immediate family members lah, not all the relatives.... =)

celine313

For My case, is similar to Sunflower… I’m S’porean & my FH is SPR(Kluang). We haven’t decide whether he will be coming to S’pore to fetch me or book a hotel near his house, as we still don’t know the timing yet.
If the timing too early no point for him to come all the way here & fetch me… my mother also agree to that… traffic is unpredictable…
S’pore wedding dinner will be 2 days before the Actual day… so we will be holding 2 dinner…

sunflower44

Hi celine,

is ur FH staying in S'pore or M'sia?
For my case, my FH is staying in S'pore, but he will be going back to M'sia the night b4.. I think M'sia has this custom that a makan session will be held the day b4 the wedding; so FH has to be there loh.. He'll be coming back to S'pore to fetch me... we also hvnt cfm the timing yet ah...

When will ur solemnisation be held?

tingshen

hi pinklady23, we will have 2 wedding banquets. 1 in JB for my side, and 1 in SG for her side. It's also a tradition for my family to separate the banquets. You dun need to try squeezing everything into 1. If you want to have a third one just for your close friends, also not a bad idea

celine313

Hi Sunflower,

My FH stay & work here... He'll be going back to Kluang also...
If the timing very early your FH also come to S'pore to fetch you ah?!?? BTW when is your AD? weekday or weekend?
mine is on Sunday so afraid of traffic jam in the checkpoint... it is not good if we miss the "Ji Shi"... so we will not take the risk if the timing is too early...

sunflower44

Hi celine,

Oh, we choose a date where whole day is "auspicious hours" loh, thats y not so bad.. But my poor FH will have to wakeup early to come to s'pore! =p

I thnk the traffic from JB to S'pore should be quite ok in the morning leh...its the traffic from S'pore to JB which we're worried abt. How far is Kluang from S'pore? Alternatively, u n ur family can go over Kluang for the dinner loh,a t the same time tea ceremony for ur immediate family there. As for tea ceremony for ur relatives, maybe can hold it prior to the S'pore wedding dinner?

My AD is on 12 Aug... S'pore dinner will be on 18 Aug. We shuold be solemnising around Jun, date not fixed yet. How abt you?

tingshen

Sunflower, why can't you just rent a hotel nearby his place and fetch you from there? It's quite a long journey from SG to Kluang......

dot1980

Can anyone advise me about the procedure to apply PR? I understand that all certificate submitted to ICA must be in English rite? What happens if my bf's education, birth certificate are in english? Anybody can tell me whether do we need to translate the document into english?

Anyone have any idea whether should we apply the PR straight after our ROm or should we wait for a few months?

I am afraid of Rejection .. Haha Im so worried that my application will be rejected till I cant sleepy probably recently. & the form to complete is so comprehensive ..

sunflower44

Hi Tingshen,

Ermm... i think u got it mixed up leh... my Fh is not from Kulang.. thats Celine's FH leh.. =p

We've not decided on how to go abt doing it... these few days alof of small conflicts abt getting ROM date etc etc... sianz... =(
Dun wana care so much liao lah, let him go plan!

tingshen

opps....sorry, Sunflower, ROM only nia, dun argue lah. Just ROM what? pick a nice day, gaodim liao lor.

unless you want to do in a nice hotel, etc......which we experienced lol.

sunflower44

Hi celine,

so u holding ur dinner in S'pore b4 the customary in M'sia lah? Hmm...2 days away is good leh, not so rushed for u... now me gotta think of how to plan the AD itinerary.. do u think its ok to hold the tea ceremony session for my side relatives on the wedding dinner in S'pore. Coz anyway we'll have a function room allocated to us; initially supposed to be for solenisation wan...

TS,
haha i give up liao... since he said any date will do, then let him go think of the date lah...do solemnisation in the registry office i aso dun mind. BUT...now hes the one suggesting doing it at home or rent a chalet... *faint*

celine313

Hi Sunflower,

Ya.. we will be having the dinner here before AD. ya not so rush for us... everything settle within 2 days... not will be quite tired..

angsana

hi gals, can any of you help me out here?

my hubby's side from Muar, going to have a banquet there. but i don;'t know who to go about arranging for the MUa and photography in malaysia....thanks

tingshen

hi sunflower44,

it will be quite sweet to do it at home if you guys just bought a new nest

Chalet can be fun too, it's not the venue matter, it's the people matter. you dun need an expensive hotel to feel cool/fun!

pinklady23

Hi to all,

Sorry for the late reply coz was busy over work. I just saw all the advices and thanks a millon for it. But my major problem is Customary can only held once. My FH family hope i get married in Malacca as in I step out from hotel instead of my own house. So the tea ceremony will be there and the actual wedding is there la for short. My family members will be going in too. Then at night the guy side will hold a wedding banquet. They wanna give me 2 tables but think abt it, will my relatives wanna travel as they have their work n family here. Furthermore, my friends cant make it too. Then alternative, we can have the traditional/customary wedding there, but the guy side will not have many ppl coming in la so the wedding will be simple. Though his family is giving me an option but they didnt sound happy about the 2nd one. Please advice me further. Thanks all.

sunflower44

Hi Joelle,

Hope u're not stressed over ur work, take care ya?

Hmm... for me, i feel that since we're marrying into FH's family, perhaps its better that we follow their preferences..? Else if something bad happens, sometimes the older folks will tend to put the blame on us... U've already mentioned that his family doesnt sound happy abt ur 2nd option liao... so better not have an unpleasant start to the wedding preparation loh.. How abt u do ur customary in Malacca hotel then? Ur immediate family members (ie, parents and siblings) will go over to Malacca with u. FH will fetch u from the hotel, tea ceremony at his house, tea ceremony at the hotel for ur parents.. then dinner in Malacca.

As for ur relatives in S'pore, perhaps u can hold a v simple dinner in restaurant (hotel, if u have enough tables) for ur relatives, ur frens and also FH's frens in S'pore. It doesnt have to be a Chinese sit-down dinner; u can have a buffet style, chalet-cum-garden reception if u prefer loh... This affair in S'pore would not involve FH's family and relatives lah... but if FH's parents wana come down to S'pore to attend, also can loh...

Thats what FH and I are planning to do loh, thats y we have 2 dinners (1 in M'sia 1 in S'pore). Saves the trouble of our frens having to travel to M'sia to attend our wedding, at the same time the M'sian relatives wun have to give such a "big" angpao (due to currency difference) if they were to attend a S'pore dinner! Most importantly, save on accommodation for both! =p

pinklady23

Hi Sunflower,

Thanks for the advice. However, my FH is the last child in the family. He's 10th in the family. So in a way all siblings have married n all relatives are invited b4. As for my side, i'm the 1st child and grand child to get married. My grandmothers are still around and they wish to drink the cup of tea i offered to them on the actual day. I know i might seem to be selfish in this way, but I have to consider the elderly I have in sg compared to his. Furthermore, its the 1st marriage over my side compared to his. I didnt want my family to feel that my wedding is so silent.

tingshen

huh? what's so troublesome about? Just bring your VIPs over to Melacca and drink the tea lor. Either can get a big Van or ask somebody to drive them up lah.

Hi every one I am new to this thread. I will be having our rom in April and wonder what is the procedures after that? My htb is a Malaysian whereas I am a Singaporean

Hope you can advise

pinklady23

This thread seems so quiet now. Haven't got time to come in here. Hey all, my wedding thingy still nt settled. FH sis juz called to say wedding date is gd to be 2nd dec or 22nd dec. But time is so short, how to prepare? I really feel like giving up the r/s. His family juz give me the feeling that they dont spare a thought or feeling for me or my family. Like no respect to my parents. Every single thing they decide and not me or my FH. The wedding juz doesnt seems like mine. So mad!! If getting married is so difficult, give me so much problems and make me and my FH keeps quarrelling, i think its pointless to get married then. Advise pls....

yei

I think is normal to have lots of quarrel before the AD and the tea ceremony.. after all you and your BF must have a deep talk regarding both of this issue. BOTH parties sure have to sacrifice for something. Is just the matter who want to sacrifice which part of it. Both of me and my BF have come to lots of mutual understanding and what's the boundary. Joelle, don't act reckessly yet, discuss calmly with him. And talk nicely to his family and see what's the issue can be resolve.

icejelly

Need your advice here.
I have signed up a PS package in KL cost S$750 , 1 WG and 1 EG , outdoor shooting , digital album with 21 pages and all negative return .
But after that i regret , i am thinking to change it as my actual day PS . actually it's just a small dinner ( 10 tables) in KL . The BS willing to change my plan with 150 4 R photos and all negative return, and others remained the same ( except the photo album) .
I need advice on which one actually is worth to spend. Have been arguing with my FH , still don't have any conclusion.. very stress now .
I have already signed another BS in singapore wiht full package.

Please Help ..

thank you ¬!!

huiz

Haven't been to this thread for a while ;-P

Joelle,

My husband is also from Malacca. I also had a dinner in Sg and one in Msia. The Msia dinner was catered to his family as well as my mother's side of the family. We also did not want them to come to Sg coz of the currency difference, the headache of us looking (and paying)for accomodation for them and also their very expensive passport. Not everyone has one. My tea ceremony was held in 2 places. My ILs had theirs in Sg. We served tea to the extended family in Malacca. Dinner was at Equatorial and I must say that we enjoyed it very much

All the best to u, Joelle

emeraldbride

Hullo.. I am a Malaysian and FH is Singaporean. Our solemnisation will be on Dec 07 and AD in Nov 09.
Would like to ask if we were to hold 2 wedding dinner, shuld the groom fetch the bride when the bride hold their dinner? or...

graceyong

Emerald.. Going into the guy house is the more important, so usually girls come out of Hotel and go into the guys house. i also have no choice, hubby indonesian and i am malaysian so i am going out from hotel to his Family House. Sometimes modern ppl (both parents) won't mind then good luck to the bride or else, it is better to go by tradition belief than make a mistake for such a thing.

ehh what u mean fetch the bride? U fetch the bride to bring the bride back to groom house. Usually girl side have their dinner then the AD ceremony (which usually would be groom side hold their dinner)

confused_qi

Hello...i am sporean and my fh is malaysian..planning to rom in feb 08 n AD in nov 08.would like to ask will we encounter any problems when clearing the checkpoints wif our gowns etc...any1 wif similar experience?? cause fh wil fetch mi frm my place in spore to jb 4 tea ceremony..Thanx for advice given...

guazi

xiangqi, no problem clearning the checkpoints, just tell them that you are renting the gowns for your wedding. if you are still worried, can ask the BS to issue you the rental receipt.

confused_qi

hello...angie..read frm the above that u actuali has a banquet in sg n jb..so do ur hubby fetch u from jb bk to spore on AD??? maybe u can share with me...hw u go abt dng ur AD??...i am still thining hw i wan to go about dng it..cos time is another factor tt is worrying me cause of the jam at check point

sunflower44

Hi Xiangqi,

u can actually hold 2 dinners on separate days, so it wun be too rushed for u n FH.
For my case, my HB will be fetching me from S'pore to M'sia for the wedding lunch. We're holding the dinner in S'pore 1 week later, mainly for our frens and my relatives in S'pore..

ppiggypig

hi sunflower
if hold 2 dinners on separate days, need to word the invitation card differently? as in whose parents' name comes first??

how your parents doing the invitation for your singapore guests?

preciouzalex

This is the procedure and links for two Malaysians marrying in Singapore. Hope it is useful.

http://www.jpn.gov.my/kawin5.htm
http://www.jpn.gov.my/borangJPN.KC062000.pdf

REGISTRATION OF MARRIAGE

We wish to inform you that you are to register your marriage within six (6) months from the date of marriage. Any delay in registering the marriage will result you being penalized. A fine of RM100.00 is imposed for the first year or part thereof and RM 50.00 for every subsequent year or part thereof. Payment must be made in Singapore Currency. The fee for marriage registration is S$10.00.

2. Submission at the High Commission of Malaysia, 301 Jervois Road is in the morning, Monday - Friday, 8.00am - 11.00am. Both husband & wife are to be present.

3. The time taken to process the Marriage Certificate is seven (7) working days.

4. Documents to be produce are as follows;

a) Singapore Marriage Certificate {Original & 2 copies}

b) NRIC of both parties (Original & 2 copies}

c) Birth Certificate {Original & 2 copies}

d) Passports {Original & 2 copies}

e) 2 colour photographs each (passport – size)

f) Any party who is on 2nd marriage, please produce the divorce

certificate {Original & 2 copies}

* All documents are to be photostat in A4 size.

5. Forms JPN.KC06 are available at the office and you may collect it earlier if you wish. Kindly bring along your Singapore Marriage Certificate.

guazi

HI Xiangqi, of course there wont be any problem wearing the gowns across the checkpoints, hehe. it's a happy event! dont worry yea hehe.

yea in fact i have 3 banquet, SG, KL and Johor. I had it at 3 separate days. My hubby did not fetch me from Msia cuz i think it's too far to travel hehe. SO i chu men from a hotel in Sg to save all the trouble,. A week later i held banquet at KL and JOhor. I was excited thruout the process ( cuz i got a long wedding events) and did not feel tired at all! dont worry you will get to sleep a lot after all the events haha

confused_qi

sunflower, yaya we actuali will be hving dinner at 2 places, 1 in sg another at my fh place which wil be maybe 1 week later too..cos he has a hse in jb, so we were thining to use tat hse 4 tea ceremony for his parents n relatives.tt y we have to travel in n out for tt day.

angie..i am reali impressed by you..so many work n planning bt u still can hv it plan til so happily..summore urs is 3 banquet in 3 different place..reali pei fu pei fu..keke

anyway gers, which bs your took up???? or maybe can share with me your banquet venue n packages??ang gd recommendations??

sunflower44

Hi piggypig,

We have 2 different invitation cards for the wedding lunch/dinner in M'sia and S'pore respectively loh.. HB's parents takes care of the wedding lunch in M'sia (since most are his dad's frens and relatives)..which includes preparing the invites and sending out.HB and I will take care of the dinner in S'pore (since most guests are our frens and my relatives). As for how u word ur cards, the hotel printer will have afew samples for u to choose, so dun worry. =)

ppiggypig

hi sunflower

so if the singapore dinner is hosted by my parents, i put my parents name first, then my ILs?? and my name first before hubby??

sunflower44

Hi Xiangqi,

Ohh ur wedding in Msia is later than S'pore's ah? Coz I thot usually once ur FH fetches u to go to his house in Msia, u can do ur tea ceremony there.. then at night hold the dinner in Msia itself. U can always return to Spore the next day or a few days later.. For ur Spore dinner, u can hold it 1 week later; maybe hold the tea ceremony session for ur parents and relatives side b4 the dinner starts? Thats what we do lah... maybe u can consider this plan hehe..

I took up a BS in S'pore loh... we did not top-up anything coz we did not bring the MUA over to M'sia (its a wedding lunch so i reckon no need to have a night makeup)... the only surcharge we pay is for the AD PG..

Have u visited any BS or hotels in spore yet?

guazi

xiangqi, i signed up wtih dawn's wedding at citysquare but it was like 2 years ago already. the price that time i got was very cheap... dont think you can get it now though cuz the price is rising for sure, especially for BS>..

sunflower44

hi piggypig,

hmm..usually the groom's name will appear before the bride leh.. erhh..duno how to explain to u verbally...

The printer will have different sets of inserts, depending on who is hosting the dinner.

Eg1. "Together with our parents, Mr & Mrs ABC and Mr & Mrs DEF, we GROOM NAME and BRIDE NAME..."

Eg2. GROOM NAME & BRIDE NAME, together with our parents Mr & Mrs ABC and Mr & Mrs DEF.."

Eg3. Mr & Mrs ABD and Mr & Mrs DEF warmly invite ____ to attend the wedding celebration of their children GROOM NAME & BRIDE NAME.."

Eg 2 is when u and FH are hosting the dinner. Eg 3 is when ur parents are hosting the dinner. Eg 1 is abt same as Eg2 actually, except ur parents will feel that u are respecting them when u put their name ahead of urs... As for the precedence of whether his parents' name should come 1st or urs, I've no idea loh... usually in a wedding the groom's name is before the bride... =p

confused_qi

Hi sunflower, cause my fh hometown is at kedah, and we will oni be dng small dinner wif his close frens n relatives so it wont be a big event..whereas in spore 1 will be a bigger event so tt y we decide to hold spore 1st then after tt at his place. actuali i was thining tt he wil fetch me in the morn to go jb hse n hv tea ceremony..then later on bk to my place to serve tea to my parents n relatives n hv dinner in the nitez..i just afraid of time factor..cause cant predict the jams at chkpt.

confused_qi

sunflower i hvent reali go n source 4 bs yet...bt i thin i wil source in jb ba..cos i feel its still cheaper than bs in spore.keke..u mind to share wif me which bs u took up in spore??
wat abt ur dinner venue in spore??

angie, i saw alot of rather gd comments in the forum abt dawn's...recently i gt a fren sis sign up with them too..i feel its reali nt bad..nt i still gt a few 1s in mind..so maybe wil start sourcing soon..hw abt ur banquet in spore??

sunflower44

piggypig,

Hey dun stress urself too much ya? Tell us what problems u're facing, maybe those "experienced" brides can give u some advice?

sunflower44

Xiangqi,

hmmm...ur plan is workable lah, but the only thing u have to worry is time management when travelling to and fro S'pore/ JB loh.. especially when ur AD is a weekend. Actually u can hold the small dinner in Msia after tea ceremony in JB if u dun mind... coz it'll save u the trouble of having to go in again.. S'pore wedding its more big-scale rite? If u hold it 1 week later, during that period b4 the dinner, u can still make some last min preparations... =p

If u're not those who die die must stick to traditions wan, u can always do ur tea ceremony (ur parents' side) after ur FH fetches u. After that go JB tea ceremony.. then u can relax liao until the dinner(JB) at nite.. I personally feel that its less taxing for u n FH loh... beats travelling back to S'pore, then to JB again...

Another alternative (lagi save time)is to bring ur parents to JB, do the tea ceremony there, provided ur parents will be attending the dinner in JB. For ur relatives, do the tea ceremony BEFORE the S'pore dinner starts.. get the hotel to provide a small room for u to do that.

For BS, i took up Jawn-Happy-Ever-After, located at Meridien hotel. We didnt use JB BS coz we feel that its gona be abit troublesome travelling to JB to do the countless fittings and negotiations loh... u know the jam in JB on weekends...can faint... hehe! We're holding our S'pore dinner in Conrad.