Cakes Anybody

eunicetan

i like Prima Deli's cakes. always get them for birthdays

jocelyn

would like to seek advise from all of u.

i know this question is a bit weird but i still need advise.

My mum wanted a box of cakes with different combination for the "guo da li". I went to Bangawan Solo & they dun do such order. I told my mum abt it & asked her to change to those 1 whole cake instead like banana cake or walnut cake but she's not happy.

Anyone knows if there's still anyone who's giving combination cakes as "li bing" or not? I find it so old fashion to give those combination, so i tot maybe can give those small fruit tart combination from PrimaDeli, but she still insist on cakes combination.

Pls advise.

ada

hi jellybeans,

the website looks really yummy! i'm wondering if they have those coupons or vouchers where relatives can go pick up the cakes from the shop itself , like how bengawan solo does it ?

qoo

Hi Jocelyn

I got mine from Bangawan, the chocoloate flavour one. Personally I feel that the cake itself is not "nice" looking and their service is not that good too. If I were to choose again, I'd rather go for the traditional cake combination you mentioned.

I think you can go to those normal HDB confectionary to check out if they have, I believe they do. I heard from a friend that not too sure whether is it at Bedok or Hougang there is one such confectionary who sells that, and the box only cost about $4+. They will also sell items needed for Guo Da Li, like the Long Feng Zhu, biscuits, that type lor... so I assume if you go to those chinese looking confectionary (Bing Dian) or perhaps Chinatown, you can still find those things.

jocelyn

Hi jelleybean & Qoo,

thanks for the advice.

Qoo,
u mean there are still people going for the combination??? (sorry, a bit ignorant - 1st time mah

I'll check that out. I actually thought of Katong confectionary - the "red" house... very traditional 1. Thanks!

qoo

Hi Jocelyn,

Yap, as least for me... As I mentioned, I actually regretted getting the cakes from Bangawan.

Oh, btw I heard from one of my friends that he got his combination of cakes from Prima Deli, but not sure he mean "cakes" or the "fruit tarts" - never ask in details cos was busy preparing for wedding then.

Maybe you can check with Prima Deli whether they sell those also.

Happy planning!

anna

Hello ladies,

Anyone tried Choz cakes for wedding...the website look yummy!

If yes, pls give some advise....
Thanks....

abc

Anna,

I tried and I think it is great. Especially so for the marble cake. Plus the fact that the pakaging is good. Can give it a try. The person told me that the tarts need not be refrigerated which makes it easier for delivery on that day.

anna

Hi abc,

Thanks for your reply..so did u use choz cakes for ur gou da li? There are a few varity right, which one you perfer?

abc

Anna,

I am going for the one marble cake coupled with 6 tarts (or is it 8?). Going to use that for the guo ta li. My husband and myself likes the cakes and the price wise (though even more expensive than sweet secrets) is acceptable.

By the way, has anybody here tried sweet secrets cakes for guo ta li? Price is quite attractive.

anna

Hi abc,

I am surprise that you saying the price at sweet secrets is cheaper that choz....Any idea how much they charged? I perfer the one with the chocolate peanut butter cake also with 8 tarts with it...
by the way, when is ur wedding?

abc

Anna,

My wedding is in mid september. Can't remember the price at Sweet Secrets but I am quoting based on the cake alone with no additional tartlets by the side. Can go and check it out. They have a few pages of wedding cakes in their album.

loreal

I've tried the Walnut cake from Sweet secret before. Packaging is really attractive.
As it's brought by one of my colleague most of my other colleauges' comment is : Very sweet.

But the packaging definitely attracted our attention.
Even their vouchers look "high-class"

slavetolove

Anyone knows the cake prices in Sweet Secrets and Prima Deli? We have forgotten to budget for this, hopefully it does not cost too much!

Anyway, how long before hand do I have to order the cakes?

bear

sorry to intrude in this mail after so long

Anyone got good suggestions to order 60 boxes of cakes ? My budget lies around $6.80 per box

i had checked Kyo, Choz ( ex), bengawan.

Any other ideas ?

nosey

try
http://www.bnwbakery.com.sg/wedding.htm
http://www.savouryfare.com/wedding.htm
http://www.yilingcakes.com.sg/weddingf.htm

my colleague ordered Mirana (something like that) for her daughter's wedding. supposed to be good too (i didn't eat).

i only ordered a real tiered wedding cake for the actual day. it was pretty and the cake was light and tasty. confectionery is Sin Lee Huat at Jurong East. it was a friend's contact so i didn't keep it. but you could easily check the yellow pages for tel as i recall there's only one such name for confectionery.

One of my favourite cake shops is The Patissier, located at Ann Siang Rd. Their cakes are pricey, but the taste is superb, and if ure looking for wedding cakes, they have many gorgeous designs. I was chking out their website once and they also had what Jocelyn was asking abt...combination of small little cakes. Very pretty, very pricey. But one thing good, their cakes are very fresh (alot of them are made to order), and you can actually tell them whether you want something with less sugar, unique flavours etc.

Can chk out their website for more info :

http://www.thepatissier.com/webtop/

I also like the cakes from San Marino, a bakery along East Coast Rd. As for Prima Deli & Sweet Secrets, they're not bad too. I do like Bengawan Solo's walnut cakes. We gave them out to relatives during the distribution of the wedding invites and my relatives enjoyed them so much, they went to buy more to eat :p

bear

Thank you Ladies

I dun really like Bengawan as this is over commercial, practially for every new birth or wedding, I kenna bengawan from frds. so i dun want lor

As for the passtier, I checked , beyond my budget,

Aiyo, how

Hi Bear,

Have u chked out Sweet Secrets / Prima deli? They have pretty good cakes at reasonable prices...or what abt Angie's the Choice? I think their cakes are quite alrite. What kind of cakes wld u prefer btw?

I think sweet secrets and prima deli have websites..so u can chk out the prices there.

bear

Ahana

Angie's choice is way out of budget

Prima deli cannot do printing of names on boxes

hee hee. very cat hor

Choz is out of budget too, though nice

p/s: I m looking for cakes to be given to relative, not for actual wedding

cody

cynthia, does choz have a website?
if convenient, may i pls have it?

I'm looking for a confectionery to do my wedding cake. Other than the patissier, do any one of you have any other recommendations?

If possible, pls provide me with the website addy. THanks!

Hi Bear,

Yeah I figured ure cakes are to be given out...eh..why must print names on boxes?

For us, we really cldn't be bothered coz relatives will just take and eat w/o caring too much abt packaging (esp the oldies). The most impt thing is that the cakes must taste good. I wld rather save the decor n the pretty stuff for the actual wedding cake coz its part of the photo-taking schedule during the dinner

bear

Alhana

Reason was because many shops are giving that printing free lor. so I think it is quite personalised

Bengawan is good actually but some many of us are sick of receigin bengawan lor

*cynthia*

Hi Bear, think the printing that most shops are talking about is only printing both names and date on stickers and paste onto the boxes leh... If you really find a shop you like but no printing of names, you may like to do the printing yourselves...

*cynthia*

Hi Cody, the cakes I ordered from Choz are for giving out too leh... not the actual wedding cake (this is provided by hotel... but not nice to eat at all
)...

cody

THanks Rain!

I'm actually looking for an actual multi-tiered wedding cake. Other than Patissier and a few others, i dun know of any other good confectionaries that can do the same.

Anyone else with suggestions?
THank you!

2003bride

Hi Cody,

I'm also looking for a real wedding cake. So far the decent ones I've seen on magazines or websites are Patissier, Hyatt (Mezza9) and Regent.

Depending on how big/grand you want your cake to be, I think the hotels have the equipment/facilities to bake bigger cakes. I've heard Regent may be cheaper though...

cody

oooh, ok! thanks 2003bride!
The only worry i have about leaving the hotels to making the cake is that they may not have as much experience as the pros eg pattissier. Price wise, i think they're about the same.

besides, i think my hotel will be quite upset with me if i get regent to bake the cake and ask them to deliver and set-up in my hotel.

yah, i want a big and grand cake for the wedding. I intend to serve it to them as part of the dessert (during the banquet), and i have 80 tables... so the cake must be big enough to feed them all.

2003bride

Cody,

I really don't think that your hotel will/should be upset. You may be able to get Hyatt/Regent to deliver and set up the cake at your banquet location, and I really don't see how your hotel can tell the diff between using bakery vs. another hotel. I should not think they will care too (if they ask, you could say the other hotel's cake was cheaper)

To serve 800 pp, be prepared to fork out a lot of money esp. if you are looking for similar quality cakes to Patissier ( i believe they charge close to $100/kg). Also, you have to ask the bakeries whether they can handle baking such a big cake or have a cake stand with so many tiers. I know Patissier probably can't.

mudpie

Hi Cody,

If you want a grand cake without having to blow your budget, why not do what the people in the West do? They have a nice cake but smaller for you to cut onstage, while behind the scenes they serve the "sheet cake" which costs much less because it's not so difficult to make! The sheet cake should look just like those that came from your cake lah, so people can't tell the diff. I'm sure a reputable bakery or hotel will know what to do. My hotel does not allow bringing in of "outside" food (I have vegetarian guests) so this idea is out of the picture. *Sigh* How I wish I could have a huge cake a la Martha Stewart! Hehe!

Good luck and keep us posted!

cody

Hi Mudpie

Thanks for your suggestion.

In fact, i just called The Pattissier to ask them today. Like you, they also suggested doing a not-so-big cake for "show" on stage, while they prepare a flat cake decorated with the same icing sugar etc that will be cut into slices for guests.

They also said it's be impossible to bake a cake large enough to feed 800 guests to display on stage.

Really? Does Martha Stewart have nice cakes? i shall go check out their website ...

The Pattissier is expensive. The initial quote was $100 per kg, and each kg can only feed 20 pax !

Huh? Isn't cake vegetarian?

seraphim1970

Hi Cody, maybe you can give Smiling Orchid a try, I catered our wedding church reception from them and also ordered a big wedding cake from them, price pretty reasonable.

Smiling Orchid (Singapore) Pte Ltd
Cake Shop
Blk 11, Ghim Moh Road #01-64 S270011
Tel: 64684237
http://www.smilingorchid.com/

shirlynn

The design of the cakes of Choz looks nice, I need to order some cakes for my wedding, do anyone here knows their price range?

cody

Thanks Seraphim, i may just do that. Coz i'm also catering from Smiling Orchid, so it may be easier. But their cakes are not as nice as Patissier .... cham, i kenah hypnotised by the patissier people already...

seraphim1970

Hi Cody, Patissier cakes are very nice, normally I get them to deliver cakes for special occasions but for my wedding, I ordered the cake from Smiling Orchid for convenience, also cheaper lah.

cody

Oh they deliver?
maybe i can ask them to deliver one for my hub's BD !
(oh no - there goes my diet!)

ssl

HI Cody,

Patissier has a website that u can place order. they have pixs of cakes. cant remember the site address but u shd be able to locate it using the yahoo search engine.

My co also uses them for birthday celebrations delivery. very nice and yummy.