Cactus Art Design & Furnishing

alice5

yup... a lot of carpentary works. study tables, cabinets, shelves in 2 bedrooms. TV console in living and MBR. wardrobes in 2 bedrooms. top and bottom kitchen cabinets.

Both IDs emphasized on top grade materials in all aspects of the design to protect their reputation. They let me know upfront that for 5 roome resale reno, 40k will hardly sufficient.

In contrast, normal ID can do it at 40k range.

So be prepared.

Oh yeah.. Coll**** Des*** will charge design and consultancy fees (approx 3k), in addition to the reno cost.

linsk

Hey alice,

i will be miting Ben this coming fri. So far he says that the budget is still ok. but heard fr my fren that he's unwilling to provide her with a 3-D design. Ask my fren to invest on trust. Trust is very expensive leh!!!

lyn6305

Hi Linsk,

I did not sign up with Cactus. After much comparison, I signed with Intra Design. I find that Intra gave me more things and at a better price. Most imptly, I am comfortable with Intra designer. I feel confident with her.

alice5

Hi Lyn,

How much did Angeline quote you ? I find her price reasonable but she did not give a breakdown which I dont feel comfortable. Intra workmanship is good.

lyn6305

Hi Alice,

She quoted me $31K. She also did not give us the breakdown. But you could ask her the price for items. I also did tat when i wanted to cut some cost. So we do whatever is necessary but yet go for good design...hehe

We added things so our quotation also went up. But compared to others, her price is still reasonable.

So hv u decided whose ur ID?

lyn6305

Hi Alice,

Any updates from you? Can share what items Intra & Aranus quoted you for?

Try to talk to Angeline if you hv any doubts or anything. She will be able to help you.

That's also why I went for Intra cos I have the confidence & is comfortable working with Angeline. This is very important factor. I can talk to her abt our requirements and she will be able to come up with something. I also find their workmanship very good. I would rather spend abit more than later we regret.

lyn6305

Hi Alice,

Hv u engage ur ID oredi? Me started my reno this week...when i see my kitchen tiles been hacked, i feel so happy...

summers

Hi Lyn and Alice,

Can you send me your quotations from Cactus? I like their design, but would like to know if they are too expensive for my budget. Intend to do some carpentary but low budget.

My email address is [email protected]

Appreciate your help!

alice5

Hi Lyn,

My reno will start on 16 nov. wish you all the best in your reno. Do share share yr reno pict, if possible.

alice5

Hi Shan,

I do not have the softcopy. Basically mine hit approx 60K for 5 room resale include wiring. Castus design is good but super expensive.

raisintan

Personally i have a very bad experience with Cactus, and it's with the boss Raymond. He's supposed to renovate our house and we were working on a tight timeframe. In the end, he played us out, postponing our appointments one after another and then went missing in action. We had to source for another ID last minute.

I think it's very unprofessional of him to do such a thing. If he does not wish to take on our job, he should let us know upfront so that we can proceed to look for another ID instead of trying to fix up appointments with him. We had to make an effort to leave office early and plan our Sat for his appointment, only to hear him cooking up excuses last minute and not turning up

shmoo_g

estimates for new 5 Rm- HDB flats cost between $35k to $60k.
old flats expect complete ovehauls to cost anything between 50k to 80k.
Nothing comes cheap. Most of the time cheap means crap material and workmanship. Expect to pay a premium for better qlty. Very much like paying for a BMW, you get the premium service as well. Good Luck all!

nerraw_tan

Anyone got any renov exp with Cactus Art ?? M impress with their design no doubt the quotation a bit high end....but not sure the workmanship & after sales service...

millh

Hi nerraw_tan

May I know how much is your quotation from Cactus?

I just met them yesterday and I'm afraid my budget is too low for them to do

jeff321

Don't believe in this bullsh*t forum on the most popular ID.Many are fake.I experienced it myself and can tell you why.I think many had heard of dave from intradesign and how he use strong arm tactic to push clients to pay a lump sum deposit and how Ah beng he acts.
Just met this angeline and heard she very good in it.So i decided to give her a chance.I got very high expectation of her even thought she don't bother to reply my sms many times.Even her replies to my emails are very short and brief,she don't bother to explain more,unlike another ID.
The worse thing is that she she brought that dave with her to meet me.he trying to act hooligan.After that hooligan stepped into my house,he said "don't need to close the door".I fired back"its my house".Then he diam diam(quiet).
My message to these lady ID,if you are so scary and fearful to the extend that you need to bring some man along,don't work in this line.Who do you think you are?I hire you and you show me this kind of attitude??
To other guys who are thinking of hiring this to ID,be very careful.In my opinion,they got false reputation.Takecare!

amber_c

Im looking for a experience Interior Designer to do up my new flat. Any one have experience with Cactus?

ginncher

I engaged Cactus last yr. Verdict - nightmarish experience for my family. Reno. for apartment took more than 3 mths to complete. No complete prespectives, detailed drawings, paint colour also got it wrong after codes given. Poor coordination. They are probably better suited for commerical jobs.

Won't elaborate further as I do not wish to engaged in protracted bad-mouthing.