Burkill Hall

gnes

Hi js,
was reading the Lavish Dine thread and saw that you wanted me to send you quote from Lavish..you still need it? Do tell me more about your wedding style..very interested..or we can email each other [email protected]
Have you cfm them or are still looking around? There is a burkill hall wedding on 26/2/05 by Javalink and 5/3/05 by Lavish. I will be going to view both at around 5pm+..interested?

reiner

hi any ex burkill brides or going-to-be burkill brides, please share your info for the caterers... helping my SIL to check for more info on this... she has cfm to have burkill n wanna have some feedback for the caterer.

how abt any pics for the wedding favors? do you gals got them from your caterer or you source out? pls share this info too...

thanks...

applet08

Hi ebell,

Welcome! Me have no pics to share yet coz my wedding in Oct...but if u have spoke to some caterers they shd have some pics for u to see..the setup really depends on which caterer you pick...hope tis helps

sweetie_sweet

Hi JS,

Could u provide more info for outdoor wedding? Can to share the details for planning & pix (if uve) for us to explore? Thank u!

applet08

Hey, have not had time to come in here for a longggggggggg time...been so busy with work & wedding prep...

Hi Gelly,

It really depends if ur guests are separated into 2 storey at burkill hall..coz if so then it will be difficult to do video presentation...
In any case, i feel the venue may have pb to do video presentation... Maybe will be easier for you to speak to your caterer and see how they can fit it for u..

Hi 2006,
hmm...u need more info for outdoor wedding..? wat kind of info do you need? maybe you can email me @ [email protected]

halia

Hi gelly and js,

I'm also thinking about the problem of video presentation at Burkill, and was wondering if we can put up a screen in the garden and people can watch the video over dessert?

I'm considering Lavish for my caterer, they've quoted $25 wedding menu + $15 catering charge (for tables, chairs, staff). So that's $40+/pax excluding rental.

de_luxe

Is this thread still alive?

M considering Burkill but have to fit 150-200 pax there and can't figure out how to do it.. anyone done it before or have suggestions?

Tot of 2 alternatives:
1. Lunch for relatives and dinner for friends/colleagues. Solemnization in btwn.. but mom's concerned abt the logistics n that the relatives would be offended if they think that they are given a "low class" treatment

2. Spread guests over the 2 levels, e.g. relatives upstairs and friends downstairs. In this case, how to go abt the march-in, champagne pouring etc.. and to make sure we dun ignore one of the levels unintentionally.

I also would like to know what a realistic budget would be for stuff like invitation cards, flower decor, favours, PA system...

Any advice is very much appreciated!!

de_luxe

BTW how long in advance r most of u planning ur AD? I've not been able to get a quote from Blue Ginger cuz they say they can only quote 6 months prior to the AD?! Isn't that a little too late? I heard a lot of good stuff abt Blue Ginger but so far have been disappointed w their service n attitude

applet08

Hi De_luxe,

Yes!! this thread is still alive..

I'm doing my wedding at Burkill in 2 mths time!! so exciting..Being so busy till i'm going to burst liao..
hmm..let see to answer your qn..
personally i have more guests than u do..n i'm going to spread my guests over 2 levels. However i have planned not to have any match-in..We are doing more a day event..Have our solemnization in the morning, follow by a seat down luncheon + high tea..More ang moh style..But it also gives us more time to mingle with our guests n have a more laid-back afternoon..

As for budget, hmm..it really depends on how grand/elaborate you would like to make your wedding into..With burkill hall, there are lots of stuffs you can play around with..so maybe u shd set like how much u wish to spend for an entire wedding, thereafter source around for the items etc..

hey..btw, i'm taking Blue Ginger for my AD!! I must say their food is really gd! I guess sometimes they do take a little longer time to respond but tat is also mainly they r very booked for lots of weddings or corporate events..
I started my planning like in Dec'04 but only like in may did i really seat with BG to settle the catering n getting the ideas put together...
And they r really experienced..so no worries.

if you want to know more, can email me @ [email protected]
Or feel free to ask here k!!

de_luxe

Hallo js
Thanks for your response!

How many guests r u having? Burkill suggested dat i put the relatives upstairs n friends downstairs. Is that what you'll be doing?

I really liked BG's features in the wedding mags n was very keen on them until i got those ridiculous responses from them. What actually happened was that the guy i spoke to said i could have the proposal in abt a wk but a month later there still wasn't anything. Finally after repeated chasing, i got an email saying that they can only quote 6 months prior. Guess i wouldn't have been so mad if they've said that from the very beginning. I was seriously wondering if they treat all their customers like that!

Who's ur co-ordinator at BG? Would u mind sharing BG's package & menu w me? Did they arrange for the decor, favours, PA system/entertainment and cards or u did source everything yourself? How long b4 ur AD did u sign the contract with them? Sorry to bombard u with all these questions... I'm very concerned cuz it seems that they only start putting things tog 4 months prior and that happens to clash with the busiest period of my work (the madness usually starts late March and lasts till late May - if I'm lucky) and i know i wouldn't be able to cope...
so by hook or by crook, if i want burkill n BG so badly, i have to settle as much as possible by Feb '06... do u think that's asking for too much?

Btw my email is [email protected]

zenith

hi js!

long time no see! still remember me? yr wedding coming up soon rite? can u send me more details on BG, like the quote? is yrs a buffet? how many guests u estimatating? i reconsidering burkill hall as my wedding venue. now trying to work out my budget. how much is it per pax after adding this & tat?

zenith

hi, can someone help me? i've been trying to call burkill hall so many times but no one picks up the phone. is there any other number tat i can reach the person-in-charge?

applet08

hi de_luxe,

Sorry for the late reply..i've been really busy now..starting to feel the pressure of the wedding drawing near..
and getting all excited abt it!! hahah.. Anyway to answer your qn..
it is going to be difficult for me to really share Blue ginger's package with u mainly because they do not have a fixed package. All their caterings r based on detail discussion with the couple and then you guys decide what you want..They work on all the separate areas like Food, decor, sound equipments, fans or other logistics stuffs to name a few.. And it is also depending on the theme of your wedding.. I have heard of ppl converting burkill hall into a disco kind of environment n Blue ginger is able to deliver it pretty well too..by pulling in all the fairy lights etc etc.. So it is really vital to seat with your FH to decide what kind of wedding you guys wish to have then after see BG to tell them what things you need..Thereafter it will be the cost factor..How much you wish to spend..That is the most impt factor coz that will decide how elaborate you need the caterer to give u..

For me, most of my stuffs r under blue ginger except the following:
1) Invitation cards (my friend designed it for me as a wedding gift..
n i package it myself after)
2) Wedding favors + kids favors
3) Guest book
Blue ginger r able to provide favors & guest book but i prefer to DIY to add personal touches to my wedding..As for wedding cards, i think they have ppl whom they work with n hence they can recommend you..
I actually only signed the actual contract like last mth in july...my wedding is in Oct..But i meet with them numerous times before tat to go thru the planning stages..
Lastly, i would say tat it is not possible to settle all things by Feb..mainly because along the way you have many things to coordinate n settle..N holding wedding in Burkill hall is unlike having it at proper hotel..more coordination is needed n more planning r needed..
There r always little things tat will come up..so i must say it is quite a tough one.Even now i'm still rushing..considering i'm 1 1/2 mths away only...
hope the above helps u..

Hey zen!! of course i remember you.. yupz wedding is coming up really soon!! like i explain above going to be hard to really share my quote..i'm not doing a buffet..i'm doing more of a western seat down luncheon (4-course)..guest wise i have like 250...still trying to shrink them..
how many guests r u expecting? budget wise i think you might need to give like about 80 per pax for seat down..for buffet maybe about 40 per pax..

de_luxe

Hi JS

THanks for all the info...

unfortunately i've released my tentative bking at BH cuz someone else wanted the same date n since the logistics seem so insurmountable at this time i decided to give other pple a chance instead.

I suppose ultimately I'm just not comfortable w the idea of having to do so much at the last min. I also foresee other things cropping up as we go along so I'll rather try to minimise the hassle as best as I can, in spite of having to sacrifice a beautiful venue. Well maybe some other event next time...

Hope u have a beautiful wedding... do share ur pixs n story when it's over

im_ashley

I am very keen on having my wedding at Burkill after all the wonderful things I seen here.

Some queries :
1. Is the place big enough to accomodate 250 pax for sit down dinner?
2. For my reference, how much did you all spend on your outdoor wedding?
3. Is transportation difficult? Ample carpark lots?
4. Will there be caterers who can do a nice sit down dinner (like in hotel/restaurant) in Burkill?
5. Besides catering and venue decorations, is there any other issues that I should take note of?

de_luxe

Hi Ashley

Here¡¦s my 2-cents worth:
1. Is the place big enough to accomodate 250 pax for sit down dinner?
Yes, but you would have to split guests up on 2 levels plus possibly use the outside areas (e.g. walkway) too.

2. For my reference, how much did you all spend on your outdoor
wedding?
Dunno. My dinner budget was abt 17-18K.

3. Is transportation difficult? Ample carpark lots?
Have to take cabs or drive cuz the bus stop is quite far out. Parking is not a problem.

4. Will there be caterers who can do a nice sit down dinner (like in
hotel/restaurant) in Burkill?
I think with caterers, you will have to compromise on the quality of the food. The menu will not be as grand as a 5-star hotel. Alternatively you may want to cater from hotel but it will cost a bomb.

5. Besides catering and venue decorations, is there any other issues
that I should take note of?
Because Burkill doesn¡¦t have any facilities, there are a lot of logistics to handle:
- PA system (esp if your guests are on 2 levels)
- Favours
- Wedding cards
- Wedding cake (not all caterers provide)

zierella

Hi all, I am thinking of having a lunch buffet at Burkill hall, is there anyone i can contact to ask for quote of the rental placE?

Also, for those brides who had their wedding there, can email pics or costs of rental to my email at [email protected]? Thznks a lot!!

aspiring

i just went down to take a look at the burkill hall surroundings today. Quite a nice place, it is still my no.1 choice. However, the main worry I have in mind is, what is the most convenient way for guests to get to the burkill hall, without having to walk all the way from the visitor's centre?

julie0870

Burkill hall sounds lovely. My company had an event there once, looks like a nice place. I've been looking at alternative venue for my wedding...don't really want the usual hotels etc.

Yeah, worried about accessibility for guests too. I remembered walking uphill for a long time - it was a real pain! And very hot.

Anyone has pictures to share of their wedding there? [email protected]

Hi Julie,

I'm going to be having my wedding at Burkill this year. It is a very nice place especially with all the orchids around it.

I believe it's about 15mins walk from the vistor centre which can be quite hot around noon. There is another gate which is just next to the Hall which guests arriving in Taxis could be dropped off. Another way is to hire a bus to pick up guests from a location and drop them off at the Hall. It can be quite costly though if you need to ferry quite a number of guests.

There is another place I love a lot. It is Fairy Point 7 at Aloha Changi. The rental is about $320 per day(half the price for civil servants). Good thing about this place is you can stay over till the next morning, the back garden is really big, more privacy. But you can only book this place two months in advance and the landscape isn't as nice as Burkill Hall. It can be quite a long way to travel for some of your guests as well since it's in Changi.

kokoryo

Hello All,

I'm having my wedding at Burkill hall this year as well... have around 250 guests and i will split them up to have about 40 people upstairs in the balcony area.

Putting all my colleagues upstairs so they can have company and I dun think the people upstairs will feel 'lower class' since there is air con upstairs and the atmosphere is nice too. However should try to put the more 'on' people upstairs so that they will bother to peer down to see activities going on downstairs.

julie0870

The outdoor pics are nice...so much greenery.

So upstairs can only sit 40 pple? Wondering if I can just squeeze 10 tables upstairs.

Hi Julie,

I may be wrong but I believe for safty reason, there can only be a max of 100 people without extra furniture allowed upstairs at one time. So I don't think it's good to put 10 tables upstairs. You might want to check with the people at Burkill Hall.

Been, thanks for the pictures! They look really nice

tulips02

Has anyone done solemnisation at Burkill Hall?
Care to share your experience and photos if possible?

I'm interested to use Burkill hall, so would like some comments pls.

Hi Tulips02,

I'm going to have my wedding in Burkill Hall in July. I do have a few pictures of the place. Perhaps you would like to give me your email address so I can send them to you?

I do like the place a lot. If you haven't view the place yet, you can call them up and arrange to have a look around the hall. The upstairs is really lovely and feels quite homely. When I was there to view the place, it feels as if I'm deciding to buy a home.

tulips02

Hi Freky

I actually do have the pictures sent by the person in charge and have book the place for my ROM next year..hehehe..abit kiasu but heard it quite popular.

So who how did you go about setting up the place?
Did you get someone to do everything or planning all by yourself?

Hi Tulips,

Yeah I think Burkill is quite popular but I managed to book the place just a month ago and my wedding is in July. I guess it depends on the time of the year.
I'm thinking of keeping the place as it is but getting my florist to put up some flower stand to make it look more wedding like. Still looking for a caterer though. I think it'll be easier to have a wedding planner but I rather not spend the money and do it myself. The florist I'm getting is very good as he suggested a few things which I didn't even think of.

Hi Shawn,

I'll send you some pictures as well.

tulips02

Hi Freaky,

Which florist did you get?
I have not seen the place myself but can you advise a few things?

Is the vistor capark far from the Hall?
Will you be using both level?
Are you having a buffet style or a sit down dinner?
How about all the table and chairs?

sorry for asking so much questions.

Hi Tulips,

hehe ask as many questions as you like. It's good to clarified everything before booking the venue.

I'm getting Boenga to do all the flowers. They're very good but charge a bit more compared to most florist. They do offer me some suggestions as to where is a good place to have the tea ceremony and placement of buffet tables as one of the florist had his wedding there.

You should go down and have a look at the place yourself to have a better picture. You can look for Karine, very nice lady. She'll let you view the upstairs as well which is usually closed. Personally, I like the upstairs most as it feels very homely and cosy. I'll be using both level and having a standing buffet style.

I find a standing buffet more suitable for the location as it is a lovely place and would be nice to let people wander around the house or to the garden. It'll be nice to have long tables as well. I feel that round tables are not so in tune with the colonial style.

I'm just getting some chairs for the soleminsation in the lawn, cocktail tables for some light snacks and guests could place their empty plates there for the waiting staff to collect.

There is a big dinning table (sits about 10) upstairs if you want to use it. I'm planning to let the elderly guests use that table. There are also some benches on the ground floor as well. You could request to have all these furniture moved elsewhere as well if you don't intend to use them.

I'm not too sure about the max number of tables you could place in the hall but there is a max loading capacity of 100 pax upstairs without any additional furniture.

Feel free to ask me anymore questions

What time are you planning to have your wedding? I was told that the lawn is a bit dark at night so it'll be good to have some garden torches.

michelle_

Hi freaky,

Great to see u here. I'm helping a friend on her wedding in March 07. She is also looking at Burkill hall.

Do you happen to have Karine number? Can I check with you the rental rate also. Is garden touch provided in the rental or additional? Sorry i think i ask too much question. no choice! got zero knowledge abt this area.

So have you confirm your caterer already? My friend also getting the caterer which I'm getting. I have check with my caterer and they willing to extend the workshop discount for her if she can confirm by this week.

Seems like more people are interested in Burkill Hall again. I found a few threads in this forum on the place but they were all dated a while back. Good to see more people posting about it hehe.

You can look for Karine at 64719946. I visited the place twice and she picked me up near the main gate on a golf buggy haha.

You can find the rental for the hall on their site, http://www.sbg.org.sg/visitorinfo/venueforrent.asp It's quite expensive especially when you have to source out everything yourself. For night rental, they could let you use the place from 12noon onwards if there isn't any event on the day. Nothing is included apart from the hall and the furniture there. There is a fridge upstairs you can use too.

They do have a list of vendors who're familar with the place you can consider. I think most florist would have garden torches for rent.

I'm still looking for a caterer haha. Not sure about the one you're using cos I'm super fussy about skirting and display of tables and the lady I spoke to doesn't seem to think spacious setting is good or provide just table cloth with no skirtings. They're willing to extend the discount till 5th May according to my friend who got an email from them but the lady I spoke to said it's only till the 4th. I'm not sure if she forgot about the date or she's trying to rush us into signing up asap. Anyway, I'm going to wait till after Purple Sage's workshop and decide between the two.

michelle_

Hi Freaky

I'm not going for Purple Sage workshop. I ever tried their food before but don't really like. Furthermore I encounter quite bad experience with them when I call them up for menu.

I have selected Rasel for catering. They cater for my girlfriend church wedding last year which receive number of good feedback and I really like their decor. I brought my another girlfriend (which wedding held in burhill nxt year) to their food sampling last 2 week and she was quite pleased with the food lor! My caterer also told me discount valid till 4th May but we arrange for meet up at 10th May to sign the contract. Think they should able to extend abit more. Discount wise very tempting lor! 10% easiler about $500, I rather spent this $$$ else where.

Do you mind emailing me the detail of your experience with PS? Pls let me know who you've spoken to and what happened! My email is tinkytonk @gmail.com Thanks!

Anyway, back to the thread, do note that there isn't a long mirror in Burkill Hall. Karine did show me this mirror they keep in the store which would do the job but cos it doesn't have a frame, they kept it away in case of accident. You'll have to let them know you would like to use it and the attendent will take it out for you.

tulips02

Hi freaky,

Thanks for the info.
I booked for Aug 2 2007, evening time. It a weekday so I guess my timing should be after 7.
I was also told that it will be quite dark by then. So Im deciding whether to hold my soleminsation earlier.

If you dun mind, can you share ur budget?
How many ppl are you catering for?
The tables and chair for soleminsation was provided by who?

Hi Tulips02,

Actually if you are the first to book the place for the day, they'll block the whole day for you. Which mean you could get your florist or caterer to start decorating the place at noon. Your soleminsation can start at around 6pm when the Orchid Garden stop selling admit tickets. I was told that there wouldn't be much people about at that time.

I'm planning to have my soleminsation between 6 to 6:30pm when the sun is just about the set. My florist said the pictures would come out nicer at that time compared to the day time. Dinner will start at 7pm (which is also when the Garden is closed for tourist).

I kept going over budget for almost everything now hehe. Currently, I'm spending $2800 for the flowers. You can get it for much much less but I love flowers hehe. Food is about $35 per person for around 100 pax, cocktail style.

Your caterer should be able to provide tables and chairs for your soleminsation. I'm planning to get mine from Nanyang Canopy as it is slightly cheaper than some of the caterers I've asked and I like their standing cocktail tables.

kayabread

Hi all, I just happened to chance upon this thread. Thinking of having my wedding at Burkhill Hall too.

Freakyfairy & Kokoryo:
Care to share how's your setup going to be for your coming wedding? Will you be having a marquee? I'd love to have an outdoor wedding, but just afraid of either wet weather or too humid for guests to enjoy themselves. If you don't mind me asking, what's your budget for having it at Burkhill Hall? Eg. is the price for deco and everything higher than other places? Cos I may still need to get a sound system and arrange transportation etc for guests so am afraid the cost might add up quite abit.

Julie:
I checked with the Burkhill Hall ppl and they said the 2nd floor has a loading limit of 80-100 pax. Although depending on the setup, BH can take up to 300 people. (maybe he means using 2 floors I guess)

Beenz:
Thanks for sharing those lovely pictures!

Hi Tulips,

I've just decided to go for Purple Sage in the end after going to their workshop during the weekend. There were a few I had shortlisted which I thought are pretty good in different ways.

Blue Ginger I heard is very good and would help to coordinate almost everything you need. They are booked on my wedding day so I couldn't get them. I still like some of the food from Rasel but somehow I feel that they don't really understand what I want for the laying out of the buffet line. Gim Tim gave me a very tasty looking menu. I've not tried their food so I can't tell how it would be.

I heard that Lavish is pretty good too but there are also quite bad review on them.

Since your wedding is still quite a while away, I find that it's good to shop around first if you can so you can understand what you need or want from them before deciding

michelle_

Hi Freaky,

Ooh so you decided for P.S, good luck to you than, hope they don't repeat the same mistake again.

How's life going? Super tired, lots of things to settle, like cards, gown, photo shot and etc......
Nightmare to me.

yeah, I wasn't planning on signing up with them, didn't even bring my check book along but the level of service they provided was really good. Lots of the things we wanted, other caterers couldn't provide or not enough and we have to top up some cash but PS covers all of them and even provided us with more services than we needed.

I actually sent the caterer you were going with an email thanking her for her help and a few questions cos we're thinking of getting them for other event but she didn't even reply...I guess the services we can get from different caterers really depend on your luck.

I haven't been doing any wedding stuff for a few weeks now hehe I guess it's cos I had almost everything done quite a while ago and no photoshot for me too hehe.