Bride Speech

chinchilla

What do you think of us brides giving thank you speech after our husbands? Some of my friends think it is not necessary and shd let the husbands do it.

Do any of you have any speech for the brides to share?

Dont think there is right or wrong. I am doin one bec I really want to thank my parents and pple who have chipped in. This is the 21st century, brides have as much say as bridegroom
.. so long the speech is not too long boring everyone to sleep ...

chinchilla

What do you think of us brides giving thank you speech after our husbands? Some of my friends think it is not necessary and shd let the husbands do it.

Do any of you have any speech for the brides to share?

everyone shuld make a speech...

me can't emphasize enough on the importance of a speech... honestly, it is the only probably the only opportunity we have in our lifetime to make a public acknoledgement and thank the pple who have been there for us, our family, frens, mentors...

many a weddings i've seen the MC do all the talking and the dinner just goes by... sometimes i wonder wat is the purpose of all present if they are not pple of importance and impact in our lives... (minus parents-invited frens)... and the nite being the only nite one can get everyone to share a dinner with... me thinks we shuld indulge in abit of how we got to this joyful day... the trials, the highs and lows...

anyway, me thinks the speech in itself is the highlight of the entire wedding... to thank, to show appreciation, to share one's joy and express verbally...

my thoughts

piyopiyo

Hi chinchin, just got married on Dec 12, 04. I gave a speech too, after my husband. I think you should do it, i disagree that it is not necessary. Because it is only you say it yourself then you can be sincere about saying your thanks to your parents and friends.

But yeah, make sure it is not boring, if not, it will be quite draggy. Keep it sweet.

snipsnap

i think its a good idea too
makes the wedding more personal. these days weddings are like orchestrated large events and so impersonal. its touches like this that make a wedding more memorable..and afterall its your wedding, who better to make a speech than you!!! i'm definitely saying at least a thank you at mine to tell my family and everyone who came or helped out how much i appreciate them! hopefully i won't go on for too long like those people who get carried away at the oscars lol

lilac

I did a speech after my hubby's and everyone told me they loved it. It's important for the couple to thank their parents and those who have made a difference to their lives cos' a wedding signifies a new beginning and without everyone's blessings and presence, it would not be possible.

a_k

hi chin chin, actually i feel it is normal for bride to say the speech after the bridegroom. i did that too after my hubby. though a bit stage fright but still go with it cos it is a once in a lifetime thing & the words that last for mins may mean lifetime, isnt it. like wat piyo mentioned, keep it short & sweet to avoid boredom.

chinchilla

Thanks ladies,

How to avoid the stage fright? Actually I wanted to say too but I am really very afraid to give public speaking.Any advice?

chinchilla

Thanks ladies,but do u all have stage fright? I really admire your courage and I really want to do it too. Can U all advise me how to overcome my stage fright? I am also afraid I will cry on the satge and once I cry, nobody can understand my words!

a_k

hi chin chin, i also got stage fright, but thinking that this is the best chance for u to express, juz go for it. that day will be very busy also, no time to think also. u hv stage fright now is becos u got time to think now & u dun know wat to expect then. believe me, tat day u no time to think of stage fright also. after u get into the situation, u tend to speak better. make sure ur hubby hv enough tissue in his pocket if u scare ur tears will drop when saying. it is something natural for tears to drop (i dun think one will burst out crying isnt it. it is juz an emotional moment). the guests should be able to understand that, in fact they will be touched too. so dun worry ok. some more u got your hubby beside to jia you for u.
236078.gif

chinchilla

Thanks AK,

Can u share your speech with me? I want to roughly see how long and how to thank. Sorry if it sounds impersonal but I really dun know who else and how to thank others beside my husband and my family.

My email is [email protected].
Hope u dun mind. Thanks!

stage fright is quite common... so no worries...

normally u can prepare a simple paper with some points u wanna bring up... can start from there.. if somehow u get emotional and need to pause, just pause lah... dun worry, pple likely to 'feel' your feelings thru tat and the warmth is great! if the pause is longer, u can just signal your hubby to help u continue with some... then when u gained composure, u can apologise and carry on...

it's your nite, your time and feelings to share... tears can be a good thing...

hey wish u all the best! and dun worry! we're all emotional creatures...

a_k

chin chin, paiseh paiseh. initially me & my hubby got write down on a paper. guess wat, i only start writing hrs before the banquet during the breaktime b/w my rom... but then that day too rush liao so in the end we didnt used the paper we wrote. we juz say when we rem & want to say. it is quite a fast one then. we thanks our parents all the help they gave & accepting us as the in-law & our helpers by mentioning their names individually cos they really help us a lot thru the day. really want to tell them our appreciations. so i dun hv the speech copy with me. sorry leh.

i saw some articles as posted by chin leng. quite a nice piece. http://www.singaporebrides.com/features/speech.htm
http://www.singaporebrides.com/features/wedding_speech.htm

hope this helps...

mist

hi chin chin,

for us, the initial arrangement was to let my hubby do the talking... but later i guess he's really tired and he's usually loss of words when nervous.... hahaha... though i prepared a short speech for him.... ;p

anyway, i took over the mic and the speech was delivered by me, the bride... hahaha... it's a refresh change for most of the guests, of cos i did mention abt hubby shy shy, that's why didn deliver speech.... and that actually become a humour for the guest and they were laughing over it.. ;p

astrogirl

nicnic, i think for bride's speech just be short & simple will do. just say out wat u really feel and thank the persons u wanna thank lor.

christmas_bride

hehe....i prepared a speech hrs b4 the banquet starts and my hubby didn't, cos he didn't want to give a speech. In the end, he gave a impressing speech, and i just said, "So sorry, i've stage fright, so i just want to say thank you".

jojo_18bride

hi cindy,

Can share with me ur hubby speech to mi too? [email protected]

I think it nessasary for the couple ti have the speech, i think i will let my hubby say most of the part, 1st part hubby will thank the guest n the helper by saying "we" apreciate ur attendant, we mean us liao mah, no point my hubby thank the guest liao, den i thank the guest again, and he will thank his parent too, and middle i join in to thank my parent n hubby, den lastly my hubby thank my parent for bringing mi up and thank me for saying yes to spend rest of my life with him n end with a kiss on me. LASTLY...present flower to both parent. I intend to say in chinese, just wirte half only, still need to improve abit...