Brazilian Waxing

mootie

hehe.. i prefer IPL. coz waxing is troublesome. need to keep going back and do it. IPL's result are better but much more costly.

can try strip.

rubbishcow

i did mine at strip... 1st time can be quite painful.. subsequently will be fine.. and the feeling after waxing is AWESOME!

mootie

full removal! and the result is very gd! after IPL session, u can see that some hair that started growing will juz fall off on its own. haha.. dun even need to do anything to it.

I've stopped for one yr plus already. underarm effect is the best. till now, can only see 2 strands at most. the rest, gone!

then again, depends on ur hormones, it'll still come back de. not a forever thingy.

van78

any recommendation for guys to do brazillian Waxing.. cos i always shave and it dun last too long and it get rough and itchy at time...

mootie

hey van, i think for guys hor.. pores tend to be bigger so growth of hair is much faster and rough also. hee..

er... i only went to Strip before. They do provide waxing service for guys also. Will suggest waxing or IPL if u want to keep it clean for urself. Then again, can see if other forummers have better suggestion

Go to the barber haha... maybe they would shave like how they shave the moustache using the blade :p

But IPL the area? Better check in advance if it would affect your little soldiers.

eldarwen

I usually do mine at Revive Wellness at Tras Street. I like the silky smooth feeling and for hygiene purposes during the time of the month.

Not to mention SO also prefers it that way. :D

It's not that painful to me as I have a high threshold of pain. No need to do so often; about once every 2 months can already.

swaskie

Hi ask for Shirley at Paragon Strip but she on medical leave now till Jan 2010 i think..
She is the best therapist i came across (senior therapist)...have been doing this for past 2 years...once you are used to this..quite numb already

peaberry

Agreed that the therapists at Raffles City Strip are really pushy.. I frequent that branch the most as it's the most convenient location for me, but have to put up with their hard selling tactics. Zzz

Still thinking about saving up for IPL hmmm...

mayimayi

i went to try Strip at Holland V. quite good, not pushy and they has got good attitude. my therapist was Natalie, good attitude with professional service. everything was stripped in 15mins.

I juz tried one at Tanjong Pagar...can you imagine I cannot even bear the pain to complete the session...

I think i need to check how much is per IPL session? I really dun like the hair down there and I think my threshold for pain is quite low! :'(

mayimayi

Gin.. u did soft or hard wax?

soft wax is super duper painful lah... full hard wax better.. i have low threshold for pain too.

Yuuki, tats hard wax...I think my threshold even lower than u...wats the diff between soft n hard wax?

Doll,
ipl how much per session? Any place no need sign package wan? Since we need a few session, hw many sessions n how long is between the session?

I know of a place that charges $200 per session and one needs 4-6 sessions. But I have not done it with her, so I can't vouch for the quality of service.

teock

My wife (Stella) is operating HOME SALON @ CCK. If you are interested, can call her @ 9745 8052 for details. The price is almost half of what the outside saloon is offering as there is no high rental cost. Good compliment from her existing client.

mayimayi

market rate so cheap meh?

Strip's cost is $200+ per session.. i cant recall the exact amount she told me.. IPL is not a permanent solution too right? i rather spend $50+ every 1-2mths to do it... hehz.

mayimayi

Btw... anyone bought the Soothy cream from Strip that's suppose to slow down the growth of hair?
i was told to put the cream daily for the first 2weeks after each session... the 3rd and 4th day, i forgot to put the cream and on the 5th day, BOOMz. Ji tao grow very fast. -_-"

whereto

I read somewhere that someone said IPL is as painful as like rubberband snapping at that part! I done underarm before, its ok cos got put on gel protection.
How abt down there?
IPL not permanent, but will have lesser hair grow right?

If you go for brazilian wax frequently like fortnightly ($1.3K a year if you pay $50 per session), it may make more sense to do IPL (spend $1K and it can last through 1 or 1.5 years) instead.

teock

My wife (Stella) is operating HOME SALON @ CCK. If you are interested, can call her @ 9745 8052 for details. The price is almost half of what the outside saloon is offering as there is no high rental cost. Good compliment from her existing client.

ayoz85

Hi Guyz,

You can try waxing @ Pink Parlour.I got it done everytime there.They have a few senior therapist that is really proficient and experience with male waxing.A must try for 1st trial customer.
www.pinkparlour.com.sg

idealone

Shaving is still the cheapest. Shave everytime you bathe. not a difficult thing to do. nowadays, shavers offers very close shave and the feeling is like after waxing.

Careful though, dun cut yourself on your privates. Gals can shave too but have to get someone to shave cos the folds are quite tricky to maneuver.

teock

"nowadays, shavers offers very close shave and the feeling is like after waxing"

Such a feeling only lasts a day.....

Shaving is abrasive to the skin and causes ingrowing of hair.

clairem

I did a first time trial at Pink Parlour (Orchard Central) in Aug and was ok with it. However, my encounter with them for the follow up session has made me upset. After the trial in Aug, they persuaded me to purchase another waxing session at a discount (valid within 60 days), and I had to pay upfront for it. I arranged to do the 2nd waxing on the last day of the promo, however I had a ruptured cyst and had to be admitted to hospital for an emergency op. Post op, I called back Pink Parlour to ask if I could still claim for the missed session, since I missed it through no fault of mine. However, they were adamant that I could no longer claim back the missed session, saying that it had been "wiped" off the system, When I told them I still had the physical receipt to show for it, they refused to acknowledge it and told me I had 2 whole months to do the waxing so why didn't I come earlier. I was speachless. They were not sympathetic as to the reason why I had to miss my waxing session, and they bluntly confirmed that I had just lost $35. Admittedly I did wait 2 months, but who wouldn't? Most women do it to maximise the value of the treatment and honestly, how much hair can grow within 2 months? I am dissapointed at the lack of service and for the inflexibility of this salon. Pink Parlour definately won't be getting a Singapore Service Star Award anytime soon.

"how much hair can grow within 2 months?"

Hair will grow 0.5cm in 2-2.5 weeks. It's about 2cm long in two months, something that I can't quite imagine!

Faith

You pluck? better than waxing? By who? Which shop provide such service?

Doll

Sure? Not the hair on the head you are talking about?

Doll

Keke...you are very observant...

What's wrong with my nick? You mean still can change?

Faith

Oh...keke...but painful lei...so do you charge that someone...

faith23

Nichie,
YEs is painful but after a while not too bad the most sensitive part I still dont dare to pluck Super the painful..can cry ah.
I only service my loves one so is free.

OK, maybe I should call you Nichie instead of Outcast hehe

Don't attempt to pluck your own private hair in case you accidentally "kiap" your skin. It will really be a double whammy if the tweezer isn't clean!