Brazilian Wax

hippie

read about this brazilian wax in the latest issue of Her World. Thinking of trying it, anyone had it done already & would like to share the experience?

hippie

hi sushi,
actually i think its like normal waxin except that its done 'below'...thinking of doing it as a surprise for my hubby...
But actually, is it totally bare after the waxing or will there be a small tuff of hair...? Me getting confused, cos i didn't really read properly...

emilia

i thought it is a complete waxing, isn't it? ouch... that must hurt... and when the hair grows back, will it itch?
if any of you decides to try it, pls report back and let us know how it was, ok?

linda

I think it is PAINFUL!!! There was once I shaved EVERYTHING off! It already hurt not to mention waxing....It felt good for a while cos long time no see it so clean liao! AHHAHAHHA

But when it grow back, I freaking regret the hasty decision cos it itch like mad!!!!! And I can't possibly scratch in the public right? And the funniest part is the short stub poke out of your undies and some thin tight fitting skirts....completely hilarious.

Waxing - regrowth is thinner and not as itchy. But is it worth the pain??? I trim it nowadays rather than shave...couldn't forget the itchy experience.

hippie

wow, what an experience ah....think better consider carefully!!
but i think waxing is like painful only for a short while, rite?

Hi Linda,
but anyway, how do u trim it? Cos I'm thinking of triming it so that it will become 1 small tuff of hair down there instead of being "bushy" (pardon the description har!)

Anyone has any tips??

linda

Hi hippie...
Small tuff of hair difficult cos where there is hair, there WILL be hair, unless you shave.
What I do is just take sissors and cut really short lor.... Careful not to cut yourself though. I got a nasty infection once cos of this. I always cut until like those army boys botak head...kekekekke

concern123

Linda, but if you trim it till botak, it won't poke meh? won't it be the same effect like shaving?

linda

Won't lah. Poke cos shave then after that grow stubbles....you know like men beard like that???
If you trim you cut short but the hair still long enuff to "rest" properly on top of each other....Eh...a bit funny hor the description...kekekek

Maybe not botak lah...Crew cut???? kekekekkek
but honestly, cleaner and feels better esp when having menses....

mirror

Hi Hippie,
Before you do the wax thingy and leaving 'there' botak, do check with your hubby if he prefers it that way. I checked with mine, he doesn't like it botak there... hehehehe... just in case your planned surprise turned out to be a shock to him!

hippie

haha...more like 'armani' hair cut sia...

Hi mirror,
actually i oso asked b4, he said he don't like it totally bare...but i thought of leaving it bare then when it grow back, leave 1 small tuff of hair to maintain loh...

sad

help! I've been plucking my bikini lines and underarms... now got ugly pimple-like bumps.. how har??

hippie

aiyoh, how come become so bad? I got frens who pluck their armpits hair & pubic hair, no problem leh...maybe ur skin is sensitive???
For me, i shaved my armpit hair everyday & after that, put some deodorant...seems to be no problem for me..

Y not stop the plucking & use cream to remove the hair. It is painless but it may seems messy & troublesome. I used to use the Immac cream to remove armpit hair but i find it time-consuming, so now i switched to shaving. Fast & gd for the lazy bum 4 me...:p

tomato

Hi hippie,

can the Immac cream be used to remove the hair "downunder"? n why do u say it's time-consuming?
by the way i luurrve to pluck my armpit hair, it's so shiok, the sense of omph when i pull it out... aiyah,quite undescribable... my frens were horrified that i derived so much pleasure from hair-plucking

hippie

hi tomato,
i think there is. If i'm not wrong, there's one specifically for bikini line.
First, u have to apply the cream on the area, then use a stopwatch or agar-agar wait for 5mins & wipe off the cream. Then the hair would come off with the cream itself. That's why i said its time-consuming. If u shave, it just take a few seconds! Also, it may be a bit messy cos the cream if not handled properly, will be everywhere...haha...

ANyway, i can't imagine plucking the armpit hair....plucking the eyebrow is already painful enuf! And my hubby actually pluck his pubic hair (those stray ones only). ANd i got frens who also enjoyed plucking their armpit hair..Ouch!!

linda

I can understand the pleasure in plucking armpit hair...
I like it too....When you get the hair out at the roots... kekekeke...but hor plucking the pubic area???? OUCH!!!!! Can meh?

tomato

Hippie,
when u use Immac cream on your armpit, was the regrowth stubbly or prickly? i'm thinking of trying the bikini cream, but am afraid the regrowth will be itchy and prickly ... if turn out like linda's case.. "cham" liao hahaha, linda u r reali candid

hippie

hi tomato,
the regrowth is fine & not so stubbly compared to shaving. But of cos, shavin is definitely better as its less time-consuming! its very impt to shave evryday, dun want to be caught with hairy pit ala julia roberts...

Is it ur 1st time using this brand??
If it is, b4 u try it down there, u have to test a little on a patch of skin on somewhere else of ur body. THis is to see whether u wil be allergic or any reaction to the cream...Better be safe than sorry har...

tomato

hahaha ... hippie, even my FH will point out my armpit hair in mock horror whenever i forgot to pluck!

so i agree with u it's impt to shave everyday. ok, i will remember to try the patch test first...

hippie

hi pple,
Anyone of u tried One Touch hair removal cream b4?
Saw this at the pharmacy yday & it look pretty easy to use.
U just have to roll on to the area then u shower it off! The hair would come off just like that! Look really tempting to try it...it is for bikini, face & body...and cost $7+ per bottle only..
ANy reviews?

epilator fan

Hi sad,

Just thought I would let you know that the ingrown hairs are caused when the skin actually grows over the plucked/shaved areas.

To prevent that, you need regular scrubs to remove these skin.

Plucking is still the cheapest and most effective option. If it's too tiring to pluck, invest in an epilator.

It's a small hand-held device which has to be plugged to the socket to work. The heads consists of many tweezers which rotate and pinches the stubbles from your pits, legs or arms. It takes merely 5 minutes and you're clean....

The costs range from $50 - $100+ and can be bought at Watsons, Best Denki, Safe, most places selling electrical appliances......

catz

strawberry,

like epilator fan, i also swear by epilator to rid myself of leg hair... i'm using the braun epilator but not the rechargeable one. been using braun since 1994. my old braun is with my mom.
this is my second epilator. i saw a phillips one with ice to numb the skin before pulling. dunno how effective that is.

as for using epilator for bikini line or armpit, i don't dare!
i'll go for bikini line waxing but armpits i will shave.

may

hi I am interested in getting an epilator too. I saw the Philips series, the one with he ice number is more expensive..can anyone share the pros and cons of using epilator compared to normal shaver?

catz

epilator plucks out the hair so the regrowth is slower and finer... shaver - your hair will grow back with blunt ends so feels very pokey after 2-3 days. with plucking, sometimes, can leave it for about 3 weeks without regrowth.

inex

I just got my first Philips Epilator and I must say its not bad.. esp HP6438/PB cost me 135 bucks but I consider it a long term investment...

not bad esp when it comes with shaver and an exfoliating head..

my first time using it is very painful.. coz I never pluck my leg and arm-pit hair b4.. so pain ah!! the ice helps, but not alot.

oh i use to shave.. now I can chuck away my shavers :D

jav

Can anyone recommend a place to go for a brazilan wax? I know most places don't offer it and there was a her world article that named some of the places but I can't find the article.

mighty

The Good Earth Nail Spa @ Plaza Singapura, #02-11. I did my upper lip waxing there. Let us know how is it after you tried ok?

jav

Hi mighty,

Someone recommended Suvin's at Midpoint so I went there. It's the best wax I ever had! I've done normal bikini wax before but never Brazilian so was very nervous. Very painful! Jumped up when she did the first rip.....but Ruby, the girl who did for me is really experienced and very fast. Was done in about 10 mins. She did a really good job. I was really impressed. The shop looks very small, dark and dingy but she was really professional. Highly recommend the place. Will definately go back there. One caution though....this is only for those who are not shy....because you have to expose everything to her.

dodo

hi jav

brazilian wax means they actually remove all the hair down there till it's totally bald??? including hair on the inside of the "lips" is it?? what is the procedure like? how fast was the regrowth and was the regrowth fine? how much did it cost?? my goodness, if it's really what i think it is then it's like going to a gynae right??

mighty

I was thinking of trying it out but afraid that it may be itchy after the wax and when the hair start sprouting. Will it?

jav

Hi dodo and mighty

It cost me $40. Well, actually the brazilian means all the hair including the "lips" but leaving just a narrow or thick strip....depending on what you want. Everything gone is a "hollywood" but when I went there....I told her that i don't want everything to be gone...that I want a strip. can't imagine everything gone! She told me to see her in 3 weeks. So i think it's like normal waxing where every 3 weeks should be time to redo it. Yup, it's exactly like going to the gynae...she asked me to wear this sarong. The regrowth is definately finer than shaving. I tried shaving and might as well not do it because within 1 day, there is regrowth and the regrowth is very corse and thick. Will let you guys know in a week's time how bad the itching is!!!! But it was only slightly burning after she did it and then a few mins later....no itching or anything.

cashew

Anyone know where to go for budget bikini waxing for about $15?

cashew

tannline

Anyone tried Suvin's at Midpoint Orchard? $12 for a basic job and $40 for a Brazilian.

tannline

brazil

Would like to do a brazilian but am very scared of the pain...

jav

I tried the brazilian at suvin's a few weeks ago. They're good and very fast so the pain is over quick. Will definately go back to them. Can't remember the girl's name who did it for me. But the place looks very run down so be prepared. Of all the salons I've been to, they're the ones that do the best job and the price is ok too.

Go ahead and try the brazilian. It's very painful but once you've had it, you'll want to do it again. Too bad it's quite expensive so I can only afford to do it once in a while. Don't have the guts to do it myself.

tf

Hi jav,
What do you do to 'maintain' your brazilian? do you pluck or use a hair removal cream?

TF

jav

Hi TF,

I tried plucking and it just irritates the sensitive skin plus it hurts! The creams also smell bad and I made a mistake of using too much before. So I just stick to shaving which is not the ideal way since it grows back quite quick. The wax lasts you anything from 3 weeks to 6 weeks. So if you've got the money, you can go for a wax every month but what I do is to just shave the sides alittle and wait for 2 months before going for a wax again.

tf

Hi Jav, thanks for your tips. Just afraid of ingrown hairs when we shave. Must ask my hubby if its worth spending this money to please him. He'll usually say if it's painful, don't do it. I think I can bear the pain more than spending the money!!

Hi swaku,
Brazilian is all the hair off even at the lips, except for a thin strip of hair. It's a painful process and unfortunately the results lasts max 2 months and the hair gets bushy again. So have to find the best way to maintain and not waste money.

TF

j

Hi TF,

after doing brazilian, when the hair grows back, will they be thicker & more? esp. the upper lip hair?

jav

Hi TF and J,

The regrowth is finer than shaving......I find that the hair takes much longer to grow back.

TF, whether shaving or waxing will get ingrowth hair. Even plucking will also get ingrowth hair. The key to it is to scrub (gently of course!) so that the hair goes not get lodged under the dead skin cells.

?

!

er J, i think you're getting the wrong idea.
It's not upper lip nor lower lip here ... more like left lip or right lip ....

We're talking abt waxing the pubic hair at the vagina area.

j

oh dear, pardon my stupidity...really suagu abt all this...hahaha

brattybrat

Hi Jav,

Im interested goin to Suvin's to try out the waxing...need to call for appt.? Can i have the contact? What is the address?

suaku

hi girls!

May i ask what's the difference between a normal bikini wax & a brazilian wax??

And how does a brazilian wax work? Do they pour warm wax over the area and use strips to strip the hair off??

sorrie ah....dunno much abt this sorta thing! Anyone care to enlighten?