Brandt washing m/c

isaac

Hi twt,

I am pretty much dead set on buying Brandt WFH10771A with its accompanying EFE 31OK dryer. Initially all set on buying Bosch, but was at Courts megastore at Tampines, the salesman really convinced me about buying Brandt instead.

Like to ask in terms of pricing, do you know what is the price range I should be looking at? I was quoted by a friend's Harvey norman contact at $1898 for both. Can I get this any cheaper elsewhere? Should I also get a extended warranty?

Also I got a height constraint in my tiny kitchen due to a protruding top cabinet. If I stack the dryer above the washer, will the whole thing be above 1.9m? That is my height constraint. I know both machines measure abt 85cm in height each. Just that I have no idea how high is the stacking kit.

Hi Issac,

The choice is yours. But i do agree that Brandt's production and feature for the current models are much more impressive then those produced by Bosch( i am comparing to all Bosch models... even the ones made in Germany!!!!)

In terms of pricing, i think you can perhaps shop around 2 places namely, Megastore at Courts or IMM best denki.

The pricing quote by HN at $1898/- is OK.But i strongly believe you can get a better pricing at Megastore Courts( biggest store for Courts) or IMM Best Denki( biggest store for BEST).

HOWEVER!!!!!!!!! YOU HAVE TO MEET THE CORRECT PERSON TO GET THE CORRECT PRICE ONCE AGAIN. as for extended warranty it depends on you. If you choose EW, you will end up going to BEST DENKI to purchase as it offers extensive coverage but its the lowest price in town. It really makes a diff for EW in terms of pricing!!!

The couple which you will be stacking will be only 1.7m tall. the stacking kit is at most 1 cm tall. Dont worry about this as any delivery personel for whatever brand would do the installtion for you.

I cant really go into depth with you as to how to get the best pricing and who to approach as this is an open forum. But my suggestion is that you proceed to the two branches which i have mentioned and i am sure you will get the best offer out of the 3 stores.

Do keep us informed.

Gd luck

landy_jean

hi twt, i got a quote for mid range of $15xx for the brandt washer & dryer package at IMM bestdenki. thanks!

Also went to HN at millenia to check out the electrolux. was quoted $16xx for EWF1084 + EDM606A

Now i'm quite torn between the 2 WM/dryer pairs, besides the EWF1084 having rpm1000, what other differences between the EWF1084 vs WFH08771A and EDM606A
vs EFM102K ?
Please advise..

EWF 1084
Exclusive to HN
Made in Thailand
59 litres of water

WFH08771A
Made in Turkey
49 litres of water
OptiA 45 min wash

I would put it as a hard comparison between the two. All in all, the deciding factor will not be the rpm as you will have a dryer to settle your drying needs. The options available in the Brandt machine in my opinion would stand out

edm 606a
Made in Australia

EFM102K
Made in Italy

Electricity consumption for the electrolux dryer would be better. However, one very big minus point to note is the opening and closing of the elctrolux dryer. I would put it a rough opening as you wold have to use all yourstrength to pull open the dryer.

In my personal opinion and also looking at the price range, i would give the Brandt pair a thumbs up.

I would put it as any price range between $1520 - $1560 as a good and worthy purchase. Once again, thats my personal opinion.

Gd luck in your choice of machine.

landy_jean

Hi twt,

I've checked out these 2 models in details. The electrolux washer has functions suchs as for jeans, etc. which are the options that stand out for the Brandt?

as for the dryer, somehow the door of the electrolux showroom piece seems ok. I was looking at the drum sizes and lookss like the electrolux dryer has a bigger drum.

would agree that brandt wins hands down for price. i have a quote of 14xx from a electronics store.. HN quote 16xx for the electrolux pair

Hi LJ,

The jeans feature in the electrolux washer can be simply replace by either the cotton or synthetic function.

However, if you are mentioning on features, then the Opti45 mins for Brandt will be a near to perfect feature for all working adults.
To add to that, the water and electricity savings will give the Brandt washer an added advantage. Not forgeting the make of the washer as well.Measure the drum size of the washer and you will know that all points to the Brandt washer.

As for dryer, what i dislike about EDM606A is the filmsy catch and also you would have to really pull hard to open the dryer.

Its a too close to call match up between the 2 strong competitors. If given a choice, i would rather take the WFH 08771A + EDE 419M(instead of EDM606A)

summerlove

Hi, I'm new to dryer. Just bought a Brandt brand dryer. Can anyone advise am I able to dry my clothings with a mixture of colour and white? Thanks!

Summer,

Drying mix colour clothes not a problem.... However, you might want to choose the type of clothing which you are drying. Try your best to separate the cotton and delicates one as the delicate clothings dries faster then cotton clothings.

nikkilime

Hi, jus checking if the price is ok for Brandt's washer WFH 08771A & dryer 102k at $1600(can't remember it's model 120 or 102 but it's a 6kg dryer. Thxs!

nikkilime

Thxs! So the price should be all right if not more than $1600? Gotta go check at Best Denki, have only checked at HN & a retail shop.

agunesu

Hi twt,

After reading your advice on the various pros on the washing machines, both my hubby and I were pretty convinced to get a Brandt 08771A. However, when we checked out this brand at one of the shops yesterday, we were told that this model has been discontinued though I still saw it in Courts the day before and the staff also recommended. Any idea if the model is really going to be discontinued? I was then recommended the EF brand, EF7100, so called exactly same specs with brandt 08771A and its cheaper. Do you know if its really good? Appreciate inputs from any user of EF. Thx!

ridhwan82

for this i am not too sure if it is going to be discontinued. you could call them up to check. and also please DO NOT GET EF. its reliability is.... haiz ... not worth mentioning. id rather you get the brandt its better.

or if you could stretch budget can get miele w562 its at 1788 its superb. really..

Agunesu,

Sorry for the late reply. I happen to pass by Takashimaya BeST denki....

Yes you are correct. The sales person told me that the Brandt series which you have mentioned has been discontinued. So you may want to grab what you can if you want to pursue on the models which we had been discussing in the forum.

At the same time, i happen to chance upon their new series... cant remember the model and being a non buyer, i didnt probe too much. I saw the price was $1299/- and it was a 8kg machine which is made in Spain. On the first look, i notice that it was a tilted drum and i recalled the time when Electrolux produced their limited tilted drum and it was sold out in no time but quality wise,i think it should be OK. I also remember that the previous Brandt model which were made in Spain were horrendoussssssssssss....
HaHaHa( quite contridicting)

I tried requesting for a brochure on the machine but it was not available. A call made to Brandt asia also revealed the same thing. This was a new 8kg machine which has replaced the discontinued one.

You might want to drop by Takashimaya for a look and more detailed explanation from the sales person over there.

As for EF 7100, my knowledge is that it is from the same factory with the one that is produced from the Brandt discontinued series. As for usage, i really have no clues but the functions does not relly excite me. Not forgetting that the brand is a subsidiary of Elba.... erm i think i would tend to agree with Ridz on this. I would skip EF 7100 or any Elba related washer. Dont quote me for this

khermit

Hi twt, please don't scare me. I believe the model is WFK1018A. It is 8kg load, with 1000rpm. And as you have mentioned a titled drum.

I just saw it at IMM yesterday and I have decided to buy it with the EFE310K dryer.

The price quoted was excellent IMO at $1688.

Hope the choice made is good. Fingers crossed!

httan,

The previous models made in Spain were really ...... I believe the quality should have improved by now.

If you were quoted $1688/- then, it has to be a steal!!!!!!!!!

Let us have your reviews after you have started using it.

khermit

Hi twt,

Yup, I just went down to make payment for it. Also, paid $290 to extend the warranty to 5 years (1+4) for both washer and dryer, so the total damage done is $1978. Reckon that paying an additional $6 per month for 4 years is worth it, since it gives me a peace of mind.

Thanks once again for your valuable posts! =)

A side note, just for those who are interested, at the HN @ West Mall, they are clearing the WFH08771A and WFH10771A models, i.e. display sets for sale.

jasmine79

Hi twt,

i have went thru few threads,and noticed that u have a remarkeble experience in shopping for a machine and might have spoken to alot of sales person.Therefore,any opinions and rebutts are best from you.

Ya i am interested in that 8kg,i pass by best denki at taka last week,but too crowded so never purchase anything,i was quoted $1199. but i hv some questions lingering in my mind.

however how's a machine made in spain differs frm other countries,there aren;t popular in any manufacturing indusrtries and no portfolio to determine their quality, therefore i had my doubts?

Secondly, if spain machines are reliable and better.Why is that the machine price is so much cheaper than imported goods frm germany or japan?

But anyway,anyplace u would recommend with proffesional and sincre help as i am staying in the west side,and i have to get my machine by mid july.

Jasmine,

I merely had a glance at the 8kg machine but due to work constraint, hadnt had a chance to really ask opinions on the new machine by Brandt.

I am not implying that Spain machines are not reliable but i was merely informing all readers here that the previous models made by Brandt were xxxxxxxxxx and they were from Spain. So there are some doubts here.

As for price matter, it really is puzzling. It does not meant that if a machine is costly, it will be good but you can alo put it as if it is cheap, then is there quality inside the machine?? I would term it as marketing strategy in this aspect.

I would suggest you take a slow walk around the shopping malls this weekend and listen to the reviews by the sales person before deciding on the machine you required.

sonafan

Hi twt

i saw that the thread talks a lot about front loading machines. How abt top loading? I have used whirlpool for the last 1.5 years and unfortunately, it is truly bad. After 2 servicing within the 1 year warrantee period and finally an 'explosion' 2 days ago, I decided to call it quit. I am now considering Brandt WTC1064AN. I like its features such as self adjusting water level, delay start and temp control. Any comments on the functionality and quality of this model? What is the equivalent model for electrolux and which machines with the above features would you recommend? Many thanks.

ridhwan82

i am presuming that you are talking about in this case top load CONTINENTAL washer right and not TOP LOAD ASIAN washer right.

well for brandt its pretty good i must add. for this particular model it is the premium model in the brandt range of top load continental style washer. it is good. thomson can also be considered as thomson is a premium brand over brandt. though thomson will cost more.

equivalent model in electrolux.. well electrolux now no longer goes into the top load continental .. concentrating on its front load business..

well the only thing i would say is that if i could stretch my budget to 1788 but FRONT load, then miele is definitely better in wash and build quality but the promo miele set does not have the delay start thats all but the rest of the features are better or on par with that of the brandt you mention.

sonafan

Hi ridz

thanks for the comments. Do you know of an indicative price for this brandt model? Going to look around tomorrow lah, but if its going to surpass my budget, then at least i wont drop my jaw infront of the sales person tomorrow. hahaha

ridhwan82

i would think that this should be in the region of 1.2k? around there... thats why i mention adding a bit more to get the miele w562 at 1788.. build is better and washing features i more and miele is 6kg washer. reliability is very solid.

for this brandt model the only advantage is that it has the optia 45 which is a programme to wash 5.5kg (full load) in about 45 mins a quick one. though its not recommend for soiled items just to sorta freshen up only.

Sonafan,

ridz had said it all. just make sure that before you leave your home to purchase a machine, remember that your size of the present machine is only 40 cm in width.

Check to see if your space can accomodate a 60cm width. if not then you will be dead stuck to either a Whirlpool/bRANDT/THOMSON machine.

Gd luck in your choice.

sonafan

Thanks guys!!

yeah, i am restricted to a limited space. The machine cannot be more than 52cm in width!! I am pretty much stuck to a top loading continental, 5.5kg max, assuming any bigger capacity machine will exceed that width. Bad planning hor.... sigh... no choice lor...

ridhwan82

i see,

well you could also consider bosch top load. there is only 1 model and its manudactured in the same factory as brandt and thomson.

Or else if you wnat a slightly higher capacity then go for thomson tx 888 if im not wrong thats a 6kg washer.

ridhwan82

its one of the better machine that you can bet one.. and so is bosch and brandt.

but depends on your budget and also requirements yeah.

jasmine79

thanks twt!

ya, i agree with you that it seems irony that marketing strategy with 'mind games' of the quality questionable?.

I will ask around more for further details about my future washing machine.

Of course,i always know good things are not cheap.So i will compare more with the other models in the market.

thanks for advice anyway

mlr

Have u ever try to get the Brandt products direct from them? Its worth a try, cos my friend jus got her 7kg dryer from them @$7XX as compared to $8XX from the major stores. They only accept cash(cheque) though. They can get Fisher and Paykel too.

fairybride

Anyone has any feedback on Brandt WFK 1018A? Saw it at best selling for $1299. Didnt have time to check with the sales man, is this a relatively new model? It is a 8kg front loader. Appreciate any feedback! Thanks!

ridhwan82

its an 8kg washer.. yes its a new model to replace the previous range of 7kg washer.

i also havent seen it yet.. haha anyone else have bought this model?>

steventay

saw electrolux now have top load CONTINENTAL washer with time manager... new model...

wonder how is it..

i looking at Thomson TX928N and Brandt WTC1064AN. both are 5.5kg and with delay timer which i want, is there any comparation

pix

Hi, this tread on washing machines is very informative! I am considering a Brandt WFE676A, front loading, 600 RPM Spin. Any feedback on this model? I read somewhere in this forum that the 600rpm insufficient to spin dry? I am switching from a Asian top-loading Sharp machine which has been problematic in the 5 years I had it. Thanks in advance.

Pix,

WFE 676A is the basic model for Brandt front loading washer.

You might not like the drying result if you are washing heavy stuff.

Are you making any comparison against any other machine??

ridhwan82

yeah i would think that 600 is super super wet.. your clothes might come out really damp... something almost like if you wringe out as much as you can using hand.. thats like 600rpm.

and not to mention that you are going to use the machine for a long time.. and if say down the road a dryer is used.. it will be really wet and takes up a lot of electrcity and time to dry..

standard for now is more than 1000rpm.. why not take the slghtly more expensive model that has the 800 rpm?

pix

Thanks for the quick replies, resident gurus

This is my first front loading machine so it is a budget leap from the top loading Jap brands. The first model considered was Maytag which salesperson at Courts recommended. Model MAH2406. And Whirlpool, model: WWF665.

ParisSilk is recommending Brandt (cos got GSS promo) 1) MFE676A 2) WFE876A. Also the top loading version 3) WTC0633AN and 4) WTC0823AN.

If 600rpm is not good enough, then it sounds like I should consider upping my budget to take model (2) with 800rpm? This is sure a significant price leap from the Jap top loaders I initially thought I will end up with.

Are there other models which I should be considering?

steventay

get at least WTC0833AN for top load as have higher speed

i am now thinking whether to get brandt front load or top load.

cos if i get front load, next time i can get the dryer and stack on top.. as my SY smaller and no sun light.

top load only max 5.5kg..

front load have 7kg and 8kg.

brandt top load made in france.

for brandt front load made in where?

i like brandt as it has the OptiA45 which can wash full load at 45mins

ridhwan82

well typically its indeed a budget leap from the traditional asian washer.. but then again when you think that it will last you for quite a while then i guess an initial investment for a better machine would be ideal.

well it really depends on the budget that you might be constrained by.

Maybe if its not too personal share with us your budget.. then we probably could help in posting more models to take a look from.

In the mean time.. perhaps if there is any consideration that we need to consider like space constraints of putting the machine> for so called future plan?

A dryer in the future but no space? perhaps a front loading would be ideal.

else a top loading but continental style washing is alright.

also your washing load, are there any big blanmkets or so called a single big piece of bulky item that you have to wash then that would have impact on the washing capacity etc.

do let us know and im syre the other forumers would be glad to share their experiences

steventay

my budget around 1+K

i like brandt as it has the OptiA45 which can wash full load at 45mins

does other brand have this too?

pix

Hi Ridz, in response to your questions:

Budget : approx. $700 - $800 (ideally
. I am new to front load technology so input is appreciated)
Space : 60cm width and 60cm depth.
Usage pattern: frequent wash, relatively clean clothes. Hang to dry within the kitchen area so I need the spin to be quite dry (not dripping) Occasional queen bedsheets (if not advisable, I can send to laundromat)
Dryer: I do not have the space to accommodate height of the dryer so that is not an option. And I heard the washer/dryer combo not advisable altho very handy when we go thru stretches of rainy weather.

So far, I am now narrowed to Brandt WFE876A with 800 rpm (thanks to your advice). Price quoted was $750.

I also heard from another salesman that Brandt is not reliable. Advised to go for LG, Borsch or "Disturbo" (??, dunno how to spell cos never heard of it). But again, sales people, dun know how much of their advice is based on margin and commissions.

Apologies for the information load but I do want to make an informed choice and a peace of mind for next 5+ years

Thanks again to the forumers

babyk

Hi Pix,
hee hee. I think the 'Disturbo' you heard is probably "Turbo" brand, which is the one I'm using, and have been using.

I used my old Turbo washer cum dryer for about 8 years and it served me well. So not sure why people think the combo machine no good. I find it very handy during rainy season.

Actually, I have something to add. My old machine spin speed was 500/800. Most of the time I used 500 RPM for my clothes & 800 for bedsheets & towels. Never had any 'dripping' experience leh... On hot days, I just had to hand in my yard (in door but next to window) for half a day and clothes would dry by afternoon. I thought all machines are like that, the spin speed are designed to dry the clothes so that they don't drip...Maybe I'm wrong...

Pix,

I think another option would be....

WAE 16060( BOSCH 7KG 600rpm) WHICH SHOULD BE RETAILING AROUND $800+.

EWF 771 ( ELECTROLUX 7KG 750 rpm) which should be retailing around $900.

EWF 861 ( ELECTROLUX 6KG SPIN I FORGET) which should be retailing at $800 +.

WFE 676 ( BRANDT 6KG 600 RPM) WHICH IS RETAILING at $700+.

LG and Samsung machines all within your budget for their 6.5 and 7.5kg)

Of course, there are also the Turbo washer which Baby had mention retailing at around $900 - $1000/- and Whirlpool washers($900+)

pix

Thanks BabyK for clarifying on "dis"TURBO
And the input abt spin speed and your personal experience abt Turbo.

TWT, thanks for the models you have listed in the price range. I will do a feature comparison.

I know there is no sure thing, but is there a brand/model that is been known to be more reliable? Or in this day and age, is it more of a luck thing?