Brandt washing m/c

ridhwan82

hi therese,

well usually that 8-12%is for 5 years. anyway...

The best way to take care of the washer is yes..

1) never overload the machine- fill to 3/4
2) always wipe the rubber gasket between the drum and door and also remove any foreign items. Leave the door slighlt ajar for a while let the part completely dry before you close it up
3) always use LOW SUDS detergent
4) when you are doing continuous washing like you have a lot of load to wash. let the machine rest a while maybe an hour or so after the first wash ends before commencing second. this is just a precaution but better to follow.
5) try not to stop the machine's programme half way unless absolutely necessary either to add or remove clothes unless its like you press the rinse hold and that after the rinse it will not spin but let you have this chance to open up and remove delicate clothes before the final spin begins. other than that.. try not to interrupt the program
6) turn off the tap when not in use.

dryer
1) always remove the lint from the lint filter after every drying cycle
2) same if you have continuous drying to do then let it rest for a while.
3) do not overload the machine, generally dryer should be ideally about 1/2 drum full. but can take up to about 3/4 max i would say.

oh yeah for washing machine you can do a maintenance run can be done like once in every quarter.

what you do is NO LOAD and select a cotton 90 degrees cycle to let it wash its internal without any clothes at all.

one of the LOW suds detergent that usualy brandt will recommend is either Dixan low suds washing tablets.. or persil. dixan is better to me but very expensive. good only for 30 washes i think its about 8 bucks or so.

and one of the softenerthat i would love to use is this vernel. think it doenst contain wax unlike other softeners so that internals wont have the stain of the residue of the wax left behind by the softener.

hence also the use of the maintenance run. to remove all these.

ridhwan82

hi therese,

well usually that 8-12%is for 5 years. anyway...

The best way to take care of the washer is yes..

1) never overload the machine- fill to 3/4
2) always wipe the rubber gasket between the drum and door and also remove any foreign items. Leave the door slighlt ajar for a while let the part completely dry before you close it up
3) always use LOW SUDS detergent
4) when you are doing continuous washing like you have a lot of load to wash. let the machine rest a while maybe an hour or so after the first wash ends before commencing second. this is just a precaution but better to follow.
5) try not to stop the machine's programme half way unless absolutely necessary either to add or remove clothes unless its like you press the rinse hold and that after the rinse it will not spin but let you have this chance to open up and remove delicate clothes before the final spin begins. other than that.. try not to interrupt the program
6) turn off the tap when not in use.

dryer
1) always remove the lint from the lint filter after every drying cycle
2) same if you have continuous drying to do then let it rest for a while.
3) do not overload the machine, generally dryer should be ideally about 1/2 drum full. but can take up to about 3/4 max i would say.

oh yeah for washing machine you can do a maintenance run can be done like once in every quarter.

what you do is NO LOAD and select a cotton 90 degrees cycle to let it wash its internal without any clothes at all.

one of the LOW suds detergent that usualy brandt will recommend is either Dixan low suds washing tablets.. or persil. dixan is better to me but very expensive. good only for 30 washes i think its about 8 bucks or so.

and one of the softenerthat i would love to use is this vernel. think it doenst contain wax unlike other softeners so that internals wont have the stain of the residue of the wax left behind by the softener.

hence also the use of the maintenance run. to remove all these.

therese

Wow.. Ridz.. you're brilliant! Very prompt reply too!

BTW I forgot to ask for the stacking kit when I bought my washer and dryer. Is it necessary to get them? Or can I just stack it on top of the other?

ridhwan82

hi therese,

well stacking kit usually is provided but please call them to check if they are giving the stacking kit.

from what i know brandt their product is sent directly from brandt so you might also want to either call the store that you bought or call brandt direct to check if they are sending with the stacking kit. try to ask them to give it to you free. thats the usual but sometimes things do happen.

anyway it is IMPORTANT to get the stacking kit. you dun want your washer to be spining below and your dryer to be running about on the top and then finally toppling over poor little kiddos or even yourself yeah.

the stacking kit will also keep it in place just incase where you knoiw you accidentyally hit turn and hit it.

therese

They are not delivered yet, will only be delivered in Nov cos my place is not ready. BTW I got WFE676A front load washer and EFM102K tumble dryer. Any comments on the models?

ridhwan82

hi therese,

would it be too late and also possible on your budget to change the machien to the 876? cos this 676 is having only 600rpm max.

To use a dryer efficiently materials is ideally spun at least around 800rpm and above. 600 rpm is slighlty on the low side and yo will notice that the clothes will be a bit more wet than those that are out of from 800rpm.

plus with more moisture left on the clothes after spinning at 600, the dryer would need a longer time to dry the clothes completely and this will increase the elctricity consumption of the dryer.

hence by this initial slightly more investment for the washer, it will be compensated with a slightly lower running cost of ther dryer. as dryer electricity consumption is relavtively high and also in light of the rising trend of electricity cost i would think i will opt for as high an rpm that i could within my budget.

even having my previous thomson at 850rpm i still think that the clothes are still wet .. as compared to my new thomson which is at 1100rpm which the clothes are much drier than previous washes.

you might want to give a it a thought

therese

Yeah, I thought about that too but am restricted by budget. Actually I had intended to buy another washer that was on sale that day but ended up with this Brandt one which was $100+ above our budget. Plus we bought the dryer on a whim hence I dont feel like spending more unbudgetted money.

emeraldbride

Hi Ridz, been following ur post. U r very knowledgeable in WM.
I am looking for one too.. but my requirement is very simple:
1. Front load
2. Big enough to wash king size bedsheet, mattress protector - 6.5kg?
Don't know which brand is good leh..colleague recommended Bosch.
I have a budget of $3K to purchase WM, Fridge, Oven and other small items..

ridhwan82

hi emerald bride

well i share what i know yeah.

Well for your requirements. just to reconfirm

That you need to wash only the KING Sized BEDSHEET yeah and not KING SIZED QUILT?

if its just king sized bedsheet yes 6.5 kg would be okie but if its king sized QUILT then 6.5 might be a bit tight. probably above 7kg would be ideal such as 8kg.

front load washer. okie. How about spinning speed. do you have any preference?

Also what are the other things that you take into consideration?

temperature setting? what are some of the clothes that you need to wash as these will affect what are the washing programmes that the machine should have.

Hmmm... 3k for WM, fridge and OVen i think is already tight enough.. what are the other small items that you have in this budget?

Oh yeah What type of oven are you looking at ? built in? features that you are looking for?

emeraldbride

Hei Ridz, thanks for the reply..
Actually i dont know much abt spinning speed, temperature etc.
The WM mainly is used for washing hubby's working clothes and some daily worn clothes. My working clothes usually will be hand-washed cos i believe if i put in WM, it will get worn out faster, true?
As for oven, preferably to be microwave oven, can cook maggi mee, roast chicken, bake cake at the same time.
Now, ID design my kitchen such that no space for built in, but I intend to have a built in one below the hob

ridhwan82

hi emerald bride,

apologies for replying late.settling some exams stuffs.

anyway. we tackle one thing at a time yeah.
as for washing machine.

spinning speed the higher the better. thats for sure. cos the higher the spin speed the drier your clothes will come out means the faster it will dry. but it comes with a cost. every 100rpm increase to the next model that price difference is typically about 100+ more.
higher spin speed proves to be crucial especially if yuo are getting a dryer as clothes that have less residual moisture means dryer uses less electricity.

if you are washing main working clothes then 850rpm would be ok i would say. clothes if you select the correct or appropriate programme they will not get worn out faster. in fact the wash is even gentler than handwashing if you use handwash function of continental machines.

i am presuming that the single biggest item you have to wash is the QUILT COVERS yeah and not KING SIZED QUILT. so definitely a 7kg would do just fine.

One of the machines could be electrolux EWF984 (spin speed of 850rpm) or else it would be bosch WAE 20260 (spin speed is 1000) price tag is around 1k plus at those megastore. you might be able to get it cheaper at audio house or parisilk.

bosch http://www.boschappliances.com.au/content.asp?document_id=406

as for brandt you can also consider. Wfh08771a (under premium range about 1.1k plus (800rpm)

or under the normal range WFE876A (800rpm) this will be just below 1k around 900 or so. but i would prefer to take the 08771a they have more features.

as for oven. you are looking for 2-1 oven and microwave is it?

well if you love to bake a lot then you will not be able to use a lot of the baking feature as they are more inclined to have the microwave or the combi feature and very few of the oven feature.

take the Me655XE1 brandt BUilt in combi microwave + oven .

these are the features
1000 W Microwave
Microwave
Speed Defrost (micro)
Speed Defrost Pastry / Bread (micro)
Low Grill (oven)-top heat only
High Grill (oven)- top heat only
Fan Heat (oven) heat from back of fan
Microwave + Low Grill (combi)
Microwave + High Grill(combi)
Fan Heat + Microwave (combi)
Automatic Programmes (micro)

see most of it are micro or combi and very limited oven featyres. even the top heat is only suitable for like grilling. and basic baking, as it does not have top and bottom heat for traditional baking.

deliberate yeah

then for oven. if you wan

emeraldbride

hei ridz...so glad u replied! I was quite worried u may not reply.

Thanks alot for the tips! We may start looking for appliances next weekend!

Dad was telling me continental w/m is not very good, asking me to get those made in Japan type (sigh)

hks_swift

Hi emerald... if u really wan to buy washing machines it's the Best to go harvey Norman cost prices better than outside. No regret. u can try out Electrolux Washer EWF-1084 new model and exclusive to Harvey Norman. 7kg 1000RPM now selling at $999, original price $1219.

alpha2001

I need advise on the washing machine too...I am deciding on brandt and electrolux...can anyone advise me?

I want to buy those really made in europe and not other countries like thailand, china, etc..can advise me?

I went to best@taka.. the saleman told me only brandt made in italy or some europe country (cannot remember, so sorry)and electrolux made in thailand...but other sales man in other shop told me otherwise? I am so confused...how to confirm if the washer is made in europoe?

Also, as for the washer, EWF-1084..is it made in europe?

So sorry for the many questions.

ridhwan82

electrolux.. made in thailand.. thats confirm for sure... though the super high end might still be made in europe.

for brandt.. its turkey. all front loads in turkey and all top loads france.

alpha2001

Thanks for the prompt reply.

so, is the made in turkey good?

Is the EWF-1084 consider a high end? Or made in thailand?

So will you recommend electrolux or brandt?

EWF 1084 (correct me if i am not wrong) is a model which can only be found in Harvey Norman stores.

As of now all Electrolux washer are made in Thailand ( except Washer cum dryer ... Made in Italy). Brandt washers are made in Turkey.

EWF 1084 should be a 1000rpm Spin speed machine. Which Brandt machine are you comparing it with?

I read from your msg that you are looking at Machines that are made in Europe. a POINT to note is that not all europe made machines are worth buying. There are a few brands which has europe made machines namely... Bosch (8kg German made machines, Brandt (7kg Turkey made machines), Ariston/Indesit(6/7.5 kgItaly Made machines)Miele ( german made machines)

ridhwan82

1084 is mid range.. thats with i thiunk 7kg and 850rpm right.

well turkey not too bad i guess..

its a 50/50 cos electrolux more known for continental front load. but then its now made in thailand and it stands on a little premium price over brandt.

brandt is a generalist brand of thomson. and it offers value for money meaning to say for the same price that you are getting for 1084 you may get a model of brandt that has more features than 1084 but drawback.. its relatively new lah. and made in turkey.

front load you might also want to consider bosch. wae 20260. i think should be around the same price of ew 1084 but wae 20260 rpm is higher if i am not wrong.

this is bosch website.. do not that in singapore the capacity rating for 20260 is not 6.5 but 7kg yeah
http://www.boschappliances.com.au/content.asp?document_id=406

ridhwan82

oh yeha thanks the 1084 is 1000rpm with 7kg washer. thanks for information i didnt read previous posts.

there are pros and cons for each machine so deliberate it yeah

alpha2001

For the brandt model, I am looking at the new model with the 45 min wash, WFH08771A, or WFH10771A. Have not decided yet.

Bosch good huh? Cos I heard feedback that it is not lasting...spolit easily. Is it true?

Please help..cos I am really in the dilema..:-(

Thank oyu.

Alpha,

Guess you will have to make the final decision yourself.

Seriously, i will urge you to consider the German made model produced by Bosch rather then the Thai ones if you decided on Bosch machines. The specs are def better but of course it is a bit more costly.

Durability really depends on your usage of the machine( eg: u purchase a 7kg machine and u use the machine to wash a thick comforter then of course even the best of machine will be easily damage). To say that it spoils easily are tricks often use by SALESMAN at the end of the day for reasons best known to them.I termed these people unethical.

Specs for specs, the OptiA 45 mins is a real plus point for all Brandt machine owners. This is a breakthrough for Brandt product. Remember too that Electrolux has been the Number 1 continental machine over the past few yrs. So all said, we await your final decision..........

millh

I chanced upon this thread and maybe I can contribute a little.

I use WFH08771A Brandt. I think is a nice machine. Just that I don't know why when inputing water, it is more noisy, i.e within the kitchen you can hear it clearly. Yet to find out whether is it only my machine.

In terms of cleanliness of clothes using Opti 45, it's very good. Good enough. No need to use those > 1 hr wash setting. Thus is a plus point cos in a way save electricity and water

alpha2001

Thanks for all your valuable advice. It is fair that I updated you.

I have bought the washer and dryer...guess what? I bought the electrolux...hahaha...

I was convinced by the staff at Besk Denki...he told me the following:

1. Only electrolux give 5-years warranty on the rubber (the one near the door) on top of the 1-year warranty on the body. No other brands give that.

2. Only electrolux washer comes with galvanised zinc-coated body (hope that I did not remember wrongly), hence it will not rust easily.

Please let me know if the above is incorrect so that I can "talk" to the staff.

Due to the above of what he told me and also the cost (total is $1687 + $150 cold storage voucher + 1 free luggage), I decided to buy lor..

Hope that I have made the correct decision. I finally has one thing less to worry..:)

milk1

hi alpha, may i know the model of ur washing machine? is it e electrolux 1084? i m also deciding twhich washingmachine to buy..

Milk1,

The elctrolux model 1084 is currently selling only at Harvey Norman departmental stores.

I would think that Mr alpha bought a electrolux set.(EWF 984 and EDE 429). We shall wait to get confirmation from him....

alpha2001

My washer model is EWF1090 and dryer is the lowest model, EDE419M (cannot afford to pay for the better one..:-()

The washer is $1199 and the dryer is $488. So total cost is $1687 with free delivery, $150 Cold storage voucher, 1 free luggage and 10% off rebate. Not sure if I get a good deal or not.

TWT, can confirm if what the staff said to me is correct? IF it is not true, I can go and talk to him. :) Still in time cos my delivery is in Mid-Jan 08.

THank you.

Very very good deal......... U have got one of the more ridiculous deals given by Best Denki.

I am surprised that even Best Denki can offer such a great pricing!!!!!!!!!!!!

Erm... 5 yrs rubber warranty is also given out to LG's Korean made machine ( if i am not wrong). As for rusting, most of the machine bodies are coated to prevent rusting. If you mentioned about galvanised zine coating, then it is very true that electrolux are the only one who are emphasising this.

One thing to note is i would advise you to purchase their extended warranty for the washer. To me, i think it is to safeguard our own interest.

alpha2001

Hi, TWT.

Thanks for the information and advice.

Does brandt or bosch give 5 yrs rubber warranty?

Oh, must buy extended warranty for the washer? Why huh? I never buy leh...How about the dryer? Is it necessary to buy also?

Hope that it is not too late to buy now...

orange_girl

Bought my Thomson TX918 a month ago with extended warranty from HN.But i forget to mail out the warranty card from Brandt within 14 days.Will the warranty still valid from Brandt? Anyone know? Very satisfied with the washer,wash clothes very clean vs my previous top loading machine.Highly recomended!

ridhwan82

hey shirley,

well congratulation on your purchase of the thomson top load. im sure that it has really served you well to have put those kind words. yeah the wash quality is pretty amazing huh. that was the same exact thing my mum said when we first got our first thomson machine like 20+ years ago. as we still are avid fans of it. changed to my 3rd thomson currently so yeah. the only exception of course would be miele. thats the ultimate washing machine.

anyway. as for the warranty card. that one im not too sure. if it was me, i probably would just tear and keep away the owner part and then should something happen.. * touch wood* then just quote your warranty card number and give them name and address and contact number.

from what i know they typically only will want to look at the physical warranty card and also the purchase order or the receipt. thats all. then they will key into their system (according to them) but so far they keep on asking for my details that really makes me wonder do they really update their database at all.. haha.

thats one way lah. or else.. i have no idea also. fellow forumers.. anything from you guys>

sensuous_les

Hi Alpha lee,

Wah, EWF1090 only $1199, with $150 Cold storage voucher, 1 free luggage and 10% off rebate! That is a very GOOD deal from Best. May i know which outlet is that? I was at Taka today but saw the price is now $1299 lei

isaac

Anybody using Brandt WFH10771A? What will be the accompanying dryer?

I was quoted at $1130 for Brandt WFH10771A. Can I get it anywhere for cheaper?

Gd price. But it can get better. This pricing can easily get from Heartland shop or departmental store.

the dryer to match will be either EFM102(6KG dryer) or EFE 31OK ( 8kg dryer).

landy_jean

Hi, i'm interested in getting a Brandt washer WFH08771A and dryer EFM102K . I was told by the salesman that the knob to open the door spoils easily and if it spoils, its not repairable.

Is this true?

the salesmen (from Co*urts) mentioned bosch and whirlpool are better brands for washer and dryer. How true is this??

Please enlighten me. thanks

Hi LJ,

First of all, we must agree tat the knob ( or we call it the press button) does look filmsy. However, it does not spoils as easily as what the salesperson has suggested.... I presumed you had went to Bxxxx Txxxx courts to take a look and the sales person must have told you this. Only one sentence to describe the sales person... Totally incorrigible.

Bosch WAE 18060SG/WAE 16060SG/WAE12060SG

aLL THREE MODELS made in Thailand
Plastic catch for opening
Drum size only 13 inch deep
No automatic variable capacity(does not know how to measure water, only has foam detection)
Hollow body( knock on the front part of the body to hear the sound)
No variable RPM
Stainless steel drum

Whirlpool
AWO 41625 and another 2 model( i dont quite remember the number)

Made in China
Rated 7.5kg
Drum size only 13.5 inches
Water level not measure
AA class
Stainless steel drum

Brandt WFH 08771A
Made in Europe Turkey
15 inch deep drum
A+A class in terms of water effiency and energy
WaTER using only 49 litres
Stainless stell drum with "plastic catch"
oPTI A 45 mins
'Metal' catch opening

All this points to a THUMBS UP for the Brandt washing machine. There are simply just too many features that actually points out the diff between these 3 brands. A definite NONO for Whirlpool. As for Bosch, i would rather purchase their German made models but not impressive specs either.

I would suggest that you visit Harvey Norman ( Milenia Walk, West Mall) or Best Denki ( IMM, Ngee Ann,Takashimaya) FOR BETTER COMPARISON in terms of pricing and product knowledge.... The representative at Courts are really getting worse from day to day....

You will never go wrong if you visit these stores which i had mention...

Gd luck

Do keep us posted.

landy_jean

wow you're spot on, yes that's exactly the branch i went to. that particular salesmen even said that "electrolux used to be good 10 yrs ago, but now whirlpool is better" i'm not even looking at whirlpool knowing that it was never a well known brand for washers.

i've tried best denki IMM, but din't have good experience with the customer service so i din't want to talk to any salesmen there. will try HN.

btw, best denki IMM having a package deal for brandt. $100 discount for purchase of any Brandt washer and dryer .
that means the models i'm looking at (WFH08771A $1099 and dryer EFM102K $649) total price is $1658 with free delivery. Possible to get better deals at heartland stores?

I think it is possible to get a better deal but perhaps close to the pricing as mentioned....

I just bought my friend to purchase a set of the machines you mentioned at IMM best Denki and we got some thing much lower then the price stated.... Its between the pricing of $15xx.

As i have said it before, its just whom you approached that gives you the best price. The correct person and the correct place is the most impt.

Why not you strictly go to IMM customer service and DEMAND for the BRANDT staff to service you instead?

We dont wanna lose extra $$$ just because a certain personnel angered you and then we pay a higher price in the end... Thats not logic ( Hope I WONT OFFEND YOU).

Gd luck in your choice and do send us your purchase pricing...

LJ,

Another place which i can suggest to you if you insist of going to HN would be to visit West Mall....

I had visited the place before but i did not think i got the correct staff to serve me. He recommended us LG which i was not very comfortable with and in the end we just turned our backs and proceeded to Best Denki since it was nearby.

landy_jean

Oh i din't know they have brandt staff stationed in the stores. Is best denki the only one with brandt staff? i'll try your suggestion. thanks!

No problem about that. However, not all Brand representatives are available at all stores.

Again you must visit the correct place to get the correct person.

Gd luck.