Brandt washing m/c

matsu

any1 using 'brandt' washing m/c? is it good? think it is from the same co. from 'thomson'.
23664.gif

babbit

Ya,
I'm thinking of getting brandt's dryer-washer, top load. But haven't check out the price, saw them in magazines. Apparently it seems thomson is a prenium brand for the company. So hopefully it is cheaper. which model r u considering?

chupachup

Hi matsu

Initially i was considering Brandt too bcos it's sleek and will fit nicely into my small yard. And a few salespple have been recommending that to me. However, just yest, my friend warned me not to get it bcos they got one themselves and complained it's exceptionally noisy during washing. They said at first they thought it was spoilt and called the technician to chk but apparently, that's 'normal'. My friend tld me she hates to wash her clothes bcos of all the noise and can't wait for it to breakdown so that she can buy a new one. Just sharing my opinion maybe u shld go look around and get mre comments. Or anyone here has positive copmments pls share cos i also want to know.

Oh btw, if u want something sleek like Brandt, go for Elba it's better. My MIL using it for a while and it's quiet.

matsu

hi barrit & chupachup,

i have not decided on the model yet but thou since it is under the same co. of 'thomson', may b a cheaper & good choice lor. haha...so cheap poh hor

hmm...noisy? in tat case i beta wait & c. ok, thank 4 the recommendation, will go look @ elba too.

kim

Hi all ,
I'm using Brandt washer. So far so good. No problems yet. As for the noise , it's only during spin cycle. Brandt and Thomson machines are actually the same , by the same company.

patlpt

Hey, I'm also using a Brandt washer. Not much noise during the rinsing process really. But you can hear the spinning. I would say the noise level is still acceptable.

Z

zam

My family has been using a Thompson machine for > 10 yrs still working fine.

matsu

hi kim & patlpt,

may i know which model is your washing m/c? actually the saleppl told me the model i m eyeing is gng to obsolete soon, wonder if tat will b a problem boh? next time if any problem with the m/c, will they come to service it?

matsu

the model i m aiming is BR-850. it is quite cheap $699, saw it @ harvey norman. mayb even cheaper @ those HDB shop.

antares

I am using Brandt washing machine for a few mths. Find it still quite ok so far. As for the noise, I think it is tolerable..
Not very loud. One good thing is that after washing, the clothes did not entangle together. Is it same company as Thomson? I thought Brandt is an European brand.. think it is from France?

newby

did you all faced the problem of finishing the wash, the clothes are still wet? Not that my is a dryer. but maybe the draining of water or spin dry is having problem?

Or is it the set up is wrong?

Pls help.

babbit

Are all of u getting the washer alone?? I'm thinking of the washer cum dryer. In fact, was wondering, which is better, Thomson or Brandt? Thomson seems to be more reliable, with more favourable feedback.

jeslyn

Angie,

I'm keen in the Brandt model WTC0612A washer as well. Does anyone has it?? Pls provide some valuable comments.

Jes

pio

Hi Jeslyn,

I am also keen on getting either the WTC0612A or the BR850M (old model that has no new stocks already).

How much are you getting WTC0612A for? My only worry is taht 0612 has only a fixed spin speed of 600rpm. In terms of drying (spining), may not be too dry for heavy garments. But I heard that 600rpm is quite ok already for normal stuff. At most to hang up the heavy ones for a few more days/hours.

BR850 (and its new model) has adjustable spin speeds.

jeslyn

Hi Pio,

I have not bought the washer yet. Still checking around... hoping some users of WTC0612A can give some feedback.

I'm not sure about the fixed spin speed... my budget is abt $700 for the washer... think this model is the best i can get. :)

pio

Hi Jeslyn,

What kind of prices are you getting for 0612A? I have the following quotes (inclusive of GST and delivery):

0612A - $630
0802 - $720

Heard 0612A just came about early this year. So probably not many pple has gotten it yet. Do share your survey if you have gotten any feedback. :p

kim

Hi matsu ,
my model is BR750 with variable spin and hot/cold wash.

Hi newby , does your machine have variable spin ? If so , increase the spin speed . I usually use 700. Hope this helps.

meemee

I am interested in getting the front load washer. Can anyone recommend me which Brandt model is better? Is there any differences if I get 5kg or 6kg capacity other than the price?

pio

Hi Jeslyn,

I was quoted $630 (through phone) by Sweetson (a B.Batok shop). But when I went today to the shop, she quoted me $640. But so far, the shop is one of the lowest quote. Well, if you do not require the machine so soon, we can try to order together for more bulk discount. I think i may be getting it only in Sep.

Hi Kim, how is your BR750 model functioning so far? Reliable, I hope? I am thinking of getting the 0612A model which comes with a fixed speed of 600rpm. Wonder if that would be dry enough (I am ok with hanging the clothes to dry for 1 day).

jeslyn

Hi Pio,

Dunno if the price is GSS price? I'm in no hurry to buy the washer yet. Dunno if the price will drop further in a few mths time?

anais

i just bought my Brand 0612A at 730.. from Best Denki.. guess i din get the best deal.. anyway, i have prob with the machine and i wish to check with existing users.

do you find that the water is constantly being discharged by the out pipe during washing? i find that very wasteful. please advise me!

anais

pio

Hi Anais,

Not to worry, you can still source for your other appliances at a cheaper price next time.

Glad we finally found a 0612A user. Do let us know its performance :p

ivymicole

I have bought the Brandt WTC 0802A Top Load model. Have been using for 4 months and found it quite good. Noise level is okie and clothes come up quite dry just nice for you to hang dry for 1 day. I also bought a fisher & pakyel dryer (inverted wall mounted auto sensing one) and I think it is really helpful in the event of raining days. I think for appliances that we used almost everyday, we should try to get a good one so that it will not give you problems. Brandt and Thomson belong to same parent company and initially I thought of getting Thomson one and later after hearing the sales person telling me that they are one family but Brandt cost a lot cheaper. I decided to get brandt. Probably in terms of labeling on instructions, Brandt uses logo while Thomson uses text (easier for reading). Well once you start using, you dun need to refer back to manual for instructions. So it doesn't really matters, right? I really like the washer and dryer that I bought as I think they are a great help to a busy working mum.

shin_yan

I bought Brandt WTC 0802A for $788 from Courts recently. was using BR850 until i moved house. the new one is also okay.

Note this: You MAY have to buy a metal attachment if you are getting a Brandt washing machine.

When the guys came down to deliver and install the washing machine, they found that the water pipe from the washing machine could not be fixed to the
water tap. The solution is to buy a $10 metal piece from them. This is ridiculous, this metal piece should come with the washing machine. One of the guys said this attachment is hard to find in h/w stores. Think he is trying to make me buy it. I didn't. Luckily, the metal piece at $2 was found in nearby DIY store (think the name is selfix) on the same day. phew.

I called up Brandt to see wether the metal piece is bundled with the washing machine. indeed, it does not. Is this common with other brands of washing machines?

attached are the pics of the metal piece and the water pipe. screw the metal piece to the tap, now the water pipe can be attached.

236378.jpg

236379.jpg

shin_yan

Hi Sugarbabe,

the tap (right one in the pic) is from HDB, and
it is meant for washing machine use.
maybe there are different types of taps.

anyone has the same problem?

ridhwan82

Well about brandt and thomson, There are some of the features that are available in thomson but not brandt.. well you pay premium prices for premium choices so its your pick.

choose a washer wisely. Maybe can get a higher spin speed. like i think brandt has the highest at i think 1000rpm while thomson has 1200rpm. so its your pick. i personally have been using thomson for 20+ years really no problem!

its just the long washing that you got to get used to but it will be alright cos it uses much less water and electricity than normal japanese brand ones. once again with brandt the lowest it can go is abouyt i think 60-70 litres while thomson models offer below 50litres

your pick eh!

josnah

hi sgblingff,

i am currently using the Brandt WFH1066K.
i love the features esp handwash setting...
the only problem is that u have to wait for 2 min b4 opening the door after the cycle is complete. u have to manually time this urself. unlike my friend's w/m (another brand cant rem which...) gives out an alarm sort of sound once its ready to open.
i have had the door stuck once!

Hi Josnah,

long time no hear. How's everything?

I got the fisher & paykel w/machine and it'll beep once the cycle is over then I'll be able to open the door.

josnah

hi there "hello88"

i'm doing fine... not been very active here lately. catch u on msn later

i think quite a few brands have the beep thing. dunno why Brandt missed out in that. they have a warning sticker asking u to wait two mins b4 opening. & if u dun the push button to open the door may get stuck.
it would be a perfect machine if not for this

tanc39

Know that this thread has been in active for ages but was recently recommended this washer and it just cost like $599 for front load running at 1200rpm. Comments?

tanc39

Sorry forgot all the details. Don't know the model. THink it's something like 1017 but I know it's Brandt and the rpm is like 1200

ridhwan82

is it this one?
WFH1270K
Auto weigh system from 1 to 6 kg
Adjustable spin-speed from rinse hold to 1200 rpm
Energy label*: energy A+, washing A

• Electronic programming with digital display
• Programmes: Hand wash, Wool, Flash 30', Surfliss
• Options: Prewash / Intensive, Extra rinse, No spin
• Delayed end of cycle time
• Safeties: Anti-overflow, Load balancing system, Child safety
• Low consumption: 1.02 kWh / 45L
• Dimensions (cm): W59.8 x D59.5 x H85

if this is the one that you are talking about cos this is the only one of the two models of front loads from brandt that has spin speeds of 1200rpm. and yes its worth it to buy at 599. just gotta make sure that its tis model

tanc39

Hmmm think I better check with her again. Cos she say that it's a really new model which I might not be able to find it yet.

wrongemphasis

Hi Ridz,

I'm considering a Brandt front load washer and separate dryer. Want value for money by paying for the most useful features only. Min load 6kg, spin speed 800rpm, electrical and water consumption.

With the above specs could you help me pick a model for
washer: ?
dryer: ?

I'm going to stack them and I hear Brandt provides a free stacking kit. Would appreciate if you know the warranty coverage and prices as well. Thanks.

roooller

hi ridz,

recently my dryer is down.
my dryer slightly > 1 yr.
was told is the PLUG that is giving the problem?
n the plug is installed by them in the first place.
n i hv to pay $60 for them to re-install another plug.

does this sound ridiculous to u?

i mean the dryer is not down, but the PLUG?

roooller

wrongemphasis,

i'm using brandt dryer.
but i will recommend RINNAI gas dryer.
PUB has live demo at their premises.
check it out.

ridhwan82

hi wrongemphasis,

well if you dun mind considering electrolux washing machine and a dryer please let me know i can ask my fren whether he can book for you a set or not.

cos he is working at harvey norman and they are having this mad sale but its not in the papers...

Electrolux washing machine EW880 its a i think 6.5kh washer with 850 rpm, variable temperature

and also bundled with electrolux AUTO SENSING DRYER ED 429

both price actually is 1698 but its going at 1398 if i am not wrong and they are throwing in the stack.

If you are interested then yes let me know as soon as you can cos its limited set

Its seriously a good buy. so yeah if you want to buy already and am ready to buy let me know